Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/11/2024 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2023/0087862 A1 by Dai et al. (hereafter referred to as Dai).
Regarding claim 1, Dai teaches A communication system (see at least Fig. 1, 3 and 6) comprising:
a network node (see at least Fig. 6; Base Station (110));
a plurality of aiding wireless devices (WDs) (see at least Fig. 6; First wireless node 605 and Second Wireless Node 610): and
a coverage enhancing device (CED) (see at least Fig. 6; RIS 615 (tantamount to CED) configured to redirect signals according to a predetermined spatial pattern (see at least Fig. 6 (660));
wherein the network node is configured to send, to the plurality of aiding WDs, a WD configuration message to configure the plurality of aiding WDs for contemporaneously sending discovery signals (see at least ¶ [0090]; “As shown in FIG. 4, some UEs 120, such as UE 1), may receive a communication (e.g., data and/or control information) directly from the base station 110 as a downlink communication. Additionally, or alternatively, some UEs 120, such as UE 2, may receive a communication (e.g., data and/or control information) indirectly from the base station 110 via the RIS 305. For example, the base station 110 may transmit the communication in a spatial direction toward the RIS 305, and the RIS 305 may redirect or reflect the communication to UE 2.”);
wherein, in a first configuration of the CED, the CED is configured to redirect a first set of discovery signals emitted by the plurality of aiding WDs according to a first predetermined spatial pattern (see at least Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 2, Dai teaches the communication system according to claim 1. In addition, Dai teaches wherein the network node is configured to send, to the CED, a CED configuration message to configure the CED according to the first configuration of the CED (see at least Fig. 6 and ¶ [0101]; “As shown in FIG. 6, and by reference number 620, the base station 110 may transmit, to the RIS 615, configuration information associated with the RIS 615. The configuration information may include information relating to a RIS modulation signature associated with the RIS 615.”).
Regarding claim 3, Dai teaches the communication system according to claim 1. In addition, Dai teaches wherein, when a first discoverable WD receives a first discovery signal: the first discoverable WD is configured to emit a first response signal (see at least Fig. 6 (645)).
Regarding claim 4, Dai teaches the communication system according to claim 3. In addition, Dai teaches wherein, in response to a reception of the first response signal by a first aiding WD of the plurality of aiding WDs, the first aiding WD is configured to send a first identification signal, the first identification signal being indicative of an identification of the first discoverable WD (see at least Fig. 6 (645)).
Regarding claim 5, Dai teaches the communication system according to claim 4. In addition, Dai teaches wherein the first aiding WD is configured to send the first identification signal to the network node (see at least Fig. 6 (645)).
Regarding claim 6, Dai teaches the communication system according to claim 5. In addition, Dai teaches wherein the network node is configured to, upon reception of the first identification signal, send a first discoverable signal to the first discoverable WD (see at least Fig. 6 (645, 650) and Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 7, Dai teaches the communication system according to claim 5. In addition, Dai teaches wherein the network node is configured to, upon reception of the first identification signal, send, to the CED, a first discoverable CED configuration message to configure the CED according to a first discoverable configuration of the CED, wherein the first discoverable configuration of the CED allows signals emitted by the first discoverable WD and the network node to be redirected to one another (see at least Fig. 6 (645, 650, 660) and Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 8, Dai teaches the communication system according to claim 6. In addition, Dai teaches wherein the CED is configured to redirect the first discoverable signal from the network node to the first discoverable WD (see at least Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 9, Dai teaches the communication system according to claim 6. In addition, Dai wherein the first discoverable WD is configured to, upon reception of the first discoverable signal, send a RACH signal to the network node (see at least ¶ [0111]; “For example, the first wireless node 605 may transmit the RIS information request to the base station 110 via a radio resource control (RRC) signal, a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE), a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) communication, or a physical random access channel (PRACH) communication.”).
Regarding claim 10, Dai teaches the communication system according to claim 4. In addition, Dai teaches wherein the first discoverable WD receives the first discovery signal from the first aiding WD, and wherein the first response signal is redirected by the CED in accordance with the first predetermined spatial pattern (see at least Fig. 4 and Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 11, Dai teaches the communication system according to claim 3. In addition, Dai teaches wherein, in a second configuration of the CED, the CED is configured to redirect a second set of discovery signals emitted by the plurality of aiding WDs according to a second predetermined spatial pattern; and wherein, when a second discoverable WD receives a second discovery signal: the second discoverable WD is configured to emit a second response signal (see at least Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 12, Dai teaches the communication system according to claim 11. In addition, Dai teaches wherein, in response to a reception of the second response signal by a second aiding WD, the second aiding WD is configured to send a second identification signal, the second identification signal being indicative of an identification of the second discoverable WD (see at least Fig. 3; second modulation signal).
Regarding claim 13, Dai teaches the communication system according to claim 12. In addition, Dai teaches wherein the second aiding WD is configured to send the second identification signal to the network node (see at least Fig. 6 (660); Redirect sensing signal using second modulation signature).
Regarding claim 14, Dai teaches the communication system according to claim 13. In addition, Dai teaches wherein the network node is configured to, upon reception of the second identification signal, send a second discoverable signal to the second discoverable WD (see at least Figs. 3-6).
Regarding claim 15, Dai teaches the communication system according to claim 13. In addition, Dai teaches wherein the network node is configured to, upon reception of the second identification signal, send, to the CED, a second discoverable CED configuration message to configure the CED according to a second discoverable configuration of the CED, wherein the second discoverable configuration of the CED allows signals emitted by the second discoverable WD and the network node to be redirected to one another (see at least Figs. 3-6).
Regarding claim 16, Dai teaches the communication system according to claim 14. In addition, Dai teaches wherein the CED is configured to redirect the second discoverable signal from the network node to the second discoverable WD (see at least Fig. 6 (660); Redirect sensing signal using second modulation signature).
Regarding claim 17, Dai teaches the communication system according to claim 14. In addition, Dai teaches wherein the first discoverable WD is configured to, upon reception of the second discoverable signal, send a RACH signal to the network node (see at least ¶ [0111]; “For example, the first wireless node 605 may transmit the RIS information request to the base station 110 via a radio resource control (RRC) signal, a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE), a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) communication, or a physical random access channel (PRACH) communication.”).
Regarding claim 18, Dai teaches the communication system according to claim 12. In addition, Dai teaches wherein the second discoverable WD receives the second discovery signal from the second aiding WD, and wherein the second response signal is redirected by the CED in accordance with the second predetermined spatial pattern (see at least Fig. 6 (660); Redirect sensing signal using second modulation signature).
Regarding claim 19, Dai teaches the communication system according to claim 11. In addition, Dai teaches wherein the network node is configured to send, to the CED, a second CED configuration message to configure the CED according the second configuration of the CED (see at least Fig. 6 (650); control information).
Regarding claim 20, Dai teaches A method of operating a network node, the method comprising:
transmitting, to a CED, a CED configuration message to configure the CED according to the one or more configurations of the CED (see at least Fig. 6), the one or more configurations of the CED allowing the CED to redirect signals according to one or more spatial patterns (see at least Fig. 5), wherein the CED configuration message is indicative of a CED schedule for applying the one or more configurations of the CED; and
transmitting, to a plurality of aiding WDs, a WD configuration message to configure a plurality of aiding WDs for contemporaneously sending discovery signals, wherein the WD configuration message is indicative of discovery resources for transmission of the discovery signals (see at least ¶ [0090]; “As shown in FIG. 4, some UEs 120, such as UE 1), may receive a communication (e.g., data and/or control information) directly from the base station 110 as a downlink communication. Additionally, or alternatively, some UEs 120, such as UE 2, may receive a communication (e.g., data and/or control information) indirectly from the base station 110 via the RIS 305. For example, the base station 110 may transmit the communication in a spatial direction toward the RIS 305, and the RIS 305 may redirect or reflect the communication to UE 2.”);
wherein the CED schedule and the discovery resources are aligned in a time domain, such that each respective discovery resource aligns with a respective configuration of the CED (see at least ¶ [0090]; “As shown in FIG. 4, some UEs 120, such as UE 1), may receive a communication (e.g., data and/or control information) directly from the base station 110 as a downlink communication. Additionally, or alternatively, some UEs 120, such as UE 2, may receive a communication (e.g., data and/or control information) indirectly from the base station 110 via the RIS 305. For example, the base station 110 may transmit the communication in a spatial direction toward the RIS 305, and the RIS 305 may redirect or reflect the communication to UE 2.”).
Conclusion
/NATASHA W COSME/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465