CTNF 18/718,760 CTNF 85666 DETAILED ACTION 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claims 1-20 are pending. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim s 1, 4, 8-11, 14-16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cozzo et al. (Pub. No.: US 20230076137 A1), hereinafter Cozzo . Cozzo et al. (Pub. No.: US 20230076137 A1) claims priority of U.S. provisional patent application No. 63/241,269 filed on September 7, 2021. With respect to claim 1 , Cozzo teaches A user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising ( [0073-0074, 0107], a UE for wireless communication) : at least one memory ( [0052], memory) ; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to ( [0052], processor coupled with memory) : receive a first set of Time Division Duplex (TDD) configurations of uplink (UL) and downlink (DL) transmissions for a first set of Bandwidth Parts (BWPs) ( [0005, 0073-0074, 0107], UE receives tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon for a first set of Bandwidth Parts (BWPs), also see provisional application No. 63/241,269, pages 16-17, 26-27) , and a second set of TDD configurations of UL and DL transmissions for a second set of BWPs ( [0005, 0073-0074, 0107], UE receives tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationDedicated for a second set of Bandwidth Parts (BWPs), also see provisional application No. 63/241,269, pages 16-17, 26-27) ; and determine a resulting format of UL and DL transmissions based on the first set of TDD configurations and the second set of TDD configurations ( [0005, 0073-0074, 0107], determine a resulting format / a format of UL and DL transmissions based on the first set of TDD configurations and the second set of TDD configurations, also see provisional application No. 63/241,269, pages 16-17, 26-27) . With respect to claim 4 , Cozzo teaches wherein the resulting format comprises a format for each time unit of slot or symbol, the format for each time unit of slot or symbol comprising a downlink time unit, uplink time unit, or a flexible time unit ( [0005, 0073-0074, 0107], also see provisional application No. 63/241,269, pages 16-17, 26-27) . With respect to claim 8 , Cozzo teaches wherein a TDD configuration of UL and DL transmissions from the second set of TDD configurations overrides a TDD configuration of UL and DL transmissions from the first set of TDD configurations ( [0073-0074, 0107], also see provisional application No. 63/241,269, pages 16-17, 26-27) . With respect to claim 9 , Cozzo teaches wherein overriding applies for flexible symbols configured by the TDD configuration of UL and DL transmissions from the first set of TDD configurations ( [0073-0074, 0107], also see provisional application No. 63/241,269, pages 16-17, 26-27) . With respect to claim 10 , Cozzo teaches wherein a flexible symbol is overridden as a UL symbol, and the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to transmit in a BWP from the second set of BWPs that is associated with an active BWP in the UL symbol ( [0073-0074, 0107], also see provisional application No. 63/241,269, pages 16-17, 26-27) . With respect to claim 11 , Cozzo teaches wherein overriding applies for both flexible and non-flexible symbols configured by the TDD configuration of UL and DL transmissions from the first set of TDD configurations, including DL symbols ( [0073-0074, 0107], also see provisional application No. 63/241,269, pages 16-17, 26-27) . With respect to claim 14 , Cozzo teaches wherein overriding of UL symbols configured by the TDD configuration of UL and DL transmissions from the first set of TDD configurations is not allowable ( [0073-0074, 0107], also see provisional application No. 63/241,269, pages 16-17, 26-27) . With respect to claim 15 , Cozzo teaches A network equipment for wireless communication, comprising ( [0005, 0073-0074, 0107], a BS for wireless communication) : at least one memory ( [0042], memory) ; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the network equipment to ( [0042], processor coupled with memory) : transmit a first set of Time Division Duplex (TDD) configurations of uplink (UL) and downlink (DL) transmissions for a first set of Bandwidth Parts (BWPs) ( [0005, 0073-0074, 0107], BS transmits tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon for a first set of Bandwidth Parts (BWPs), also see provisional application No. 63/241,269, pages 16-17, 26-27) , and a second set of TDD configurations of UL and DL transmissions for a second set of BWPs ( [0005, 0073-0074, 0107], BS transmits tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationDedicated for a second set of Bandwidth Parts (BWPs), also see provisional application No. 63/241,269, pages 16-17, 26-27) ; and determine a resulting format of UL and DL transmissions for a user device based on the first set of TDD configurations, the second set of TDD configurations, and a capability reporting from the user device ( [0005, 0073-0074, 0107], determine a resulting format / a format of UL and DL transmissions based on the first set of TDD configurations and the second set of TDD configurations, also see provisional application No. 63/241,269, pages 16-17, 26-27) . With respect to claim 16 , Cozzo teaches A processor for wireless communication, comprising ( [0052], a processor) : at least one controller coupled with at least one memory and configured to cause the processor to ( [0052], processor coupled with memory) : receive a first set of Time Division Duplex (TDD) configurations of uplink (UL) and downlink (DL) transmissions for a first set of Bandwidth Parts (BWPs) ( [0005, 0073-0074, 0107], UE receives tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon for a first set of Bandwidth Parts (BWPs), also see provisional application No. 63/241,269, pages 16-17, 26-27) , and a second set of TDD configurations of UL and DL transmissions for a second set of BWPs ( [0005, 0073-0074, 0107], UE receives tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationDedicated for a second set of Bandwidth Parts (BWPs), also see provisional application No. 63/241,269, pages 16-17, 26-27) ; and determine a resulting format of UL and DL transmissions based on the first set of TDD configurations and the second set of TDD configurations ( [0005, 0073-0074, 0107], determine a resulting format / a format of UL and DL transmissions based on the first set of TDD configurations and the second set of TDD configurations, also see provisional application No. 63/241,269, pages 16-17, 26-27) . With respect to claim 19 , this claim recites the UE of claim 4, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons. With respect to claim 20 , Cozzo teaches A method performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising ( [0073-0074, 0107], a method performed by a UE) : receiving a first set of Time Division Duplex (TDD) configurations of uplink (UL) and downlink (DL) transmissions for a first set of Bandwidth Parts (BWPs) ( [0005, 0073-0074, 0107], UE receives tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon for a first set of Bandwidth Parts (BWPs), also see provisional application No. 63/241,269, pages 16-17, 26-27) , and a second set of TDD configurations of UL and DL transmissions for a second set of BWPs ( [0005, 0073-0074, 0107], UE receives tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationDedicated for a second set of Bandwidth Parts (BWPs), also see provisional application No. 63/241,269, pages 16-17, 26-27) ; and determining a resulting format of UL and DL transmissions based on the first set of TDD configurations and the second set of TDD configurations ( [0005, 0073-0074, 0107], determining a resulting format / a format of UL and DL transmissions based on the first set of TDD configurations and the second set of TDD configurations, also see provisional application No. 63/241,269, pages 16-17, 26-27) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries set forth in Graham v. John Deere Co. , 383 U.S. 1, 148 USPQ 459 (1966), that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 2 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cozzo, in view of Nguyen et al. (Pub. No.: US 20200403761 A1), hereinafter Nguyen . With respect to claim 2 , Cozzo teaches wherein the first set of BWPs and the second set of BWPs as set forth above. Cozzo does not explicitly teach are a same set of BWPs. However, Nguyen teaches are a same set of BWPs ( [0049], UE 1 in FIG. 7 may be configured with the set of BWPs (211), which is the same as the set of BWPs (215)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Nguyen, are a same set of BWPs, into the teachings of Cozzo , in order to provide zero latency handover utilising bandwidth part (BWP) operation including BWP switching and/or BWPs aggregation ( Nguyen, [0001]). With respect to claim 17 , this claim recites the UE of claim 2, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 3 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cozzo, in view of Ozturk et al. (Pub. No.: US 20210144760 A1), hereinafter Ozturk . With respect to claim 3 , Cozzo teaches wherein the second set of BWPs as set forth above. Cozzo does not explicitly teach comprise additional BWPs, each one of the additional BWPs being associated with a BWP in the first set of BWPs. However, Ozturk teaches comprise additional BWPs, each one of the additional BWPs being associated with a BWP in the first set of BWPs ( [0116]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ozturk, comprise additional BWPs, each one of the additional BWPs being associated with a BWP in the first set of BWPs, into the teachings of Cozzo , in order to improve uplink listen-before-talk (LBT) failure recovery ( Ozturk, [0005]). With respect to claim 18 , this claim recites the UE of claim 3, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cozzo, in view of Ly et al. (Pub. No.: US 20190222290 A1), hereinafter Ly . With respect to claim 5 , Cozzo teaches wherein the resulting format comprises a corresponding BWP for each time unit of slot or symbol based on the first and second sets of TDD configurations ( [0005, 0073-0074, 0107]) , the corresponding BWP for each time unit of slot or symbol ( [0005, 0073-0074, 0107]). Cozzo does not explicitly teach comprising an active BWP from the first set of BWPs or a BWP from the second set of BWPs. However, Ly teaches comprising an active BWP from the first set of BWPs ( [0009]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ly, comprising an active BWP from the first set of BWPs, into the teachings of Cozzo , in order for the UE or TRP switch between multiple configured BWPs based on operating conditions, power mode, or monitoring results, so the device can use the most suitable BWP for the task at hand ( Ly, [0088-0091]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cozzo, in view of Ou (Pub. No.: US 20100329211 A1), hereinafter Ou . With respect to claim 6 , Cozzo teaches the first set of TDD configurations ( [0005, 0073-0074, 0107]) ; and the second set of TDD configurations ( [0005, 0073-0074, 0107]). Cozzo does not explicitly teach comprising comprises UE specific Radio Resource Control (RRC) configuration. However, Ou teaches UE specific Radio Resource Control (RRC) configuration ( [0010]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ou, UE specific Radio Resource Control (RRC) configuration, into the teachings of Cozzo , in order to handle inter-RAT handover in an user equipment of a wireless communication system, so as to effectively configure radio link failure timers and constants ( Ou, [0003]) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 7 and 12-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Pub. No.: US 20210212091 A1; “Pezeshki”, ([0108]) Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KIET TANG whose telephone number is (571)270-7193. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 8:00-5:00. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, IAN MOORE can be reached on (571) 272-3085. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /KIET TANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469 Application/Control Number: 18/718,760 Page 2 Art Unit: 2469 Application/Control Number: 18/718,760 Page 3 Art Unit: 2469 Application/Control Number: 18/718,760 Page 4 Art Unit: 2469 Application/Control Number: 18/718,760 Page 5 Art Unit: 2469 Application/Control Number: 18/718,760 Page 6 Art Unit: 2469 Application/Control Number: 18/718,760 Page 7 Art Unit: 2469 Application/Control Number: 18/718,760 Page 10 Art Unit: 2469