DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/11/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Lochmann et al (US 20150327330 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lochmann discloses
A heating device (heating element 100, fig.1A) configured to be installed in a motor vehicle interior [Par.0039 cited: “…apparatus for heating a surface in the internal space of a motor vehicle…”], the heating device (heating element 100) comprising:
a heating structure (heating element 100) comprising:
at least one resistive layer (carrier material 8, fig.1A) configured to produce a release of heat when the resistive layer (carrier material 8) has an electric current passing through it,
at least two distribution electrodes (heat conductor terminal ends 1a, 1b, fig.1A), wherein the distribution electrodes (heat conductor terminal ends 1a, 1b) being are in electrical contact with the resistive layer (carrier material 8) so as to allow an electric current to flow through the resistive layer (carrier material 8); and
an electrical connector (heating conductor terminal areas 2, fig.1A) comprising at least two electrical-contact regions (heating conductor terminal areas 2),
wherein one of the electrical-contact regions (heating conductor terminal area 2 on left, fig.1A) is in electrical contact with one of the distribution electrodes (heat conductor terminal end 1a, fig.1A),
wherein the other electrical-contact region (heating conductor terminal area 2 on right, fig.1A) is in contact with the other distribution electrode (heat conductor terminal end 1b, fig.1A), the electrical connector (heating conductor terminal areas 2) comprising an edge extending from one of the electrical-contact regions (heating conductor terminal area 2 on left) towards the other electrical-contact region (heating conductor terminal area 2 on right).
Regarding claim 2, Lochmann discloses
the electrical connector (heating conductor terminal areas 2, fig.1A) is mounted on the heating structure (heating element 100, fig.1A).
Regarding claim 3, Lochmann discloses
the electrical connector (heating conductor terminal areas 2, fig.1A) is made in one piece.
Regarding claim 4, Lochmann discloses
the heating structure (heating element 100, fig.1A) comprises a temperature sensor (temperature acquisition element 3, fig.1A) configured to contribute to measuring the temperature of at least one region of the heating structure (heating element 100).
Regarding claim 5, Lochmann discloses
the temperature sensor (temperature acquisition element 3, fig.1A) comprises at least two electrical terminals (temperature acquisition element terminal ends 4a, 4b, fig.1A) configured to connect the temperature sensor (temperature acquisition element 3) to a measurement circuit (printed circuit board 7, fig.1A) configured to supply temperature information.
Regarding claim 6, Lochmann discloses
the electrical connector (heating conductor terminal areas 2, fig.1A) comprises at least two additional electrical-contact regions (first TA terminal area 5, fig.1A), wherein one of the additional electrical-contact regions (first TA terminal area 5 on left) is in contact with one of the electrical terminals (temperature acquisition element terminal ends 4a, fig.1A) of the temperature sensor (temperature acquisition element 3, fig.1A), and the other additional electrical-contact region (temperature acquisition element terminal ends 4b, fig.1A) is in electrical contact with the other electrical terminal (first TA terminal area 5 on right) of the temperature sensor (temperature acquisition element 3).
Regarding claim 7, Lochmann discloses
the electrical connector (heating conductor terminal areas 2, fig.1A) is configured to fit-together with at least one complementary connector (second HC terminal area 10, fig.1A) that complements the electrical connector (heating conductor terminal areas 2), wherein the complementary connector is, a plug [Par.0011 cited: “…printed circuit board is intended to be connected to parts of the steering wheel, for example, via a plug-type or also a clip-type connection…”].
Regarding claim 8, Lochmann discloses
the at least two distribution electrodes (heat conductor terminal ends 1a, 1b, fig.1A) are separated by a spacing, wherein the spacing decreases with increasing proximity to the electrical-contact regions (heating conductor terminal areas 2) of the electrical connector (heating conductor terminal areas 2, fig.1A).
Regarding claim 9, Lochmann discloses
at least one of the distribution electrodes (heat conductor terminal ends 1a, 1b, fig.1A) comprises at least one direction-change bend (pcb trace 12, fig.1A) such that the spacing between the distribution electrodes decreases with increasing proximity to the electrical connector (heating conductor terminal areas 2, fig.1A).
Regarding claim 10, Lochmann discloses
the electrical connector (heating conductor terminal areas 2, fig.1A) comprises at least two clamping regions (pcb trace 12, fig.1A), wherein one of the clamping regions (pcb trace 12 on left) is configured to clamp one of the distribution electrodes (heat conductor terminal ends 1a, fig.1A), wherein the other clamping region (pcb trace 12 on right) being is configured to clamp the other distribution electrode (heat conductor terminal ends 1b, fig.1A), each clamping region (pcb trace 12) comprising a first clamping part (top portion of pcb trace 12) and a second clamping part (bottom portion of pcb trace 12) which are secured to one another, at least one of the first clamping part (top portion of pcb trace 12) and second clamping part (bottom portion of pcb trace 12) of one of the clamping regions (pcb trace 12) comprising at least one contact portion (middle portion of pcb trace 12) for contact with a distribution electrode (electrode of pcb trace 12), wherein the contact portion (contract portion of pcb trace 12) constitutes an electrical-contact region (electrical region of pcb trace 12)) of the electrical connector (heating conductor terminal areas 2, fig.1A), wherein the first clamping part (top portion of pcb trace 12) and second clamping part (bottom portion of pcb trace 12) are configured to clamp the distribution electrode (electrode of pcb trace 12) and establish electrical contact between the distribution electrode (electrode of pcb trace 12) and at least one of the first clamping part (top portion of pcb trace 12) or second clamping part (bottom portion of pcb trace 12), at least one of the first clamping part (top portion of pcb trace 12) and second clamping part (bottom portion of pcb trace 12) of the other of the clamping regions (pcb trace 12) comprising at least one contact portion (middle portion of pcb trace 12) for contact with the other distribution electrode (electrode of pcb trace 12), wherein the contact portion (middle portion of pcb trace 12) constitutes another electrical-contact region (middle portion of pcb trace 12) of the electrical connector (heating conductor terminal areas 2), wherein the first clamping part (top portion of pcb trace 12) and second clamping part (bottom portion of pcb trace 12) are configured to clamp the other distribution electrode (electrode of pcb trace 12) and establish electrical contact between the distribution electrode (electrode of pcb trace 12) and at least one of the first clamping part (top portion of pcb trace 12) or second clamping part (bottom portion of pcb trace 12).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Nathan et al. (US 20090001778 A1) is considered as the relevant prior art in field of a reduce power heat mat, as shown in figs.1 and 2, with a heating device, a resistive layer, a plurality of electrodes, …but does not explicitly disclose the other limitations…
/PHUONG T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761
10/26/2026