DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 16-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) a mental process of using collected neural responses to determine an ECAP threshold, and predicting a perpetual marker of the patient from the determined ECAP threshold and a discomfort threshold of the patient. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the neurostimulation device comprising a stimulus source, measurement circuitry are a pre-solution activity required for data gathering neural responses and control unit/processor are generically recited computer elements which do not improve the functioning of a computer, or any other technology or technical field. These claims are merely directed to an abstract idea with additional generic computer elements which do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because neurostimulation device comprising a stimulus source, measurement circuitry and a processor is well understood routine and conventional as evidenced by Cholette (US Publication 2008/0300655) discloses a neurostimulation device with a stimulus source that delivers energy to the nerve (e.g. Figure2, element 242/244; Figure 3, Element 321 and Figure 7, element 633) and a measurement circuitry (e.g. Figure 3, Elements 322-326). Hershey et al (US Publication 2017/0296823) discloses an IPG which measures an evoked action potential (ECAP) (e.g. Figure 9). Carcieri (US Publication 20140243926) discloses a an IPG (14) which delivers stimulation pulses to the tissue and measures evoked action potentials (e.g. Paragraph [0013]).
With regards to the processor/control unit, per applicant’s specification in Paragraphs [0030]-[0031], the processor/control unit is reasonably construed as a generic computing device. Like SAP America vs Investpic, LLC (Federal Circuit 2018), it is clear, from the claims themselves and the specification, that these limitations require no improved computer resources, just already available computers, with their already available basic functions, to use as tools in executing the claimed process. neither the general computer elements nor any other additional element adds meaningful limitations to the abstract idea because these additional elements represent insignificant extra-solution activity. When viewed as a combination, these above-identified additional elements simply instruct the practitioner to implement the claimed functions with well-understood, routine and conventional activity specified at a high level of generality in a particular technological environment. As such, there is no inventive concept sufficient to transform the claimed subject matter into a patent-eligible application. As such, the above-identified additional elements, when viewed as whole, do not provide meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Thus, Claims 16-20 and 22-28 are merely apply an abstract idea to a computer and do not (i) improve the performance of the computer itself (as in Bascom and Enfish), or (ii) provide a technical solution to a problem in a technical field (as in DDR).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Esteller et al (US Publication 2019/0209844) in view of Dinsmoor et al (US Publication 2021/0187299).
Referring to Claim 16, Esteller et al teaches a neurostimulation system comprising: a neurostimulation device for controllably delivering a neural stimulus (e.g. Paragraph [0002] discloses a neurostimulator), the neurostimulation device comprising: a stimulus source configured to deliver a neural stimulus via one or more stimulus electrodes of a plurality of implantable electrodes to a neural pathway of a patient (e.g. Figure 12 and Paragraph [0078]-[0079] disclose delivering stimulation via the IPG); measurement circuitry configured to capture a signal window sensed at one or more sense electrodes of the plurality of implantable electrodes in response to the neural stimulus (e.g. Paragraph [0079] discloses sensing electrodes to obtain ECAP); a control unit configured to control the stimulus source to deliver the neural stimulus according to a stimulus intensity parameter (e.g. Paragraph [0078] discloses automatically changing the stimulation intensity to determine ECAP threshold); a processor configured to: instruct the control unit to control the stimulus source to deliver a plurality of neural stimuli according to respective values of the stimulus intensity parameter (e.g. Paragraph [0078]); determine an ECAP threshold of the patient from the signal windows captured in response to the respective neural stimuli, wherein the ECAP threshold is a value of the stimulus intensity parameter above which an intensity of neural responses evoked by the neural stimuli starts to increase with increasing stimulus intensity (e.g. Paragraphs [0078] and [0079] disclose the amplitude is progressively increased ECAPS are detected which is used to detect the ECAP threshold); predict a perceptual marker of the patient from the determined ECAP threshold (e.g. Paragraph [0087] discloses the PT is estimated based on the ECAP threshold), wherein the perceptual marker is a comfortable stimulus intensity (e.g. Paragraph [0085] discloses PT is the minimum stimulation perceptible by the patient and is different from the discomfort threshold). However, Esteller et al does not explicitly disclose predict a discomfort threshold of the patient. Dinsmoor et al teaches that it is known to use growth curves of sensed ECAPS from stimulation pulses at various postures which exhibit discomfort thresholds that correspond to a stimulation amplitude at a level at which the patient experiences discomfort from the resulting ECAP response (e.g., as paresthesia, numbness, etc.). The discomfort thresholds may be different for each patient and is shown in relation to the perception threshold as set forth in Figure 5B, Paragraphs [0124] and [0128] to provide improving target ECAP determinations which vary based on posture for controlling the stimulation pulses delivered to the patient in order to avoid abrupt changes in sensation to the user. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system as taught by Esteller et al, with predicting a discomfort threshold of the patient as taught by Dinsmoor et al, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of improving target ECAP determinations which vary based on posture for controlling the stimulation pulses delivered to the patient in order to avoid abrupt changes in sensation to the user.
Referring to Claim 17, Esteller et al in view of Dinsmoor et al teaches the neurostimulation system of claim 16, wherein the processor is configured to predict the comfortable stimulus intensity using a linear prediction model (e.g. Paragraph [0087]).
Referring to Claim 18, Esteller et al in view of Dinsmoor et al teaches the neurostimulation system of claim 17, wherein the processor is configured to predict the comfortable stimulus intensity as being at a fixed proportion of an interval between the ECAP threshold and the discomfort threshold (e.g. Paragraphs [0085] and [0087]).
Referring to Claim 19, Esteller et al in view of Dinsmoor et al teaches the neurostimulation system of claim 16, wherein the processor is configured to predict the discomfort threshold of the patient from the determined ECAP threshold (e.g. Paragraph [0087] discloses the relationship between ECAP threshold and perception threshold (PT) and Dinsmoor illustrates the relationship between PT and the discomfort threshold, which varies based on posture. Therefore predicting the discomfort threshold from the determined ECAP threshold).
Referring to Claim 20, Esteller et al in view of Dinsmoor et al teaches the neurostimulation system of claim 19, wherein the processor is configured to predict the discomfort threshold using a linear prediction model (e.g. Paragraph [0087]).
Referring to Claim 21, Esteller et al in view of Dinsmoor et al teaches the neurostimulation system of claim 16, wherein the processor is further configured to program, using the predicted value of the perceptual marker, the neurostimulation device to deliver neural stimulus to the patient (e.g. Paragraphs [0062] and [0090] discloses using the thresholds to maintain therapy that best alleviates a patient’s symptoms).
Referring to Claim 22, Esteller et al in view of Dinsmoor et al teaches the neurostimulation system of claim 16, wherein the processor is part of the control unit of the neurostimulation device (e.g. Figure 8, control circuitry 102 which includes ECAP algorithm 124a).
Referring to Claim 23, Esteller et al in view of Dinsmoor et al teaches the neurostimulation system of claim 16, wherein the processor is part of an external computing device in communication with the neurostimulation device (e.g. Paragraph [0078] discloses using a clinician or patient programmer to determine specific thresholds).
Referring to Claim 24, Esteller et al teaches an automated method of controlling a neurostimulation device to deliver neural stimuli to a patient, the method comprising: delivering the neural stimuli according to respective values of a stimulus intensity parameter (e.g. Paragraph [0078] discloses automatically changing the stimulation intensity to determine ECAP threshold)); determine an ECAP threshold of the patient from the signal windows captured in response to the respective neural stimuli, wherein the ECAP threshold is a value of the stimulus intensity parameter above which an intensity of neural responses evoked by the neural stimuli starts to increase with increasing stimulus intensity (e.g. Paragraphs [0078] and [0079] disclose the amplitude is progressively increased ECAPS are detected which is used to detect the ECAP threshold); predict a perceptual marker of the patient from the determined ECAP threshold (e.g. Paragraph [0087] discloses the PT is estimated based on the ECAP threshold), wherein the perceptual marker is a comfortable stimulus intensity (e.g. Paragraph [0085] discloses PT is the minimum stimulation perceptible by the patient and is different from the discomfort threshold). However, Esteller et al does not explicitly disclose predict a discomfort threshold of the patient. Dinsmoor et al teaches that it is known to use growth curves of sensed ECAPS from stimulation pulses at various postures which exhibit discomfort thresholds that correspond to a stimulation amplitude at a level at which the patient experiences discomfort from the resulting ECAP response (e.g., as paresthesia, numbness, etc.). The discomfort thresholds may be different for each patient and is shown in relation to the perception threshold as set forth in Figure 5B, Paragraphs [0124] and [0128] to provide improving target ECAP determinations which vary based on posture for controlling the stimulation pulses delivered to the patient in order to avoid abrupt changes in sensation to the user. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method as taught by Esteller et al, with predicting a discomfort threshold of the patient as taught by Dinsmoor et al, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of improving target ECAP determinations which vary based on posture for controlling the stimulation pulses delivered to the patient in order to avoid abrupt changes in sensation to the user.
Referring to Claim 25, Esteller et al in view of Dinsmoor et al teaches the method of claim 24, wherein the predicting the perceptual marker uses a linear prediction model (e.g. Paragraph [0087]).
Referring to Claim 26, Esteller et al in view of Dinsmoor et al teaches the method of claim 25, wherein the perceptual marker is predicted as being at a fixed proportion of an interval between the ECAP threshold and the discomfort threshold (e.g. Paragraphs [0085] and [0087]).
Referring to Claim 27, Esteller et al in view of Dinsmoor et al teaches the method of claim 24, further comprising predicting the discomfort threshold of the patient from the determined ECAP threshold (e.g. Paragraph [0087] discloses the relationship between ECAP threshold and perception threshold (PT) and Dinsmoor illustrates the relationship between PT and the discomfort threshold, which varies based on posture. Therefore predicting the discomfort threshold from the determined ECAP threshold).
Referring to Claim 28, Esteller et al in view of Dinsmoor et al teaches the method of claim 27, wherein the predicting the discomfort threshold uses a linear prediction model (e.g. Paragraph [0087]).
Referring to Claim 29, Esteller et al in view of Dinsmoor et al teaches the method of claim 24, further comprising programming, using the predicted value of the perceptual marker, the neurostimulation device to deliver neural stimulus to the patient (e.g. Paragraphs [0062] and [0090] discloses using the thresholds to maintain therapy that best alleviates a patient’s symptoms).
Conclusion
/William J Levicky/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796