DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
With regard to claim 1: Line 12 of the claim, it appears “the at least one projections” should be --the at least one projection-- for consistency of the claim language.
With regard to claim 7: Lines 8-9 of the claim, it appears the limitation “a mounting surface”should be --the mounting surface-- for consistency of the claim language.
With regard to claim 10: Lines 3-4 of the claim, the reference to claim 1 is redundant as the claim is directed to “The support device according to claim 1”. Examiner suggests amending “two support devices as described in claim 1” found in line 3-4 of the claim to be --two of the support devices--.
With regard to claim 11: Lines 1-2 of the claim, it appears the limitation “at least one fastener member(s)” should be –at least one fastener member-- for clarity of the claim language. Line 3 of the claim, it appears “the mounting surface” should directed to --a mounting surface--.
With regard to claim 13: Lines 4-5 of the claim, it appears the limitation “the support device” should be directed to --the at least one support device-- for consistency of the claim language. Line 8 of the claim, it appears the limitation “a mounting surface” should be directed to --the mounting surface--for consistency of the claim language. Lines 9-10 of the claim, it appears the limitation “at least one of the fastener members” should be directed to --the at least one fastener member-- for consistency of the claim language.
With regard to claim 14: Line 2 of the claim, it appears the limitation “the fastener member” should be directed to --the at least one fastener member-- for consistency of the claim language. Lines 2-3 of the claim, is appears the limitation “the base plate” should be directed to --the base plate section-- for consistency of the claim language. Line 4 of the claim, it appears the limitation “the support device” should be directed to --the at least one support device--.
With regard to claim 15: Line 5 of the claim, it appears the limitation “the protective pad” should be directed to --the at least one protective pad-- for consistency of the claim language. Line 6 of the claim, it appears “projections” should be singular for consistency of the claim language.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: at least one fixing element in claim 1; and a fastening member in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regard to claim 1: Line 10 of the claim, the limitation “the two free end portions” lacks sufficient antecedent basis. For the purpose of examination, the limitation is considered to be directed to --two free end portions--.
With regard to claim 6: Line 6 of the claim, the limitation “the profile leg” lacks sufficient antecedent basis. For the purpose of examination, the limitation is considered to be directed to --the respective profile leg--.
With regard to claim 7: Line 2 of the claim, the limitation “the two free end portions” lacks sufficient antecedent basis. Line 6 of the claim, the limitation “the free end portion” lacks sufficient antecedent basis. For the purpose of examination, the limitation is considered to be directed to --the respective end portion--. Line 9 of the claim, the limitation “the second and free end” lacks sufficient antecedent basis and appears incomplete. For the purpose of examination, the limitation is considered to be directed to --the second section--.
With regard to claim 8: Line 3 of the claim, the limitation “the first section of the L-shaped bar” lacks sufficient antecedent basis. It appears that the claim should be dependent on claim 7.
Claims 1-15 are examined as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-6 and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vollmer (DE 10 2010 062 026 A1).
With regard to claim 1: Vollmer discloses a support device (30) capable of mounting a solar module (110) on a mounting surface, the support device (30) (figs. 1-7) comprising:
a base body in the form of a U-shaped profile (330, 320, 350) having two profile legs (330, 350) and a base section (320) connecting the two profile legs (330, 350); whereby an outer surface of the base section (320) of the U-shaped profile (330, 320, 350) is configured to support a solar module (110), and whereby a profile depth of the U-shaped profile (330, 320, 350) increases along a longitudinal axis from a front face to a rear face of the U-shaped profile (330, 320, 350) (figs. 1-7); and
at each of two free end portions (bottom end portions) of the profile legs (330, 350), at least one projection (340, 360) protruding from the respective profile leg (330, 350), whereby the at least one projection (340, 360) are configured as a seating for placing the support device (20) on a mounting surface (figs. 1-4; par. [0070] of translation); and
at least one fixing element (344) which is configured to engage a fastening member (fastener) for attachment of the support device (30) to the mounting surface (fig. 5).
With regard to claim 2: Vollmer discloses that the two profile legs (330, 350) form side faces of the support device (30), which are closed for the most part along the entire length of the support device (30) in a direction along its longitudinal axis (figs. 1 and 3-4).
With regard to claim 5: Vollmer discloses that the support device (30) is configured for supporting the solar module (110) at an angle of 0-5 degrees, with respect to the mounting surface (figs. 1 and 3-4; par. [0002]). which overlaps the claimed range of 3° - 40°,
With regard to claim 6: Vollmer discloses that the at least one projection (340, 360) protruding from each the profile legs (330, 350) is a flat flange extending in parallel to the longitudinal axis along the free end portion of the respective profile leg (330, 350), and whereby, an angle between the flat flange and the respective profile leg (330, 35) falls in the range of about 70° - 110° (fig. 7; par. [0074]).
With regard to claim 9: Vollmer discloses that at least the base body is an integrally formed part, the base body is integrally formed with the projections (340, 360) and the fixing element (344) (figs. 1 and 3-5).
With regard to claim 10: Vollmer discloses at least one connector element (20A or 20B) capable of mechanically connecting two of said support devices with their rear faces of the U-shaped facing each other (fig. 1-2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vollmer (DE 10 2010 062 026 A1).
With regard to claim 3: Vollmer appears to show that with respect to the to the total surface area of the profile legs (330, 350), the surfaces of the side faces of the profile legs (330, 350) are at least 75% closed (fig. 6).
However, Vollmer does not explicitly disclose that the surfaces of the side faces of the profile legs (330, 350) are at least 75% closed.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp, as the selected option was one of a finite number of available closed off configurations yielding the predictable results of providing profile legs with desired degree of strength and rigidity for support the solar module. No new or unpredictable results would be obtained from modifying the surfaces of the side faces of the profile legs of Vollmer to be at least 75% closed. Such a combination, to one of ordinary skill in the art, would have a reasonable expectation of success, and would be based on ordinary skill and common sense before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
With regard to claim 4: Vollmer discloses that at least one of the profile legs (330, 350) has a trapezoidal shape and the base section (320) has a rectangular shape (figs. 1-4), but does not disclose both profile legs have a trapezoidal shape.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp, as the selected option was one of a finite number of available shapes for forming each profile leg in order to provide a desired aesthetic and/or angle for supporting the solar module. No new or unpredictable results would be obtained from modifying each profile leg to have a trapezoidal shape. Such a combination, to one of ordinary skill in the art, would have a reasonable expectation of success, and would be based on ordinary skill and common sense before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
With regard to claim 8: Vollmer discloses that the at least one projection protruding (340, 360) from one of the profile legs (330, 350) comprises one or more openings (346) capable of mechanically attaching one or more protective pads (fig. 5).
However, Vollmer does not explicitly disclose that each of the profile legs comprises the one or more openings.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the support device of Vollmer to have each of the profile legs comprise the one or more openings in order to provide further means of fastening to withstand greater load . No new or unpredictable results would be obtained from modifying each of the profile legs to comprise the one or more openings. Such a combination, to one of ordinary skill in the art, would have a reasonable expectation of success, and would be based on ordinary skill and common sense before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 11-15 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The combination of all the elements of the claimed support device including all the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims is not adequately taught or suggested in the cited prior art of record. Examiner notes that allowability of the claims are subject to reconsideration should the scope of the claims change.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art cited are directed to supporting devices for solar modules.
/JESSIE T FONSECA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3633