DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 7,183,000 to Hall et al. (“Hall”) in view of WO 2020/074297 to Eierhoff et al., an English translation of which is US 2021/0402434 which is referred-to herein (“Eierhoff”).
With regard to Claims 1-5, 7-8, 12-15, and 17-18, Hall teaches a tinted clearcoat composition comprising a binder resin featuring functional groups, a curing agent featuring functional groups reactive with that of the binder resin functionality, and pigment, wherein the composition is ground via grinding media (see Abstract; Col. 4, Lns. 12-39; Col. 5, Lns. 6-47). Hall further teaches a process of producing a multilayer coating featuring said tinted clearcoat composition via wet-on-wet application and joint curing (see Abstract; Col. 8, Ln. 45 through Col. 9, Ln. 56). According to Hall, the clearcoat system can be a two-component system comprising hydroxy-functional binder, hardener, and isocyanate curing agent (see Col. 4, Lns. 1-4).
Hall teaches solventborne and stabilized clearcoat compositions (see Col. 4, Lns. 12-39) and aluminum and mica pigment (see Col. 6, Lns. 19-21; Col. 8, Lns. 40-43); however the reference does not expressly teach a pigment premix as claimed. Eierhoff is similarly directed to clearcoat methods and compositions, and teaches provision of a premixes of aluminum and mica pigment comprising solvent and stabilizer (see Abstract; ¶¶ [0327]-[0330]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have employed pigmented premix as claimed in the method of Hall, as taught by Eierhoff, in order to add a desired amount of pigment to the clearcoat layer in a controlled manner.
With regard to Claims 6, 11, and 19-20, Hall teaches inclusion of pigment at amounts within the claimed range (see Col. 8, Lns. 55-58; Col. 10, Lns. 1-20).
With regard to Claim 9, Hall teaches organic pigments (see Col. 6, Lns 38-47).
With regard to Claims 10 and 16, Hall teaches aqueous and solvent-borne compositions (see Col. 3, Ln. 47 through Col. 4, Ln. 39).
With regard to Claim 7, Hall does not expressly teach the claimed energy inputs or sub-step arrangement. Hall is noted as teaching grinding to any preferred particle size (see Col. 5, Lns. 6-47). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have employed energy input and grinding steps as claimed in obtaining a desired film build.
Double Patenting
2. Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/718,888 (reference application) in view of Eierhoff. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are both directed to tinted clearcoat compositions featuring the same constituents and made by the same process. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to incorporate pigment premix as taught by Eierhoff.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 27 May 2026 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection presented herein in response to the claims as amended.
Conclusion
/Michael P. Rodriguez/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1715