DETAILED ACTION
Election of Species
In response to the election restriction, the applicant filed response to the election 06/22/2026. The response included canceling claims 1-22 and claims 23-33 were added. Claims 23-33 are pending and presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 23 - 33 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US Pub. No. 2015/0117287 A1) in view of Tseng et al (US Pub. No. 2018/0110085 A1) and further in view of Shrivastava et al (US pub. 2024/0187823 A1).
Regarding claim 23, Kim discloses “A communication method performed by a terminal device” (See Kim Figs 1 and 2. and abstract); comprising “receiving, from a network device, a radio resource control (RRC) message” (see Kim figure 10, step 1005 and ¶ 0114, ¶ 0115; receiving a connection RRC message), “indicating at least one discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration for a serving cell” (see Kim figure 10, step 1005 and ¶ 0114, ¶ 0115; the RRC message include DRX configuration informations including on duration timer and Drx inactivity Timer and others), “and stopping a DRX on-duration timer of a first DRX configuration in the at least one DRX configuration”( see Kim ¶ 0009, ¶ 0206; when the MAC CE received, stops the onDuration Timer and the DRX-inactivity Duration); “in a case where a DRX Command medium access control (MAC) control element (CE when the MAC CE received, stops the onDuration Timer and the DRX-inactivity Duration).
Kim does not appear to explicitly disclose “DRX Command medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) indicated by a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) associated with a first communication service is received” and “wherein each DRX configuration of the at least one DRX configuration is associated with a communication service, and the first DRX configuration is associated with the first communication service”. However, Tseng discloses “DRX Command medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) indicated by a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) associated with a first communication service is received”( See Tseng ¶ 0113 - ¶ 0115; when the PDCCH indicates transmission, the On Duration timer will be stopped, and disclosed that the MAC CE ). Kim and Tseng are analogous art because they both are related to “Communication System”. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Kim and Tseng before him or her, to modify the invention of Kim to perform stopping DRX on Duration Timer in response to indication of the PDCCH. The suggestion for doing so would have been to improve handling DRX operation in a wireless communication system (¶ 0002).
Neither Kim nor Tseng appear to explicitly disclose “wherein each DRX configuration of the at least one DRX configuration is associated with a communication service, and the first DRX configuration is associated with the first communication service”. However, Shrivastava discloses “wherein each DRX configuration of the at least one DRX configuration is associated with a communication service, and the first DRX configuration is associated with the first communication service”( See Shrivastava ¶ 0035; receiving DRX configuration for MBS (multicast broadcast service); ¶ 0070; for MBS broadcast service, the active time can include the time while at least one of the drx-onDurationTimerMBS timer or the drx-InactivityTimerMBS the configured for the MBS and ¶ 0227 ; Based on the applicable MBS multicast service(s) that the UE 10 is actively receiving, the UE 10 may be configured with the unicast DRX configurations ). Kim and Tseng are analogous art because they both are related to “Communication System”. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Kim, Tseng and Shrivastava before him or her, to modify the invention of Kim and Tseng to provide different DRX configurations for different services. The suggestion for doing so would have been for efficient and reliable reception for Service by providing service discontinuous reception (DRX) in a wireless communication (¶ 0008).
Regarding claim 24, claim 23 is incorporated as stated above. In addition, the combination of Kim, Tseng and Shrivastava further discloses “receiving, from the network device, configuration information of a list of DRX configurations, wherein the RRC message indicates the at least one DRX configuration from the list of DRX configurations”; (see Kim figure 10, step 1005 and ¶ 0114, ¶ 0115; the RRC message include DRX configuration information including on duration timer and Drx inactivity Timer and others).
Regarding claim 25, claim 23 is incorporated as stated above. In addition, the combination of Kim, Tseng and Shrivastava further discloses “stopping a DRX inactivity timer of the first DRX configuration in a case where the DRX Command MAC CE indicated by the PDCCH associated with the first communication service is received”; ((see Kim ¶ 0009, ¶ 0206; when the MAC CE received, stops the onDuration Timer and the DRX-inactivity Duration; See Tseng ¶ 0113 - ¶ 0115; when the PDCCH indicates transmission, the On Duration timer will be stopped, and disclosed that the MAC CE).
Regarding claim 26, claim 23 is incorporated as stated above. In addition, the combination of Kim, Tseng and Shrivastava further discloses “wherein DRX operation for each DRX configuration of the at least one DRX configuration is performed independently”; (see Kim fig 10 and ¶ 0031, ¶ 0113).
Regarding claim 27, Kim discloses “A communication method performed by a network device” (See Kim Figs 1 and 2. and abstract); comprising “transmitting, to a terminal device, a radio resource control (RRC) message” (see Kim figure 10, step 1005 and ¶ 0114, ¶ 0115; receiving a connection RRC message), “indicating at least one discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration for a serving cell” (see Kim figure 10, step 1005 and ¶ 0114, ¶ 0115; the RRC message include DRX configuration informations including on duration timer and Drx inactivity Timer and others), “transmitting, to the terminal device, DRX Command medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) when the MAC CE received, stops the onDuration Timer and the DRX-inactivity Duration); “wherein the DRX Command MAC CE is used for the terminal device to stop a DRX on-duration timer of the first DRX configuration”( see Kim ¶ 0009, ¶ 0206; when the MAC CE received, stops the onDuration Timer and the DRX-inactivity Duration).
Kim does not appear to explicitly disclose “DRX Command medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) indicated by a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) associated with a first communication service is received” and “wherein each DRX configuration of the at least one DRX configuration is associated with a communication service, and the first DRX configuration is associated with the first communication service”. However, Tseng discloses “DRX Command medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) indicated by a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) associated with a first communication service is received”( See Tseng ¶ 0113 - ¶ 0115; when the PDCCH indicates transmission, the On Duration timer will be stopped, and disclosed that the MAC CE ). Kim and Tseng are analogous art because they both are related to “Communication System”. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Kim and Tseng before him or her, to modify the invention of Kim to perform stopping DRX on Duration Timer in response to indication of the PDCCH. The suggestion for doing so would have been to improve handling DRX operation in a wireless communication system (¶ 0002).
Neither Kim nor Tseng appear to explicitly disclose “wherein each DRX configuration of the at least one DRX configuration is associated with a communication service, and the first DRX configuration is associated with the first communication service”. However, Shrivastava discloses “wherein each DRX configuration of the at least one DRX configuration is associated with a communication service, and the first DRX configuration is associated with the first communication service”( See Shrivastava ¶ 0035; receiving DRX configuration for MBS (multicast broadcast service); ¶ 0070; for MBS broadcast service, the active time can include the time while at least one of the drx-onDurationTimerMBS timer or the drx-InactivityTimerMBS the configured for the MBS and ¶ 0227 ; Based on the applicable MBS multicast service(s) that the UE 10 is actively receiving, the UE 10 may be configured with the unicast DRX configurations ). Kim and Tseng are analogous art because they both are related to “Communication System”. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Kim, Tseng and Shrivastava before him or her, to modify the invention of Kim and Tseng to provide different DRX configurations for different services. The suggestion for doing so would have been for efficient and reliable reception for Service by providing service discontinuous reception (DRX) in a wireless communication (¶ 0008).
Regarding claim 28, claim 27 is incorporated as stated above. In addition, the combination of Kim, Tseng and Shrivastava further discloses “transmitting, to the terminal device, configuration information of a list of DRX configurations, wherein the RRC message indicates the at least one DRX configuration from the list of DRX configurations.”; (see Kim figure 10, step 1005 and ¶ 0114, ¶ 0115; the RRC message include DRX configuration information including on duration timer and Drx inactivity Timer and others).
Regarding claim 29, claim 27 is incorporated as stated above. In addition, the combination of Kim, Tseng and Shrivastava further discloses “wherein DRX operation for each DRX configuration of the at least one DRX configuration is performed independently”; (see Kim fig 10 and ¶ 0031, ¶ 0113).
Claims 30 - 33 are the Terminal device claims corresponding to the method claims 23 - 26 that have been rejected above. Applicant attention is directed to the rejection of claims 23 - 26. Claims 30 – 33 are rejected under the same rational as claims 23 - 26. IN addition, the combination of Kim, Tseng and Shrivastava further discloses A terminal device, comprising: a processor (see Kim Figs. 1 and 2).
Conclusion
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/KHALED M KASSIM/supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475