DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-13 are pending in this office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed in the amendment of 8/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The reasons are set forth below.
Applicant Argues:
On pages 6-8 of the remarks, applicant argues Ianev fails to teach, disclose, or suggest, at least, "one or more mapping configurations, each of the one or more mapping configurations, for the one or more network slices, configuring a distinct grouping of the one or more network slices into one or more network slice groups, each of the one or more mapping configurations being associated with area scope information," as recited in amended claim 1.
In response, the Examiner respectfully submits:
Ianev teaches in Fig. 1, [0086], [0091], that the UE is configured with network slice groups identified by network slice ground id. The network slices groups are received in a NAS message, and the group are identified by ID, i.e. ID1 (Slice A, Slice B), ID2 (Slice C, Slide D), ID3 (Slice E, Slice F). Therefore, Ianev does disclose "one or more mapping configurations, each of the one or more mapping configurations, for the one or more network slices, configuring a distinct grouping of the one or more network slices into one or more network slice groups, each of the one or more mapping configurations being associated with area scope information," as recited in amended claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ianev et al (US 2024/0323828 A1) in view of Mattam et al (US 2024/0089820 A1).
Regrading claim 1, Ianev teaches a wireless terminal supporting one or more network slices, each of the one or more network slices providing a designated service (Ianev: Fig. 1, UE supporting plurality of network slices), the wireless terminal comprising:
receiver circuitry configured to receive: one or more mapping configurations, for the ones or more network slices, configuring a distinct grouping of the one or more network slices into one or more network slice groups, each of the one or more mapping configurations being associated with area scope information (Ianev: Fig. 1; Fig. 4, [0086], [0091]-[0092], [0102], UE receives slice groups that are mapped to tracking areas/area scope; the slice group identified by IDs as shown in Fig. 1 NAS).
Although Ianev teaches candidate cells supporting slice group (Ianev: [0119]), Ianev does not explicitly disclose neighboring cell information comprising: an identity of a neighboring cell, network slice support information indicating one or more network slices supported in the neighboring cell, and mapping configuration referencing information referring to one of the one or more mapping configurations; processor circuitry configured to determine support of a selected network slice in the neighboring cell, based on the neighboring cell in- formation and the one of the one or more mapping configurations.
Mattam teaches neighboring cell information comprising: an identity of a neighboring cell, network slice support information indicating one or more network slices supported in the neighboring cell, and mapping configuration referencing information referring to one of the one or more mapping configurations; (Mattam: Fig. 5; [0023]-[0024]; [0029], UE receiving neighbor cell information and selecting a neighbor cell supporting slice group; mapping network slices with neighbor cells; see also [0032]-[0039]);
processor circuitry configured to determine support of whether a selected network slice is supported in the neighboring cell, based on the neighboring cell information and the one of the one or more mapping configurations (Mattam: Fig. 5; [0023]-[0024]; [0029], UE selecting a neighbor cell supporting slice group).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ianev wherein neighboring cell information comprising: an identity of a neighboring cell, network slice support information indicating one or more network slices supported in the neighboring cell, and mapping configuration referencing information referring to one of the one or more mapping configurations; processor circuitry configured to determine support of a selected network slice in the neighboring cell, based on the neighboring cell in- formation and the one of the one or more mapping configurations as disclosed by Mattam to provide a system for provisioning UE procedures for network slicing (Mattam: Abstract).
Regrading claim 9, Ianev teaches an access node supporting one or more network slices, each of the one or more network slices providing a designated service (Ianev: Fig. 1, RAN supporting plurality of network slices), the access node comprising:
processor circuitry configured to generate neighboring cell information comprising: an identity of a neighboring cell, network slice support information indicating one or more network slices supported in the neighboring cell, and mapping configuration referencing information referring to one of the one or more mapping configurations (Ianev: Fig. 4; [0118]-[0120], candidate cells with mapping with slices groups), wherein the mapping configuration referencing information is used by a wireless terminal to identify th one or more mapping configurations for the neighboring cell, the mapping configuration for the one or more network slices configuring a distinct grouping of the one or more network slices into one or more network slice groups,t he mapping configuration being associated with area scope information (Ianev: Fig. 1; Fig. 4, [0086], [0091]-[0092], [0102], UE receives slice groups that are mapped to tracking areas/area scope; the slice group identified by IDs as shown in Fig. 1 NAS).
Ianev does not explicitly disclose transmitter circuitry configured to transmit the neighboring cell information;
Mattam teaches transmitter circuitry configured to transmit the neighboring cell information (Mattam: Fig. 5; [0023]-[0024]; [0029], UE selecting a neighbor cell supporting slice group).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ianev with transmitter circuitry configured to transmit the neighboring cell information as disclosed by Mattam to provide a system for provisioning UE procedures for network slicing (Mattam: Abstract).
Regarding claim 13, Ianev teaches a method for a wireless terminal supporting one or more network slices, each of the one or more network slices providing a designated service, the method comprising:
receiving one or more mapping configurations, for the ones or more network slices, configuring a distinct grouping of the one or more network slices into one or more network slice groups, each of the one or more mapping configurations being associated with area scope information (Ianev: Fig. 1; Fig. 4, [0086], [0091]-[0092], [0102], UE receives slice groups that are mapped to tracking areas/area scope; the slice group identified by IDs as shown in Fig. 1 NAS).
Although Ianev teaches candidate cells supporting slice group (Ianev: [0119]), Ianev does not explicitly disclose neighboring cell information comprising: an identity of a neighboring cell, network slice support information indicating one or more network slices supported in the neighboring cell, and mapping configuration referencing information referring to one of the one or more mapping configurations; processor circuitry configured to determine support of a selected network slice in the neighboring cell, based on the neighboring cell in- formation and the one of the one or more mapping configurations.
Mattam teaches neighboring cell information comprising: an identity of a neighboring cell, network slice support information indicating one or more network slices supported in the neighboring cell, and mapping configuration referencing information referring to one of the one or more mapping configurations; (Mattam: Fig. 5; [0023]-[0024]; [0029], UE receiving neighbor cell information and selecting a neighbor cell supporting slice group; mapping network slices with neighbor cells; see also [0032]-[0039]);
processor circuitry configured to determine support of whether a selected network slice is supported in the neighboring cell, based on the neighboring cell information and the one of the one or more mapping configurations (Mattam: Fig. 5; [0023]-[0024]; [0029], UE selecting a neighbor cell supporting slice group).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Ianev wherein neighboring cell information comprising: an identity of a neighboring cell, network slice support information indicating one or more network slices supported in the neighboring cell, and mapping configuration referencing information referring to one of the one or more mapping configurations; processor circuitry configured to determine support of a selected network slice in the neighboring cell, based on the neighboring cell in- formation and the one of the one or more mapping configurations as disclosed by Mattam to provide a system for provisioning UE procedures for network slicing (Mattam: Abstract).
Regarding claim 2, Ianev in view of Mattam teaches wherein the selected network slice is supported in the neighboring cell, in a case that the network slice support information includes an identity of the selected network slice (Mattam: [0029]-[0032] UE selects a cell that support network slice).
Regarding claim 3, Ianev in view of Mattam teaches wherein the selected network slice is supported in the neighboring cell, in a case that the one of the one or more mapping configurations maps an identity of the selected network slice to a network slice group index and the network slice support in- formation includes the network slice group index (Mattam: [0029]-[0032] UE selects a cell that support network slice; cells mapped with network slices).
Regarding claim 4, Ianev in view of Mattam teaches wherein the selected network slice is not supported in the neighboring cell, in a case that there is no network slice group configured for the selected network slice in the one of the one or more mapping configurations and the network slice support information does not include an identity of the selected network slice (Mattam: [0136]-[0138]).
Regarding claim 5, Ianev in view of Mattam teaches wherein the selected network slice is not supported in the neighboring cell, in a case that one of the one or more mapping configurations maps an identity of the selected network slice to a network slice group index and the network slice support in- formation includes none of the identity of the network slice and the network slice group index (Mattam: [0136]-[0138]).
Regarding claim 6, Ianev in view of Mattam teaches wherein the area scope information of the one of the one or more mapping configurations comprises one or more area identities (Ianev: Fig. 1; Fig. 4, [0077], [0091]-[0092], [0102], UE receives slice groups that are mapped to tracking areas/area scope).
Regarding claim 7, Ianev in view of Mattam teaches wherein the mapping configuration referencing information comprises at least one of the one or more area identities (Ianev: Fig. 1; Fig. 4, [0077], [0091]-[0092], [0102], UE receives slice groups that are mapped to tracking areas/area scope).
Regarding claim 8, Ianev in view of Mattam teaches wherein each of the one or more area identities is a tracking area code (Ianev: Fig. 1; Fig. 4, [0077], [0091]-[0092], [0102], UE receives slice groups that are mapped to tracking areas/area scope).
Regarding claim 10, Ianev in view of Mattam teaches wherein the area scope information of the mapping configuration comprises one or more area identities (Ianev: Fig. 1; Fig. 4, [0077], [0091]-[0092], [0102], UE receives slice groups that are mapped to tracking areas/area scope).
Regarding claim 11, Ianev in view of Mattam teaches wherein the mapping configuration referencing information comprises at least one of the one or more area identities (Ianev: Fig. 1; Fig. 4, [0077], [0091]-[0092], [0102], UE receives slice groups that are mapped to tracking areas/area scope).
Regarding claim 12, Ianev in view of Mattam teaches wherein each of the one or more area identities is a tracking area code (Ianev: Fig. 1; Fig. 4, [0077], [0091]-[0092], [0102], UE receives slice groups that are mapped to tracking areas/area scope).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KODZOVI ACOLATSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478