DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 16-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 16-20 recite the preamble “The method of claim 9”, rather, these should recite -- The method of claim [[9]] 15--, as claim 9 is a system claim. For examination purposes, these claims will be interpreted as “The method of claim 15”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-2, 5-9, 12-16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al. (US 20090295386 A1) in view of Hiltner et al. (US 20230297802 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sato teaches a method comprising:
energizing a first magnetic beacon (drive coils (drive coils) 51 [0126]) concurrently with a second magnetic beacon (drive coils (drive coils) 51 [0126]; each of the drive coils are different magnetic beacons as shown in fig.1)
measuring, using a receiver of an ingestible device, magnetic fields generated by the first magnetic beacon and the second magnetic beacon (The position detection device 50 calculates the position of the capsule endoscope 20 on the basis of the induced magnetic field detected by the sense coils 52 and controls the alternating magnetic field formed by the drive coils 51 [0136]; position detection system 10 is mainly formed of a capsule endoscope (device, capsule medical device) 20, which is a capsule medical device introduced into a body cavity of a subject 1, per oral or per anus [0125]; position detection device 50 is the receiver as claimed);
generating, by the ingestible device, measurement data based on the measured magnetic fields (a plurality of magnetic-field sensors and configured to detect an induced magnetic field generated by the magnetic inductance coil, which receives the alternating magnetic field [0055]);
transmitting, using a transmitter of the ingestible device, the measurement data to a magnetic beacon receiver (is a capsule medical device introduced into a body cavity of a subject 1, per oral or per anus, to optically image an internal surface of a passage in the body cavity and wirelessly transmit an image signal, and a position detection device (amplitude-component detection means, position analyzing means) 50 that detects the position of the capsule endoscope 20 [0125]) ; and
generating, by the magnetic beacon receiver, location data of the ingestible device based on the measurement data (The position detection device 50 calculates the position of the capsule endoscope 20 on the basis of the induced magnetic field detected by the sense coils 52 and controls the alternating magnetic field formed by the drive coils 51 [0136]).
Sato, however, does not teach wherein the first magnetic beacon utilizes a first offset frequency and the second magnetic beacon utilizes a second offset frequency.
Hiltner is considered analogous to the instant application as “Systems and methods comprising linked localization agents” is disclosed (title). Hiltner teaches:
wherein the first magnetic beacon utilizes a first offset frequency and the second magnetic beacon utilizes a second offset frequency (tags are magnetic beacons as disclosed in [0164]; two or more beacons (e.g., tags, emitters associated with one or more surgical devices, or other objects whose location, position, relative position, or other spatial information desired) are employed [0177]; the tags are programmed to respond with an offset frequency compared to the frequency of the stimulating frequency [0178]; each different beacon (e.g. tag) generates a unique frequency, spectrum of frequencies or otherwise distinguishable signal [0179]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Sato to include wherein the first magnetic beacon utilizes a first offset frequency and the second magnetic beacon utilizes a second offset frequency, as taught by Hiltner. Doing so allows the response signal(s) to be easily decoupled from the stimulating signals, as suggested by Hiltner ([0178]).
Regarding claim 2, modified Sato teaches the method of claim 1 as discussed above. Sato further teaches
wherein the ingestible device comprises a receiving coil (sense coils (magnetic-field sensors) 52 that detect the induced magnetic field generated at the magnetic induction coils [0126]) and a transmission coil (the position detection device 50 is electrically connected to drive coils (drive coils) 51 that generate an induced magnetic field at magnetic induction coils, described below, in the capsule endoscope 20 [0126]),
Sato, however, does not teach wherein the transmission coil uses a frequency greater than 50 MHz.
Hiltner, however, teaches wherein the transmission coil uses a frequency greater than 50 MHz ([0083] discloses that the tags/beacons can transmit in a 433 MHz band range).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the combined invention of Sato to include wherein the transmission coil uses a frequency greater than 50 MHz, as taught by Hiltner. Doing so would facilitate identification of the tag/beacon.
Regarding claim 5, modified Sato teaches the method of claim 1, as discussed above. Sato further teaches wherein generating the location data comprises calculating, by the ingestible device, the location data based on the measurement data, and wherein transmitting the measurement data comprises transmitting the location data.(is a capsule medical device introduced into a body cavity of a subject 1, per oral or per anus, to optically image an internal surface of a passage in the body cavity and wirelessly transmit an image signal, and a position detection device (amplitude-component detection means, position analyzing means) 50 that detects the position of the capsule endoscope 20 [0125]; [0126] The position detection device 50 calculates the position of the capsule endoscope 20 on the basis of the induced magnetic field detected by the sense coils 52 and controls the alternating magnetic field formed by the drive coils 51; [0185] position detection device (amplitude-component detection means, position-calculating-frequency determining means, position analyzing means, drive-coil driver) 150 that detects the position of the capsule endoscope 20).
Regarding claim 6, modified Sato teaches the method of claim 1, as discussed above. Sato further teaches energizing the first magnetic beacon and the second magnetic beacon comprises energizing the first magnetic beacon and the second magnetic beacon with a sustained current ([0272] discloses energizing the device using a power source within the device; [0058], [0176] further discloses charging of the magnetic circuits).
Regarding claim 7, modified Sato teaches the method of claim 1, as discussed above. Sato, however, does not teach wherein the first magnetic beacon and the second magnetic beacon utilize a carrier frequency in a range of about 1-100 MHz.
Hiltner, however, teaches wherein the first magnetic beacon and the second magnetic beacon utilize a carrier frequency in a range of about 1-100 MHz (([0083] discloses that the tags/beacons can transmit in a 433 MHz band range).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the combined invention of Sato to include wherein the first magnetic beacon and the second magnetic beacon utilize a carrier frequency in a range of about 1-100 MHz, as taught by Hiltner. Doing so would facilitate identification of the tag/beacon.
Regarding claim 8, Sato teaches a system comprising:
a first magnetic beacon configured to generate a first magnetic field with a first …frequency (drive coils (drive coils) 51 [0126]) ;
a second magnetic beacon configured to generate a second magnetic field with a second … frequency (drive coils (drive coils) 51 [0126]; each of the drive coils are different magnetic beacons as shown in fig.1);
a controller comprising a processor (signal processing section [0142]) and a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions which ( stores it (memory), [0142]) , when executed by the processor, cause the processor to:
concurrently energize the first magnetic beacon and the second magnetic beacon ([0128] discloses charging of the magnetic coils/i.e. beacons) ;
receive, from the first magnetic beacon and the second magnetic beacon magnetic field measurement data measured by an ingestible device (a plurality of magnetic-field sensors and configured to detect an induced magnetic field generated by the magnetic inductance coil, which receives the alternating magnetic field [0055]; The position detection device 50 calculates the position of the capsule endoscope 20 on the basis of the induced magnetic field detected by the sense coils 52 and controls the alternating magnetic field formed by the drive coils 51 [0136]; position detection system 10 is mainly formed of a capsule endoscope (device, capsule medical device) 20, which is a capsule medical device introduced into a body cavity of a subject 1, per oral or per anus [0125]); and
generate location data of the ingestible device based on the magnetic field measurement data (The position detection device 50 calculates the position of the capsule endoscope 20 on the basis of the induced magnetic field detected by the sense coils 52 and controls the alternating magnetic field formed by the drive coils 51 [0136]).
Sato, however, does not teach [a first magnetic beacon configured to generate a first magnetic field with] a first offset frequency; [a second magnetic beacon configured to generate a second magnetic field] with a second offset frequency.
Hiltner is considered analogous to the instant application as “Systems and methods comprising linked localization agents” is disclosed (title). Hiltner teaches:
a first magnetic beacon configured to generate a first magnetic field with a first offset frequency (tags are magnetic beacons as disclosed in [0164]; two or more beacons (e.g., tags, emitters associated with one or more surgical devices, or other objects whose location, position, relative position, or other spatial information desired) are employed [0177]; the tags are programmed to respond with an offset frequency compared to the frequency of the stimulating frequency [0178]; each different beacon (e.g. tag) generates a unique frequency, spectrum of frequencies or otherwise distinguishable signal [0179]).;
a second magnetic beacon configured to generate a second magnetic field with a second offset frequency(tags are magnetic beacons as disclosed in [0164]; two or more beacons (e.g., tags, emitters associated with one or more surgical devices, or other objects whose location, position, relative position, or other spatial information desired) are employed [0177]; the tags are programmed to respond with an offset frequency compared to the frequency of the stimulating frequency [0178]; each different beacon (e.g. tag) generates a unique frequency, spectrum of frequencies or otherwise distinguishable signal [0179]).;
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Sato to include first magnetic beacon configured to generate a first magnetic field with a first offset frequency and a second magnetic beacon configured to generate a second magnetic field with a second offset frequency, as taught by Hiltner. Doing so allows the response signal(s) to be easily decoupled from the stimulating signals, as suggested by Hiltner ([0178]).
Regarding claim 9, modified Sato teaches the system of claim 8 as discussed above. Sato further teaches
wherein the ingestible device comprises a receiving coil (sense coils (magnetic-field sensors) 52 that detect the induced magnetic field generated at the magnetic induction coils [0126]) and a transmission coil (the position detection device 50 is electrically connected to drive coils (drive coils) 51 that generate an induced magnetic field at magnetic induction coils, described below, in the capsule endoscope 20 [0126]),
Sato, however, does not teach wherein the transmission coil uses a frequency greater than 50 MHz.
Hiltner, however, teaches wherein the transmission coil uses a frequency greater than 50 MHz ([0083] discloses that the tags/beacons can transmit in a 433 MHz band range).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the combined invention of Sato to include wherein the transmission coil uses a frequency greater than 50 MHz, as taught by Hiltner. Doing so would facilitate identification of the tag/beacon.
Regarding claim 12, Sato teaches the system of claim 8, as discussed above. Sato, further teaches wherein generating the location data comprises receiving, from the ingestible device, the location data as calculated by the ingestible device (The position detection device 50 calculates the position of the capsule endoscope 20 on the basis of the induced magnetic field detected by the sense coils 52 and controls the alternating magnetic field formed by the drive coils 51 [0136]).
Regarding claim 13, modified Sato teaches the system of claim 8, as discussed above. Sato further teaches energizing the first magnetic beacon and the second magnetic beacon comprises energizing the first magnetic beacon and the second magnetic beacon with a sustained current ([0272] discloses energizing the device using a power source within the device; [0058], [0176] further discloses charging of the magnetic circuits).
Regarding claim 14, modified Sato teaches the method of claim 8, as discussed above. Sato, however, does not teach wherein the first magnetic beacon and the second magnetic beacon utilize a carrier frequency in a range of about 1-100 MHz.
Hiltner, however, teaches wherein the first magnetic beacon and the second magnetic beacon utilize a carrier frequency in a range of about 1-100 MHz (([0083] discloses that the tags/beacons can transmit in a 433 MHz band range).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the combined invention of Sato to include wherein the first magnetic beacon and the second magnetic beacon utilize a carrier frequency in a range of about 1-100 MHz, as taught by Hiltner. Doing so would facilitate identification of the tag/beacon.
Regarding claim 15, Sato teaches a method comprising:
energizing a first magnetic beacon with a first … frequency concurrently with a second magnetic beacon with a second … frequency (drive coils (drive coils) 51 [0126]; each of the drive coils are different magnetic beacons as shown in fig.1; drive coils (drive coils) 51 [0126]; each of the drive coils are different magnetic beacons as shown in fig.1);
receiving, at one or both of the first magnetic beacon and the second magnetic beacon, magnetic field measurement data measured by an ingestible device a plurality of magnetic-field sensors and configured to detect an induced magnetic field generated by the magnetic inductance coil, which receives the alternating magnetic field [0055]; The position detection device 50 calculates the position of the capsule endoscope 20 on the basis of the induced magnetic field detected by the sense coils 52 and controls the alternating magnetic field formed by the drive coils 51 [0136]; position detection system 10 is mainly formed of a capsule endoscope (device, capsule medical device) 20, which is a capsule medical device introduced into a body cavity of a subject 1, per oral or per anus [0125]);
; and generating, by a controller, location data of the ingestible device based on the magnetic field measurement data (The position detection device 50 calculates the position of the capsule endoscope 20 on the basis of the induced magnetic field detected by the sense coils 52 and controls the alternating magnetic field formed by the drive coils 51 [0136]).
Sato, however, does not teach [energizing a first magnetic beacon] with a first offset frequency [concurrently with a second magnetic beacon with] a second offset frequency.
Hiltner is considered analogous to the instant application as “Systems and methods comprising linked localization agents” is disclosed (title). Hiltner teaches:
energizing a first magnetic beacon with a first offset frequency concurrently with a second magnetic beacon with a second offset frequency (tags are magnetic beacons as disclosed in [0164]; two or more beacons (e.g., tags, emitters associated with one or more surgical devices, or other objects whose location, position, relative position, or other spatial information desired) are employed [0177]; the tags are programmed to respond with an offset frequency compared to the frequency of the stimulating frequency [0178]; each different beacon (e.g. tag) generates a unique frequency, spectrum of frequencies or otherwise distinguishable signal [0179]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Sato to include energizing a first magnetic beacon with a first offset frequency concurrently with a second magnetic beacon with a second offset frequency, as taught by Hiltner. Doing so allows the response signal(s) to be easily decoupled from the stimulating signals, as suggested by Hiltner ([0178]).
Regarding claim 16, modified Sato teaches the method of claim 9 as discussed above. Sato further teaches
wherein the ingestible device comprises a receiving coil (sense coils (magnetic-field sensors) 52 that detect the induced magnetic field generated at the magnetic induction coils [0126]) and a transmission coil (the position detection device 50 is electrically connected to drive coils (drive coils) 51 that generate an induced magnetic field at magnetic induction coils, described below, in the capsule endoscope 20 [0126]),
Sato, however, does not teach wherein the transmission coil uses a frequency greater than 50 MHz.
Hiltner, however, teaches wherein the transmission coil uses a frequency greater than 50 MHz ([0083] discloses that the tags/beacons can transmit in a 433 MHz band range).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the combined invention of Sato to include wherein the transmission coil uses a frequency greater than 50 MHz, as taught by Hiltner. Doing so would facilitate identification of the tag/beacon.
Regarding claim 19, modified Sato teaches the method of claim 9, as discussed above. Sato further teaches energizing the first magnetic beacon and the second magnetic beacon comprises energizing the first magnetic beacon and the second magnetic beacon with a sustained current ([0272] discloses energizing the device using a power source within the device; [0058], [0176] further discloses charging of the magnetic circuits).
Regarding claim 20, modified Sato teaches the method of claim 9, as discussed above. Sato, however, does not teach wherein the first magnetic beacon and the second magnetic beacon utilize a carrier frequency in a range of about 1-100 MHz.
Hiltner, however, teaches wherein the first magnetic beacon and the second magnetic beacon utilize a carrier frequency in a range of about 1-100 MHz (([0083] discloses that the tags/beacons can transmit in a 433 MHz band range).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the combined invention of Sato to include wherein the first magnetic beacon and the second magnetic beacon utilize a carrier frequency in a range of about 1-100 MHz, as taught by Hiltner. Doing so would facilitate identification of the tag/beacon.
Claims 3, 10 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al. (US 20090295386 A1, hereinafter “Sato”) in view of Hiltner et al. (US 20230297802 A1, hereinafter “Hiltner”) and Sun et al. (US 20200144480 A1, hereinafter “Sun”)
Regarding claim 3, modified Sato teaches the method of claim 1, as discussed above. Sato, however, does not teach wherein the ingestible device comprises a chip including a radio frequency low noise amplifier (RFLNA) configured to amplify measurements of the magnetic fields generated by the first magnetic beacon and the second magnetic beacon.
Sun is considered analogous to the instant application as “Implantable Devices Based on Magnetoelectric Antenna, Energy Harvesting and Communication” is disclosed (title).
Sun teaches wherein the ingestible device comprises a chip including a radio frequency low noise amplifier (RFLNA) configured to amplify measurements of the magnetic fields generated by the first magnetic beacon and the second magnetic beacon (For each TS transmission by an implant system 100, an example receiver 906 may amplify the received signal with a low noise amplifier 922, filter the amplified signal with a bandpass filter 924 that frames the resonance bandwidth of the implant system's ME antenna, and detect the presence of a transmission from the implantable system 100 using an envelope detector 926 [0076]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the combined invention of Sato to include the ingestible device comprises a chip including a radio frequency low noise amplifier (RFLNA) configured to amplify measurements of the magnetic fields generated by the first magnetic beacon and the second magnetic beacon, as taught Sun. Doing so facilitate detection of the device.
Regarding claim 10, modified Sato teaches the system of claim 8, as discussed above. Sato, however, does not teach wherein the ingestible device comprises a chip including a radio frequency low noise amplifier (RFLNA) configured to amplify measurements of the magnetic fields generated by the first magnetic beacon and the second magnetic beacon.
Sun is considered analogous to the instant application as “Implantable Devices Based on Magnetoelectric Antenna, Energy Harvesting and Communication” is disclosed (title).
Sun teaches wherein the ingestible device comprises a chip including a radio frequency low noise amplifier (RFLNA) configured to amplify measurements of the magnetic fields generated by the first magnetic beacon and the second magnetic beacon (For each TS transmission by an implant system 100, an example receiver 906 may amplify the received signal with a low noise amplifier 922, filter the amplified signal with a bandpass filter 924 that frames the resonance bandwidth of the implant system's ME antenna, and detect the presence of a transmission from the implantable system 100 using an envelope detector 926 [0076]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the combined invention of Sato to include the ingestible device comprises a chip including a radio frequency low noise amplifier (RFLNA) configured to amplify measurements of the magnetic fields generated by the first magnetic beacon and the second magnetic beacon, as taught Sun. Doing so facilitate detection of the device.
Regarding claim 17, modified Sato teaches the method of claim 9, as discussed above. Sato, however, does not teach wherein the ingestible device comprises a chip including a radio frequency low noise amplifier (RFLNA) configured to amplify measurements of the magnetic fields generated by the first magnetic beacon and the second magnetic beacon.
Sun is considered analogous to the instant application as “Implantable Devices Based on Magnetoelectric Antenna, Energy Harvesting and Communication” is disclosed (title).
Sun teaches wherein the ingestible device comprises a chip including a radio frequency low noise amplifier (RFLNA) configured to amplify measurements of the magnetic fields generated by the first magnetic beacon and the second magnetic beacon (For each TS transmission by an implant system 100, an example receiver 906 may amplify the received signal with a low noise amplifier 922, filter the amplified signal with a bandpass filter 924 that frames the resonance bandwidth of the implant system's ME antenna, and detect the presence of a transmission from the implantable system 100 using an envelope detector 926 [0076]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the combined invention of Sato to include the ingestible device comprises a chip including a radio frequency low noise amplifier (RFLNA) configured to amplify measurements of the magnetic fields generated by the first magnetic beacon and the second magnetic beacon, as taught Sun. Doing so facilitate detection of the device.
Claims 4, 11, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al. (US 20090295386 A1, hereinafter “Sato”) in view of Hiltner et al. (US 20230297802 A1, hereinafter “Hiltner”) and Brister (US 20160029998 A1)
Regarding claim 4, modified Sato teaches the method of claim 1, as discussed above. Sato, however, does not teach wherein generating the location data comprises applying a neural network on the measurement data.
Brister is considered analogous to the instant application as “Systems and methods for locating and/or characterizing intragastric devices” is disclosed (title). Brister teaches wherein generating the location data comprises applying a neural network on the measurement data ([0734] As discussed above, the estimation processor performs an iterative comparison between an estimated position of the magnet and a measured position of the magnet. The initial estimated location may be derived by a number of possible techniques, such as random selection, a location under the sensor element 108-114 having the strongest initial reading, or, by way of example, the detector system 100 may initially estimate the location α of the magnet 120 is centered under the housing 102. However, it is possible to provide a more accurate initial estimation of the location α of the magnet 120 using a neural network 154…;[0735] The neural network 154 has a learn mode and an operational mode. In the learn mode, the neural network 154 is provided with actual measurement data from the magnetic sensors 108-114. Since each of the magnetic sensors 108-114 have three different sensing elements, a total of 12 parameters are provided as inputs to the neural network 154. Based on the 12 parameters, the neural network 154 estimates the location and orientation of the magnet 120. The neural network 154 is then provided with data indicating the actual location and orientation of the magnet 120. This process is repeated a large number of times such that the neural network 154 “learns” to accurately estimate the location and orientation of the magnet 120 based on the 12 parameters).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the combined invention of Sato to include wherein generating the location data comprises applying a neural network on the measurement data, as taught by Brister. Doing so would facilitates real-time tracking of the magnet as the magnet is moved inside the patient, as suggested by Brister ([0733]).
Regarding claim 11, modified Sato teaches the system of claim 8, as discussed above. Sato, however, does not teach wherein generating the location data comprises applying a neural network on the measurement data.
Brister is considered analogous to the instant application as “Systems and methods for locating and/or characterizing intragastric devices” is disclosed (title). Brister teaches wherein generating the location data comprises applying a neural network on the measurement data ([0734] As discussed above, the estimation processor performs an iterative comparison between an estimated position of the magnet and a measured position of the magnet. The initial estimated location may be derived by a number of possible techniques, such as random selection, a location under the sensor element 108-114 having the strongest initial reading, or, by way of example, the detector system 100 may initially estimate the location α of the magnet 120 is centered under the housing 102. However, it is possible to provide a more accurate initial estimation of the location α of the magnet 120 using a neural network 154…;[0735] The neural network 154 has a learn mode and an operational mode. In the learn mode, the neural network 154 is provided with actual measurement data from the magnetic sensors 108-114. Since each of the magnetic sensors 108-114 have three different sensing elements, a total of 12 parameters are provided as inputs to the neural network 154. Based on the 12 parameters, the neural network 154 estimates the location and orientation of the magnet 120. The neural network 154 is then provided with data indicating the actual location and orientation of the magnet 120. This process is repeated a large number of times such that the neural network 154 “learns” to accurately estimate the location and orientation of the magnet 120 based on the 12 parameters).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the combined invention of Sato to include wherein generating the location data comprises applying a neural network on the measurement data, as taught by Brister. Doing so would facilitates real-time tracking of the magnet as the magnet is moved inside the patient, as suggested by Brister ([0733]).
Regarding claim 18, modified Sato teaches the method of claim 9, as discussed above. Sato, however, does not teach wherein generating the location data comprises applying a neural network on the measurement data.
Brister is considered analogous to the instant application as “Systems and methods for locating and/or characterizing intragastric devices” is disclosed (title). Brister teaches wherein generating the location data comprises applying a neural network on the measurement data ([0734] As discussed above, the estimation processor performs an iterative comparison between an estimated position of the magnet and a measured position of the magnet. The initial estimated location may be derived by a number of possible techniques, such as random selection, a location under the sensor element 108-114 having the strongest initial reading, or, by way of example, the detector system 100 may initially estimate the location α of the magnet 120 is centered under the housing 102. However, it is possible to provide a more accurate initial estimation of the location α of the magnet 120 using a neural network 154…;[0735] The neural network 154 has a learn mode and an operational mode. In the learn mode, the neural network 154 is provided with actual measurement data from the magnetic sensors 108-114. Since each of the magnetic sensors 108-114 have three different sensing elements, a total of 12 parameters are provided as inputs to the neural network 154. Based on the 12 parameters, the neural network 154 estimates the location and orientation of the magnet 120. The neural network 154 is then provided with data indicating the actual location and orientation of the magnet 120. This process is repeated a large number of times such that the neural network 154 “learns” to accurately estimate the location and orientation of the magnet 120 based on the 12 parameters).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the combined invention of Sato to include wherein generating the location data comprises applying a neural network on the measurement data, as taught by Brister. Doing so would facilitates real-time tracking of the magnet as the magnet is moved inside the patient, as suggested by Brister ([0733]).
Conclusion
/N.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3798
/PASCAL M BUI PHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3798