DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 5, 9, 13 are currently pending and have been examined in this application. Claims 2-4, 6-8, 10-12. 14-16 are Canceled.
This action is in response to the “amendment” and “remarks” filed 06/26/2026 and 07/01/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 9, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Glass (JP2011221631).
Claim 1:
Glass explicitly teaches:
An autonomous mobile robot capable of driving autonomously in an indoor area of a building, wherein the building comprises a plurality of first sensors installed in the indoor area,
(Glass) – “Referring to FIG. 1, a robot self-position identification system 100 according to this embodiment includes, for example, autonomously moving robots (hereinafter simply referred to as “robots”) 18a, 18b, and 18c in a space where these robots exist. It is a system for self-localization (also called Localization). In the present embodiment, “self-position identification” refers to the robots 18a, 18b, and 18c (hereinafter referred to as “robot 18” if they are not distinguished from each other) their own position, angle, and speed in the space. Is acquired using its own sensors and environmental sensors.” (Para 0036)
“The tracking server 10 includes a plurality of LRFs including LRFs 12a and 12b, which are environment sensors. The LRFs 12a and 12b are installed in a place (environment) where the human and the robot 18 can act. Then, the tracking server 10 detects the position of each entity by sensing the entities including the robot 18 and the human using the LRFs 12a and 12b. For example, the place where the human and the robot 18 can act is a company floor, a museum, a shopping mall, or an attraction venue. Note that the system administrator can easily install the LRFs 12a and 12b in various places. Further, the position data obtained by the tracking server 10 is output to the remote operation server 14 and the planning server 16.” (Para 0038)
the autonomous mobile robot comprising: a communicator;
(Glass) – “The robot self-position identification system 100 includes a tracking server 10, a remote operation device 14, a planning server 16, and a robot 18. The robot 18 is connected to the tracking server 10, the remote operation device 14, and the planning server 16 via the network 400.” (Para 0037)
“The communication LAN board 24 is composed of, for example, a DSP, and sends transmission data given from the processor 20 to the wireless communication device 26, and the wireless communication device 26 sends the transmission data to the robot 18 via the network 400. The transmission data is correction data or the like. On the other hand, the communication LAN board 24 receives data via the wireless communication device 26 and gives the received data to the processor 20. The received data is status data output by the robot 18. The received status data is stored in the buffer of the memory 22.” (Para 0048)
“FIG. 4 is a block diagram showing an electrical configuration of the robot 18. Referring to FIG. 4, robot 18 includes a processor 80. The processor 80, also called a microcomputer or CPU, is connected to the memory 84, the motor control board 86, the sensor input / output board 88, and the audio input / output board 90 via the bus 82. The processor 80 includes an RTC 80a and associates time data with the created state data.” (Para 0061)
at least one second sensor; and
(Glass) – “Referring to FIG. 1, a robot self-position identification system 100 according to this embodiment includes, for example, autonomously moving robots (hereinafter simply referred to as “robots”) 18a, 18b, and 18c in a space where these robots exist. It is a system for self-localization (also called Localization). In the present embodiment, “self-position identification” refers to the robots 18a, 18b, and 18c (hereinafter referred to as “robot 18” if they are not distinguished from each other) their own position, angle, and speed in the space. Is acquired using its own sensors and environmental sensors.” (Para 0036)
a processor configured to: receive, through the communicator, relative position information of the autonomous mobile robot while the autonomous mobile robot is autonomously driving, wherein the relative position information of the autonomous mobile robot is acquired from each of the plurality of first sensors,
(Glass) – “Referring to FIG. 1, a robot self-position identification system 100 according to this embodiment includes, for example, autonomously moving robots (hereinafter simply referred to as “robots”) 18a, 18b, and 18c in a space where these robots exist. It is a system for self-localization (also called Localization). In the present embodiment, “self-position identification” refers to the robots 18a, 18b, and 18c (hereinafter referred to as “robot 18” if they are not distinguished from each other) their own position, angle, and speed in the space. Is acquired using its own sensors and environmental sensors.” (Para 0036)
“The tracking server 10 includes a plurality of LRFs including LRFs 12a and 12b, which are environment sensors. The LRFs 12a and 12b are installed in a place (environment) where the human and the robot 18 can act. Then, the tracking server 10 detects the position of each entity by sensing the entities including the robot 18 and the human using the LRFs 12a and 12b. For example, the place where the human and the robot 18 can act is a company floor, a museum, a shopping mall, or an attraction venue. Note that the system administrator can easily install the LRFs 12a and 12b in various places. Further, the position data obtained by the tracking server 10 is output to the remote operation server 14 and the planning server 16.” (Para 0038)
“The communication LAN board 24 is composed of, for example, a DSP, and sends transmission data given from the processor 20 to the wireless communication device 26, and the wireless communication device 26 sends the transmission data to the robot 18 via the network 400. The transmission data is correction data or the like. On the other hand, the communication LAN board 24 receives data via the wireless communication device 26 and gives the received data to the processor 20. The received data is status data output by the robot 18. The received status data is stored in the buffer of the memory 22.” (Para 0048)
“FIG. 4 is a block diagram showing an electrical configuration of the robot 18. Referring to FIG. 4, robot 18 includes a processor 80. The processor 80, also called a microcomputer or CPU, is connected to the memory 84, the motor control board 86, the sensor input / output board 88, and the audio input / output board 90 via the bus 82. The processor 80 includes an RTC 80a and associates time data with the created state data.” (Para 0061)
Examiner Note: Per BRI, without specification of what the position is relative to, any position may correspond with a relative position.
acquire an absolute position value of the autonomous mobile robot based on the relative position information of the autonomous mobile robot,
(Glass) – “Referring to FIG. 1, a robot self-position identification system 100 according to this embodiment includes, for example, autonomously moving robots (hereinafter simply referred to as “robots”) 18a, 18b, and 18c in a space where these robots exist. It is a system for self-localization (also called Localization). In the present embodiment, “self-position identification” refers to the robots 18a, 18b, and 18c (hereinafter referred to as “robot 18” if they are not distinguished from each other) their own position, angle, and speed in the space. Is acquired using its own sensors and environmental sensors.” (Para 0036)
“FIG. 6 is an illustrative view showing a map of a certain environment where the LRFs 12a to 12f are installed. Referring to FIG. 6, the place represented by the map is a shopping mall. The three LRFs 12a, 12c, and 12d are installed corresponding to the upper position of the map, and the three LRFs 12b, 12e, and 12f are set corresponding to the lower position of the map. And the area | region where the measurement area | region of two or more LRF12 overlaps is shown as the detection area | region F, and is a hatched area | region in FIG. The position in the detection area F is indicated by a plane coordinate system with the lower left in FIG. 6 as the origin.” (Para 0083)
“In the detection area F (space), the robot 18a, the robot 18b, the robot 18c, and the human are detected as an entity Ea, an entity Eb, an entity Ec, and an entity Ed (referred to as “entity E” if not distinguished). Further, in FIG. 6, the movement locus M is shown based on the position history data corresponding to each entity E. That is, the position history data of the entity Ea is indicated by the movement locus Ma, the position history data of the entity Eb is indicated by the movement locus Mb, the position history data of the entity Ec is indicated by the movement locus Mc, and the position history data of the entity Ed. Is indicated by a movement trajectory Md.” (Para 0084)
“FIG. 7 is an illustrative view showing a plurality of position data detected by the tracking server 10, that is, position history data. Referring to FIG. 7, each position data includes a time (T) when the position is detected and a numerical value (X, Y) indicating the plane coordinates of detection area F. Each position history data is stored separately for each entity E.” (Para 0085)
“In the numerical values (X, Y) and (x, y) indicating the plane coordinates described above, a change in one coordinate corresponds to a distance change of 1 cm. For example, if the position data of the entity E is (X, Y) and the entity E moves 1 cm to the right, the coordinates of the entity E change to (X + 1, Y).” (Para 0088)
Examiner Note: Per BRI, any position described in any coordinate system may correspond with absolute position. This interpretation is confirmed by the description in the specification of the instant application of absolute position values in terms of x, y coordinates.
correct a current position value of the autonomous mobile robot based on the absolute position value, wherein the current position value of the autonomous mobile robot is acquired by the at least one second sensor,
(Glass) – “Referring to FIG. 1, a robot self-position identification system 100 according to this embodiment includes, for example, autonomously moving robots (hereinafter simply referred to as “robots”) 18a, 18b, and 18c in a space where these robots exist. It is a system for self-localization (also called Localization). In the present embodiment, “self-position identification” refers to the robots 18a, 18b, and 18c (hereinafter referred to as “robot 18” if they are not distinguished from each other) their own position, angle, and speed in the space. Is acquired using its own sensors and environmental sensors.” (Para 0036)
“FIG. 9 is an illustrative view of RTM data composed of the RTM of each robot 18. In this embodiment, when the tracking server 10 establishes communication with each robot 18 in order to receive state data, an RTM is created for each robot 18. Then, correction data transmitted to each robot 18 is determined based on this RTM. Thus, each RTM includes the current robot 18 position, angle and velocity values.” (Para 0089)
wherein the processor is further configured to perform a determination to determine whether to correct the current position value based on the absolute position value, and wherein the determination is performed either: (i) without considering a threshold value, such that the current position value is corrected to the absolute position value whenever a position error between the absolute position value and the current position value occurs; or(ii) by considering the threshold value, such that the processor periodically determines whether the position error between the absolute position value and the current position value exceeds the threshold value and corrects the current position value to the absolute position value when the position error exceeds the threshold value.
(Glass) – “Subsequently, in step S11, it is determined whether or not correction is possible. That is, it is determined whether the robot 18 and the entity E are associated with each other. Further, in this embodiment, the robot 18 and the entity E cannot be associated with each other unless a certain period of time has elapsed since the tracking server 10 was activated. Therefore, in step S11, it is determined whether or not the initial flag 348 indicating that a certain time has elapsed since the start is off. If “NO” in the step S11, that is, if a predetermined time has not elapsed since the tracking server 10 is started, the process proceeds to a step S17.” (Para 0146)
“If “YES” in the step S11, that is, if a predetermined time has elapsed since the tracking server 10 is started and the robot 18 and the entity E are associated with each other, whether or not the correction accuracy is high in a step S13. Judging. That is, it is determined whether or not the estimated angle error amount σ2θ ^ k stored in the correction accuracy buffer 340 is equal to or less than a threshold value (for example, 2 degrees). If “NO” in the step S13, that is, if the estimated angle error amount σ2θ ^ k temporarily stored in the correction accuracy buffer 340 is not equal to or less than the threshold value, the RTM position data is determined based on the robot ID in a step S15. Send. For example, if the state data is acquired from the robot 18a with the robot ID “001”, the RTM position data is transmitted to the robot 18a with the same robot ID. Subsequently, in step S17, the RTM is updated based on the robot ID. That is, the angle and speed of the RTM are updated based on the angle data included in the acquired state data. For example, in the state data of the robot 18a, if the angle data is 30 degrees, the RTM angle of the robot 18a is updated to 30 degrees.” (Para 0147)
“However, the wheel 32 of the robot 18 slips slightly with respect to the ground each time the robot 18 stops or bends, so there is an error between the position and angle determined from the rotation of the wheel 32 and the actual position and angle. Occurs. Since the error increases as the robot 18 moves, the reliability of the position data and angle data included in the state data decreases as the robot 18 moves. Therefore, if the RTM for the robot 18 is updated based only on the state data output by the robot 18, the RTM cannot indicate the correct state (position, angle, and speed) of the robot 18.” (Para 0092)
“Therefore, in this embodiment, the entity E detected in the detection region F is associated with the robot 18 moving in the detection region F, and the position data of the entity E detected using the LRF 12 and the associated robot 18 are detected. The RTM is updated based on the state data. As a result, each RTM can indicate the correct state of the robot 18.” (Para 0093)
Claim 2-4: Canceled
Claim 5:
Glass explicitly teaches:
A position correction method performed by an autonomous mobile robot capable of driving autonomously in an indoor area of a building, wherein the building comprises a plurality of first sensors installed in the indoor area and the autonomous mobile robot comprises at least one second sensor, the position correction method comprising:
(Glass) – “Referring to FIG. 1, a robot self-position identification system 100 according to this embodiment includes, for example, autonomously moving robots (hereinafter simply referred to as “robots”) 18a, 18b, and 18c in a space where these robots exist. It is a system for self-localization (also called Localization). In the present embodiment, “self-position identification” refers to the robots 18a, 18b, and 18c (hereinafter referred to as “robot 18” if they are not distinguished from each other) their own position, angle, and speed in the space. Is acquired using its own sensors and environmental sensors.” (Para 0036)
“The tracking server 10 includes a plurality of LRFs including LRFs 12a and 12b, which are environment sensors. The LRFs 12a and 12b are installed in a place (environment) where the human and the robot 18 can act. Then, the tracking server 10 detects the position of each entity by sensing the entities including the robot 18 and the human using the LRFs 12a and 12b. For example, the place where the human and the robot 18 can act is a company floor, a museum, a shopping mall, or an attraction venue. Note that the system administrator can easily install the LRFs 12a and 12b in various places. Further, the position data obtained by the tracking server 10 is output to the remote operation server 14 and the planning server 16.” (Para 0038)
receiving relative position information of the autonomous mobile robot while the autonomous mobile robot is autonomously driving, wherein the relative position information of the autonomous mobile robot is acquired from each of the plurality of first sensors;
(Glass) – “Referring to FIG. 1, a robot self-position identification system 100 according to this embodiment includes, for example, autonomously moving robots (hereinafter simply referred to as “robots”) 18a, 18b, and 18c in a space where these robots exist. It is a system for self-localization (also called Localization). In the present embodiment, “self-position identification” refers to the robots 18a, 18b, and 18c (hereinafter referred to as “robot 18” if they are not distinguished from each other) their own position, angle, and speed in the space. Is acquired using its own sensors and environmental sensors.” (Para 0036)
“The tracking server 10 includes a plurality of LRFs including LRFs 12a and 12b, which are environment sensors. The LRFs 12a and 12b are installed in a place (environment) where the human and the robot 18 can act. Then, the tracking server 10 detects the position of each entity by sensing the entities including the robot 18 and the human using the LRFs 12a and 12b. For example, the place where the human and the robot 18 can act is a company floor, a museum, a shopping mall, or an attraction venue. Note that the system administrator can easily install the LRFs 12a and 12b in various places. Further, the position data obtained by the tracking server 10 is output to the remote operation server 14 and the planning server 16.” (Para 0038)
“The communication LAN board 24 is composed of, for example, a DSP, and sends transmission data given from the processor 20 to the wireless communication device 26, and the wireless communication device 26 sends the transmission data to the robot 18 via the network 400. The transmission data is correction data or the like. On the other hand, the communication LAN board 24 receives data via the wireless communication device 26 and gives the received data to the processor 20. The received data is status data output by the robot 18. The received status data is stored in the buffer of the memory 22.” (Para 0048)
“FIG. 4 is a block diagram showing an electrical configuration of the robot 18. Referring to FIG. 4, robot 18 includes a processor 80. The processor 80, also called a microcomputer or CPU, is connected to the memory 84, the motor control board 86, the sensor input / output board 88, and the audio input / output board 90 via the bus 82. The processor 80 includes an RTC 80a and associates time data with the created state data.” (Para 0061)
Examiner Note: Per BRI, without specification of what the position is relative to, any position may correspond with a relative position.
obtaining an absolute position value of the autonomous mobile robot based on the relative position information of the autonomous mobile robot; and
(Glass) – “Referring to FIG. 1, a robot self-position identification system 100 according to this embodiment includes, for example, autonomously moving robots (hereinafter simply referred to as “robots”) 18a, 18b, and 18c in a space where these robots exist. It is a system for self-localization (also called Localization). In the present embodiment, “self-position identification” refers to the robots 18a, 18b, and 18c (hereinafter referred to as “robot 18” if they are not distinguished from each other) their own position, angle, and speed in the space. Is acquired using its own sensors and environmental sensors.” (Para 0036)
“FIG. 6 is an illustrative view showing a map of a certain environment where the LRFs 12a to 12f are installed. Referring to FIG. 6, the place represented by the map is a shopping mall. The three LRFs 12a, 12c, and 12d are installed corresponding to the upper position of the map, and the three LRFs 12b, 12e, and 12f are set corresponding to the lower position of the map. And the area | region where the measurement area | region of two or more LRF12 overlaps is shown as the detection area | region F, and is a hatched area | region in FIG. The position in the detection area F is indicated by a plane coordinate system with the lower left in FIG. 6 as the origin.” (Para 0083)
“In the detection area F (space), the robot 18a, the robot 18b, the robot 18c, and the human are detected as an entity Ea, an entity Eb, an entity Ec, and an entity Ed (referred to as “entity E” if not distinguished). Further, in FIG. 6, the movement locus M is shown based on the position history data corresponding to each entity E. That is, the position history data of the entity Ea is indicated by the movement locus Ma, the position history data of the entity Eb is indicated by the movement locus Mb, the position history data of the entity Ec is indicated by the movement locus Mc, and the position history data of the entity Ed. Is indicated by a movement trajectory Md.” (Para 0084)
“FIG. 7 is an illustrative view showing a plurality of position data detected by the tracking server 10, that is, position history data. Referring to FIG. 7, each position data includes a time (T) when the position is detected and a numerical value (X, Y) indicating the plane coordinates of detection area F. Each position history data is stored separately for each entity E.” (Para 0085)
“In the numerical values (X, Y) and (x, y) indicating the plane coordinates described above, a change in one coordinate corresponds to a distance change of 1 cm. For example, if the position data of the entity E is (X, Y) and the entity E moves 1 cm to the right, the coordinates of the entity E change to (X + 1, Y).” (Para 0088)
Examiner Note: Per BRI, any position described in any coordinate system may correspond with absolute position. This interpretation is confirmed by the description in the specification of the instant application of absolute position values in terms of x, y coordinates.
correcting a current position value of the autonomous mobile robot based on the absolute position value, wherein the current position value of the autonomous mobile robot is acquired by the at least one second sensor,
(Glass) – “Referring to FIG. 1, a robot self-position identification system 100 according to this embodiment includes, for example, autonomously moving robots (hereinafter simply referred to as “robots”) 18a, 18b, and 18c in a space where these robots exist. It is a system for self-localization (also called Localization). In the present embodiment, “self-position identification” refers to the robots 18a, 18b, and 18c (hereinafter referred to as “robot 18” if they are not distinguished from each other) their own position, angle, and speed in the space. Is acquired using its own sensors and environmental sensors.” (Para 0036)
“FIG. 9 is an illustrative view of RTM data composed of the RTM of each robot 18. In this embodiment, when the tracking server 10 establishes communication with each robot 18 in order to receive state data, an RTM is created for each robot 18. Then, correction data transmitted to each robot 18 is determined based on this RTM. Thus, each RTM includes the current robot 18 position, angle and velocity values.” (Para 0089)
wherein the position correction method further comprises: performing a determination to determine whether to correct the current position value based on the absolute position value, and wherein the determination is performed either:(i) without considering a threshold value, such that the current position value is corrected to the absolute position value whenever a position error between the absolute position value and the current position value occurs; or (ii) by considering the threshold value, such that the method periodically determines whether the position error between the absolute position value and the current position value exceeds the threshold value and corrects the current position value to the absolute position value when the position error exceeds the threshold value.
(Glass) – “Subsequently, in step S11, it is determined whether or not correction is possible. That is, it is determined whether the robot 18 and the entity E are associated with each other. Further, in this embodiment, the robot 18 and the entity E cannot be associated with each other unless a certain period of time has elapsed since the tracking server 10 was activated. Therefore, in step S11, it is determined whether or not the initial flag 348 indicating that a certain time has elapsed since the start is off. If “NO” in the step S11, that is, if a predetermined time has not elapsed since the tracking server 10 is started, the process proceeds to a step S17.” (Para 0146)
“If “YES” in the step S11, that is, if a predetermined time has elapsed since the tracking server 10 is started and the robot 18 and the entity E are associated with each other, whether or not the correction accuracy is high in a step S13. Judging. That is, it is determined whether or not the estimated angle error amount σ2θ ^ k stored in the correction accuracy buffer 340 is equal to or less than a threshold value (for example, 2 degrees). If “NO” in the step S13, that is, if the estimated angle error amount σ2θ ^ k temporarily stored in the correction accuracy buffer 340 is not equal to or less than the threshold value, the RTM position data is determined based on the robot ID in a step S15. Send. For example, if the state data is acquired from the robot 18a with the robot ID “001”, the RTM position data is transmitted to the robot 18a with the same robot ID. Subsequently, in step S17, the RTM is updated based on the robot ID. That is, the angle and speed of the RTM are updated based on the angle data included in the acquired state data. For example, in the state data of the robot 18a, if the angle data is 30 degrees, the RTM angle of the robot 18a is updated to 30 degrees.” (Para 0147)
“However, the wheel 32 of the robot 18 slips slightly with respect to the ground each time the robot 18 stops or bends, so there is an error between the position and angle determined from the rotation of the wheel 32 and the actual position and angle. Occurs. Since the error increases as the robot 18 moves, the reliability of the position data and angle data included in the state data decreases as the robot 18 moves. Therefore, if the RTM for the robot 18 is updated based only on the state data output by the robot 18, the RTM cannot indicate the correct state (position, angle, and speed) of the robot 18.” (Para 0092)
“Therefore, in this embodiment, the entity E detected in the detection region F is associated with the robot 18 moving in the detection region F, and the position data of the entity E detected using the LRF 12 and the associated robot 18 are detected. The RTM is updated based on the state data. As a result, each RTM can indicate the correct state of the robot 18.” (Para 0093)
Claim 6-8: Canceled
Claim 9:
Glass explicitly teaches:
A cloud device that communicates with a plurality of autonomous mobile robots driving autonomously in an indoor area of a building, wherein the building comprises a plurality of first sensors installed in the indoor area, wherein each of the plurality of autonomous mobile obots comprises at least one second sensor,
(Glass) – “Referring to FIG. 1, a robot self-position identification system 100 according to this embodiment includes, for example, autonomously moving robots (hereinafter simply referred to as “robots”) 18a, 18b, and 18c in a space where these robots exist. It is a system for self-localization (also called Localization). In the present embodiment, “self-position identification” refers to the robots 18a, 18b, and 18c (hereinafter referred to as “robot 18” if they are not distinguished from each other) their own position, angle, and speed in the space. Is acquired using its own sensors and environmental sensors.” (Para 0036)
“The tracking server 10 includes a plurality of LRFs including LRFs 12a and 12b, which are environment sensors. The LRFs 12a and 12b are installed in a place (environment) where the human and the robot 18 can act. Then, the tracking server 10 detects the position of each entity by sensing the entities including the robot 18 and the human using the LRFs 12a and 12b. For example, the place where the human and the robot 18 can act is a company floor, a museum, a shopping mall, or an attraction venue. Note that the system administrator can easily install the LRFs 12a and 12b in various places. Further, the position data obtained by the tracking server 10 is output to the remote operation server 14 and the planning server 16.” (Para 0038)
the cloud device comprising: a communicator;
(Glass) – “The robot self-position identification system 100 includes a tracking server 10, a remote operation device 14, a planning server 16, and a robot 18. The robot 18 is connected to the tracking server 10, the remote operation device 14, and the planning server 16 via the network 400.” (Para 0037)
“The communication LAN board 24 is composed of, for example, a DSP, and sends transmission data given from the processor 20 to the wireless communication device 26, and the wireless communication device 26 sends the transmission data to the robot 18 via the network 400. The transmission data is correction data or the like. On the other hand, the communication LAN board 24 receives data via the wireless communication device 26 and gives the received data to the processor 20. The received data is status data output by the robot 18. The received status data is stored in the buffer of the memory 22.” (Para 0048)
“FIG. 4 is a block diagram showing an electrical configuration of the robot 18. Referring to FIG. 4, robot 18 includes a processor 80. The processor 80, also called a microcomputer or CPU, is connected to the memory 84, the motor control board 86, the sensor input / output board 88, and the audio input / output board 90 via the bus 82. The processor 80 includes an RTC 80a and associates time data with the created state data.” (Para 0061)
“The tracking server 10 includes a plurality of LRFs including LRFs 12a and 12b, which are environment sensors. The LRFs 12a and 12b are installed in a place (environment) where the human and the robot 18 can act. Then, the tracking server 10 detects the position of each entity by sensing the entities including the robot 18 and the human using the LRFs 12a and 12b. For example, the place where the human and the robot 18 can act is a company floor, a museum, a shopping mall, or an attraction venue. Note that the system administrator can easily install the LRFs 12a and 12b in various places. Further, the position data obtained by the tracking server 10 is output to the remote operation server 14 and the planning server 16.” (Para 0038)
a processor configured to: receive, through the communicator, relative position information of a specific autonomous mobile robot while the specific autonomous mobile robot is autonomously driving wherein the relative position information of the specific autonomous mobile robot is acquired by each of the plurality of first sensors,
(Glass) – “Referring to FIG. 1, a robot self-position identification system 100 according to this embodiment includes, for example, autonomously moving robots (hereinafter simply referred to as “robots”) 18a, 18b, and 18c in a space where these robots exist. It is a system for self-localization (also called Localization). In the present embodiment, “self-position identification” refers to the robots 18a, 18b, and 18c (hereinafter referred to as “robot 18” if they are not distinguished from each other) their own position, angle, and speed in the space. Is acquired using its own sensors and environmental sensors.” (Para 0036)
“The tracking server 10 includes a plurality of LRFs including LRFs 12a and 12b, which are environment sensors. The LRFs 12a and 12b are installed in a place (environment) where the human and the robot 18 can act. Then, the tracking server 10 detects the position of each entity by sensing the entities including the robot 18 and the human using the LRFs 12a and 12b. For example, the place where the human and the robot 18 can act is a company floor, a museum, a shopping mall, or an attraction venue. Note that the system administrator can easily install the LRFs 12a and 12b in various places. Further, the position data obtained by the tracking server 10 is output to the remote operation server 14 and the planning server 16.” (Para 0038)
“The communication LAN board 24 is composed of, for example, a DSP, and sends transmission data given from the processor 20 to the wireless communication device 26, and the wireless communication device 26 sends the transmission data to the robot 18 via the network 400. The transmission data is correction data or the like. On the other hand, the communication LAN board 24 receives data via the wireless communication device 26 and gives the received data to the processor 20. The received data is status data output by the robot 18. The received status data is stored in the buffer of the memory 22.” (Para 0048)
“FIG. 4 is a block diagram showing an electrical configuration of the robot 18. Referring to FIG. 4, robot 18 includes a processor 80. The processor 80, also called a microcomputer or CPU, is connected to the memory 84, the motor control board 86, the sensor input / output board 88, and the audio input / output board 90 via the bus 82. The processor 80 includes an RTC 80a and associates time data with the created state data.” (Para 0061)
Examiner Note: Per BRI, without specification of what the position is relative to, any position may correspond with a relative position.
determine an absolute position value of the autonomous mobile robot based on the relative position information of the autonomous mobile robot,
(Glass) – “Referring to FIG. 1, a robot self-position identification system 100 according to this embodiment includes, for example, autonomously moving robots (hereinafter simply referred to as “robots”) 18a, 18b, and 18c in a space where these robots exist. It is a system for self-localization (also called Localization). In the present embodiment, “self-position identification” refers to the robots 18a, 18b, and 18c (hereinafter referred to as “robot 18” if they are not distinguished from each other) their own position, angle, and speed in the space. Is acquired using its own sensors and environmental sensors.” (Para 0036)
“FIG. 6 is an illustrative view showing a map of a certain environment where the LRFs 12a to 12f are installed. Referring to FIG. 6, the place represented by the map is a shopping mall. The three LRFs 12a, 12c, and 12d are installed corresponding to the upper position of the map, and the three LRFs 12b, 12e, and 12f are set corresponding to the lower position of the map. And the area | region where the measurement area | region of two or more LRF12 overlaps is shown as the detection area | region F, and is a hatched area | region in FIG. The position in the detection area F is indicated by a plane coordinate system with the lower left in FIG. 6 as the origin.” (Para 0083)
“In the detection area F (space), the robot 18a, the robot 18b, the robot 18c, and the human are detected as an entity Ea, an entity Eb, an entity Ec, and an entity Ed (referred to as “entity E” if not distinguished). Further, in FIG. 6, the movement locus M is shown based on the position history data corresponding to each entity E. That is, the position history data of the entity Ea is indicated by the movement locus Ma, the position history data of the entity Eb is indicated by the movement locus Mb, the position history data of the entity Ec is indicated by the movement locus Mc, and the position history data of the entity Ed. Is indicated by a movement trajectory Md.” (Para 0084)
“FIG. 7 is an illustrative view showing a plurality of position data detected by the tracking server 10, that is, position history data. Referring to FIG. 7, each position data includes a time (T) when the position is detected and a numerical value (X, Y) indicating the plane coordinates of detection area F. Each position history data is stored separately for each entity E.” (Para 0085)
“In the numerical values (X, Y) and (x, y) indicating the plane coordinates described above, a change in one coordinate corresponds to a distance change of 1 cm. For example, if the position data of the entity E is (X, Y) and the entity E moves 1 cm to the right, the coordinates of the entity E change to (X + 1, Y).” (Para 0088)
Examiner Note: Per BRI, any position described in any coordinate system may correspond with absolute position. This interpretation is confirmed by the description in the specification of the instant application of absolute position values in terms of x, y coordinates.
transmit the absolute position value of the specific autonomous mobile robot to the specific autonomous mobile robot through the communicator to correct the current position value of the specific autonomous mobile robot, herein the current position value of the specific autonomous mobile robot is acquired by the at least one second sensor of the specific autonomous mobile robot,
(Glass) – “Referring to FIG. 1, a robot self-position identification system 100 according to this embodiment includes, for example, autonomously moving robots (hereinafter simply referred to as “robots”) 18a, 18b, and 18c in a space where these robots exist. It is a system for self-localization (also called Localization). In the present embodiment, “self-position identification” refers to the robots 18a, 18b, and 18c (hereinafter referred to as “robot 18” if they are not distinguished from each other) their own position, angle, and speed in the space. Is acquired using its own sensors and environmental sensors.” (Para 0036)
“FIG. 9 is an illustrative view of RTM data composed of the RTM of each robot 18. In this embodiment, when the tracking server 10 establishes communication with each robot 18 in order to receive state data, an RTM is created for each robot 18. Then, correction data transmitted to each robot 18 is determined based on this RTM. Thus, each RTM includes the current robot 18 position, angle and velocity values.” (Para 0089)
“The communication LAN board 24 is composed of, for example, a DSP, and sends transmission data given from the processor 20 to the wireless communication device 26, and the wireless communication device 26 sends the transmission data to the robot 18 via the network 400. The transmission data is correction data or the like. On the other hand, the communication LAN board 24 receives data via the wireless communication device 26 and gives the received data to the processor 20. The received data is status data output by the robot 18. The received status data is stored in the buffer of the memory 22.” (Para 0048)
“FIG. 4 is a block diagram showing an electrical configuration of the robot 18. Referring to FIG. 4, robot 18 includes a processor 80. The processor 80, also called a microcomputer or CPU, is connected to the memory 84, the motor control board 86, the sensor input / output board 88, and the audio input / output board 90 via the bus 82. The processor 80 includes an RTC 80a and associates time data with the created state data.” (Para 0061)
wherein the processor is further configured to perform a determination to determine whether to correct the current position value based on the absolute position value, and wherein the determination is performed either: (i) without considering a threshold value, such that the current position value is corrected to the absolute position value whenever a position error between the absolute position value and the current position value occurs; or (ii) by considering the threshold value, such that the processor periodically determines whether the position error between the absolute position value and the current position value exceeds the threshold value and corrects the current position value to the absolute position value when the position error exceeds the threshold value.
(Glass) – “Subsequently, in step S11, it is determined whether or not correction is possible. That is, it is determined whether the robot 18 and the entity E are associated with each other. Further, in this embodiment, the robot 18 and the entity E cannot be associated with each other unless a certain period of time has elapsed since the tracking server 10 was activated. Therefore, in step S11, it is determined whether or not the initial flag 348 indicating that a certain time has elapsed since the start is off. If “NO” in the step S11, that is, if a predetermined time has not elapsed since the tracking server 10 is started, the process proceeds to a step S17.” (Para 0146)
“If “YES” in the step S11, that is, if a predetermined time has elapsed since the tracking server 10 is started and the robot 18 and the entity E are associated with each other, whether or not the correction accuracy is high in a step S13. Judging. That is, it is determined whether or not the estimated angle error amount σ2θ ^ k stored in the correction accuracy buffer 340 is equal to or less than a threshold value (for example, 2 degrees). If “NO” in the step S13, that is, if the estimated angle error amount σ2θ ^ k temporarily stored in the correction accuracy buffer 340 is not equal to or less than the threshold value, the RTM position data is determined based on the robot ID in a step S15. Send. For example, if the state data is acquired from the robot 18a with the robot ID “001”, the RTM position data is transmitted to the robot 18a with the same robot ID. Subsequently, in step S17, the RTM is updated based on the robot ID. That is, the angle and speed of the RTM are updated based on the angle data included in the acquired state data. For example, in the state data of the robot 18a, if the angle data is 30 degrees, the RTM angle of the robot 18a is updated to 30 degrees.” (Para 0147)
“However, the wheel 32 of the robot 18 slips slightly with respect to the ground each time the robot 18 stops or bends, so there is an error between the position and angle determined from the rotation of the wheel 32 and the actual position and angle. Occurs. Since the error increases as the robot 18 moves, the reliability of the position data and angle data included in the state data decreases as the robot 18 moves. Therefore, if the RTM for the robot 18 is updated based only on the state data output by the robot 18, the RTM cannot indicate the correct state (position, angle, and speed) of the robot 18.” (Para 0092)
“Therefore, in this embodiment, the entity E detected in the detection region F is associated with the robot 18 moving in the detection region F, and the position data of the entity E detected using the LRF 12 and the associated robot 18 are detected. The RTM is updated based on the state data. As a result, each RTM can indicate the correct state of the robot 18.” (Para 0093)
Claim 10-12: Canceled
Claim 13:
Glass explicitly teaches:
A position correction method e-performed by a cloud device capable of communicating with a plurality of autonomous mobile robots driving autonomously in an indoor area of a building, wherein the building comprises a plurality of first sensors installed in the indoor area, wherein each of the plurality of autonomous mobile obots comprises at least one second sensor, the position correction method comprising:
(Glass) – “Referring to FIG. 1, a robot self-position identification system 100 according to this embodiment includes, for example, autonomously moving robots (hereinafter simply referred to as “robots”) 18a, 18b, and 18c in a space where these robots exist. It is a system for self-localization (also called Localization). In the present embodiment, “self-position identification” refers to the robots 18a, 18b, and 18c (hereinafter referred to as “robot 18” if they are not distinguished from each other) their own position, angle, and speed in the space. Is acquired using its own sensors and environmental sensors.” (Para 0036)
“The tracking server 10 includes a plurality of LRFs including LRFs 12a and 12b, which are environment sensors. The LRFs 12a and 12b are installed in a place (environment) where the human and the robot 18 can act. Then, the tracking server 10 detects the position of each entity by sensing the entities including the robot 18 and the human using the LRFs 12a and 12b. For example, the place where the human and the robot 18 can act is a company floor, a museum, a shopping mall, or an attraction venue. Note that the system administrator can easily install the LRFs 12a and 12b in various places. Further, the position data obtained by the tracking server 10 is output to the remote operation server 14 and the planning server 16.” (Para 0038)
receiving, through the communicator, relative position information of a specific autonomous mobile robot of the plurality of autonomous mobile robots while the specific autonomous mobile robot is
(Glass) – “Referring to FIG. 1, a robot self-position identification system 100 according to this embodiment includes, for example, autonomously moving robots (hereinafter simply referred to as “robots”) 18a, 18b, and 18c in a space where these robots exist. It is a system for self-localization (also called Localization). In the present embodiment, “self-position identification” refers to the robots 18a, 18b, and 18c (hereinafter referred to as “robot 18” if they are not distinguished from each other) their own position, angle, and speed in the space. Is acquired using its own sensors and environmental sensors.” (Para 0036)
“The tracking server 10 includes a plurality of LRFs including LRFs 12a and 12b, which are environment sensors. The LRFs 12a and 12b are installed in a place (environment) where the human and the robot 18 can act. Then, the tracking server 10 detects the position of each entity by sensing the entities including the robot 18 and the human using the LRFs 12a and 12b. For example, the place where the human and the robot 18 can act is a company floor, a museum, a shopping mall, or an attraction venue. Note that the system administrator can easily install the LRFs 12a and 12b in various places. Further, the position data obtained by the tracking server 10 is output to the remote operation server 14 and the planning server 16.” (Para 0038)
“The communication LAN board 24 is composed of, for example, a DSP, and sends transmission data given from the processor 20 to the wireless communication device 26, and the wireless communication device 26 sends the transmission data to the robot 18 via the network 400. The transmission data is correction data or the like. On the other hand, the communication LAN board 24 receives data via the wireless communication device 26 and gives the received data to the processor 20. The received data is status data output by the robot 18. The received status data is stored in the buffer of the memory 22.” (Para 0048)
“FIG. 4 is a block diagram showing an electrical configuration of the robot 18. Referring to FIG. 4, robot 18 includes a processor 80. The processor 80, also called a microcomputer or CPU, is connected to the memory 84, the motor control board 86, the sensor input / output board 88, and the audio input / output board 90 via the bus 82. The processor 80 includes an RTC 80a and associates time data with the created state data.” (Para 0061)
Examiner Note: Per BRI, without specification of what the position is relative to, any position may correspond with a relative position.
determining an absolute position value of the specific autonomous mobile robot based on the relative position information of the specific autonomous mobile robot; and
(Glass) – “Referring to FIG. 1, a robot self-position identification system 100 according to this embodiment includes, for example, autonomously moving robots (hereinafter simply referred to as “robots”) 18a, 18b, and 18c in a space where these robots exist. It is a system for self-localization (also called Localization). In the present embodiment, “self-position identification” refers to the robots 18a, 18b, and 18c (hereinafter referred to as “robot 18” if they are not distinguished from each other) their own position, angle, and speed in the space. Is acquired using its own sensors and environmental sensors.” (Para 0036)
“FIG. 6 is an illustrative view showing a map of a certain environment where the LRFs 12a to 12f are installed. Referring to FIG. 6, the place represented by the map is a shopping mall. The three LRFs 12a, 12c, and 12d are installed corresponding to the upper position of the map, and the three LRFs 12b, 12e, and 12f are set corresponding to the lower position of the map. And the area | region where the measurement area | region of two or more LRF12 overlaps is shown as the detection area | region F, and is a hatched area | region in FIG. The position in the detection area F is indicated by a plane coordinate system with the lower left in FIG. 6 as the origin.” (Para 0083)
“In the detection area F (space), the robot 18a, the robot 18b, the robot 18c, and the human are detected as an entity Ea, an entity Eb, an entity Ec, and an entity Ed (referred to as “entity E” if not distinguished). Further, in FIG. 6, the movement locus M is shown based on the position history data corresponding to each entity E. That is, the position history data of the entity Ea is indicated by the movement locus Ma, the position history data of the entity Eb is indicated by the movement locus Mb, the position history data of the entity Ec is indicated by the movement locus Mc, and the position history data of the entity Ed. Is indicated by a movement trajectory Md.” (Para 0084)
“FIG. 7 is an illustrative view showing a plurality of position data detected by the tracking server 10, that is, position history data. Referring to FIG. 7, each position data includes a time (T) when the position is detected and a numerical value (X, Y) indicating the plane coordinates of detection area F. Each position history data is stored separately for each entity E.” (Para 0085)
“In the numerical values (X, Y) and (x, y) indicating the plane coordinates described above, a change in one coordinate corresponds to a distance change of 1 cm. For example, if the position data of the entity E is (X, Y) and the entity E moves 1 cm to the right, the coordinates of the entity E change to (X + 1, Y).” (Para 0088)
Examiner Note: Per BRI, any position described in any coordinate system may correspond with absolute position. This interpretation is confirmed by the description in the specification of the instant application of absolute position values in terms of x, y coordinates.
ransmitting the absolute position value of the specific autonomous mobile robot to the specific autonomous mobile robot to correct the current position value of the specific autonomous mobile robot, wherein the current position value of the specific autonomous mobile robot is acquired by at least one second sensor of the specific autonomous mobile robot,
(Glass) – “Referring to FIG. 1, a robot self-position identification system 100 according to this embodiment includes, for example, autonomously moving robots (hereinafter simply referred to as “robots”) 18a, 18b, and 18c in a space where these robots exist. It is a system for self-localization (also called Localization). In the present embodiment, “self-position identification” refers to the robots 18a, 18b, and 18c (hereinafter referred to as “robot 18” if they are not distinguished from each other) their own position, angle, and speed in the space. Is acquired using its own sensors and environmental sensors.” (Para 0036)
“FIG. 9 is an illustrative view of RTM data composed of the RTM of each robot 18. In this embodiment, when the tracking server 10 establishes communication with each robot 18 in order to receive state data, an RTM is created for each robot 18. Then, correction data transmitted to each robot 18 is determined based on this RTM. Thus, each RTM includes the current robot 18 position, angle and velocity values.” (Para 0089)
wherein the position correction method further comprises: performing a determination to determine whether to correct the current position value based on the absolute position value, wherein the determination is performed either: (i) without considering a threshold value, such that the current position value is corrected to the absolute position value whenever a position error between the absolute position value and the current position value occurs; or (ii) by considering the threshold value, such that the method periodically determines whether the position error between the absolute position value and the current position value exceeds the threshold value and corrects the current position value to the absolute position value when the position error exceeds the threshold value.
(Glass) – “Subsequently, in step S11, it is determined whether or not correction is possible. That is, it is determined whether the robot 18 and the entity E are associated with each other. Further, in this embodiment, the robot 18 and the entity E cannot be associated with each other unless a certain period of time has elapsed since the tracking server 10 was activated. Therefore, in step S11, it is determined whether or not the initial flag 348 indicating that a certain time has elapsed since the start is off. If “NO” in the step S11, that is, if a predetermined time has not elapsed since the tracking server 10 is started, the process proceeds to a step S17.” (Para 0146)
“If “YES” in the step S11, that is, if a predetermined time has elapsed since the tracking server 10 is started and the robot 18 and the entity E are associated with each other, whether or not the correction accuracy is high in a step S13. Judging. That is, it is determined whether or not the estimated angle error amount σ2θ ^ k stored in the correction accuracy buffer 340 is equal to or less than a threshold value (for example, 2 degrees). If “NO” in the step S13, that is, if the estimated angle error amount σ2θ ^ k temporarily stored in the correction accuracy buffer 340 is not equal to or less than the threshold value, the RTM position data is determined based on the robot ID in a step S15. Send. For example, if the state data is acquired from the robot 18a with the robot ID “001”, the RTM position data is transmitted to the robot 18a with the same robot ID. Subsequently, in step S17, the RTM is updated based on the robot ID. That is, the angle and speed of the RTM are updated based on the angle data included in the acquired state data. For example, in the state data of the robot 18a, if the angle data is 30 degrees, the RTM angle of the robot 18a is updated to 30 degrees.” (Para 0147)
“However, the wheel 32 of the robot 18 slips slightly with respect to the ground each time the robot 18 stops or bends, so there is an error between the position and angle determined from the rotation of the wheel 32 and the actual position and angle. Occurs. Since the error increases as the robot 18 moves, the reliability of the position data and angle data included in the state data decreases as the robot 18 moves. Therefore, if the RTM for the robot 18 is updated based only on the state data output by the robot 18, the RTM cannot indicate the correct state (position, angle, and speed) of the robot 18.” (Para 0092)
“Therefore, in this embodiment, the entity E detected in the detection region F is associated with the robot 18 moving in the detection region F, and the position data of the entity E detected using the LRF 12 and the associated robot 18 are detected. The RTM is updated based on the state data. As a result, each RTM can indicate the correct state of the robot 18.” (Para 0093)
Claim 14-16: Canceled
Response to Arguments
The 35 U.S.C. 112 rejection mailed 04/20/2026 has been withdrawn because the amendment filed 06/26/2026 successfully overcomes this rejection.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection mailed 04/20/2026 have been considered but are not convincing.
Specifically, Applicant alleges:
“Glass describes a robot self-position identification system. However, Glass does not disclose the claimed position correction framework in which relative position information acquired from a plurality of first sensors is used to acquire an absolute position value, and the absolute position value is then used as the basis for correcting a current position value acquired by at least one second sensor. Thus, Glass fails to disclose the claimed sequence of operations including: (i) acquiring relative position information from a plurality of first sensors, (ii) acquiring an absolute position value based on the relative position information, and (iii) correcting a current position value based on the absolute position value.
Furthermore, Glass does not disclose determining whether correction should be performed according to either of the two specifically-recited correction methods now set forth in Applicant's amended independent claims. In particular, Glass does not disclose a first method in which the current position value is corrected to the absolute position value whenever a position error between the absolute position value and the current position value occurs, without considering a threshold value.
Glass likewise fails to disclose a second method in which the processor periodically determines whether the position error between the absolute position value and the current position value exceeds a threshold value and corrects the current position value only when the position error exceeds the threshold value. The periodic determination of whether the position error exceeds the threshold value, as now expressly recited in Applicant's amended independent claims, is not disclosed in Glass.
In view of the preceding information, it is clear that Glass does not disclose or suggest Applicant's claimed position correction method that includes performing a determination to determine whether to correct the current position value based on the absolute position value,8
where the determination is performed either: (i) without considering a threshold value, such that the current position value is corrected to the absolute position value whenever a position error between the absolute position value and the current position value occurs; or (ii) by considering the threshold value, such that the method periodically determines whether the position error between the absolute position value and the current position value exceeds the threshold value and corrects the current position value to the absolute position value when the position error exceeds the threshold value.”
However, this is not convincing. It is noted that the so-called first and second methods are claimed in the alternative. As such the prior art need only teach one of the two options in order to read on the claims. Glass does teach at least the second alternative (“considering the threshold”) as fully evidenced in the 102 rejection above with particular reference to Glass Para 0147. This limitation is similar to the previously presented Claim 4 (now canceled). It is noted that Applicant makes no rebuttal to the teachings of Glass cited for the rejection of Claim 4, instead merely alleging that Glass does not teach it despite the recited sections. As such, Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
As such, the prior art rejection of all remaining claims has not been overcome.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jeong (US11859994) teaches correcting position based on position error thresholds.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID RUBEN PEDERSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3658