DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) filed 08/28/2024 has/have been considered by the Examiner.
Status of the Claims
Claims 18-30 have been cancelled. Claims 28-49 have been newly added. Claims 31-49 are currently pending. Claims 33-37 are currently withdrawn. Claims 31-32 and 38-49 are currently rejected.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "35" (see pg. 15 ln. 26 of instant specification) and "37" (see pg. 14 ln. 6 of instant specification) have both been used to designate the “second bearing surface”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “35” has been used to designate both the “second bearing surface” (see pg. 15 ln. 26 of instant specification) and “needle tip” (see pg. 14 ln. 11 of instant specification). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "23”, “27”, and "37" (see Reference numeral list on pg. 17 of instant specification) have all been used to designate “bearing surface”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Examiner suggests the following corrections:
The instance of “second bearing surface 35” appearing on pg. 15 as noted above to be changed to “second bearing surface 37” in order to rectify the first two issues noted above.
In the list of Reference numerals on pg. 17, each instance of “bearing surface” should be altered to include the appropriate modifier first, second, or third, respectively for reference numerals 23, 37, and 27.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
“needle cove 26” in line 33 of page 15 should read “needle cover 26”
Appropriate correction is required.
The amendment filed 09/05/2024 is objected to under 35 U.S.C. 132(a) because it introduces new matter into the disclosure. 35 U.S.C. 132(a) states that no amendment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of the invention. The added material which is not supported by the original disclosure is as follows:
The incorporation by reference of the international patent application PCT/EP2022/085657 and of the foreign patent application EP 21315279.6 is ineffective as it was added after the date of entry into the national phase, which is after the filing date of the instant application. The filing date of this national stage application is the filing date of associated PCT, in this case 06/11/2024, see MPEP 1893.03(b). Therefore the specification amendment of 09/05/2024 to include the incorporation by reference is new matter, per MPEP 608.01(p). Applicant is advised to remove the phrase “, the disclosures of which are incorporated herein by reference.” from the specification.
Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in the reply to this Office Action.
Claim Objections
Claim 31 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 31 recites the limitation “configured to eject medicament” in the second to last line. This should more clearly read “configured to eject a medicament”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Applicant is advised that should claim 32 be found allowable, claim 48 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“drive mechanism” in claims 31 and 46-47 has a generic placeholder (mechanism) coupled to functional language (drive) without sufficient structure recited in the claims to preform a “drive” function. As such, “drive mechanism” is interpreted in light of [0063] and [0052] of the PGPUB of the instant application (US 20250041530 A1) to (1) comprise an energy storage and a plunger (or equivalent) and (2) have the energy storage be a mechanical energy storage such as a compressed spring (or equivalent) or a electrical or pneumatic energy storage such as a compressed gas (or equivalent).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 32 and 46- 48 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 32 recites the limitation "a medicament" in line 2. Claim 31, from which claim 32 depends from, recites “medicament” in the second to last line. It is unclear whether the instance of this limitation in the dependent claim is meant to introduce a new structure (in which case the naming convention should be altered to distinguish the structures) or refer back to the same structure earlier introduced (in which case the article should be changed to “the”). For the purposes of examination, any of the situations described has been interpreted to meet the claim limitation.
Claim 46 recites the limitation "a drive mechanism" in line 2. Claim 31, from which claim 48 depends from, recites “a drive mechanism” in the second to last line. It is unclear whether the instance of this limitation in the dependent claim is meant to introduce a new structure (in which case the naming convention should be altered to distinguish the structures) or refer back to the same structure earlier introduced (in which case the article should be changed to “the”). For the purposes of examination, any of the situations described has been interpreted to meet the claim limitation.
Claim 48 recites the limitation "a medicament" in line 2. Claim 31, from which claim 48 depends from, recites “medicament” in the second to last line. It is unclear whether the instance of this limitation in the dependent claim is meant to introduce a new structure (in which case the naming convention should be altered to distinguish the structures) or refer back to the same structure earlier introduced (in which case the article should be changed to “the”). For the purposes of examination, any of the situations described has been interpreted to meet the claim limitation.
Claim 47 is rejected for being dependent upon a claim rejected under 112b, since dependent claims inherit the deficiencies of the claims on which they depend.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 31-32, 39-42, 45-47, and 49 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Carrel et al (US-20140257184-A1; hereafter Carrel).
Regarding claim 31, Carrel discloses an injection device ([0155] The injection assistance device 1 of FIGS. 18 to 22) comprising:
an assembly (injection set 100, fig. 18, [0154]), comprising:
a medicament container (hollow body 2 and hollow injection needle 7, fig. 18), comprising:
a medicament container body (hollow body 2, fig. 18, [0071] and [0155]); and
a needle (hollow injection needle 7, fig. 18, [0071]) protruding from a distal end of the medicament container body (see fig. 18) and fluidly connected to an interior of the medicament container body (2) ([0051] “product is pushed through the needle during injection”; see delivery through body 2 and needle 7 in figs. 18-22, described in [0160]);
a housing (sleeve tube 75, fig. 18, [0155]) comprising a first bearing surface (radial rim 82, fig. 21, [0161]) configured (Claim language of “configured to” implies functional language and the prior art must only be capable of performing the recited function.) to support the medicament container (2/7) in a distal direction (see fig. 21, );
a distancing element (see annotated fig. 18 below) arranged on the needle (7, fig. 18) and providing a second bearing surface (see annotated fig. 18 below) configured (Claim language of “configured to” implies functional language and the prior art must only be capable of performing the recited function.) to contact a patient's skin during use of the injection device (see contact in figs. 20 and 21), thereby preventing insertion of the needle into the patient beyond a predetermined injection depth (predetermined insertion length L, fig. 20 and 21, [0162]-[0163] describe how “needle 7 is therefore maintained at a constant insertion length, namely its predetermined insertion length L” by engagement of a spring against the body 2 which, as shown in figs. 20-21, interacts with the injection site 27 via the distancing element); and
a drive mechanism (see 112f interpretation above) (spring 76 and plunger 26, fig. 18-22, [0160]) configured (Claim language of “configured to” implies functional language and the prior art must only be capable of performing the recited function.) to eject medicament (product 25, fig. 18, [0178] “The body 2 is intended to receive the product 25 that is to be injected.”) from the medicament container (2, fig. 18) when activated ([0160] “In the end-of-insertion position, the resultant of the forces of the said first and second springs 76, 78, the force needed to overcome the stiction of the said piston plunger 26 and the force with which the said sleeve 4 is pressed against the said injection site 27 is directed in the distal direction and so the said first spring 76 drives the said piston plunger 26 into the said hollow body 2 and administers the injection automatically, as shown in FIG. 21.”).
Regarding claim 32 and regarding claim 48 (note objection above for claims 32 and 48 reciting identical subject matter), Carrel discloses the injection device according to claim 31, as described above, including wherein the medicament container (2, fig. 18) contains a medicament (see 112b interpretation above) (product 25, fig. 18, [0178] “The body 2 is intended to receive the product 25 that is to be injected.”).
Regarding claim 39, Carrel discloses the injection device according to claim 31, as described above. Carrel further discloses wherein the needle (needle 7, fig. 18, [0162]) is free from the distancing element (see annotated fig. 20 below) in an area between a needle tip of the needle and a point on the needle that is offset from the needle tip (see the needle tip and the point on the needle in annotated fig. 20 of Carrel below) by the predetermined injection depth (predetermined insertion length L, fig. 20 and 21, [0162]).
Regarding claim 40, Carrel discloses the injection device according to claim 31, as described above. Carrel further discloses wherein the distancing element (see annotated fig. 20 above) extends from the medicament container body (hollow body 2, fig. 18, [0071] and [0155]) at least to a point on the needle that is offset from a needle tip (see the needle tip and the point on the needle in annotated fig. 20 of Carrel above) by the predetermined injection depth (predetermined insertion length L, fig. 20 and 21, [0162]).
Regarding claim 41, Carrel discloses the injection device according to claim 31, as described above. Carrel further discloses wherein the distancing element (see annotated fig. 20 above) is configured (Claim language of “configured to” implies functional language and the prior art must only be capable of performing the recited function.) to completely cover the needle circumferentially ([0059] FIGS. 18 to 22 are sectioned views) for an entire length of the distancing element (see fig. 18-22, all of which show that the distancing element surrounds the needle for an entire length of the distancing element along the axis defined by the needle 7).
Regarding claim 42, Carrel discloses the injection device according to claim 31, as described above. Carrel further discloses wherein the distancing element is configured (Claim language of “configured to” implies functional language and the prior art must only be capable of performing the recited function.) to push the medicament container into a proximal direction during use of the injection device (see fig. 20, distancing element presses against the injection site 27 maintaining the needle 7 at the constant insertion length, and the distancing element is connected to the medicament container such that movement of the medicament container 2 is controlled by movement of the distancing element), such that the medicament container body is spaced from the first bearing surface (radial rim 82, fig. 20, [0161] As can be seen on FIG. 20, a gap 701 is present between the flange 6 of the body 2 and a radial rim 82 formed on the internal wall of the said sleeve tube 75.).
Regarding claim 45, Carrel discloses the injection device according to claim 31, as described above. Carrel further discloses the injection device further comprising a needle cover (sleeve 4, fig. 18, [0158]) providing a third bearing surface (face of sleeve 4 that bears against the injection site 27 as shown in fig. 20 and 21; [0154] “sleeve 4 bears against the said injection site 27”) that protrudes further from the housing than a needle tip at least in a first position of the needle cover (see first position of needle cover 4 in fig. 18, see that the needle cover 4 protrudes from the housing/sleeve tube 75), wherein the needle cover is arranged in the housing such as to move telescopically in the housing when a force is exerted upon the needle cover in a proximal direction (see telescopic movement of needle cover 4 into the housing 75 in figs. 18-21), and wherein the needle cover (4, fig. 22) comprises an opening (see opening in figs. 18-22, noted in annotated fig. 22 below) for the needle (7, fig. 22), the opening being configured (Claim language of “configured to” implies functional language and the prior art must only be capable of performing the recited function.) to allow the needle to pass through the opening (see fig. 21 below which shows that the needle 7 passes through the opening) and to accommodate the distancing element when the needle cover is moved into the housing to a second position (see second position below in fig. 21, note that the distancing element is accommodated in the opening), wherein the second bearing surface and the opening are dimensioned such that the second bearing surface can be arranged within the opening (see annotated fig. 21 below which shows the second bearing surface arranged within the opening).
Regarding claim 46, Carrel discloses the injection device according to claim 45, as described above. Carrel further discloses wherein the needle cover (4, fig. 22) is configured to interact with a drive mechanism (see 112b and 112f interpretations above) of the injection device to activate ([0158] “proximal end of the said sleeve 4 deflects the said tab 81 and disengages the said distal end 80 of the said casing 79 and thus releases the said first spring 76 which returns to a partially expanded state, carrying with it, at the same time, the said casing 79 and the said body 2 and causing the said needle 7 to be inserted automatically into the injection site 27”) and/or enable a medicament ejection ([0160] “In the end-of-insertion position, the resultant of the forces of the said first and second springs 76, 78, the force needed to overcome the stiction of the said piston plunger 26 and the force with which the said sleeve 4 is pressed against the said injection site 27 is directed in the distal direction and so the said first spring 76 drives the said piston plunger 26 into the said hollow body 2 and administers the injection automatically, as shown in FIG. 21.”).
Regarding claim 47, Carrel discloses the injection device according to claim 46, as described above. Carrel further discloses wherein the second bearing surface is configured (Claim language of “configured to” implies functional language and the prior art must only be capable of performing the recited function.) to contact the patient's skin (see fig. 20, second bearing surface is in contact with patient insertion site 27; see [0160]), before the needle cover interacts with the drive mechanism (see 112f interpretation above) (plunger 26 and spring 76, fig. 20, [0160]) to activate and/or enable the medicament ejection (needle cover interacts with first spring 76 once the needle is fully inserted such that the first spring 76 drives the piston plunger 26 to deliver the injection, as described in [0160] “the force with which the said sleeve 4 is pressed against the said injection site 27 is directed in the distal direction and so the said first spring 76 drives the said piston plunger 26 into the said hollow body 2 and administers the injection automatically, as shown in FIG. 21.”).
Regarding claim 49, Carrel discloses the injection device according to claim 31, as described above. Carrel further discloses wherein the needle (7, fig. 20) protrudes distally beyond the housing (75, fig. 20) in a first state of operation (see fig. 20, the insertion of the needle 7 is interpreted to be “a first state of operation”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 38 and 43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carrel as applied to claim 31 above and further in view of Iwase et al (US 20110166520 A1; hereafter Iwase).
Regarding claim 38, Carrel discloses the injection device according to claim 31, as described above.
Carrel is silent to wherein the distancing element is cohesively bonded to the needle.
Iwase, in the art of injection needles for drug delivery devices, teaches wherein the distancing element (adjustment unit 4, fig. 1, [0038]) is cohesively bonded to the needle (needle tube 2, fig. 1, [0038]) ([0048] adjustment unit 4 may be formed of metal and fixed to the needle tube by swaging or welding, or the adjustment unit 4 may be formed of synthetic resin and fixed to the needle tube 2 by integral molding, in which case adjustment unit 4 may be extended in the base end direction and integrated with the hub 3.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the distancing element of Carrel to be cohesively bonded to the needle as taught by Iwase, since Iwase also deals with managing an injection depth (see fig. 1 and [0041] “the protruding length L of the needle tube 2”). One would have been motivated to make the modification because the cohesive bond between the needle and the distancing element would help to better ensure that the distancing element cannot be pushed out of place during the insertion of the needle into the patient, thus better maintaining the proper needle insertion depth.
Regarding claim 43, Carrel discloses the injection device according to claim 31, as described above.
Carrel is silent to wherein the distancing element is made from a rigid material.
Iwase, in the art of injection needles for drug delivery devices, teaches wherein the distancing element (adjustment unit 4, fig. 1, [0038]) is made from a rigid material ([0048] adjustment unit 4 may be formed of metal and fixed to the needle tube by swaging or welding).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the distancing element of Carrel to be formed of metal, a rigid material, as taught by Iwase, since Iwase also deals with managing an injection depth (see fig. 1 and [0041] “the protruding length L of the needle tube 2”). One would have been motivated to make the modification because the rigid metal taught by Iwase would ensure that the distancing element does not deform out of place during the insertion of the needle, thus better maintaining the proper needle insertion depth.
Claim(s) 44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carrel as applied to claim 31 above and further in view Wendland et al (US 20180353703 A1; hereafter Wendland).
Regarding claim 44, Carrel discloses the injection device according to claim 31, as described above.
Carrel is silent to the injection device further comprising a needle shield configured to cover at least a needle tip and at least a portion of the distancing element and configured to be removed before use of the injection device, thereby leaving the distancing element behind on the needle.
Wendland, in the field of injection devices, teaches a needle shield (needle shield 19 and cap 12, figs. 3 and 4, [0065]) configured to cover at least a needle tip (tip of needle 17 shown in figs. 3 and 4, [0062]) and at least a portion of the distancing element (see fig. 3 which shows that a portion of the distancing element is covered) and configured (Claim language of “configured to” implies functional language and the prior art must only be capable of performing the recited function.) to be removed before use of the injection device ([0065] “To inject the liquid medicament 16, the cap 12 and needle shield 19 must be removed from the injection device 100 to uncover the needle 17.”), thereby leaving the distancing element behind on the needle (see annotated fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Carrel to further include a needle shield covering the needle and at least a portion of the distancing element, as taught by Wendland, since Wendland also deals with injection devices. One would have been motivated to make the modification because the needle shield helps to better prevent premature needle sticks, improving the safety of the device.
Conclusion
/I.S.N./Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/JASON E FLICK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783 10/26/2026