DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office action is in response to the arguments filed on August 06, 2026. Claims 1-5 are currently pending.
Response to Amendments
In response to Applicant’s amendments, filed August 06, 2026, the Examiner maintains the previous 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed August 06, 2026, regarding the teachings of the applied references (see pages 4-5 of instant arguments), have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Fang teaches a method for enabling communication of messages between the vehicle and external diagnostic devices (i.e., data is transferred between the two) (see at least Paragraphs [0056], [0061]-[0062], [0096] of Fang). Jung further teaches that vehicle data can be collected and transferred based on memory allocation priorities, including memory resources, size, and capacity (see at least Paragraphs [0419], [0550]-[0551] of Jung). Fang, in view of Jung, teaches that the system can send and receive vehicle diagnostic data, and send the information based on available memory. As such, Fang, in view of Jung, teaches the features of the claims, as they are currently written. The Examiner is unpersuaded and maintains the corresponding rejections.
Applicant's arguments, filed August 06, 2026, regarding selecting which device receives data first (see pages 5-6 of instant arguments), have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicants’ arguments regarding selecting a device first based on its available memory is not required in the claims, as they are currently written. As such, the Examiner considers these arguments moot and the Examiner is unpersuaded.
The remaining arguments are essentially the same as those addresses above and/or below and are unpersuasive for essentially the same reasons. Therefore, the corresponding rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0382597 A1, to Jung (hereinafter referred to as Jung; previously of record), and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0192867 A1, to Fang, et al (hereinafter referred to as Fang; previously of record).
As per Claim 1, Jung discloses the features of a transfer device (e.g. Paragraphs [0056], [0061]-[0062], [0117]; where the vehicle has a computing system, which generates a communication message for a diagnostic request or response between the vehicle and an external diagnostic device) configured to
transfer a message from one side to another side (e.g. Paragraphs [0046]-[0047], [0052]; where the internal diagnostic devices (210, 220), the vehicle internal controller (230), the external diagnostic device (300) and the like may request a vehicle diagnosis to each other, receive a response, and transmit a response through use of a gateway (500) (i.e. a transfer device)) between
a plurality of electronic devices mounted on a vehicle (e.g. Paragraphs [0045]-[0046]; Figure 1; where the vehicle system includes a vehicle diagnostic communication apparatus and internal diagnostic devices internal to the vehicle (i.e. mounted in the vehicle)) and
external diagnostic equipment (e.g. Paragraphs [0046]-[0047]; where the external diagnostic device (300) may request a vehicle diagnosis with the internal diagnostic devices and the vehicle internal controller), and
comprising a processor (e.g. Paragraphs [0056], [0059], where the vehicle diagnostic communication apparatus may include a communicator, storage, and a processor) configured to:
receive a diagnosis request that is a message from the external diagnostic equipment to the plurality of electronic devices (e.g. Paragraph [0050]; Figure 8; where the external diagnostic device (300) may request a vehicle diagnostic service to the internal diagnostic devices and the internal vehicle controller (230), which is sent to the vehicle processor through the gateway (500)), and
transfer the diagnosis request to one or more first electronic devices of the plurality of electronic devices (e.g. Paragraphs [0050], [0054]-[0055]; Figure 8; where the external diagnostic device (300) may request a vehicle diagnostic service to the internal diagnostic devices and the internal vehicle controller (230); and where the vehicle diagnostic communication apparatus (100) may receive and respond to a vehicle diagnosis request, and transmits the request to the internal diagnostic devices and the internal vehicle controller), wherein ‘…’
receive a diagnosis response that is a message from the one or more first electronic devices to the external diagnostic equipment (e.g. Figure 8; where the gateway (500) (i.e. a transfer device) receives the diagnosis responses from the internal diagnostic devices and controller, and sends it back to the external diagnostic device (300)) and
transfer the diagnosis response to the external diagnostic equipment (e.g. Paragraph [0096]; Figure 8; where the gateway (500) (i.e. a transfer device) receives the diagnosis responses from the internal diagnostic devices and controller) and, thereafter,
transfer the diagnosis request to one or more second electronic devices different from the one or more first electronic devices (e.g. Paragraph [0096]; Figure 8; where the gateway (500) (i.e. a transfer device) sends back the diagnostic responses to the external diagnostic device (300); and where the diagnostic device may re-transmit the diagnosis request to another controller).
Jung fails to disclose every feature of the one or more first electronic devices are selected based on available memory resources of the device and an expected total size of diagnosis responses relative to a capacity of a buffer area configured to temporarily store the diagnosis responses and diagnosis requests.
However, Fang, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches a method for managing vehicle data collection, where the on-vehicle data storage priority includes one or more of memory allocation priorities, including buffer capacity, cache capacity, short-term memory capacity, and/or long term memory capacity; and where the on-vehicle storage resources may include determine and update memory allocation, and the controller can manage shared memory resources, including providing memory allocation, buffering and caching of parameter values, and reallocate memory based on changes in policy, observed data collection operations, etc.; and where the parameter storage circuit determines the reserved memory amount associated with at least a portion of the plurality of vehicle parameters, and selectively stores the values in response to the reserved memory amount (e.g. Paragraphs [0419], [0550]-[0551], [0578], [0582]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art on or before the effective filing date of the Applicant’s invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify vehicle diagnostic communication apparatus of Jung, with the feature of determining available memory resources in the system of Fang, in order to selectively store relevant data (see at least Paragraphs [0020] of Fang).
As per Claim 2, Jung, in view of Fang, teaches the features of Claim 1, and Jung further discloses the features of wherein the processor is further configured to: receive the diagnosis response from the one or more second electronic devices after the device transfers the diagnosis response from the one or more first electronic devices to the external diagnostic equipment (e.g. Paragraph [0096]; Figure 8; where the gateway (500) receives the diagnosis response, and sends back the diagnostic responses to the external diagnostic device (300), which may may re-transmit the diagnosis request to another controller).
As per Claim 3, Jung, in view of Fang, teaches the features of Claim 1, and Jung further discloses the features of wherein the electronic device divides the diagnosis response into a plurality of frames and transmits the frames to the device (e.g. Paragraphs [0043], [0062]-[0063], [0102]-[0103], [0110]; where diagnostic communication is performed using a CAN communication frame, and may transmit data by using a combination of first frame (FF) message, a flow control (FC) message, and a consecutive frame (CF) message; and the internal diagnostic device transmits a diagnostic message to the internal controller which then transmits multi-frame sequences to the requesting device (i.e. transmits a plurality of frames)).
As per Claim 4, Jung, in view of Fang, teaches the features of Claim 1, and Jung further discloses the features of wherein the processor is further configured to transfer the plurality of frames to the external diagnostic equipment, and thereafter, transfer the diagnosis request to the one or more second electronic devices (e.g. Paragraphs [0043], [0062]-[0063], [0102]-[0103], [0110]; where diagnostic communication is performed using a CAN communication frame, and may transmit data by using a combination of first frame (FF) message, a flow control (FC) message, and a consecutive frame (CF) message; and the internal diagnostic device transmits a diagnostic message to the internal controller which then transmits multi-frame sequences to the requesting device (i.e. transmits all relevant frames)).
As per Claim 5, Jung, in view of Fang, teaches the features of Claim 1, and Jung further discloses the features of wherein the processor is configured to, in transferring the diagnosis request to the one or more first electronic devices, transfer the diagnosis request sequentially in accordance with a priority order that is determined in advance for each of the electronic devices (e.g. Paragraphs [0043], [0062]-[0063], [0102]-[0103], [0110]; where diagnostic communication is performed using a CAN communication frame, and may transmit data by using a combination of first frame (FF) message, a flow control (FC) message, and a consecutive frame (CF) message (i.e. in sequential order) and based on priority).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MERRITT LEVY/Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ABBY J FLYNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663