CTNF 18/718,887 CTNF 82741 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by BALASUBRAMANIAN (US-20230055627-A1) . Regarding claims 1, 12, 19-20, BALASUBRAMANIAN discloses an electronic device used with a base station, the electronic device comprising: at least one processor (processor 375, Fig. 3): and at least one memory including computer program code (memory 376), where the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured, with the at least one processor, to cause the electronic device to: cause a first set of intelligent surfaces to reflect a set of first reflected beams (reference signal can be reflected from an RIS 103 in Fig. 3 or another UEs) to be used for a first beam scanning with a user equipment (UE)( In a first resource allocation mode (which may be referred to herein as “Mode 1” or “sidelink Mode 1”), centralized resource allocation may be provided, paragraph 0060)(base station broadcast PRS/RS to all UEs); cause a second set of intelligent surfaces to reflect a set of second reflected beams to be used for a second beam scanning with the UE (In a second resource allocation mode (which may be referred to herein as “Mode 2” or “sidelink Mode 2”), distributed resource allocation may be provided. In Mode 2, each UE may autonomously determine resources to use for sidelink transmission, paragraph 0060), wherein the second set of intelligent surfaces is selected from the first set of intelligent surfaces, and a beam width for the set of second reflected beams is smaller than a beam width for the set of first reflected beams (communication between UEs has smaller beam width than a beam broadcasted from a base station); and determine a position of the UE, based at least in part on a result of the second beam scanning (sidelink positioning/communication, paragraph 0061). Regarding claim 2, BALASUBRAMANIAN discloses wherein the first set of intelligent surfaces is selected based at least in part on initial position information of the UE (see Fig. 1, a base station 102 provides coverage area, a centralized mode allocates resources in the coverage area, paragraph 0060). Regarding claims 3, 13-14, BALASUBRAMANIAN discloses wherein the first/second beam scanning comprises: for each intelligent surface of the first set of intelligent surfaces, determining, from the set of first reflected beams, a first positioning beam that has a maximum received power at the UE (Fig. 7, paragraph 0073-74)(RIS controller connects with base station and UEs-706/708 in beamforming determination which implies transmits signal based on maximum received power direction). Regarding claims 4,15, BALASUBRAMANIAN discloses wherein at least one of the second set of intelligent surfaces or the set of second reflected beams is determined based at least in part on a result of the first beam scanning (mode 2 can be initiated from mode 1, SL-based ranging, paragraph 0061-0062). Regarding claim 5-6, BALASUBRAMANIAN discloses wherein the second beam scanning comprises: for each intelligent surface in the second set of intelligent surfaces, determining, from the set of second reflected beams, a second positioning beam that has a maximum received power at the UE (beamforming performed in SL-based mode). Regarding claims 7, 16, BALASUBRAMANIAN discloses wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured, with the at least one processor, to cause the electronic device to further select a positioning mode for the UE from: a first positioning mode, in which the set of first reflected beams and the set of second reflected beams are formed based on a radio signal transmitted by the base station; or a second positioning mode, in which the set of first reflected beams and the set of second reflected beams are formed based on a radio signal transmitted by an assisting UE that is different from the UE (refer to rejection of claims 1 and 12 above). Regarding claims 8, BALASUBRAMANIAN discloses wherein the positioning mode is selected based on at least one of: capability of the UE, a connection state of a sidelink of the UE (SL-based ranging, paragraph 0062), and quality of service for the UE. Regarding claims 9, BALASUBRAMANIAN discloses wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured, with the at least one processor, to cause the electronic device to further in response to a selection of the first positioning mode, determine the position of the UE based on multiple second positioning beams that are determined for multiple intelligent surfaces of the second set of intelligent surfaces (see Fig. 11, positioning is based on multiple intelligent surfaces RIS 1-3). Regarding claim 10, BALASUBRAMANIAN discloses wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured, with the at least one processor, to cause the electronic device to further in response to a selection of the second positioning mode, determine the position of the UE based on: a distance between the UE and the assisting UE, and at least one second positioning beam that is determined for at least one intelligent surface of the second intelligent (distance between UEs, paragraph 0061)(distance between UEs and multiple RIS, paragraph 0080). Regarding claim 17, BALASUBRAMANIAN discloses wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured, with the at least one processor, to cause the electronic device to further report at least one of capability of the UE, a connection state of a sidelink of the UE, and quality of service for the UE, for selecting the positioning mode. (the first UE 502 and/or the second UE 504 may exchange a capability message 508 with each other, where the capability message 508 from the first UE 502 and/or the second UE 504 may include information related to each UE's capability to perform an SL-ranging /positioning, paragraph 0064). Regarding claims 11, 18, BALASUBRAMANIAN discloses wherein the distance between the UE and the assisting UE is determined based on a sidelink signal between the assisting UE and the UE (SL-based ranging, paragraph 0062). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to HARRY K LIU whose telephone number is (571)270-1338. The examiner can normally be reached on every M-F 10 AM to 6:30 PM. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, please leave a voice message with application serial number and nature of call, a response within 24 hours can be expected during regular business days. Also, the Examiner’s supervisor Vladimir Magloire can be reached at (571)270-5144. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-270- 2338 . Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /HARRY K LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645 Tel: (571) 270-1338 Fax: (571) 270-2338 Email: harry.liu@uspto.gov Application/Control Number: 18/718,887 Page 2 Art Unit: 3648 Application/Control Number: 18/718,887 Page 3 Art Unit: 3648 Application/Control Number: 18/718,887 Page 4 Art Unit: 3648 Application/Control Number: 18/718,887 Page 5 Art Unit: 3648 Application/Control Number: 18/718,887 Page 6 Art Unit: 3648