DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 4-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, species, sub-species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 28 September 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hager (WO 2020157654, the 371 application published as US 2022/0148873 (submitted with the restriction requirement of 27 July 2026) is used for the convenience of citing paragraphs).
Regarding claim 1, Hager teaches a method of performing mass spectrometry (inherent to the apparatus of fig. 1)
introducing a plurality of ions into an ion guide (ions introduced into ion guide 120) of a mass spectrometer (mass spectrometer seen in figure 1) via an inlet orifice thereof (inlet to 112 at opening between quadrupoles) wherein said ion guide comprises a plurality of rods arranged in a multipole configuration (rods 122a-d see figures 2a-2b showing a quadrupole arrangement) and spaced from one another to provide a passage way for transit of the ions therethrough (as seen in figures 2a-2b and cross sectional view in figure 1, 120)
applying RF voltages to said rods so as to generate an electromagnetic field within said passageway for providing radial confinement of the ions passing through the passageway ([0037] note: “ radial confinement fields are generally produced in a quadrupole rod set through the application of RF signals to the quadrupole rods ”),
identifying an adverse space charge effects based on detection of a variation of an intensity of an ion detection signal associated with at least one ion population transmitted through said ion guide and having an m/z ratio greater than a threshold ([0037], note: “ it is believed that some excitation DC pulses may remove high m/z ions (low q-value ions) excited in the low-radial containment field and make them unavailable for detection. Thus, in accordance with the present teachings, If the first mass spectrum indicates an unexpected reduction in the intensity of high m/z ions (or increased spectral peak widths of such ions)”. The instant published application teaches at paragraph [0059] “ Eqns (1)-(3) show that higher transmission losses are expected for ions that have large m/z ratios due to the space charge interaction since the focusing RF field is less strong for ions having the large m/z ratios”. That is, Hager identifies an unexpected reduction in the intensity of high m/z ions (i.e. adverse space charge effects) based on detection of a variation of an intensity (reduction of intensity of large m/z ratios) in an ion detection signal associated with at least one ion population (spectrum is a detected signal associated with the large m/z ratios) and having an m/z ratio greater than a threshold (any arbitrary threshold below the high m/z ratios where intensity reduction does not occur))
and in response to said identification of the adverse space charge effect, adjusting at least one of frequency of said RF voltages and amplitude of said RF voltages to counteract said space charge effect ([0037] “if the first mass spectrum indicates an unexpected reduction in the intensity of high m/z ions (or increased spectral peak widths of such ions) following application of the first excitation voltage pulse, the controller 109 can be operable to produce a subsequent mass spectrum from another excitation voltage pulse under stronger radial-confinement conditions (e.g., RF amplitude is increased relative to the first field) to improve the detection of higher m/z ions”).
Regarding claim 2, Hager teaches wherein said step of identifying the space charge effect comprises adjusting an ion flux into said inlet orifice associated with said at least one ion having said m/z ratio above the threshold (adjusting flux is a manner of operating the device because the mass spectrometer of Hager has a mass filter 115 and ion source upstream of 120 the device is capable of adjusting the ion flux into the entrance of 120) and identifying said adverse space charge effect based on observing a change indicative of said space charge effect in the intensity of said at least one ion detection signal at two or more ion fluxes ([0037], see discussion above with respect to observing a change indicative of said space charge effect in intensity (i.e. unexpected reduction of intensity relative to an expected intensity for high m/z ions). The process of paragraph [0037] is capable of being repeated for different ion fluxes dependent on operational parameters of upstream components such as the mass filter 115 and the ion source. MPEP 2114 recites “"[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim.” Here, a space charge effect is observed (unexpected reduction of intensity of high m/z ions). Operating the ion source or mass filter to result in changes in ion flux would not change the observation of any change in intensity).
Regarding claim 3, Hager teaches wherein said change in said at least one ion detection signal indicative of said adverse space charge effect corresponds to a decrease in the intensity of the ion detection signal in response to an increase in the ion flux (the instant specification teaches that an increase in ion flux results in a decrease in in ion intensity of high m/z ions ([0078]). Since Hager is inherently capable of increasing the ion flux (i.e. in the manner of operating the ion source or mass filter), when the change of detection occurs for an increase in ion flux at the source, there is inherently a correspondence to the ion flux at the source. Again there is no claimed structure to distinguish Hager from the claimed invention as the result is not tied to any structure).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Guna (US pgPub 2011/0155902) see paragraphs [0045]
/MICHAEL J LOGIE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881