CARBON PARTICLES AND METHOD FOR THEIR MANUFACTURE
Examiner: Adam Arciero S.N. 18/718,742 Art Unit: 1727 September 2, 2026
DETAILED ACTION
The Application filed on June 11, 2024 have been received. Claims 1-4 are currently pending and have been fully considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “thin easy” in claims 1 and 3-4 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “thin easy” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear as to what structure Applicant is intending to claim. For the purposes of compact prosecution, any thickness for the exterior housing will read on the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yanagida et al. (JP 2017-103029; as found in IDS dated 06/11/2024 and using machine translation for citation purposes).
As to Claims 1-2, Yanagida discloses a cylindrical battery, comprising: an electrode assembly 20 having a positive and negative electrode 21,22 wound with a separator 23 interposed therebetween;
a bottomed cylindrical exterior housing can 11 that houses said electrode assembly;
a sealing assembly/terminal cap (battery lid)14 that is fixed by caulking to an opening of the can with a gasket 17 interposed between the sealing assembly and the opening,
wherein the exterior housing can has a rupture portion (groove) 11Gv in a bottom portion 11Bt. The battery lid 14 has a shape with an inclined portion and a top portion, and the lid faces the central hole 20A with the safety valve 15 interposed therebetween and is exposed to the internal space of the battery,
and a top portion that connects with an inner edge of the inclined portion, and at least a portion of the top portion faces a hollow (central hole) 20a of said electrode assembly in an axial direction (Fig. 1-2 and paragraphs [0015-0017 and 0021]).
As to Claim 3, Yanagida discloses wherein the groove 11Gv has a C shape (Fig. 2 and paragraph [0022]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yanagida et al. (JP 2017-103029; as found in IDS dated 06/11/2024 and using machine translation for citation purposes) in view of Miyata et al. (US 2015/0132625 A1; as found in IDS dated 06/11/2024).
As to Claim 4, Yanagida does not specifically disclose wherein the easy rupture portion is formed by the claimed groove.
However, Miyata teaches of a cylindrical battery comprising a rupture portion having a polygonal shape (paragraphs [0011 and 0043]). The courts have held that the claimed configuration for the rupture portion is a matter of choice which a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence the claimed shape was significant, see MPEP 2144.04, IV, B. At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the shape of the rupture portion of Yanagida to comprise the claimed shape because Miyata teaches that a battery with a crack occurrence and scatter occurrence rate of 0% is provided (Table 1).
Conclusion
/ADAM A ARCIERO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1727