DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description:
reference numeral 50c in Figures 22-23.
The drawings are objected to because of the following informalities:
It is noted that there are several drawing sheets labeled with a Figure number at the bottom/side of the sheet and then several views individually labeled as (A), (B), and (C). See, for example, Figures 6, 13-14, 16, 19-20, and 26. 37 CFR 1.84(s)(1) states “The different views must be numbered in consecutive Arabic numerals, starting with 1, independent of the numbering of the sheets and, if possible, in the order in which they appear on the drawing sheet(s). Partial views intended to form one complete view, on one or several sheets, must be identified by the same number followed by a capital letter. View numbers must be preceded by the abbreviation “Fig.” Where only a single view is used in an application to illustrate the claimed invention, it must not be numbered and the abbreviation “Fig.” must not appear.” It is suggested that the multiple views of each of the Figures be individually labeled. For example, with respect to the drawing sheet including Figure 6, it is suggested that “Fig. 6” at the bottom of the page be deleted and then each individual views be labeled as “Fig. 6(A),” “Fig. 6(B),” and Fig. 6(C). Note similar changes should be made to Figures 13-14, 16, 19-20 and 26. Note that the descriptions of the drawing Figures in the brief description of the drawings as set forth in paragraph [0031] of the specification should also be amended to use consistent labels with those in the drawings as amended.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “a rotating mechanism” in claim 1, “a biasing member” in claim 5, “a second biasing member” in claim 11, “a first detecting mechanism” in claims 15-16, “a third biasing member” in claims 16 and 18, “a second detection mechanism” in claim 17, “a power transmission mechanism” in claims 16 and 18.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Note the structure of the rotating mechanism is described in paragraph [0047]. The structure of the biasing member, second biasing member and third biasing member are described in paragraphs [0047], [0082] and [0112]. The structure of the first detecting mechanism is described in paragraph [0092]. The second detecting mechanism is described in paragraphs [0093]. The structure of the power transmission mechanism is described in paragraph [0036].
Claim Objections
Claims 1-19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
With respect to claim 1, it is suggested that the term “an ultraviolet ray” in line 13 be deleted and replaced with --the ultraviolet ray-- since the ultraviolet ray was previously recited in line 8.
With respect to claim 5, this claim is somewhat confusing since plural second covers were recited in claim 4 and then claim 5 repeatedly refers to “the second cover” (singular) and it Is not clear which of the previously recited second covers is being referred to by this language.
With respect to claim 6, this claim is somewhat confusing since plural second covers were recited in claim 4 and then claim 6 refers to “the second cover” (singular) in line 6 and it Is not clear which of the previously recited second covers is being referred to by this language.
Appropriate correction and/or clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ojima (US 2023/033102 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Ojima teaches an ultraviolet irradiation device used in a printing device 500 for performing printing using an ultraviolet-curable ink on an outer peripheral surface of a print object 10 that is a three-dimensional object, the ultraviolet irradiation device comprising:
a rotating mechanism (i.e., 20, 550, servomotor), configured to hold the print object 10 and rotate the print object 10 about an axis of the print object (see paragraphs [0035], [0057], [0059], [0089], [0092]); and
an ultraviolet irradiator 750, configured to irradiate an outer peripheral surface of the print object to which the ultraviolet-curable ink is attached with an ultraviolet ray (see paragraph [0094]),
wherein
the ultraviolet-curable ink ejected from above the print object lands on the outer peripheral surface of the print object (see paragraphs [0082], [0108], [0115]) and
the ultraviolet irradiator 750 is disposed on a “side” of the print object, and irradiates the outer peripheral surface of the print object with an ultraviolet ray from the side of the print object (see paragraphs [0122], [0124], [0205], [0214]). Note the ultraviolet irradiator 750 of Ojima is disposed on a “side” of the print object as broadly recited in that it is disposed on the lower side of the object, as shown in the embodiments of Figures 3A-9B OR is disposed on the lateral side of the object, as shown in the embodiment of Figures 10A-10B.
With respect to claim 2, Ojima teaches the irradiation device includes a cover 400 having an opening (i.e., the space between members 421, 422) in which an upper end portion of the print object 10 is disposed and a cover portion 421, 422 the covers the ultraviolet irradiator 750 from above, as shown in Figures 8A-8B.
With respect to claim 3, Ojima teaches a position of the cover 400 in a vertical direction is adjustable, as shown in Figures 8A-8B and described in paragraphs [0178]-[0182].
With respect to claim 15, Ojima teaches the ultraviolet irradiation device includes a first detection mechanism (paragraph [0129]) configured to detect that the print object 10 is held by the rotating mechanism (i.e., 20, 550, servomotor), wherein irradiation of the ultraviolet ray by the ultraviolet irradiator 750 is enabled when the first detection mechanism detects that the print object is held by the rotating mechanism, as described in paragraphs [0129], [0147], [0159].
With respect to claim 19, Ojima teaches a printing device 500 comprising:
the ultraviolet irradiation device as set forth in claim 1;
a table (i.e., machine frame) on which the ultraviolet irradiation device is mounted; and
an inkjet head 700 that is disposed above the print object 10 and ejects the ultraviolet-curable ink toward an outer peripheral surface of the print object. See, for example, Figures 1, 3A.
Claims 1, 9, 14 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Matern et al. (DE 10 2016 223 415 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Matern et al. teaches an ultraviolet irradiation device used in a printing device (1, Fig. 2) for performing printing using an ultraviolet-curable ink on an outer peripheral surface of a print object 2 that is a three-dimensional object, the ultraviolet irradiation device comprising:
a rotating mechanism 16, configured to hold the print object 2 and rotate the print object 2 about an axis of the print object (paragraph [0019]); and
an ultraviolet irradiator 5, configured to irradiate an outer peripheral surface of the print object 2 to which the ultraviolet-curable ink is attached with an ultraviolet ray (paragraph [0019]),
wherein
the ultraviolet-curable ink ejected from above the print object 2 lands on the outer peripheral surface of the print object 2 (Fig. 1, paragraph [0018]), and
the ultraviolet irradiator 5 is disposed on a side of the print object 2, and irradiates the outer peripheral surface of the print object with an ultraviolet ray from the side of the print object. See, in particular, Figures 1-2 and the English language translation.
With respect to claim 9, Matern et al. teaches a vertical position of the ultraviolet irradiator 5 is adjustable, as shown in Figures 1-2.
With respect to claim 14, Matern et al. teaches an inclination α of the ultraviolet irradiator 5 with respect to the axis of the print object 2 when viewed in a vertical direction is adjustable, as described in paragraph [0021] and [0024]-[0025].
With respect to claim 19, Matern et al. teaches a printing device 1 comprising:
the ultraviolet irradiation device as set forth in claim 1;
a table (the support for the robotic arm 4, 11) on which the ultraviolet irradiation device 5 is mounted; and
an inkjet head 3 that is disposed above the print object 2 and ejects the ultraviolet-curable ink toward an outer peripheral surface of the print object.
Claims 1-2 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hellmeier et al. (US 6,962,110 B2).
With respect to claim 1, Hellmeier et al. teaches an ultraviolet irradiation device used in a printing device 20 for performing printing using an ultraviolet-curable ink on an outer peripheral surface of a print object 14 that is a three-dimensional object, the ultraviolet irradiation device comprising:
a rotating mechanism 30, 32, configured to hold the print object 14 and rotate the print object about an axis of the print object (see column 8, lines 5-11 and column 13, lines 1-6); and
an ultraviolet irradiator 24, configured to irradiate an outer peripheral surface of the print object 14 to which the ultraviolet-curable ink is attached with an ultraviolet ray,
wherein
the ultraviolet-curable ink ejected (i.e., deposited) from above the print object 14 lands on the outer peripheral surface of the print object 14, and
the ultraviolet irradiator 24 is disposed on a side of the print object 14, and irradiates the outer peripheral surface of the print object 14 with an ultraviolet ray from the side of the print object 14 (see column 6, lines 39-55 and column 9, lines 23-38). See, in particular, Figures 3-7E.
With respect to claim 2, Hellmeier et al. teaches the irradiation device includes a cover 64 having an opening 66 in which an upper end portion of the print object 14 is disposed and a cover portion 64 the covers the ultraviolet irradiator 24 from above, as shown in Figures 7A-7B and described in column 9, lines 11-22.
With respect to claim 8, Hellmeier et al. teaches a direction of the axis of the print object 14 when viewed from a vertical direction is set as a front-rear direction, the ultraviolet irradiation device further comprises a third cover 70 that closes a part of the opening in the front-rear direction, and the third cover is mounted on the cover portion 64, as shown in Figures 7A-7B and described in column 7, lines 1-28.
Claims 1 and 19 are rejected under each of 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by LaCaze et al. (US 2012/0274695 A1).
With respect to claim 1, LaCaze et al. teaches an ultraviolet irradiation device 2, 6 used in a printing device (Fig. 2) for performing printing using an ultraviolet-curable ink on an outer peripheral surface of a print object 8 that is a three-dimensional object, the ultraviolet irradiation device comprising:
a rotating mechanism 7, 9, 12-15 configured to hold the print object 8 and rotate the print object 8 about an axis of the print object 8 (see paragraphs [0073]-[0074], [0080] and Figures 4, 10, 12-13, 19); and
an ultraviolet irradiator 6, configured to irradiate an outer peripheral surface of the print object 8 to which the ultraviolet-curable ink is attached with an ultraviolet ray (see paragraph [0082]),
wherein
the ultraviolet-curable ink ejected from above the print object lands on the outer peripheral surface of the print object (see paragraphs [0083]-[0084] and Figure 19) and
the ultraviolet irradiator is disposed on a “side” of the print object, and irradiates the outer peripheral surface of the print object with an ultraviolet ray from the side of the print object (see paragraphs [0082]). Note the ultraviolet irradiator of LaCaze et al. is disposed on a “side” of the print object as broadly recited in that it is disposed on the lower side of the object, as shown in the embodiments of Figures 15-16.
With respect to claim 19, LaCaze et al. teaches a printing device (Fig. 2) comprising:
the ultraviolet irradiation device as set forth in claim 1;
a table (i.e., machine frame 4) on which the ultraviolet irradiation device is mounted; and
an inkjet head 25 that is disposed above the print object 8 and ejects the ultraviolet-curable ink toward an outer peripheral surface of the print object 8. See, for example, Figures 5-6. 10 and 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ojima (US 2023/0331002 A1) in view of Xu et al. (CN 209794894 U).
With respect to claim 10, Ojima teaches an ultraviolet irradiation device having all of the structure as recited with the exception of an inclination of the rotating mechanism with respect to a horizontal direction when viewed from the left-right direction is adjustable. Xu et al. teaches a printing device including a rotating mechanism for supporting an object, wherein the inclination of the rotating mechanism with respect to a horizontal direction is adjustable, as exemplified by the rotating mechanism 2.2, 2.6, 2.5, 2.10 holding the object 5, as shown in Figure 4 and described in the English language translation of Xu et al. In view of this teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inclination of the rotating mechanism to be adjustable as taught by Xu et al. in the device of Ojima to insure the distance between the outer surface of the object and the printing head can be appropriately controlled/adjusted to better influence print quality.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7, 11-13, and 16-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to claim 4, the prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest the ultraviolet irradiation device having all of the structure as recited, in combination with and particularly including, wherein a direction orthogonal to the axis of the print object when viewed from a vertical direction is set as a left-right direction, the ultraviolet irradiation device further comprises: two second covers configured for closing a part of the opening, and positions of the two second covers in the left-right direction are adjustable, one of the two second covers is capable of closing a part of the opening from one side in the left-right direction, and the other second cover is capable of closing a part of the opening from the other side in the left-right direction.
With respect to claim 11, the prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest the ultraviolet irradiation device having all of the structure as recited, in combination with and particularly including, wherein a direction of the axis of the print object when viewed from a vertical direction is set as a front-rear direction, the ultraviolet irradiation device further comprises: a base frame, in which the rotating mechanism is connected to one end portion in the front-rear direction so that the rotating mechanism is pivotable in the left-right direction; a support frame, having a step portion having a stepped shape in which a plurality of stepped surfaces arranged in the vertical direction is formed and fixed to the other end portion in the front-rear direction of the base frame; an engaging member, having a mounting portion mounted on the stepped surface and held by the rotating mechanism so as to be pivotable in the left-right direction; and a second biasing member that biases the engaging member to one side in a pivoting direction of the engaging member with respect to the rotating mechanism, wherein the rotating mechanism includes: a first rotator that holds one end of the print object and rotates together with the print object; a second rotator that holds the other end of the print object and rotates together with the print object; and a pivotable frame to which the first rotator and the second rotator are rotatably attached, wherein one end portion in the front-rear direction of the pivotable frame is pivotably connected to one end portion in the front-rear direction of the base frame, the engaging member is pivotably held at the other end portion of the pivotable frame in the front-rear direction, the second biasing member biases the engaging member in a direction in which the mounting portion moves toward the step portion, the mounting portion is mounted on the stepped surface by its own weight of the rotating mechanism, and when the engaging member is pivoted against a biasing force of the second biasing member, the mounting portion is detached from the stepped surface.
With respect to claim 16, the prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest the ultraviolet irradiation device having all of the structure as recited, in combination with and particularly including, wherein a direction orthogonal to the axis of the print object when viewed from a vertical direction is set as a left-right direction, the rotating mechanism includes: a first rotator that holds one end of the print object; a first holding portion that rotatably holds the first rotator; a motor that rotates the first rotator; a power transmission mechanism that connects the first rotator and the motor; a second rotator that holds the other end of the print object; a second holding portion that rotatably holds the second rotator; a third holding portion that pivotably holds the second holding portion, so that the second holding portion is pivotable in the left-right direction; and a third biasing member that biases the second holding portion with respect to the third holding portion in a direction in which the second holding portion tilts toward the first holding portion, wherein the first detection mechanism is attached to the third holding portion, when the print object is attached to the rotating mechanism, the second holding portion is pivoted with respect to the third holding portion against a biasing force of the third biasing member to a position detected by the first detection mechanism.
With respect to claim 17, the prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest the ultraviolet irradiation device having all of the structure as recited, in combination with and particularly including, wherein a direction of the axis of the print object when viewed from a vertical direction is set as a front-rear direction, the ultraviolet irradiation device further comprises: a cover having an opening in which an upper end portion of the print object is disposed and having a cover portion that covers the ultraviolet irradiator from above; a third cover mounted on the cover portion and closing a part of the opening in the front-rear direction; and a second detection mechanism configured to detect that the third cover is mounted on the cover portion, when the second detection mechanism detects that the third cover is mounted on the cover portion, irradiation of the ultraviolet ray by the ultraviolet irradiator is enabled.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Zhang (CN 203713250 U) teaches an ultraviolet irradiation device having similarities to the claimed subject matter that are readily apparent.
/Leslie J Thompson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853