DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) form PTO 1449.These IDS has been considered.
Examiner’s Note
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages, paragraph and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Claim objections
Claim 16 are objected to because: As per claim 16, claim recites “evaluation instrument”, there is no antecedent basis for this limitation in this claim.
The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Appropriate correction is required. For the purpose of expediting the processing of the application, Claims have been rejected in view of the prior art (see below) based on a broader interpretation that meets the claimed subject matter as interpreted by the Examiner.
Claim 26 are objected to because: As per claim 26, claim recites “transport instrument”, there is no antecedent basis for this limitation in this claim.
The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Appropriate correction is required. For the purpose of expediting the processing of the application, Claims have been rejected in view of the prior art (see below) based on a broader interpretation that meets the claimed subject matter as interpreted by the Examiner.
Claims 19, 24 and 26 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 19, " a color" in line 3, should be changed to – the color--.
In claim 24, "A sensor system having a sensor" in line 1, should be changed to –A sensor system having the sensor--.
In claim 26, " A document of value processing device having a sensor" in line 1, should be changed to – A document of value processing device having the sensor--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16, 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blair (US 20100128964 A1) (herein after Blair) [cited in the IDS filed by the applicant] in view of FRANK et al. (DE 102011005518 A1) (herein after FRANK).
As to claim(s) 1, Blair discloses a sensor for checking documents of value comprising:
at least one radiation source [303…¶0032], which is adapted to apply electromagnetic radiation to a document of value [302] [fig.3, ¶0034], and
a detector [301] having a multiplicity of detector elements arranged at different locations [¶0032], which is adapted to record electromagnetic radiation emerging from the document of value in at least two different spectral ranges with position resolution, while generating for each of the spectral ranges a detector signal corresponding to the intensity of the recorded electromagnetic radiation in the respective spectral range [This sequenced illumination produces an interleaved image in which each line scanned by the camera 301 is recorded under the illumination of a different wavelength of light in a pre-determined sequence (e.g., red, green, blue, UV, red, green, blue, UV, etc) until the entire note 302 is scanned. FIG. 3 shows the interleaved pattern 312 superimposed on the note 302 to help illustrate this concept. In the present example, the interleaved image can be separated into red 310, green 320, blue 330, and ultraviolet (UV) 340 reflective images…¶0033][¶0034],
an evaluation instrument [illumination to be changed on a note-by-note basis as notes are fed through the processing machine…¶0060],
wherein the evaluation instrument is adapted to check a first feature [710] provided on or in the document of value with the aid of the detector signals generated for at least one first spectral range [fig.7: In the first region 710 of the note 700, there is a serial number 701 which is most effectively captured under IR reflectance. For this region of the note, the illumination mode might simply use reflective IR from a single light stick for all of the scan lines that cover the position of the serial number…¶0056],
to check a second feature [720] provided on or in the document of value, while taking into account the detector signals generated for at least one second spectral range [In the middle region 720 of the note is an OVI symbol 702. For this region of the note the illumination mode would comprise multi-azimuth reflectance, interleaving lines illuminated from different angles of incidence…¶0057].
[Note: while each unit configured to perform as claimed may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function, because apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does].
Blair discloses all the features of the claimed invention except the limitation such as: “a color channel-specific attenuation in the first spectral range relative to the second spectral range, a color channel-specific attenuation of the electromagnetic radiation shined onto the document of value, or a color channel-specific attenuation of the electromagnetic radiation to be recorded by the detector, or a color channel-specific attenuation of the detector signals of the detector, is set up in the sensor”.
However, FRANK from the same field of endeavor discloses a color channel-specific attenuation in a first spectral range [3-1] relative to a second spectral range [3-2] [a security document 1 represented, which is a security element 2 which shows a 3D color effect. The security element includes graphical information 3 , which is a first piece of information 3-1 , a second piece of information 3-2 as well as another piece of information 3-5 includes. The different information shares 3-1 . 3-2 . 3-5 the graphic information 3 are applied with different colorants…page 9], a color channel-specific attenuation of the electromagnetic radiation [23] shined onto the document of value [The different information shares 3-1 . 3-2 . 3-5 are prepared with colorants which have different reflectance or transmission spectra at a
broadband excitation of the electromagnetic radiation, for example with white light, which has a continuous spectrum in the range of about 400 nm about 800 nm. The individual pieces of information each have a homogeneous uniform color. The colorants are chosen so that the reflectance or transmission spectra of the individual information components 3-1 . 3-2 . 3-5 are each dominated by a distribution spectrum of a spectral color…page 9][ the verification device comprises an imaging detection device 24 which captures a
spatial and spectral resolution of an image of the security element on the security document, while this example, with electromagnetic radiation of the excitation source 23 is illuminated…page 10].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify the device/method/system of Blair such that the color channel-specific attenuation in the first spectral range relative to the second spectral range, the color channel-specific attenuation of the electromagnetic radiation shined onto the document of value; as taught by FRANK, for the advantages such as: ensures simple and easy verification of the documents that is detected by different detectors.
As to claim(s) 27, Blair discloses a method for checking documents of value wherein:
at least one radiation source [303…¶0032], which is adapted to apply electromagnetic radiation to a document of value [302] [fig.3, ¶0034], and
a detector [301] having a multiplicity of detector elements arranged at different locations [¶0032], which is adapted to record electromagnetic radiation emerging from the document of value in at least two different spectral ranges [red, green, blue, etc] with position resolution, while generating for each of the spectral ranges a detector signal corresponding to the intensity of the recorded electromagnetic radiation in the respective spectral range [This sequenced illumination produces an interleaved image in which each line scanned by the camera 301 is recorded under the illumination of a different wavelength of light in a pre-determined sequence (e.g., red, green, blue, UV, red, green, blue, UV, etc) until the entire note 302 is scanned. FIG. 3 shows the interleaved pattern 312 superimposed on the note 302 to help illustrate this concept. In the present example, the interleaved image can be separated into red 310, green 320, blue 330, and ultraviolet (UV) 340 reflective images…¶0033][¶0034],
wherein a first feature [710] provided on or in the document of value with the aid of the detector signals generated for at least one first spectral range [fig.7: In the first region 710 of the note 700, there is a serial number 701 which is most effectively captured under IR reflectance. For this region of the note, the illumination mode might simply use reflective IR from a single light stick for all of the scan lines that cover the position of the serial number…¶0056],
to check a second feature [720] provided on or in the document of value, while taking into account the detector signals generated for at least one second spectral range [In the middle region 720 of the note is an OVI symbol 702. For this region of the note the illumination mode would comprise multi-azimuth reflectance, interleaving lines illuminated from different angles of incidence…¶0057].
[Note: while each unit configured to perform as claimed may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function, because apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does].
Blair discloses all the features of the claimed invention except the limitation such as: “a color channel-specific attenuation in the first spectral range relative to the second spectral range, a color channel-specific attenuation of the electromagnetic radiation shined onto the document of value, or a color channel-specific attenuation of the electromagnetic radiation to be recorded by the detector, or a color channel-specific attenuation of the detector signals of the detector, is set up in the sensor”.
However, FRANK from the same field of endeavor discloses a color channel-specific attenuation in a first spectral range [3-1] relative to a second spectral range [3-2] [a security document 1 represented, which is a security element 2 which shows a 3D color effect. The security element includes graphical information 3 , which is a first piece of information 3-1 , a second piece of information 3-2 as well as another piece of information 3-5 includes. The different information shares 3-1 . 3-2 . 3-5 the graphic information 3 are applied with different colorants…page 9], a color channel-specific attenuation of the electromagnetic radiation [23] shined onto the document of value [The different information shares 3-1 . 3-2 . 3-5 are prepared with colorants which have different reflectance or transmission spectra at a
broadband excitation of the electromagnetic radiation, for example with white light, which has a continuous spectrum in the range of about 400 nm about 800 nm. The individual pieces of information each have a homogeneous uniform color. The colorants are chosen so that the reflectance or transmission spectra of the individual information components 3-1 . 3-2 . 3-5 are each dominated by a distribution spectrum of a spectral color…page 9][ the verification device comprises an imaging detection device 24 which captures a
spatial and spectral resolution of an image of the security element on the security document, while this example, with electromagnetic radiation of the excitation source 23 is illuminated…page 10].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify the device/method/system of Blair such that the color channel-specific attenuation in the first spectral range relative to the second spectral range, the color channel-specific attenuation of the electromagnetic radiation shined onto the document of value; as taught by FRANK, for the advantages such as: ensures simple and easy verification of the documents that is detected by different detectors.
Claim(s) 17, 21-23 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blair in view of FRANK et al. and further in view of FRIESER et al. (KR 2019-0107024 A) (herein after FRIESER).
As of claims 17, 21-23 and 28, Blair discloses all the features of the claimed invention except the limitation such as: “The sensor/method according to claim 16, wherein the sensor has at least one color channel-specific filter for the color channel-specific attenuation, which is arranged between the detector and the document of value and/or between the radiation source and the document of value, and which is adapted to attenuate the electromagnetic radiation that emerges from the document of value or is applied to the document of value in the at least one first spectral range relative to the at least one second spectral range by at least a factor of 5.
The sensor according to claim 17, wherein the filter is adapted to attenuate the electromagnetic radiation in the at least one first spectral range relative to the at least one second spectral range by the same amount for substantially all detector elements.
The sensor according to claim 17, wherein the at least one filter is adapted to attenuate the electromagnetic radiation that emerges from the document of value or is applied to the document of value so that the intensity of the electromagnetic radiation recorded by the detector in the at least one first or second spectral range is respectively greater than a lower intensity threshold of the detector and less than an upper intensity threshold of the detector.”.
However, FRANK from the same field of endeavor discloses a sensor has at least one color channel-specific filter for the color channel-specific attenuation [ the verification device comprises an imaging detection device 24 which captures a spatial and spectral resolution of an image of the security element on the security document, while this example, with electromagnetic radiation of the excitation source 23 is illuminated…page 10], which is arranged between the detector and the document of value and/or between the radiation source and the document of value, and which is adapted to attenuate the electromagnetic radiation that emerges from the document of value or is applied to the document of value [a security document 1 represented, which is a security element 2 which shows a 3D color effect. The security element includes graphical information 3 , which is a first piece of information 3-1 , a second piece of information 3-2 as well as another piece of information 3-5 includes. The different information shares 3-1 . 3-2 . 3-5 the graphic information 3 are applied with different colorants…page 9], [The different information shares 3-1 . 3-2 . 3-5 are prepared with colorants which have different reflectance or transmission spectra at a broadband excitation of the electromagnetic radiation, for example with white light, which has a continuous spectrum in the range of about 400 nm about 800 nm. The individual pieces of information each have a homogeneous uniform color. The colorants are chosen so that the reflectance or transmission spectra of the individual information components 3-1 . 3-2 . 3-5 are each dominated by a distribution spectrum of a spectral color…page 9];
wherein the filter [lens/glass] is adapted to attenuate the electromagnetic radiation in the at least one first spectral range relative to the at least one second spectral range by the same amount for substantially all detector elements [The optical device 12 may be formed, for example, as a converging lens, which shows a chromatic aberration. This means that a focal length of the condenser lens is different for the different spectral colors…The verification device 20 has a document recording 21 on which a document is placed during verification. In the illustrated embodiment, the document holder is 21 from a transparent at least in the visible wavelength range material, such as glass or Plexiglas formed. In order to allow a transmission of electromagnetic radiation in the UV range, the support can also be made of a quartz glass…page 10].
wherein the at least one filter is adapted to attenuate the electromagnetic radiation that emerges from the document of value or is applied to the document of value [The optical device may be constructed, for example, as a chromatic aberration converging lens, but also as a prism or a complex of different prisms. Likewise, optical gratings can be used as an optical device…page 10] so that the intensity of the electromagnetic radiation recorded by the detector in the at least one first or second spectral range is respectively greater than a lower intensity threshold of the detector and less than an upper intensity threshold of the detector [Remitted radiation passes through the optical device 22 and is then from the detection device 24 detected. For example, a CMOS chip of a color camera as a detection device 24 be used. Depending on the wavelength of the individual information shares, these become different on the detection device 24 displayed…page 10][ A spectral distribution of a spectral color has a significant intensity only in a narrowly limited wavelength range. In the illustrated embodiment, the first information portion 3-1 formed, for example, with colorants which have a reflectance spectrum which is dominated by the spectral color blue, ie by intensity in the wavelength range of for example 440 nm…page 9];
wherein the at least one radiation source is adapted to apply the electromagnetic radiation to the document of value in such a way that the intensity of the electromagnetic radiation recorded by the detector in the at least one first or second spectral range is respectively greater than a lower intensity threshold of the detector and less than an upper intensity threshold of the detector [Remitted radiation passes through the optical device 22 and is then from the detection device 24 detected. For example, a CMOS chip of a color camera as a detection device 24 be used. Depending on the wavelength of the individual information shares, these become different on the detection device 24 displayed…page 10][ A spectral distribution of a spectral color has a significant intensity only in a narrowly limited wavelength range. In the illustrated embodiment, the first information portion 3-1 formed, for example, with colorants which have a reflectance spectrum which is dominated by the spectral color blue, ie by intensity in the wavelength range of for example 440 nm…page 9].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify the device/method/system of Blair such that the sensor has at least one color channel-specific filter for the color channel-specific attenuation, which is arranged between the detector and the document of value and/or between the radiation source and the document of value, and which is adapted to attenuate the electromagnetic radiation that emerges from the document of value or is applied to the document of value; wherein the filter is adapted to attenuate the electromagnetic radiation in the at least one first spectral range relative to the at least one second spectral range by the same amount for substantially all detector elements; wherein the at least one filter is adapted to attenuate the electromagnetic radiation that emerges from the document of value or is applied to the document of value so that the intensity of the electromagnetic radiation recorded by the detector in the at least one first or second spectral range is respectively greater than the lower intensity threshold of the detector and less than an upper intensity threshold of the detector; wherein the at least one radiation source is adapted to apply the electromagnetic radiation to the document of value in such the way that the intensity of the electromagnetic radiation recorded by the detector in the at least one first or second spectral range is respectively greater than the lower intensity threshold of the detector and less than an upper intensity threshold of the detector; as taught by FRANK, for the advantages such as: ensures simple and easy verification of the documents that is detected by different detectors.
Still the limitation such as: “which is adapted to attenuate the electromagnetic radiation that emerges from the document of value or is applied to the document of value in the at least one first spectral range relative to the at least one second spectral range by at least a factor of 5.”.
However, FRIESER from the same field of endeavor discloses a sensor which is adapted to attenuate the electromagnetic radiation that emerges from the document of value or is applied to the document of value [The sensor equipment 21 preferably comprises at least one sensor 25 which is set up to detect radiation from different spectral ranges or wavelength ranges… The sensor equipment 21 is observed with the light reflected from the front side and the back side, and when observed with the transmitted light, it is preferable to be able to detect the transmission and / or reflection spectra, as shown for example in FIG. 1C…page 21] in the at least one first spectral range relative to the at least one second spectral range by at least a factor of 5 [Through the detection of transmission and / or reflection characteristics in three or more different spectral ranges, the check for authenticity can be improved by ensuring that one or more characteristics unique to the security element are reliably detected…page 7][ The first, second, third and / or fourth spectral ranges are: in particular from the IR range (IR, infrared, infrared light) of electromagnetic radiation, from the wavelength range from 850 nm to 950 nm…page 8].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify the device/method/system of Blair when modified by FRANK such that the sensor which is adapted to attenuate the electromagnetic radiation that emerges from the document of value or is applied to the document of value in the at least one first spectral range relative to the at least one second spectral range by at least the factor of 5; as taught by FRIESER, for the advantages such as: separate recognition of security features by the
reading device is improved to ensure improved detection of counterfeiting.
Claim(s) 18-20, 24-26 and 29-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blair in view of FRANK et al. and further in view of KUMMAILIL et al. (US 20140253705 A1) (herein after KUMMAILIL).
As of claims 18-20, 24-26 and 29-30, Blair discloses a sensor system having a sensor according to claim 16 and a document of value comprising: at least one first feature, including an authenticity or security feature, which is adapted to deliver electromagnetic radiation, and at least one second feature, including an authenticity or security feature [¶0043-0044];
A document of value processing device having a sensor according to claim 16 or a sensor system according to claim 24 and a transport instrument which is adapted to convey documents of value [¶0025].
Blair when modified by FRIESER already discloses the limitation: “wherein the radiation source(s) is/are suitable for applying electromagnetic radiation of the first and second spectral ranges to the document of value, and a color channel-specific attenuation of the radiation source(s) is carried out for the color channel-specific attenuation” on claims 1 and 17.
Blair when modified by FRIESER discloses all the features of the claimed invention except the limitation such as: “The sensor according to claim 16, wherein the sensor has at least one color channel-specific amplifier for the color channel-specific attenuation, which is adapted to amplify the detector signals generated for the different spectral ranges, the amplification of the detector signals generated for the at least one first spectral range being less by at least a factor of 5, than the amplification of the detector signals generated for the at least one second spectral range.
The sensor according to claim 16, in which the radiation source(s) is/are operated so that its/their emission intensity in the at least one first spectral range is less by at least a factor of 5, than in the at least one second spectral range.
The sensor according to claim 16, wherein the first feature has a higher remission or transmission and/or lower absorption for the electromagnetic radiation that is applied to the document of value than the second feature does.
The sensor, which is adapted to deliver electromagnetic radiation, wherein the first feature has a higher remission or transmission and/or lower absorption for the electromagnetic radiation that is applied to the document of value than the second feature does.
The sensor system according to claim 24, wherein the first feature has a better detectability/higher contrast in the at least one first spectral range than in the at least one second spectral range and/or the second feature has a better detectability/higher contrast in the at least one second spectral range than in the at least one first spectral range”.
However, KUMMAILIL from the same field of endeavor discloses a sensor [110] has at least one color channel-specific amplifier for the color channel-specific attenuation [¶0028], which is adapted to amplify the detector signals generated for the different spectral ranges [¶0023], the amplification of the detector signals generated for the at least one first spectral range being less by at least a factor of 5 [¶0046, 0061], than the amplification of the detector signals generated for the at least one second spectral range [¶0062]; in which the radiation source(s) is/are operated so that its/their emission intensity in the at least one first spectral range is less by at least a factor of 5, than in the at least one second spectral range [¶0046, 0048]; wherein the first feature has a higher remission or transmission and/or lower absorption for the electromagnetic radiation that is applied to the document of value than the second feature does [¶0025, [This type of gain-intensity relationship can be produced because the intensity level of reflected EM radiation 104 can be correlated to (e.g., proportionally related to, or non-linearly related to) the intensity level of source EM radiation 102 and because the EM radiation source 100 can be the only source EM radiation within the illuminated environment…¶0035];
which is adapted to deliver electromagnetic radiation, wherein the first feature has a higher remission or transmission and/or lower absorption for the electromagnetic radiation that is applied to the document of value than the second feature does [¶0025, [This type of gain-intensity relationship can be produced because the intensity level of reflected EM radiation 104 can be correlated to (e.g., proportionally related to, or non-linearly related to) the intensity level of source EM radiation 102 and because the EM radiation source 100 can be the only source EM radiation within the illuminated environment…¶0035];
wherein the first feature has a better detectability/higher contrast in the at least one first spectral range than in the at least one second spectral range and/or the second feature has a better detectability/higher contrast in the at least one second spectral range than in the at least one first spectral range [The image elements of the different security elements are preferably perceptible or nonperceptible under illumination of different spectral ranges and/or create a predetermined contrast in particular to the background area…page 9][ Contrast and/or color distance, in particular color contrast, between the image elements of the security feature of the first one of the spectral ranges and the background area is sufficiently different from the contrast or color distance of the second one of the spectral ranges, in particular It is also advantageous to differ by at least 5%...page 10].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify the device/method/system of Blair when modified by FRANK such that the sensor has at least one color channel-specific amplifier for the color channel-specific attenuation, which is adapted to amplify the detector signals generated for the different spectral ranges, the amplification of the detector signals generated for the at least one first spectral range being less by at least the factor of 5, than the amplification of the detector signals generated for the at least one second spectral range; in which the radiation source(s) is/are operated so that its/their emission intensity in the at least one first spectral range is less by at least the factor of 5, than in the at least one second spectral range; wherein the first feature has a higher remission or transmission and/or lower absorption for the electromagnetic radiation that is applied to the document of value than the second feature does; which is adapted to deliver electromagnetic radiation, wherein the first feature has the higher remission or transmission and/or lower absorption for the electromagnetic radiation that is applied to the document of value than the second feature does; as taught by KUMMAILIL, for the advantages such as: to improve the signal to noise ratio of the overall measurement.
Conclusion
/MD M RAHMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877