DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A: Figs. 1a-1b Fig. 2 and claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-9, 12 and 14 in the reply filed on 4/23/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 3, 6, 10-11 and 13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 4/23/2026.
The applicant asserts that claim 2 read on Species A, however, the Examiner deems claim 2 readable only on Species B because figure 1c shows a third mains water passage arranged between the first and second mains water passages whereas, which is only shown in Species B whereas the elected species A does not have a third mains water passage. Claim 2 stands withdrawn from consideration.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the at least two bolts arranged in the external pipe in claim 1 must be shown in the elected species or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the second corrugated wall" in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim since a second corrugated wall was not previously positively recited.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milkin (RU178987U1: Machine Translation is provided by Examiner) in view of Bonomi, Gianfranco (WO 2009/060487 A1 hereinafter “Bonomi”).
With respect to claim 1, Milkin discloses a vertical heat recovery system (Fig. 1) for drains suitable for recovering heat from drain water to mains water (Abstract), comprising: an external pipe (Fig. 1, 7) for mains water comprising a first mains water passage arranged at a top section of the system (Fig. 1, passage 9 at top of system), and a second mains water passage arranged at a bottom section of the system (Fig. 1, passage 8 at bottom of system); an internal pipe for drain water arranged inside the external pipe (Fig. 1, pipe 1 inside external pipe 7), a first drain water passage arranged at the top section of the system (Fig. 1, passage inlet into 1); a second drain water passage arranged at the bottom section of the system (Fig. 1, passage outlet of 1); at least one turbulator arranged on the external surface of the internal pipe (Fig. 1, 3); at least two bolts arranged in the external pipe (Fig. 1, multiple bolts 14).
Milkin does not disclose wherein the internal pipe comprises a corrugated geometry, and wherein the internal pipe comprises at least one corrugated wall.
Bonomi teaches an internal pipe that has a corrugated geometry and a corrugated wall (Figs. 1-2, inner pipe 12 has a corrugated wall and geometry). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the inner pipe of Milkin to be corrugated as taught by Bonomi to enhance turbulent fluid flow and heat transfer (Page 6, lines 8-19).
With respect to claim 4, Milkin and Bonomi teach the vertical heat recovery system according to claim 1 as discussed above. Milkin also discloses wherein the internal pipe further comprises a second corrugated wall (Fig. 1, 3 is corrugated on outer wall).
With respect to claim 5, Milkin and Bonomi teach the vertical heat recovery system according to claim 1 as discussed above. Bonomi also teaches wherein the corrugated geometry of the internal pipe is a wave shape (Figs. 1-2, 12 is wave shaped).
With respect to claim 7, Milkin and Bonomi teach the vertical heat recovery system according to claim 1 as discussed above. Milkin also discloses wherein the internal pipe is made of a material selected from stainless steel or copper (Para 27 copper).
With respect to claim 8, Milkin and Bonomi teach the vertical heat recovery system according to claim 1 as discussed above. Milkin also discloses wherein the external pipe is made of a material selected from polyvinyl chloride, Acrylonitrile Butadiene Styrene, Polypropylene, Stainless steel, Copper (Para 12, the external pipe can be made from plastic which is polypropylene).
With respect to claim 9, Milkin and Bonomi teach the vertical heat recovery system according to claim 1 as discussed above. Milkin also discloses wherein the turbulator is made of stainless steel, copper or polymer (Para 27).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milkin (RU178987U1: Machine Translation is provided by Examiner) in view of Bonomi, Gianfranco (WO 2009/060487 A1 hereinafter “Bonomi”) and further in view of Patel (US Publication No.: 2020/0309634).
With respect to claim 12, Milkin and Bonomi teach the vertical heat recovery system according to claim 1 as discussed above. Milkin does not disclose wherein the system further comprises a leak detection system arranged in the top section, the leak detection system comprising a sealant element between the first drain water passage and the internal pipe, at least one hole on the second corrugated wall of the internal pipe arranged above the sealant element, and a leaked water channel arranged between the first drain water passage and the external pipe.
Patel teaches a leak detection system (Para 0006-0009) that has a sealant element between a first drain water passage and an internal pipe (Fig. 2, 522) and at least one hole on a wall of an internal pipe and a leaked water channel between a first drain passage an external pipe (Fig. 4, channels 130 and Para 0046-0052). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified the system of Milkin with a leak detection system and leak channels as taught by Patel to have a simple design for detecting a leak with gravity fluid flow (Para 0009).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milkin (RU178987U1: Machine Translation is provided by Examiner) in view of Bonomi, Gianfranco (WO 2009/060487 A1 hereinafter “Bonomi”) and further in view of MacKelvie (US Publication No.: 2013/0306290).
With respect to claim 14, Milkin and Bonomi teach the vertical heat recovery system according to claim 1 as discussed above. Milkin discloses the use of the system in building drains but is silent to a drain associated with a shower, a bath, a washing machine, a pool, a sink, a wash basin, a bidet or a hairdresser wash basin.
MacKelvie teaches a heat exchange system used in a drain such as a shower (Abstract) or a sink (Para 0030). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have used the system of Milkin to be associated with a shower or a sink as taught by MacKelvie to provide warm water at no cost and maintain a warm flow by using a draining used water to heat the incoming cold water (Para 0030).
Conclusion
/CLAIRE E ROJOHN III/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763