DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the gearbox differential, the undercarriage, pair of axles and the protective cover adapted to house the gearbox differential, undercarriage between the pair of axles, in claim 8, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
Additionally, the tube sleeve adapted to assembly on the gearbox differential, in claim 9, must be shown or the features(s) cancelled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential elements and essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the elements. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted elements are the pair of axles, gearbox differential, undercarriage and the protective cover; wherein the protective cover (14) is disclosed as connected to a yoke (11) having a male end at a mounting area to a slip yoke (16) having the female end receiving the male end of the yoke (11).
The dependent claims are likewise rejected.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the undercarriage arrangement” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rekow, U.S. 3,543,536 in view of Van Ranst, U.S. 2,027,329.
Regarding claim 8, as best understood by the Examiner, Rekow discloses a rear cardan shaft assembly (fig 1, the oil-filled telescoping drive line; col. 1, lines 11-16 and col. 2, lines 11-21) for a power shaft (24) to a driven shaft (30) for farm equipment (col. 2, line 68 – col. 3, line 1) and agricultural implements, the rear cardan shaft (fig 1) having a single yoke shaft (universal joint 20 of power shaft 24, col. 2, lines 1-4) having a plurality of mounting diameters (fig 1, diameters at seals 54 and 56; col. 2, lines 32-37) of different dimensions; and a protective cover (telescoping shields 12 and 16; col. 1, lines 67-72) assembled on the plurality of mounting diameters of different dimensions and the protective cover (212, 16) adapted to house the pair of axles (24, 26 and 30, 34; col. 2, lines 5-15) and the single yoke shaft (u-joint 20, power shaft 24) allowing the rear cardan shaft to slide axially (col. 1, lines 11-16).
Rekow does not disclose the protective cover adapted to house both a gearbox-differential and the undercarriage between the pair of axles.
Van Ranst teaches use of a telescoping drive shaft (fig 2, shaft 40; p.1, rt. col., lines 47-53) having associated universal joints (universal joint member 27, p1, rt. col, lines 15-25 and yoke 44 of universal joint 42; p1, rt. col., line 54 – p. 2, left col., line 12) having a protective cover (fig 2, housings 54, 58, 67; p. 2, rt. col., lines 3-18) to house both a gearbox-differential (differential housing 16; p. 2, rt. col., lines 14-18) and an undercarriage (vehicle frame 10; p. 1, rt. col., lines 1-4) between the pair of axles (the pair of telescoping axles between universal joints 27 and 44) to enable the torque applied to the differential housing to be resisted principally by the vehicle springs wherein the drive systems of the type being commonly referred to as the Hotchkiss type of drive (p. 1, left col., lines 9-17).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the protective cover or housing disclosed by Rekow to house the differential, undercarriage and axle pairs in a vehicle drivetrain to protect the driveline from potential road or terrain debris during vehicle use.
As to claim 9, Van Ranst teaches use of a tube sleeve (fig 2, housing section 67) adapted for assembly on the gearbox-differential (16) to be slidable in an axial direction with the rear cardan shaft (shaft 40) assembly.
As to claim 12, Rekow discloses a slip yoke (female yoke shaft 20, 24) on said single yoke shaft (hollow section 26) and adapted to provide the rear cardan shaft assembly with freedom of motion in the axial direction (axial telescoping direction).
As to claim 13, Rekow discloses the slip yoke (20, ,24, 26) and protective cover (12, 16) are configured to protect the single yoke shaft from external environmental effects (col. 1, lines 27-30; effects of an injured operator).
As to claim 14, Rekow discloses a plug (fig 2, plug 46; col. 2, lines 17-20) and an oil cup (cylindrically end of washer member 44; col. 2, lines 15-17) having holes (openings 48’; col. 2, lines 17-20) therein, wherein the slip yoke (20, 24, 26) and plug (46) allow a vacuum generated during the axial movement of the single yoke shaft to be discharged (col. 2, lines 59-67) through the holes of the oil cap.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground(s) of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
12 May 2026
/KENNETH L THOMPSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3676