Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed 08/17/2026 (hereinafter Response) including claim amendments have been entered. Examiner notes that claims 19, 25, 27, 30, 32, 34-35 have been amended and claim 24 has been cancelled, while all other claims are maintained as previously presented in the application. In view of amendment, all the objections and rejections under §112(b) have been withdrawn. In view of amendment, a new ground(s) of rejections is made under 35 USC § 103 (details below) and claims 19-23 and 25-36 remain pending in the application. Removal of the phrase “claims 1-18 (cancelled)” is recommended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see ‘Remarks’ filed 08/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not found persuasive. In view of amendment and on pages 8-9 of the argument, the applicant submits that claim 19 has been amended to incorporate the subject matter of claim 24, particularly “said deformation reactive and elastic arrangement is arranged to generate the mechanical feedback force independently of the electric feedback motor," In view of further consideration, it has been noted that Mihai in view of Kenji expressly discloses the claimed feature. Kenji represents independent motor and spring feedback action to the steering wheel (see fig. 1 of Kenji) and both the motor and spring are independent to its position, cumulatively controlled by ECU and independently working on a feedback and also when motor slow down or failed, spring reverses counter movement to position the steering to its original position, equivalent to the subject matter as required by the claimed invention. See in details below.
Applicant’s remaining arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection in view of Kenji does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19-22, 25-29, 31-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mihai (DE 10 2018 115565 A1) in view of Mori, Kenji (CN113891827 A; hereinafter “Kenji”).
Regarding claim 19, Mihai discloses;
A power assisted steering system, for a vehicle comprising:
a steering arrangement (steering wheel 4; fig. 3);
a steering shaft (steering wheel shaft 3) connected to the steering arrangement;
steerable elements (wheels 8a/8b);
an electrically controllable actuator (steering actuator 7; fig. 1) arranged on or connected to a link arrangement (steerable axle 9) connected to the steerable elements;
an Electronic Control Unit (ECU) (electronic control unit 6) controlling the electrically controllable actuator and a feedback arrangement (fig. 3, paragraph 28) connected to the Electronic Control Unit (ECU);
said feedback arrangement being directly or indirectly connected to the steering arrangement for applying a force to the steering arrangement; (Paragraph 8 and fig. 2, describe radial springs (16a/16b) disposed to apply force to the steering wheel. The springs interact with an internal gear (12) which interacts with spring pinion (13) which is attached to the steering shaft (3).)
said (ECU) (electronic control unit 6) being arranged for controlling said feedback arrangement; (Paragraph 28 and fig. 3 describe a control unit (6), which determines feedback force delivered to the driver.)
the feedback arrangement comprises an electric feedback motor (electric motor 15; fig. 3) and a mechanical feedback arrangement (springs 16a / 16b; fig. 2) in combination;
the mechanical feedback arrangement comprises a deformation reactive and elastic arrangement arranged to react on a movement or force produced by the steering arrangement by generation of a reaction force counteracting the movement or force produced by the steering arrangement; (Paragraph 8 and fig. 2, describe radial springs (16a/16b) disposed to apply force to the steering wheel. The springs provide a reactive force, reacting to the turning of the steering wheel by an operator. This is a mechanical force resulting from an elastic deformation of the spring wire.)
the mechanical feedback arrangement is arranged to apply a mechanical feedback force corresponding to or depending on the generated reaction force directly or indirectly on the steering arrangement; (Paragraph 8 and fig. 2, describe radial springs disposed to apply force to the steering wheel such that with an increased movement of the steering wheel, an increased feedback force is applied.)
the feedback force applied to the steering arrangement comprises a combination of the mechanical feedback force and an electric feedback force provided by the electric feedback motor controlled by the ECU; (Paragraph 13 describes the electric motor as supplementing the feedback force produced by the springs.)
said deformation reactive and elastic arrangement of the mechanical feedback arrangement comprises a spring arrangement comprising at least one spring (springs 16a / 16b; fig. 2) adapted to be operatively or mechanically in engagement directly or indirectly with the steering shaft, at least when the steering shaft is moved or turned, at least to a predetermined amount; (Fig.2 and paragraph 24, describe the springs interacting with an internal gear (12) which interacts with the steering shaft (3).)
In view of argument, it has been noted that motor feedback and the mechanical feedback occur independently which Mihai failed to disclose, rather Mihai’s mechanical feedback and motor feedback occur through engageable gear system; however,
Kenji in another ‘vehicular steering device’ similar to Mihai teaches that said mechanical feedback arrangement comprises a passive force feedback element (PFFE) (60 “force feedback actuator”, FFA; fig. 1 [0007]) comprising said deformation reactive and elastic arrangement (]) (equivalent to “torsion bar 2A” as depicted in fig. 1 via Kt spring constant) ; said deformation reactive and elastic arrangement (Kt) is arranged to generate the mechanical feedback force (Tt) independently of the electric feedback motor (61 “reaction force motor” as depicted in fig. 1and [0005]); and
the steering axis (steering column axis as depicted in fig. 13, expressly shows track rod connected to steering wheel and that has axis) comprises at least one actuation element (“force feedback actuator 60 as depicted by “torsion bar”) adapted to be engageable with or be in direct connection ( fig. 13 shows spring has direct connection) with the at least one spring (fig. 13 shows at least one spring 2A) of the spring arrangement (“torsion bar” spring 2A; fig. 13) such that when the steering axis (steering column axis) is rotated, the spring arrangement (2A) will be actuated upon and generate said reaction force (Tt).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrive at the idea of having mechanical feedback arrangement that comprises a passive force feedback element, comprising said deformation reactive and elastic arrangement in such that said deformation reactive and elastic arrangement is arranged to generate the mechanical feedback force independently of the electric feedback motor along with steering axis, adapted to be engageable with at least one spring as depicted in figs. 1 and 13 of Kenji such that when the steering axis is rotated, the spring arrangement (2A) will be actuated upon and generate said reaction force as taught by Kenji into the invention of Mihai with a reasonable expectation of success in order to advantageously reposition the vehicle when a specified steering angle is reached, the steering wheel is locked by applying a steering reaction force equal to the steering Torque [0007 of Kenji].
The motivation of replacing electric motor and mechanical force feedback element of Mihai with the independent configuration of Kenji arises from the shared objective of enabling combined modular steering feedback attachments but independently acting in any dynamic driving environments. The claimed configuration doesn’t yield unexpected results but reflects routing engineering design choices based on known principles of modular steering wheel force feedback element in a wide range of terrain adaptability.
Regarding claim 20, Mihai as modified above further discloses;
wherein the steerable elements comprise steerable wheels, front and/or rear suspension wheels. (Fig. 1 of Mihai in view of Kenji illustrates a vehicle steering system including wheels and steerable axle.)
Regarding claim 21, Mihai as modified above further discloses;
wherein the link arrangement comprises a track rod (fig. 13 shows track rod of Kenji) arrangement or a steering rack via steering rods connected to the steerable wheels (fig. 13 of Kenji).
Regarding claim 22, Mihai as modified above further discloses;
wherein the steering arrangement comprises a steering wheel. (Fig. 1 of Mihai in view of Kenji illustrates a steering wheel.)
Regarding claim 25; Mihai as modified above further discloses;
wherein the mechanical feedback arrangement is connected to the electric feedback motor (61), the electric feedback motor (61, fig. 13 of Kenji) being arranged on, or connected to, the steering shaft (steering column, fig. 13 of Kenji), that the mechanical feedback arrangement is connected to the steering shaft that the electric feedback motor is arranged on, or connected to, the steering shaft at an end of the steering shaft distant from the steering arrangement. (as depicted in fig. 13 of Kenji, the mechanical feedback arrangement is connected to the steering shaft that the electric feedback motor is arranged on, or connected to, the steering shaft at an end of the steering shaft distant from the steering arrangement).
Regarding claim 26, Mihai as modified above further discloses;
wherein the mechanical feedback arrangement is connected directly to the steering shaft, separate from the electric feedback motor, or that the mechanical feedback arrangement is connected directly to the steering arrangement (see figs. 1 and 13 of Kenji where spring is positioned directly to steering shaft and separate from the feedback motor).
Regarding claim 27, Mihai as modified above further discloses;
wherein the spring arrangement comprises at least one spring, e.g. a coil spring, a leaf spring, a washer shaped spring element or any other elastic element executing a force when deformed, said at least one spring being mechanically connected to a wall element or a protrusion or similar, e.g. in an inner wall or a protruding element in an inner recess of the mechanical feedback arrangement, the mechanical feedback arrangement e.g. being mounted such as to be fixed with relation to the steering shaft. (Fig. 13 of Kenji illustrates the mechanical feedback arrangement as at least one spring 2A positioning between a protrusion of a housing of torsion element e.g. in an inner wall or a protruding element in an inner recess of the mechanical feedback arrangement and the mechanical feedback arrangement e.g. being mounted such as to be fixed with relation to the steering shaft. See annotated fig. 13 of Kenji below.
Annotated fig. 13 of Kenji
Regarding claim 28, Mihai as modified above further discloses;
wherein the spring arrangement comprises two or more springs. (Fig. 2 of Mihai illustrates two springs 16a and 16b.)
Regarding claim 29, Mihai as modified above further discloses;
wherein the steering shaft comprises one actuation element connected to, or fixed or releasably associated with the steering shaft, said actuation element comprising a lever being arranged to protrude substantially perpendicularly from the steering shaft and taken up within a recess of the mechanical feedback arrangement (4;4A) and extending such that interaction with said at least one spring (43;43A,43A') is enabled. (Figs. 2, 3 and paragraph 26, illustrate the steering shaft (3) connected to spring pinion (13) which interacts with internal gear (12) to compress the springs. Each of the teeth of the spring pinion form a lever protruding perpendicular from the steering shaft, which interact with recesses in the internal gear of the mechanical feedback arrangement and thereby interact with the springs.)
Regarding claim 31, Mihai as modified above further discloses:
further comprising a steer-by-wire steering system or a wireless steering system. (Paragraph 2 describes the arrangement of Mihai as applicable to a steer-by-wire, vehicle steering system.)
Regarding claim 32, Mihai discloses;
A steering system feedback arrangement for a power assisted steering system, said feedback arrangement being adapted for direct and/or indirect connection to a steering arrangement (steering wheel 4 of Mihai; fig. 3) and to an Electronic Control Unit (ECU) (electronic control unit 6 of Mihai);
the feedback arrangement comprises an electric feedback motor (electric motor 15; fig. 3) and a mechanical feedback arrangement (springs 16a / 16b; fig. 2) in combination;
the mechanical feedback arrangement comprises a deformation reactive and elastic arrangement arranged to react on a force produced by the steering arrangement by generation of a reaction force counteracting the force produced by the steering arrangement; (Paragraph 8 and fig. 2 of Mihai, describe radial springs (16a/16b) disposed to apply force to the steering wheel. The springs provide a reactive force, reacting to the turning of the steering wheel by an operator. This is a mechanical force resulting from an elastic deformation of the spring wire.)
said deformation reactive and elastic arrangement of the mechanical feedback arrangement comprises a spring arrangement comprising at least one spring (springs 16a / 16b; fig. 2) adapted to be operatively or mechanically in engagement directly or indirectly with the steering shaft, at least when the steering shaft is turned, at least to a predetermined amount; (Fig. 2 and paragraph 24 of Mihai, describe the springs interacting with and internal gear (12) which interacts with the steering shaft (3).)
the mechanical feedback arrangement is arranged to apply a mechanical feedback force corresponding to or depending on the generated reaction force on the steering arrangement; (Paragraph 8 and fig. 2, describe radial springs disposed to apply force to the steering wheel such that with an increased movement of the steering wheel, an increased feedback force is applied.)
the steering axis comprises at least one actuation element adapted to be engageable with or in direct or indirect connection with the at least one spring of the spring arrangement such that when the steering axis is turned or rotated, the spring arrangement will be actuated upon and generate said reaction force. (The steering shaft (3) turns spring pinion (13) which engages an internal gear (12) which interacts with the spring.)
the feedback force for application comprises a combination of the mechanical feedback force and an electric feedback force provided by the electric feedback motor controlled by the ECU. (Paragraph 13 describes the electric motor as supplementing the feedback force produced by the springs.)
In view of argument, it has been noted that motor feedback and the mechanical feedback occur independently which Mihai failed to disclose, rather Mihai’s mechanical feedback and motor feedback occur through engageable gear system; however,
Kenji teaches that said deformation reactive and elastic arrangement (Kt) is arranged to generate the mechanical feedback force (Tt) independently of the electric feedback motor (61 “reaction force motor” as depicted in figs. 1 and 13; [0005]); and
the steering axis (steering column axis) comprises at least one actuation element (“force feedback actuator 60 as depicted by “torsion bar”) adapted to be engageable with or in direct connection ( fig. 13 shows spring has direct connection) with the at least one spring (fig. 13 shows at least one spring 2A) of the spring arrangement (“torsion bar” spring 2A; fig. 13) such that when the steering axis (steering column axis) is rotated, the spring arrangement (2A) will be actuated upon and generate said reaction force (Tt).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrive at the idea of having deformation reactive and elastic arrangement is arranged to generate the mechanical feedback force independently of the electric feedback motor with steering axis, adapted to be engageable with at least one spring as depicted in figs. 1 and 13 of Kenji such that when the steering axis is turned or rotated, the spring arrangement will be actuated upon and generate said reaction force as taught by Kenji into the invention of Mihai with a reasonable expectation of success in order to advantageously reposition the vehicle when a specified steering angle is reached, the steering wheel is locked by applying a steering reaction force equal to the steering Torque [0007 of Kenji].
The motivation of replacing electric motor and mechanical force feedback element of Mihai with the independent configuration of Kenji arises from the shared objective of enabling combined modular steering feedback attachments but independently acting in any dynamic driving environments. The claimed configuration doesn’t yield unexpected results but reflects routing engineering design choices based on known principles of modular steering wheel force feedback element in a wide range of terrain adaptability.
Regarding claim 33, Mihai as modified above further discloses;
wherein the mechanical feedback arrangement is adapted to be connectable to a steering shaft (steering shaft 3), and is connected to, or separate from, the electric feedback motor (electric motor 15; fig. 3) or that the mechanical feedback arrangement is adapted for direct connection to a steering arrangement (steering wheel 4; fig. 3), separate from the electric feedback motor. (Figs. 2, 3 illustrate the mechanical feedback arrangement of internal gear (12), pinion gear (13) and springs (16a/16b) as connected to the steering shaft (3).)
Regarding claim 34, Mihai as modified above further discloses;
wherein the mechanical feedback arrangement is adapted to be connectable to a steering shaft (steering shaft 3 of Mihai), and is connected to or separate from the electric feedback motor (electric motor 15; fig. 3) and the mechanical feedback arrangement is adapted for interaction with at least one actuation element connected to, or fixed or releasably associated with a steering system steering shaft (steering shaft 3) to provide the reaction force. (Figs. 2, 3 of Mihai illustrate the mechanical feedback arrangement and springs (16a/16b) as connected to the steering shaft (3); also see figs. 1 and 13 of Kenji’s teaching).
Regarding claim 35, Mihai discloses;
A method for providing feedback in a steer by wire or wireless steering system comprising:
a steering arrangement (steering wheel 4; fig. 3);
a steering shaft (steering wheel shaft 3) connected to the steering arrangement;
steerable elements (wheels 8a/8b);
an electrically controllable actuator (steering actuator 7; fig. 1) arranged on or connected to a link arrangement (steerable axle 9) connected to the steerable elements;
an Electronic Control Unit (ECU) (electronic control unit 6) controlling the electrically controllable actuator and a feedback arrangement (fig. 3, paragraph 28) connected to the (ECU);
said feedback arrangement being directly or indirectly connected to the steering arrangement for applying a force to the steering arrangement; (Paragraph 8 and fig. 2, describe radial springs (16a/16b) disposed to apply force to the steering wheel. The springs interact with an internal gear (12) which interacts with spring pinion (13) which is attached to the steering shaft (3).)
said (ECU) (electronic control unit 6) being arranged for controlling said feedback arrangement; (Paragraph 28 and fig. 3 describe a control unit (6), which determines feedback force delivered to the driver.)
the feedback arrangement comprising an electric feedback motor (electric motor 15; fig. 3) and a mechanical feedback arrangement (springs 16a / 16b; fig. 2);
the feedback arrangement comprises an electric feedback motor (electric motor 15; fig. 3) and a mechanical feedback arrangement (springs 16a / 16b; fig. 2);
the mechanical feedback arrangement comprises a deformation reactive and elastic arrangement (Paragraph 8 and fig. 2, describe radial springs (16a/16b) disposed to apply force to the steering wheel. The springs provide a reactive force, reacting to the turning of the steering wheel by an operator. This is a mechanical force resulting from an elastic deformation of the spring wire.)
said deformation reactive and elastic arrangement of the mechanical feedback arrangement comprises a spring arrangement comprising at least one spring (springs 16a / 16b; fig. 2) adapted to be operatively or mechanically in engagement directly or indirectly with the steering shaft, at least when the steering shaft is turned, at least to a predetermined amount; (Fig.2 and paragraph 24, describe the springs interacting with and internal gear (12) which interacts with the steering shaft (3).)
the steering axis comprises at least one actuation element engageable with or be in direct or indirect connection with the at least one spring of the spring arrangement (The steering shaft (3) turns spring pinion (13) which engages an internal gear (12) which interacts with the spring.)
the method comprises the steps of:
generation, in the mechanical feedback arrangement, upon sensing a movement or force produced by the steering arrangement, of a reaction force counteracting the movement or force produced by the steering arrangement to provide a mechanical feedback force corresponding to or depending on the generated reaction force, wherein, when the steering axis is turned or rotated, the spring arrangement will be actuated upon and generate said reaction force; (Paragraph 8 and fig. 2, describe radial springs disposed to apply force to the steering wheel such that with an increased movement of the steering wheel, an increased feedback force is applied. The steering shaft (3) turns spring pinion (13) which engages an internal gear (12) which interacts with the spring.)
applying a combination of the generated mechanical feedback force and an electric feedback force provided by the electric feedback motor controlled by the ECU on the steering arrangement. (Paragraph 13 describes the electric motor as supplementing the feedback force produced by the springs.)
Claim subject matter differs from the Mihai in that on the steering arrangement, wherein said deformation reactive and elastic arrangement generates the mechanical feedback force independently of the electric feedback motor; however,
Kenji teaches that said deformation reactive and elastic arrangement (Kt) is arranged to generate the mechanical feedback force (Tt) independently of the electric feedback motor (61 “reaction force motor” as depicted in fig. 1and [0005]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrive at the idea of having deformation reactive and elastic arrangement is arranged to generate the mechanical feedback force independently of the electric feedback motor as taught by Kenji into the invention of Mihai with a reasonable expectation of success in order to advantageously improve steering feed back system so as to get finer control, better road feel turning, and safer fail-operational behavior when the steering reaction force id generated by motor and a mechanical interface independently rather than through a single coupled system.
Regarding claim 36, Mihai as modified above further discloses;
wherein the vehicle is a car, a bus, a truck, an aircraft, a boat, a remotely operable vehicle, a vehicle in a simulator or in a computer game. (Paragraph 2 describes the arrangement of Mihai as applicable to a steer-by-wire, vehicle steering system.)
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mihai, in view of Kenji and further in view of Maeshiro (US Pub. 20210291889 A1).
Regarding claim 23, Mihai as modified above does not appear to explicitly disclose that the steering arrangement comprises a joystick, a yoke or any other appropriate input device; however,
Maeshiro teaches that the steering arrangement comprises a joystick, a yoke or any other appropriate input device [para. 0054 teaches that the input devices 530 are configured to receive information. Example input device 530 include, without limitation, a pointing
device (e.g., mouse, trackball, touch pad, joystick), a keyboard, a game pad, a controller, a microphone, a camera, a gyroscope, an accelerometer, a position detector, and an
electronic digitizer (e.g., on a touchscreen); see fig. 5 of Maeshiro.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mihai to incorporate the teaching of Maeshiro and provide steering arrangement that comprises a joystick with a reasonable expectation of success in order to advantageously design different steering input layout, fold-away controls and autonomous-mode steering design. such a modifications represent predictable uses of prior art elements according to their established functions that facilitate secure, releasable and autonomous combination, yields no unexpected results.
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mihai, in view of Kenji and further in view of Schulz (US 2017/0158222 A1).
Regarding claim 30, Mihai as modified above discloses the steering system with a steering shaft with an actuation element connected to the steering shaft as described above in claim 19 but does not disclose at least one cam profile. However, Schulz teaches;
wherein the steering shaft (steering column shaft 32; fig. 4, paragraph 31) comprises at least one actuation element, connected to, or fixed or releasably associated with the steering shaft, said at least one actuation element comprising at least one cam profile or cam surface (eccentric cam 70), e.g. attached to, or integral with, the steering shaft, said at least one cam profile or cam surface being taken up within a recess of the mechanical feedback arrangement, that the mechanical feedback arrangement comprises at least one rocker (spring 88) arrangement pivotally arranged on a pivot shaft (pin 98; fig. 5, paragraph 32) axially parallel with the steering shaft and comprising on opposite sides of said pivot shaft extending first and second rocker arms, such that the first rocker arm is in contact with the at least one spring (spring force 80; fig. 4, paragraph 31), said at least one second rocker arm being associated with or operatively connected to at least one bearing arranged on a bearing shaft axially parallel with the steering shaft, said at least one bearing being arranged to interact with said at least one cam profile or cam surface. (Schulz utilizes an eccentric cam as a damper assembly to dampen the spring loaded, re-centering force rather than to provide the re-centering force itself. However, the use to an eccentric cam to provide a gradually increase force to either side of a centered steering position is well-known and would have been an obvious solution to a practitioner of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.)
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Mihai with a view to Kenji to include an actuation element comprising at least one cam profile as taught by Schulz, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to steering column feedback features. As disclosed by Schulz, it is well known for a steering column to include an actuation element comprising at least one cam profile. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified Mihai above to include an actuation element comprising at least one cam profile as taught by Schulz, as such a modification would provide the ability to provide steering feedback with a mechanical assembly rather than an entirely electric assembly.
Fig. 5 of Schulz
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
DE-10051187-A1 to Herbert discloses: Steering module for steer-by-wire steering system for vehicle has feedback actuator with electric motor, spring element and damping element acting on steering wheel
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a).
Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NABIN KUMAR SHARMA/
Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/VIVEK D KOPPIKAR/Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3612
October 22, 2026