DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 19-29 in the reply filed on 7/28/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the International Search Authority Examiner did not find that unity of invention was broken and Applicant argues that the requirement should be withdrawn for that reason alone. This is not found persuasive because the ISA determination on unity of invention has no weight upon on the National Stage examination - see MPEP 1893(d) which clearly states that “[t]he examiner may make a lack of unity requirement in a national stage application even if no such requirement was made by the ISA or IPEA.”
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 30-36 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 7/28/2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the latter” should read “the fibrous substrate.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Flory et al. (US 2020/0369840), hereinafter Flory.
Regarding claims 19 and 24, Flory discloses a process for producing a thermoformable polymer/fiber composite where: the fibrous substrate (par. 0016 – describes the claimed ratio as at least 5, overlapping with the at least 3 as in the claim) is introduced into the gas stream (par. 0078), then, the fibrous substrate is contacted with an aqueous dispersion of a polymer P (par. 0066 describes the glass transition temperature as in both claims 19 and 24, see also par. 0079);
the fibrous substrate is dried in the gas stream and then deposited (par. 0080), the fiber web obtained is consolidated at a temperature greater than Tg as to give a polymer/fiber composite (par. 0081-0082), as to increase the density thereof by a factor of at least 3 (par. 0088).
Flory further discloses that the aqueous dispersion of polymer P is obtained by polymerization of a monomer composition of: 5-30% by weight of acrylic acid or methacrylic acid (par. 0027) (A1), styrene (par. 0051), or methyl methacrylate (par. 0027, 0055), in an aqueous medium in the presence of a polymer A (par. 0119). See table in par. 0055.
Flory further discloses that polymer A (par. 0024) includes acrylic acid (A1) (par. 0032), and maleic acid (A2) (par. 0027), and the amount would add up to 100%, inherently. Polymer A includes acrylic acid and maleic acid/anhydride and so it would meet: “with the proviso that neither polymer A nor polymer mixture A is formed from an ester selected from the esters of ethylenically unsaturated monocarboxylic acids with amines having at least two hydroxyl groups . . . . “
It is noted that components M3 and A3 are optional and not required to be met in the prior art (due to a claimed lower limit of 0%; 0% allows for no inclusion of the component).
Flory does not appear to explicitly disclose the concentration ranges as required in the claims, but all ranges disclosed in the prior art seem to at least overlap with or lie inside of the claimed range(s).
It has been held that where the prior art discloses a range that overlaps with or lies inside of the claimed range, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to have specified that the monomers are present in the concentrations as required in the claims.
Regarding claim 20, Flory discloses the subject matter of claim 19, and further discloses that the fibrous substrate used is a lignocellulosic fiber (a type of natural fiber) (par. 0016-0017).
Regarding claims 21-22, Flory discloses the subject matter of claim 19, and further discloses that the Mw of the polymer A is 1000-30000 g/mol (par. 0036), overlapping with the claimed range of 1000-20000 g/mol. Since polymer mixture A is not required by claim 19 under its BRI (which includes polymer A or polymer mixture A), claim 22 is considered met as contingent upon polymer mixture A being present in the claim, and not polymer A.
As discussed above, it has been held that where the prior art discloses a range that overlaps with or lies inside of the claimed range, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to have specified that the molecular weight of the polymer A is as required in the claim.
Regarding claim 23, Flory discloses the subject matter of claim 19, and further discloses that polymer A is 50:50 (or 1:1) (par. 0071, 0129).
Regarding claim 25, Flory discloses the subject matter of claim 19, and further discloses that the polymer P includes styrene and/or methyl methacrylate (par. 0131, table), n-butyl acrylate, and glycidyl acrylate (par. 0131, table).
As discussed above, it has been held that where the prior art discloses a range that overlaps with or lies inside of the claimed range, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to have specified that concentration of the mixture is as claimed.
Regarding claim 26, Flory discloses the subject matter of claim 19, and further discloses that the polymer P includes the claimed components (par. 0059, table) in an amount overlapping with the claimed ranges.
As discussed above, it has been held that where the prior art discloses a range that overlaps with or lies inside of the claimed range, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to have specified that the concentration of the mixture is as claimed.
Regarding claim 27, Flory discloses the subject matter of claim 19, and further disclose that the polymer P comprises hydroxylamine (par. 0034) as a chain transfer agent; see also par. 0062.
Regarding claims 28-29, Flory discloses the subject matter of claim 19, and further discloses that the composite is two-dimensional and has a basis weight of 500-30000 g/m^2 (par. 0090).
Conclusion
/ANDREW D GRAHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742