DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species D (Figures 23-26) in the reply filed on 2/13/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-8, 10, and 11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 2/13/2026.
Status of Claims
The status of the claims as filed in the submission dated 2/13/2026 are as follows:
Claims 9 and 12 are cancelled by the applicant;
Claims 1-8, 10, 11, and 13-26 are pending;
Claims 1-8, 10, and 11 are withdrawn from consideration;
Claims 13-26 are being examined.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: “Heat Exchanger Fin With Grooved Protrusion Part Body”, or something similarly descriptive.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Paragraph 117 recites “second protruding part 21b”, which appears to be a typo of “second protruding part 221b”. Correct all instances.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
Figures 1-13 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated (Paragraphs 2-9 describe the background art and Figures 1-13, wherein Figure 1-13 are referred to as conventional art. Therefore, Figures 1-13 are prior art). See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked. As explained in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Currently, no claim limitations invoke 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13-22 and 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kasamatsu (US2018/0306529A1, as cited in the IDS).
Re Claim 13. Kasamatsu teaches a fin (1) comprising:
a fin body (1) including a tube insertion hole (11) opened along a first direction being one direction being perpendicular to an upward/downward direction, and configured such that a tube extending along the first direction is inserted thereinto (Figures 1-4; Paragraph 18); and
a protrusion part (12) protruding from an edge region being a region of the fin body, which defines the tube insertion hole, in the first direction, wherein the protrusion part includes (Figures 4-5; Paragraph 18):
a protrusion part body (12) (Figures 4-5; Paragraph 18);
a first groove (one of the recessed portions between 12a) formed to be recessed from a first protruding portion being a portion of the protrusion part body, which is located in a second direction being one direction being perpendicular to the first direction and an upward/downward direction, in an opposite direction to the first direction (Figures 4-5; Paragraph 18); and
a second groove (one of the recessed portions between 12a) recessed from a second protruding portion being a portion of the protrusion part body, which is located in an opposite direction to the second direction, in the opposite direction to the first direction (Figures 4-5; Paragraph 18).
Re Claim 26. Kasamatsu teaches a heat exchanger (Figures 1-2 illustrate a heat exchanger comprising tube 3, fins 1, and housing 2) comprising:
a tube (3) extending along a first direction (Figures 1-5; Paragraphs 16-18); and
a fin (1), into which the tube is inserted, wherein the fin includes (Figures 4-5; Paragraph 18):
a fin body (1) including a tube insertion hole (11), into which the tube is inserted (Figures 4-5; Paragraph 18); and
a protrusion part (12) protruding from an edge region being a region of the fin body, which defines the tube insertion hole, in the first direction, and wherein the protrusion part includes (Figures 4-5; Paragraph 18):
a protrusion part body (12) (Figures 4-5; Paragraph 18); and
a groove (one of the recessed portions between 12a) formed to be recessed from the protrusion part body in an opposite direction to the first direction (Figures 4-5; Paragraph 18).
Re Claim 14. Kasamatsu teaches the second groove overlaps the first groove when viewed along the second direction (Figures 4-5; Paragraph 18).
Re Claim 15. Kasamatsu teaches first groove is formed to be tapered in an upward/downward direction as it goes in an opposite direction to the first direction (Figures 4-5; Paragraph 18, the edges of the grooves are tapered towards 12a).
Re Claim 16. Kasamatsu teaches the first groove has a shape corresponding to the second groove (Figures 4-5; Paragraph 18).
Re Claim 17. Kasamatsu teaches wherein when a region of the first protruding portion, which is located on a lower side, is defined as a lower side region, the first groove is formed in the lower side region (Figures 4-5; Paragraph 18; A groove is formed on the lower side).
Re Claim 18. Kasamatsu teaches the protruding part further includes: a first boss (12a) formed to protrude from the first protruding portion in the first direction; and a second boss (12a) formed to protrude from the second protruding portion in the first direction (Figures 4-5; Paragraph 18).
Re Claim 19. Kasamatsu teaches the first boss is disposed not to match up with the second boss when viewed along the second direction (Figures 4-5; Paragraph 18; Upper and lower bosses 12a are not aligned).
Re Claim 20. Kasamatsu teaches the first groove is located on a lower side of the first boss (Figures 4-5; Paragraph 18).
Re Claim 21. Kasamatsu teaches the second groove is located on an upper side of the second boss (Figures 4-5; Paragraph 18).
Re Claim 22. Kasamatsu teaches the first boss is formed to be tapered in the upward/downward direction as it goes in the first direction (Figures 4-5; Paragraph 18; Boss 12a is tapered to formed a curved profile).
Re Claim 24. Kasamatsu teaches the first boss has a shape corresponding to that of the second boss (Figures 4-5; Paragraph 18).
Re Claim 25. Kasamatsu teaches the fin body further includes an application hole (13) disposed on an upper side of the tube insertion hole, communicated with the tube insertion hole, and opened along the first direction (Figures 4-5; Paragraph 18; Figure 5 illustrates the application hole 13 at the upper side of the tube insertion hole).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasamatsu (US2018/0306529A1, as cited in the IDS) in view of Mitchell (US2005/0155750, as cited in the IDS).
Re Claim 23. Kasamatsu teaches a length of the first boss in the upward/downward direction and a length of the first groove in the upward/downward direction (Figures 4-5; Paragraph 18), but fails to specifically teach a length of the first boss in the upward/downward direction is greater than a length of the first groove in the upward/downward direction.
However, Mitchell teaches it is known to form a length of the first boss (30) in the upward/downward direction is greater than a length of the first groove (32) in the upward/downward direction (Figure 3; Paragraphs 21-23)
Therefore, in view of Mitchell's teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form the first boss of Kasamatsu in the upward/downward direction is greater than a length of the first groove of Kasamatsu in the upward/downward direction in order to provide increased contact area between the fin and tube, thereby increasing the heat transfer capability of the fin. Additionally, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to adjust the size of the boss and groove, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04 (IV, A).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892 for other relevant prior art.
/TRAVIS RUBY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763