DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s response filed 5 June 2026 containing amendments to the claims and remarks.
Claims 1-3 and 7-23 are pending. Claims 14-23 are newly added.
The previous objections and rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments to the claims. The previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 are maintained. Likewise, newly added claims 14-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103. Finally, rejections of claims 16, 17, and 22 are entered under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and claims that were previously rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) are now rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103, the new rejections being necessitated by Applicant’s amendments to the claims. The rejections follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16, 17, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
With respect to claim 16, the claim recites the limitation “the feed unit.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for such limitation in the claim.
With respect to claim 17, the claim recites the limitation “the pre-heat unit.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for such limitation in the claim.
With respect to claim 22, the claim recites the limitation “the dilution stream heat unit.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for such limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 7-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Biesheuvel (WO 2020/046639 A1).
With respect to claims 1-3 and 7-23, Biesheuvel discloses a process (and necessary apparatus components for carrying out such process) comprising preheating a hydrocarbon such as naphtha or lower alkanes using molten salt, heating the preheated hydrocarbon, and reacting the heated hydrocarbon at high temperatures, e.g. between 825°C and 900°C, to produce an effluent comprising hydrogen, olefins, and aromatic hydrocarbons. Heat is recovered from the reaction effluent using molten salt. Heat is transferred from the effluent to the hydrocarbon feed via a molten salt heat sink (see Biesheuvel, Fig. 1; claims 1 and 9-11; and paragraphs [0016], [0018], [0020], [0020], [0028], [0029], [0036], [0045], and [0048]). Furthermore, Biesheuvel discloses wherein a hydrocarbon stream may flow through the reactor(s) wherein the stream is heated, diluted with steam, and converted to an effluent comprising the desired products (see Biesheuvel, paragraph [0003]). Moreover, Biesheuvel discloses wherein a second heater may be used for preheating purposes (see Biesheuvel, paragraph [0018]); and wherein the heating process may be conducted any number of times using any number of heaters until the hydrocarbon stream of interest reaches a desired preheat temperature with the understanding that different hydrocarbon streams will need to be preheated to different temperatures and the preheat temperature can be dependent upon the desired end product (see Biesheuvel, paragraph [0018]). The product stream may comprise olefins including ethylene, propylene, and butylene (see Biesheuvel, paragraph [0048]). Reaction conditions may include a temperature of 300°C or greater and a pressure of 1 bar or greater (see Biesheuvel, paragraph [0047]). The temperature of the feed may be from ambient to 200°C and is not particularly limited (see Biesheuvel, paragraph [0016]).
Claims 1-3 and 7-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ward (EP 3730592 A1).
With respect to claims 1-3 and 7-16, With respect to claims 1-5 and 7-13, Ward discloses a process (and necessary apparatus components for carrying out such process) for steam cracking a hydrocarbon such as ethane or propane to produce olefins comprising preheating the feed in several heat exchange steps in series using the heat from the produce effluent and including heating of dilution steam with the produce; reacting the preheated, heated, and diluted feed using an electrically heated source; and further cooling the collected products (see Ward, claims 1, 3, 4; and paragraphs [0052], [0053], [0057], [0059], [0105]). Heating may be carried out to a temperature in excess of 675°C (see Ward, paragraph [0052]). Furthermore, Ward discloses a process (and necessary apparatus components for carrying out such process) for steam cracking a hydrocarbon such as ethane or propane to produce olefins comprising preheating the feed in several heat exchange steps in series using the heat from the product effluent and including heating of dilution steam with the product; reacting the preheated, heated, and diluted feed using an electrically heated source; and further cooling the collected products (see Ward, claims 1, 3, 4; and paragraphs [0052], [0053], [0057], [0059], [0105]). Heating may be carried out to a temperature in excess of 675°C (see Ward, paragraph [0052]). Ward discloses wherein heating may be effected by more than one feed/effluent exchangers (see Ward, paragraph [0052]). The product stream may comprise olefins including ethylene and propylene (see Ward, paragraph [0035]) and the entering temperature of the feed is not particularly limited (see Ward, entire disclosure).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 5 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Examiner understands Applicant’s arguments to be:
Biesheuvel does not disclose or suggest “introducing the product stream into the first hydrocarbon heat unit; . . . introducing the product stream into the second hydrocarbon heat unit” and “cooling the product stream in the second hydrocarbon heat unit.”
The product stream 211 of Biesheuvel only passes through one heat exchanger 220 and then exits the system as effluent 212.
The system of Biesheuvel does not include “transferring heat from the product stream to the heated hydrocarbon-based composition.”
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have no motivation to modify the system of Biesheuvel to include “introducing the product stream into the first hydrocarbon heat unit; . . . introducing the product stream into the second hydrocarbon heat unit . . . cooling the product stream in the second hydrocarbon heat unit . . .” and “transferring heat from the product stream to the heated hydrocarbon-based composition.”
It is not obvious in view of Ward to include “cooling the product stream in the feed pre-heat unit . . . introducing the product stream into the first hydrocarbon heat unit; . . . introducing the product stream into the second hydrocarbon heat unit; . . . cooling the product stream in the second hydrocarbon heat unit” and “transferring heat from the product stream to the heated hydrocarbon-based composition.”
Ward does not disclose or suggest “cooling the product stream in the feed pre-heat unit . . . introducing the product stream into the first hydrocarbon heat unit; . . . introducing the product stream into the second hydrocarbon heat unit; . . . cooling the product stream in the second hydrocarbon heat unit” and “transferring heat from the product stream to the heated hydrocarbon-based composition.”
With respect to Applicant’s first, second, third, and fourth arguments, Biesheuvel discloses wherein a hydrocarbon stream may flow through the reactor(s) wherein the stream is heated, diluted with steam, and converted to an effluent comprising the desired products (see Biesheuvel, paragraph [0003]). Moreover, Biesheuvel discloses wherein a second heater [i.e. second hydrocarbon heat unit] may be used for preheating purposes (see Biesheuvel, paragraph [0018]); and wherein the heating process may be conducted any number of times using any number of heaters [i.e. first hydrocarbon heat unit, second hydrocarbon heat unit, etc.] until the hydrocarbon stream of interest reaches a desired preheat temperature with the understanding that different hydrocarbon streams will need to be preheated to different temperatures and the preheat temperature can be dependent upon the desired end product (see Biesheuvel, paragraph [0018]).
With respect to Applicant’s fifth and sixth arguments, Ward discloses a process (and necessary apparatus components for carrying out such process) for steam cracking a hydrocarbon such as ethane or propane to produce olefins comprising preheating the feed in several heat exchange steps in series using the heat from the product effluent and including heating of dilution steam with the product; reacting the preheated, heated, and diluted feed using an electrically heated source; and further cooling the collected products (see Ward, claims 1, 3, 4; and paragraphs [0052], [0053], [0057], [0059], [0105]). Heating may be carried out to a temperature in excess of 675°C (see Ward, paragraph [0052]). Ward discloses wherein heating may be effected by more than one feed/effluent exchangers [i.e. first hydrocarbon heat unit, second hydrocarbon heat unit, etc.] (see Ward, paragraph [0052]).
Conclusion
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office Action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Randy Boyer/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771