This communication is in response to application No. 18/718,947 A Steering System, A Method For Providing Steering Feedback In Such A System And A Steering System Feedback Arrangement; filed on 06/12/2024. Claims 19-36 are currently pending and have been examined. Claims 19-36 have been rejected as follows.
Claim Objections
Claims 19, 21, 25, 32, and 35 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 21 should depend from claim 19, not claim 21.
Claim 25 describes a “mechanical feedback module” which appears to be intended as another name for the mechanical feedback arrangement. However, this naming convention has not been established and is confusing as it could be interpreted as referring to a different claimed feature which has no antecedent basis.
Claim 32 describes; “a movement or force produced by the steering arrangement”. It appears that “movement” and “force” refer to the same thing, a result of the turning of the steering wheel, rather than a limitation where one of two possible actions occurs. One of these names for the output from the steering wheel should be removed. Otherwise this claim is confusing as to how a movement without force, or force without movement can be applied to the system, which would be a 112(b) rejection.
Claims 19, 32 and 35 describe; “a combination of, or the sum of” forces. It appears that this is extra language intended to further define the phrase “a combination of”. This should be avoided as it could be interpreted to refer two possible mutually exclusive options, which would be a 112(b) rejection.
Claim 34; “an” should be “and”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Regarding claims 25, 27, 30, 32 and 34, the phrase "for example" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Specifically;
Regarding claim 25, the phrase “e.g. at an end of the steering shaft distant from the steering arrangement”.
Regarding claim 27, the phrase “e.g. a coil spring, a leaf spring, a washer shaped spring element or any other elastic element”. Also; “e.g. in an inner wall or a protruding element in an inner recess of the mechanical feedback arrangement, the mechanical feedback arrangement e.g. being mounted such as to be fixed with relation to the steering shaft.”
Regarding claim 30; the phrase “e.g. attached to, or integral with, the steering shaft”
Regarding claim 32, the phrase “e.g. to a steering arrangement”.
Regarding claim 34, the phrase “e.g. to a steering shaft”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 19-20, 22, 24-29, 31-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mihai (DE 10 2018 115565 A1).
Regarding claim 19, Mihai discloses;
A power assisted steering system, for a vehicle or similar, comprising:
a steering arrangement (steering wheel 4; fig. 3);
a steering shaft (steering wheel shaft 3) connected to the steering arrangement;
steerable elements (wheels 8a/8b);
an electrically controllable actuator (steering actuator 7; fig. 1) arranged on or connected to a link arrangement (steerable axle 9) connected to the steerable elements;
an Electronic Control Unit (ECU) (electronic control unit 6) controlling the electrically controllable actuator and a feedback arrangement (fig. 3, paragraph 28) connected to the Electronic Control Unit (ECU);
said feedback arrangement being directly or indirectly connected to the steering arrangement for applying a force to the steering arrangement; (Paragraph 8 and fig. 2, describe radial springs (16a/16b) disposed to apply force to the steering wheel. The springs interact with an internal gear (12) which interacts with spring pinion (13) which is attached to the steering shaft (3).)
said Electronic Control Unit (ECU) (electronic control unit 6) being arranged for controlling said feedback arrangement; (Paragraph 28 and fig. 3 describe a control unit (6), which determines feedback force delivered to the driver.)
the feedback arrangement comprises an electric feedback motor (electric motor 15; fig. 3) and a mechanical feedback arrangement (springs 16a / 16b; fig. 2) in combination;
the mechanical feedback arrangement comprises a deformation reactive and elastic arrangement arranged to react on a movement or force produced by the steering arrangement by generation of a reaction force counteracting the movement or force produced by the steering arrangement; (Paragraph 8 and fig. 2, describe radial springs (16a/16b) disposed to apply force to the steering wheel. The springs provide a reactive force, reacting to the turning of the steering wheel by an operator. This is a mechanical force resulting from an elastic deformation of the spring wire.)
the mechanical feedback arrangement is arranged to apply a mechanical feedback force corresponding to or depending on the generated reaction force directly or indirectly on the steering arrangement; (Paragraph 8 and fig. 2, describe radial springs disposed to apply force to the steering wheel such that with an increased movement of the steering wheel, an increased feedback force is applied.)
the feedback force applied to the steering arrangement comprises a combination of, or the sum of, the mechanical feedback force and an electric feedback force provided by the electric feedback motor controlled by the ECU; (Paragraph 13 describes the electric motor as supplementing the feedback force produced by the springs.)
said deformation reactive and elastic arrangement of the mechanical feedback arrangement comprises a spring arrangement comprising at least one spring (springs 16a / 16b; fig. 2) adapted to be operatively or mechanically in engagement directly or indirectly with the steering shaft, at least when the steering shaft is moved or turned, at least to a predetermined amount; (Fig.2 and paragraph 24, describe the springs interacting with an internal gear (12) which interacts with the steering shaft (3).)
the steering axis comprises at least one actuation element adapted to be engageable with or be in direct or indirect connection with the at least one spring of the spring arrangement such that when the steering axis is turned or rotated, the spring arrangement will be actuated upon and generate said reaction force. (The steering shaft (3) turns spring pinion (13) which engages an internal gear (12) which interacts with the spring.)
Regarding claim 20, Mihai discloses;
wherein the steerable elements comprise steerable wheels, front and/or rear suspension wheels. (Figs. 1 and 4 illustrate a vehicle steering system including wheels and steerable axle.)
Regarding claim 22, Mihai discloses;
wherein the steering arrangement comprises a steering wheel. (Fig. 1 illustrates a steering wheel.)
Regarding claim 24, Mihai discloses;
wherein the mechanical feedback arrangement comprises a passive force feedback element (PFFE) (4) comprising said deformation reactive and elastic arrangement. (Mihai discloses springs 16a / 16b, which are passive force feedback elements.)
Regarding claim 25; Mihai discloses;
wherein the mechanical feedback arrangement, or mechanical feedback module, is connected to the electric feedback motor, the electric feedback motor being arranged on, or connected to, the steering shaft, that the mechanical feedback arrangement is connected to the steering shaft, e.g. at an end of the steering shaft distant from the steering arrangement, or that the electric feedback motor is arranged on, or connected to, the steering shaft at an end of the steering shaft distant from the steering arrangement. (Fig. 3 and paragraph 28, describe the electric motor (15) as connected to the steering shaft (3) through gear (14). Fig. 2 and paragraph 24 describe the springs (16a/16b) as compressed between the housing and the internal gear (12) which is turned by pinion (13) which is attached to the steering shaft. The mechanical feedback arrangement (springs) is illustrated as positioned between the electric motor and the steering wheel.)
Regarding claim 26, Mihai discloses;
wherein the mechanical feedback arrangement is connected directly to the steering shaft, separate from the electric feedback motor, or that the mechanical feedback arrangement is connected directly to the steering arrangement. (Figs. 2, 3 illustrate the mechanical feedback arrangement of internal gear (12), pinion gear (13) and springs (16a/16b) as connected to the steering shaft (3).)
Regarding claim 27, Mihai discloses;
wherein the spring arrangement comprises at least one spring, e.g. a coil spring, a leaf spring, a washer shaped spring element or any other elastic element executing a force when deformed, said at least one spring being mechanically connected to a wall element or a protrusion or similar, e.g. in an inner wall or a protruding element in an inner recess of the mechanical feedback arrangement, the mechanical feedback arrangement e.g. being mounted such as to be fixed with relation to the steering shaft. (Fig. 2 illustrates the mechanical feedback arrangement as two springs (16a/16b) positioning between a protrusion of a housing (2) and an internal gear (12).)
Regarding claim 28, Mihai discloses;
wherein the spring arrangement comprises two or more springs. (Fig. 2 illustrates two springs 16a and 16b.)
Regarding claim 29, Mihai discloses;
wherein the steering shaft comprises one actuation element connected to, or fixed or releasably associated with the steering shaft, said actuation element comprising a lever being arranged to protrude substantially perpendicularly from the steering shaft and taken up within a recess of the mechanical feedback arrangement (4;4A) and extending such that interaction with said at least one spring (43;43A,43A') is enabled. (Figs. 2, 3 and paragraph 26, illustrate the steering shaft (3) connected to spring pinion (13) which interacts with internal gear (12) to compress the springs. Each of the teeth of the spring pinion form a lever protruding perpendicular from the steering shaft, which interact with recesses in the internal gear of the mechanical feedback arrangement and thereby interact with the springs.)
Regarding claim 31, Mihai discloses;
further comprising a steer-by-wire steering system or a wireless steering system. (Paragraph 2 describes the arrangement of Mihai as applicable to a steer-by-wire, vehicle steering system.)
Regarding claim 32, Mihai discloses;
A steering system feedback arrangement for a power assisted steering system, said feedback arrangement being adapted for direct and/or indirect connection to a steering arrangement (steering wheel 4; fig. 3) and to an Electronic Control Unit (ECU) (electronic control unit 6);
the feedback arrangement comprises an electric feedback motor (electric motor 15; fig. 3) and a mechanical feedback arrangement (springs 16a / 16b; fig. 2) in combination;
the mechanical feedback arrangement comprises a deformation reactive and elastic arrangement arranged to react on a movement or force produced by the steering arrangement by generation of a reaction force counteracting the movement or force produced by the steering arrangement; (Paragraph 8 and fig. 2, describe radial springs (16a/16b) disposed to apply force to the steering wheel. The springs provide a reactive force, reacting to the turning of the steering wheel by an operator. This is a mechanical force resulting from an elastic deformation of the spring wire.)
said deformation reactive and elastic arrangement of the mechanical feedback arrangement comprises a spring arrangement comprising at least one spring (springs 16a / 16b; fig. 2) adapted to be operatively or mechanically in engagement directly or indirectly with the steering shaft, at least when the steering shaft is moved or turned, at least to a predetermined amount; (Fig.2 and paragraph 24, describe the springs interacting with and internal gear (12) which interacts with the steering shaft (3).)
the mechanical feedback arrangement is arranged to apply a mechanical feedback force corresponding to or depending on the generated reaction force on the steering arrangement; (Paragraph 8 and fig. 2, describe radial springs disposed to apply force to the steering wheel such that with an increased movement of the steering wheel, an increased feedback force is applied.)
the steering axis comprises at least one actuation element adapted to be engageable with or in direct or indirect connection with the at least one spring of the spring arrangement such that when the steering axis is turned or rotated, the spring arrangement will be actuated upon and generate said reaction force. (The steering shaft (3) turns spring pinion (13) which engages an internal gear (12) which interacts with the spring.)
the feedback force for application e.g. to a steering arrangement comprises a combination of, or the sum of, the mechanical feedback force and an electric feedback force provided by the electric feedback motor controlled by the ECU. (Paragraph 13 describes the electric motor as supplementing the feedback force produced by the springs.)
Regarding claim 33, Mihai discloses;
wherein the mechanical feedback arrangement is adapted to be connectable to a steering shaft (steering shaft 3), and is connected to, or separate from, the electric feedback motor (electric motor 15; fig. 3) or that the mechanical feedback arrangement is adapted for direct connection to a steering arrangement (steering wheel 4; fig. 3), separate from the electric feedback motor. (Figs. 2, 3 illustrate the mechanical feedback arrangement of internal gear (12), pinion gear (13) and springs (16a/16b) as connected to the steering shaft (3).)
Regarding claim 34, Mihai discloses;
wherein the mechanical feedback arrangement is adapted to be connectable e.g. to a steering shaft (steering shaft 3), and is connected to or separate from the electric feedback motor (electric motor 15; fig. 3) an the mechanical feedback arrangement is adapted for interaction with at least one actuation element connected to, or fixed or releasably associated with a steering system steering shaft (steering shaft 3) to provide the reaction force. (Figs. 2, 3 illustrate the mechanical feedback arrangement of internal gear (12), pinion gear (13) and springs (16a/16b) as connected to the steering shaft (3).)
Regarding claim 35, Mihai discloses;
A method for providing feedback in a steer by wire or wireless steering system comprising:
a steering arrangement (steering wheel 4; fig. 3);
a steering shaft (steering wheel shaft 3) connected to the steering arrangement;
steerable elements (wheels 8a/8b);
an electrically controllable actuator (steering actuator 7; fig. 1) arranged on or connected to a link arrangement (steerable axle 9) connected to the steerable elements;
an Electronic Control Unit (ECU) (electronic control unit 6) controlling the electrically controllable actuator and a feedback arrangement (fig. 3, paragraph 28) connected to the Electronic Control Unit (ECU);
said feedback arrangement being directly or indirectly connected to the steering arrangement for applying a force to the steering arrangement; (Paragraph 8 and fig. 2, describe radial springs (16a/16b) disposed to apply force to the steering wheel. The springs interact with an internal gear (12) which interacts with spring pinion (13) which is attached to the steering shaft (3).)
said Electronic Control Unit (ECU) (electronic control unit 6) being arranged for controlling said feedback arrangement; (Paragraph 28 and fig. 3 describe a control unit (6), which determines feedback force delivered to the driver.)
the feedback arrangement comprising an electric feedback motor (electric motor 15; fig. 3) and a mechanical feedback arrangement (springs 16a / 16b; fig. 2);
the feedback arrangement comprises an electric feedback motor (electric motor 15; fig. 3) and a mechanical feedback arrangement (springs 16a / 16b; fig. 2);
the mechanical feedback arrangement comprises a deformation reactive and elastic arrangement (Paragraph 8 and fig. 2, describe radial springs (16a/16b) disposed to apply force to the steering wheel. The springs provide a reactive force, reacting to the turning of the steering wheel by an operator. This is a mechanical force resulting from an elastic deformation of the spring wire.)
said deformation reactive and elastic arrangement of the mechanical feedback arrangement comprises a spring arrangement comprising at least one spring (springs 16a / 16b; fig. 2) adapted to be operatively or mechanically in engagement directly or indirectly with the steering shaft, at least when the steering shaft is moved or turned, at least to a predetermined amount; (Fig.2 and paragraph 24, describe the springs interacting with and internal gear (12) which interacts with the steering shaft (3).)
the steering axis comprises at least one actuation element engageable with or be in direct or indirect connection with the at least one spring of the spring arrangement (The steering shaft (3) turns spring pinion (13) which engages an internal gear (12) which interacts with the spring.)
the method comprises the steps of:
generation, in the mechanical feedback arrangement, upon sensing a movement or force produced by the steering arrangement, of a reaction force counteracting the movement or force produced by the steering arrangement to provide a mechanical feedback force corresponding to or depending on the generated reaction force, wherein, when the steering axis is turned or rotated, the spring arrangement will be actuated upon and generate said reaction force; (Paragraph 8 and fig. 2, describe radial springs disposed to apply force to the steering wheel such that with an increased movement of the steering wheel, an increased feedback force is applied. The steering shaft (3) turns spring pinion (13) which engages an internal gear (12) which interacts with the spring.)
applying a combination of, or the sum of, the generated mechanical feedback force and an electric feedback force provided by the electric feedback motor controlled by the ECU on the steering arrangement. (Paragraph 13 describes the electric motor as supplementing the feedback force produced by the springs.)
Regarding claim 36, Mihai discloses;
wherein the vehicle is a car, a bus, a truck, an aircraft, a boat, a remotely operable vehicle, a vehicle in a simulator or in a computer game. (Paragraph 2 describes the arrangement of Mihai as applicable to a steer-by-wire, vehicle steering system.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mihai (DE 10 2018 115565 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Mihai discloses;
wherein the link arrangement comprises a track rod arrangement or a steering rack via steering rods connected to the steerable wheels. (Fig. 1 illustrates, diagrammatically, a steerable axle (9) with a steering actuator (7). Paragraph 19 describes steering of the vehicle wheels, utilizing steering wheel inputs to the steering actuator, which affect changes to the vehicle wheels. A steering rack utilizing tie-rods is a well-known steerable axle arrangement and would have been known to a practitioner of the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.)
Regarding claim 23, Mihai discloses;
wherein the steering arrangement comprises a joystick, a yoke or any other appropriate input device. (Mihai discloses a steering wheel as the operator input apparatus but it would have been obvious to a practitioner of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized any other appropriate input device in place of a steering wheel.)
Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mihai (De 10 2018 115565 A1) as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Schulz (US 2017/0158222 A1).
Regarding claim 30, Mihai discloses the steering system with a steering shaft with an actuation element connected to the steering shaft as described above in claim 19, but does not disclose at least one cam profile. However, Schulz teaches;
wherein the steering shaft (steering column shaft 32; fig. 4, paragraph 31) comprises at least one actuation element, connected to, or fixed or releasably associated with the steering shaft, said at least one actuation element comprising at least one cam profile or cam surface (eccentric cam 70), e.g. attached to, or integral with, the steering shaft, said at least one cam profile or cam surface being taken up within a recess of the mechanical feedback arrangement, that the mechanical feedback arrangement comprises at least one rocker (spring 88) arrangement pivotally arranged on a pivot shaft (pin 98; fig. 5, paragraph 32) axially parallel with the steering shaft and comprising on opposite sides of said pivot shaft extending first and second rocker arms, such that the first rocker arm is in contact with the at least one spring (spring force 80; fig. 4, paragraph 31), said at least one second rocker arm being associated with or operatively connected to at least one bearing arranged on a bearing shaft axially parallel with the steering shaft, said at least one bearing being arranged to interact with said at least one cam profile or cam surface. (Schulz utilizes an eccentric cam as a damper assembly to dampen the spring loaded, re-centering force rather than to provide the re-centering force itself. However, the use to an eccentric cam to provide a gradually increase force to either side of a centered steering position is well-known and would have been an obvious solution to a practitioner of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.)
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Mihai to include an actuation element comprising at least one cam profile as taught by Schulz, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to steering column feedback features. As disclosed by Schulz, it is well known for a steering column to include an actuation element comprising at least one cam profile. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mihai to include an actuation element comprising at least one cam profile as taught by Schulz, as such a modification would provide the ability to provide steering feedback with a mechanical assembly rather than an entirely electric assembly.
Conclusion
/SCOTT LAWRENCE STRICKLER/Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/VIVEK D KOPPIKAR/Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3612
June 16, 2026