DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In regards to applicant’s argument of the drawing objection, Examiner respectfully disagrees and Notes that the drawing objection is maintained since the drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims.
In regards to applicant’s argument that the prior art reference Anderson et al. does not disclose the pin socket as claimed, Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner notes that although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Hence applicant’s arguments directed at the difference of the function of the connecting part and pin socket of Anderson et al. with regards to applicant’s disclosure is considered moot, since such difference is not recited in the claim language. Applicant’s current set of claims are considered broad and given the claims the broadest reasonable interpretation the prior art reference does read on the claims as is rejected below. The pin socket 46 of Anderson et al. is considered to be at an end of the connecting part 40 since it opens at the end of the connecting part as illustrated. Applicant’s current claim language merely limits the claim to having at least one support part arranged on the connecting part, which given the claim language the broadest reasonable interpretation the fingers 45 of Anderson et al. do read on such claim language as is rejected below.
In response to applicant's argument that in the prior art reference Lee the coil does not require encapsulation, is unclear what applicant is referring to since Lee was not used to teach or disclose an encapsulation layer. Examiner notes that the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Since the following grounds of rejection are being maintained, the instant Office action has been made final.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the electronic expansion valve recited in claim 14, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-13, and 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Anderson et al. (U.S. Patent No. 3,843,946).
Regarding claim 1, Anderson et al. disclose a framework (Figs. 1-11), wherein the framework comprises a framework body (51 & 52), a connecting part (40) and a pin socket (46), wherein a first end of the connecting part (40) is arranged on a peripheral surface (Fig. 2) of the framework body (51 & 52), the pin socket (46) is arranged at a second end of the connecting part (40) away (Fig. 2) from the framework body (51 & 52), the framework further comprises at least one support part (45), and the at least one support part (45) is arranged on the connecting part (40).
Regarding claim 2, Anderson et al. disclose the framework (Figs. 1-11), wherein the at least one support part (45) is eccentrically provided (Fig. 7) on the connecting part (40) in a length direction (Fig. 7) of the connecting part (40).
Regarding claim 3, Anderson et al. disclose the framework (Figs. 1-11), wherein there are a plurality of support parts (45), and the plurality of support parts (45) are provided on the connecting part (40) at intervals (Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 4, Anderson et al. disclose the framework (Figs. 1-11), wherein each of the at least one support part (45) comprises a support column or a support bar (Fig. 7), and the support bar extends in a length direction (Fig. 7) of the connecting part (40).
Regarding claim 7, Anderson et al. disclose a framework assembly (Figs. 1-11), wherein the framework assembly comprises two frameworks (Figs. 2-3) snap-fitted with each other (Column 4 lines 27-61), each of the two frameworks comprises a framework body (51 & 52), a connecting part (40) and a pin socket (46), in the each of the two frameworks (Figs. 2-3), a first end of the connecting part (40) is arranged on a peripheral surface (Fig. 2) of the framework body (51 & 52), the pin socket (46) is arranged at a second end of the connecting part (40) away from the framework body (51 & 52), the framework bodies of the two frameworks are arranged opposite to each other (Figs. 2-3), the connecting parts (40) of the two frameworks are arranged opposite to each other (Figs. 2-3), and the pin sockets (46) of the two frameworks are arranged in a staggered manner (Fig. 8A), the framework assembly further comprises a support part (45), at least one connecting part (40) of the two frameworks is provided with the support part (45), and the support part (45) is used for supporting the connecting parts (40) of the two frameworks (Figs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 8, Anderson et al. disclose the framework assembly (Figs. 1-11), wherein the connecting parts (40) of the two framework bodies (Figs. 2-3) are both provided with the support parts (45).
Regarding claim 9, Anderson et al. disclose the framework assembly (Figs. 1-11), wherein the support part (45) on one connecting part (40) and the support part (45) on the other connecting part (40) are arranged in a staggered manner (Fig. 8A).
Regarding claim 10, Anderson et al. disclose the framework assembly (Figs. 1-11), wherein the support part (45) on one connecting part (40) is arranged opposite to the support part (45) on the other connecting part (40).
Regarding claim 11, Anderson et al. disclose the framework assembly (Figs. 1-11), wherein one connecting part (40) of the two framework bodies (Fig. 2-3) is provided with the support part (45).
Regarding claim 12, Anderson et al. disclose the framework assembly (Figs. 1-11), wherein the support part (45) comprises a support column or a support bar (Fig. 7), and the support bar extends in a length direction (Fig. 7) of the connecting part (40).
Regarding claim 13, Anderson et al. disclose a coil assembly (Figs. 1-11), comprising the framework assembly (Figs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 15, Anderson et al. disclose the coil assembly (Figs. 1-11), wherein the connecting parts (40) of the two framework bodies (Figs. 2-3) are both provided with the support parts (45).
Regarding claim 16, Anderson et al. disclose the coil assembly (Figs. 1-11), wherein the support part (45) on one connecting part (40) and the support part (45) on the other connecting part (40) are arranged in a staggered manner (Fig. 8A).
Regarding claim 17, Anderson et al. disclose the coil assembly (Figs. 1-11), wherein the support part (45) on one connecting part (40) is arranged opposite (Fig. 8A) to the support part (45) on the other connecting part (40).
Regarding claim 18, Anderson et al. disclose the coil assembly (Figs. 1-11), wherein one connecting part (40) of the two framework bodies (Figs. 2-3) is provided with the support part (45).
Regarding claim 19, Anderson et al. disclose the coil assembly (Figs. 1-11), wherein the support part (45) comprises a support column or a support bar (Fig. 7), and the support bar extends in a length direction (Fig. 7) of the connecting part (40).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson et al. (U.S. Patent No. 3,843,946) in view of Lee et al. (U.S. Patent No. 5,298,820).
Regarding claim 5, Anderson et al. disclose the essential features of the claimed invention but lacks disclosure wherein each of the at least one support part comprises a support column, and a cross section of the support column is a circle or a polygon.
Lee et al. teach a framework (Figs. 1-7) having a connecting part (16) that includes a column support part (15) having a cross section of a circle or a polygon (Fig. 5, Column 3 lines 59-68).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connecting part of Anderson et al. with a support part as taught by Lee et al. for the advantage of facilitating the hooking of the coil ends as necessary (Column 3 lines 59-68).
Claim(s) 6 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson et al. (U.S. Patent No. 3,843,946) in view of Shi (CN 208982741).
Regarding claim 6, Anderson et al. disclose the essential features of the claimed invention but lacks disclosure wherein the pin socket comprises a connecting segment and a plug-in segment which are connected to each other, the connecting segment is connected with the connecting part, an angle is formed between an extending direction of the connecting segment and an extending direction of the plug-in segment, and a reinforcing part is provided between the connecting segment and the plug-in segment.
Shi teaches a framework (Figs. 1-3) comprising a pin socket (coupled to 16 or 28, Fig. 2) having a connecting segment (Fig. 2) and a plug-in segment (Fig. 2) which are connected to each other (Fig. 2), the connecting segment is connected with a connecting part (11 or 21), an angle (Fig. 1) is formed between an extending direction of the connecting segment and an extending direction of the plug-in segment (Fig. 2), and a reinforcing part (Fig. 2) is provided between the connecting segment and the plug-in segment (Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pin socket of Anderson et al. with a pin socket as taught by Shi since they are considered art recognized equivalents in the art of terminal blocks for a coil assembly, that perform the same function of enabling a terminal connection for powering a coil assembly.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi (CN 208982741) in view of Anderson et al. (U.S. Patent No. 3,843,946).
Regarding claim 14, Shi discloses an electronic expansion valve (translated background and summary section) comprising a coil assembly (Figs. 1-3), but lacks disclosure of the coil assembly of claim 13.
Anderson et al. teach the coil assembly of claim 13 as is rejected above.
It would have been obvious of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the coil assembly of Shi with a coil assembly as taught by Anderson et al. since they are considered recognized equivalents in the art of coil assemblies that perform the same function of generating specific electromagnetic fields.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/REINALDO SANCHEZ-MEDINA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753