DETAILED ACTION
Pursuant to the preliminary amendment dated 5/12/2024, claims 1-54 are canceled and claims 55-74 are newly added.
Claims 55-74 are pending in the instant application and are examined on the merits herein.
Priority
The application is a National Stage entry of PCT/IL2022/051306 filed on 12/12/2022, which claims priority to provisional application 63/265588 filed on 12/17/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) dated 7/16/2024 comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609, except where noted. Accordingly, the IDS documents have been placed in the application file and the information therein has been considered as to the merits.
Claim Interpretation
With respect to claim 74, reciting, “A de-hydroxy cardiac steroid.”, the specification is considered for guidance on claim scope. The specification describes de-hydroxy cardiac steroids as having the following structure:
, where R=a 5- or 6-membered lactone. (pp. 3-4) The specification also states that, “a cardiac steroid is an organic compound that is medicinally useful in increasing rate of contractions and output force of the heart by interacting with Na⁺, K⁺ -ATPase”. (p. 4) Based on the description in the specification, the scope of claim 74 is interpreted to encompass any compound having the core structure as depicted above. Moreover, compounds having this core structure will necessarily modulate Na+/K+ ATPase activity, by falling into the class of cardiac steroids.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 59, 60 and 70-74 are rejected for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 59 depends from claim 60 and claim 60 depends from claim 59. This renders the scope of the claims indefinite because neither dependent claim depends from an independent claim.
Claims 70-74 contain, or depend from claims that contain, parenthetical statements. The use of parenthetical statements renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) within the parentheses are part of the claimed invention or meant as options or examples. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). For examination purposes, the broadest claim limitation(s) will be considered without taking into account parenthetical statements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 55-58, 61-65, 67, 69 and 74 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kruger et al. (US 4,102,884 A; 1978, IDS).
Kruger et al. discloses 14-hydroxy-19-nor-5β,14β-carda-3,20(22)-dienolide; 14,19-dihydroxy-5β,14β-carda-3,20(22)-dienolide; 19-methoxycarbonyl-14-hydroxy-5β,14β-carda-3,20(22)-dienolide; and 19-carboxy-14-hydroxy-5β,14β-carda-3,20(22)-dienolide. (Claim 11) Kruger also discloses the following compounds: (Table 2, Claim 8)
Kruger further discloses that the compounds are effective ATPase inhibitors and useful as heart active steroids. (Table 1, Col. 25)
With respect to claim 74, the compounds of Kruger meet the limitation of being a “de-hydroxy cardiac steroid” based in the claim interpretation section above.
Accordingly, the instant claims are anticipated by the prior art.
Claims 55-58, 61-65, 67-69 and 74 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stidle et al. (US 3,543,307 A; 1970, IDS).
Stidle et al. discloses 5β,14β-dihydroxy-Δ3,20,22-bufatrienolide; 5β,14β -dihydroxy-19-oxo-Δ3,20,22-bufatrienolide; and 5β,14β,19-trihydroxy- Δ3,20,22-bufatrienolide. (Col. 3, Ln. 55-62; Claims 4-6; depicted below) Stidle further discloses that the compounds are cardioactive and maybe administered, as a tablet, to treat heart insufficiency. (Col. 4, Ln. 6-67)
With respect to claim 74, the compounds of Stidle meet the limitation of being a “de-hydroxy cardiac steroid” based in the claim interpretation section above.
Accordingly, the instant claims are anticipated by the prior art.
Claims 55-58, 61-66, 68 and 74 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gobbini et al. (Bioorg. Med. Chem., 1998, IDS).
Gobbini et al. discloses compound 10, 14β-hydroxy-5β-carda-Δ3,20,22-dienolide. (Scheme 3)
Gobbini also discloses that cardiac glycosides are well known drugs clinically used to improve myocardial contractility in the treatment of congestive heart failure. Their action is mainly due to inhibition of Na+,K+ ATPase, an enzyme located in the cell membrane and promoting the outward transport of Na+ and the inward transport of K+. (Introduction)
With respect to claim 74, the compounds of Gobbini meet the limitation of being a “de-hydroxy cardiac steroid” based in the claim interpretation section above.
Accordingly, the instant claims are anticipated by the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 70-73 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kruger et al. (US 4,102,884 A; 1978, IDS), or in the alternative over Stidle et al. (US 3,543,307 A; 1970, IDS), or in the alternative over Gobbini et al. (Bioorg. Med. Chem., 1998, IDS), in view of Boger et al. (US 2016/0143934, PTO-892)
The disclosure of Kruger or Stidle or Gobbini are referenced as discussed above. These references do not teach methods of treatment.
Boger et al. discloses that cardiac glycosides and cardiac steroids have been prescribed for centuries to treat congestive heart failure and arrhythmias, conditions in which they bind to the Na+,K+-ATPase and inhibit its activity. The number of compounds identified in animals and plants is growing and novel effects are becoming evident, including anti-cancer and anti-viral activities. (¶0002, 0022)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that any of the compounds disclosed by Kruger or Stidle or Gobbini would be effective in methods of treating heart failure, cancer or a viral infection, thereby arriving at the instant invention. One would find the use of the compounds of the prior art for treating heart failure, cancer or a viral infection reasonable because the prior art teaches that the compounds are effective Na+,K+-ATPase inhibitors and Boger teaches that cardiac steroids having Na+,K+-ATPase inhibitory activity are known to be effective for treating heart failure, cancer or viral infections.
Accordingly, the instant claims are prima facie obvious over the teachings of the prior art.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/DALE R MILLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1693