DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claims 1-6 and 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or (a)(2) as being anticipated by US 7,183,000 to Hall et al. (“Hall”).
With regard to Claims 1-5, 8, 12-15, and 17-18, Hall teaches a tinted clearcoat composition comprising a binder resin featuring functional groups, a curing agent featuring functional groups reactive with that of the binder resin functionality, and pigment, wherein the composition is ground via grinding media (see Abstract; Col. 4, Lns. 12-39; Col. 5, Lns. 6-47). Hall further teaches a process of producing a multilayer coating featuring said tinted clearcoat composition via wet-on-wet application and joint curing (see Abstract; Col. 8, Ln. 45 through Col. 9, Ln. 56). According to Hall, the clearcoat system can be a two-component system comprising hydroxy-functional binder, hardener, and isocyanate curing agent (see Col. 4, Lns. 1-4).
With regard to Claims 6, 11, and 19-20, Hall teaches inclusion of pigment at amounts within the claimed range (see Col. 8, Lns. 55-58; Col. 10, Lns. 1-20).
With regard to Claim 9, Hall teaches organic pigments (see Col. 6, Lns 38-47).
With regard to Claims 10 and 16, Hall teaches aqueous and solvent-borne compositions (see Col. 3, Ln. 47 through Col. 4, Ln. 39).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hall.
With regard to Claim 7, Hall does not expressly teach the claimed energy inputs or sub-step arrangement. Hall is noted as teaching grinding to any preferred particle size (see Col. 5, Lns. 6-47). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have employed energy input and grinding steps as claimed in obtaining a desired film build.
Double Patenting
3. Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/718,888 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are both directed to tinted clearcoat compositions featuring the same constituents and made by the same process.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 02 December 2025 have been fully considered. Applicant argues terms previously alleged as indefinite under 35 USC § 112 are in fact sufficiently clear and otherwise defined by the instant Specification (see Response at Pgs. 6-7). This argument is found persuasive. Accordingly the rejection set forth under § 112 is withdrawn.
Applicant argues that Hall does not disclose a pigment premixture as claimed (see Response at Pgs. 7-8). This argument is not found persuasive. Claim 1 recites inclusion of a “… pigment premixture (PP) comprising at least one pigment …” Hall teaches inclusion of a pigment comprising at least one pigment, as claimed. Furthermore, Hall is also noted as disclosing additional pigment material constituents (see Col. 7 Lns. 11-14), though this is not currently required by the instant claims. Accordingly, the rejection is maintained.
Applicant argues that one of ordinary skill in the art would not have practiced the invention of Hall in pursuit of the objectives of the instant application (see Response at Pgs. 8-9). This argument is deemed moot. As discussed herein, Hall teaches the claimed composition.
The rejections under 35 USC §§ 102 and 103, and the nonstatutory double patenting rejection are maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Michael P. Rodriguez/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1715