DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO’024 (WO 2020/145024) in view JP’804 (JP 2015-120804), JP’747 (JP 2019-099747), JP’806 (JP 52-126806), and Shimizu et al. (US 2016/0176241).
US 2022/0161602 is a U.S. equivalent document to WO’024 and relied as an English translation to WO’024. Citations in this office action refer to paragraph numbers of the U.S. equivalent document.
Regarding claim 1, FIG. 1 of WO’024 teaches a pneumatic tire comprising a tread portion, sidewall portions, bead portions, a carcass layer including polyester cords [0017], belt layers, 7 [0018], and a belt reinforcing layer, 8 [0019]. The tread portion comprises a cap layer and an under tread.
WO’024 is silent to an under tread rubber composition constituting the under tread layer having hardness at 20°C ranging from 60 to 65, tensile stress at 100% (M100) elongation at 100°C ranging from 2.0 MPa to 4.0 MPa, and a product (TB x EB) of tensile strength TB (unit: MPa) at 100°C and an elongation at break EB (unit: %) at 100°C of 2000 or more (herein referred as the claimed under tread properties) AND the under tread rubber composition containing isoprene-based rubber and butadiene rubber, the butadiene rubber having a cis-1,4 bond content being 97% more, a Mooney viscosity (ML1+4) at 100°C is 42 or more, (T-cp)/(ML1+4) of butadiene rubber ranges from 2.0 to 3.0 (herein referred to as the claimed under tread composition). However, JP’804 teaches a rubber composition for a tire base tread (under tread) comprising:
Isoprene-based rubber that includes natural rubber wherein the content of isoprene-based rubber is 20%-70% (page 4 of the machine translation),
10%-80% by mass of butadiene rubber A having a high cis content of 96% by mass or more (pages 2-3 of the machine translation).
And, JP’747 teaches a rubber composition for a base tread comprising a high cis butadiene rubber; such as Ubepol BR 150L (pages 10 and 18 of the machine translation), which is the same material used by the instant application and accordingly satisfies a cis-1,4 bond content of 97% or more, a Mooney viscosity (ML1+4) at 100°C of 42 or more, and (T-cp)/(ML1+4) of 2.0 to 3.0. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the under tread of WO’024 having the claimed under tread properties and under tread composition because:
JP’804 teaches a rubber composition for a tire base tread (under tread) having the claimed components of the rubber composition,
JP’747 specifically discloses Ubepol BR 150L is a known high cis butadiene rubber suitable in a rubber composition for a tire base tread (under tread), providing Ubepol BR 150L for the high cis butadiene rubber A required by JP’804 would predictably yield an operable base tread of a tire, and
the claimed properties are expected because the resulting composition of JP’804 with Ubepol BR 150L of JP’747 yields a rubber composition that is the substantially identical as the instant application and the properties would naturally flow due to the extremely close correspondence to the rubber composition of the instant application; moreover; it has been held that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or are produced by identical or a substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness will be considered to have been established over functional limitations that stem from the claimed structure. In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977), In re Spada, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 ( Fed. Cir. 1990). The prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed products. In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
WO’024 is silent to a carcass polyester cord satisfying: an elongation at break of the carcass cord that is from 20% to 30%, an elongation ratio under a load of 1.5 cN/dtex of the carcass cord is 5.5% to 8.5%, and a product A = D x Ec is 2.2 x 105 dtex/50 mm to 3.0 x 105 dtex/50 mm. However, Table 2: cord example 3 of JP’806 teaches a polyester cord having a cord construction of 1500 D/2 (total thickness of 3000 denier ≈ 3,333.3 dtex) with an intermediate elongation of 6.3% at 2.3 g/d (2.0 cN/dtex) with an elongation at break of 24%. And, Shimizu teaches a passenger car tire having a carcass layer with a linear density of 45-70 cords per 50 mm ([0035]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the tire of WO’024 with a carcass layer reinforced with polyester cords satisfying: an elongation at break of the carcass cord being 20% to 30%, an elongation under a load of 1.5 cN/dtex of the carcass cord being 5.5% to 8.5%, and a product A = D x E is 2.2 x 105 dtex/50 mm to 2.7 x 105 dtex/50mm because JP’806 teaches a polyester cord for the carcass layer having a cord construction of 1500 D/2 (3,333.3 dtex) having an intermediate elongation of 6.3% at 2.3 g/d and an elongation at break of 24% and Shimizu teaches a passenger car tire having a carcass layer with a linear density of 45-70 cords per 50 mm and providing known carcass cords and linear density yields predictable results of an operable carcass layer.
A = 3,333 dtex x 70 cords/50 mm ≈ 2.33 x 105 dtex/50 mm.
Regarding claim 2, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the under tread of the tire of WO’024 with “a mass of an anti-aging agent blended in the under tread rubber composition ranges from 0.7 mass% to 2.0 mass% of a mass of an entirety of the under tread rubber composition” because TABLE 1 of JP’804 teaches a rubber compositions of an under tread of a pneumatic tire wherein the anti-aging amount is 3 phr and discloses the loading amounts of the remaining components of the under tread such that the mass% is within the claimed range.
Regarding claims 3-4, WO’024 teaches a polyester fiber cords (“cover cord”) constituting the belt cover layer is made of PET fibers having an elongation of 2.0% to 4.0% under a load of 2.0 cN/dtex measured at 100°C [0019]-[0020], [0026].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 5 of the arguments, Applicant argues “The Office Action provides no motivation for the combination of JP 804 other than because WO 024 does not disclose the base tread composition”.
This argument is unpersuasive. WO’024 teaches a pneumatic tire for a passenger car comprising a tread portion comprising a cap layer and an under tread (also known as base tread). In the same field of endeavor of a pneumatic tire for a passenger car, JP’804 discloses a rubber composition for a base tread. Providing a known rubber composition for the same tire component (base tread; also known as under tread) of the same type of tire (passenger car tires) yields predictable results of an operable pneumatic tire for a passenger car.
On page 5 of the arguments, Applicant states “great many base tread compositions exist and the selection of JP 804 is clearly based solely on impermissible hindsight, using the claims as a roadmap”.
This argument is unpersuasive because providing a known rubber composition for the same tire component (base tread; also known as under tread) of the same class of tire (passenger car tires) yields predictable results. Moreover, JP’804 teaches a rubber composition suitable for base treads of a pneumatic tire that has good processability, fuel economy, rubber strength, and steering stability in a well-balanced manner (abstract, page 6 of the machine translation) providing ample motivation and clear direction to use the rubber composition suitable for a base tread disclosed by JP’804 to the under tread (base tread) of WO’024
On page 5 of the arguments, Applicant states “there is no reason to look to JP 747 for further combination”.
In response, this argument is unpersuasive. As an initial matter, page 3 of machine translation of JP’804 states the method of preparing the high cis butadiene rubber A is not particularly limited and that commercial products can be used. JP’747 teaches a suitable high cis butadiene commercial product: Ubepol BR 150L, the exact butadiene rubber used by the instant application, used in a rubber composition for a base tread of a pneumatic tire. Thus, JP’747 renders obvious using the high cis butadiene commercial product: Ubepol BR 150L for the high cis butadiene rubber A in JP’804 as both references are directed to a base tread of a pneumatic tire and JP’804 states using commercial products are suitable.
On page 5 of the arguments, Applicant refers to an office action dated July 28,2025 and JP 530 (JP 2021-181530).
In response, any arguments related to JP 530 is irrelevant because JP 530 is not relied in the current rejection and there is no office action dated July 28, 2025.
On page 7 of the arguments, Applicant states JP 747 “is not an undertread composition!”.
In response, Applicant is incorrect. On page 18 of the machine translation, it states there is no restriction to the application site of the rubber composition in a tire and explicitly states application of the rubber composition is suitable for a base tread (also known as a under tread).
On page 7 of the arguments, Applicant argues none of the cited reference disclose the hardness, tensile stress, a product (TB x EB), and elongation at break and “the Office Action has made no findings of hardness, elongation at break, or other properties from the JP 804 composition or the Ubepol BR 150L of JP747 along or in combination with JP 804”.
In response, it is acknowledged that JP’804 and JP’747 do not recite values for hardness, tensile stress, a product (TB x EB), and elongation at break. However, the resulting composition of JP’804 with Ubepol BR 150L of JP’747, as the high cis butadiene component of JP’804 yields a rubber composition that is substantially identical as the instant application and the properties would natural flow due to the extremely close correspondence to the rubber composition of the instant application. A reasonable rationale and finding has been provided to render the claimed properties obvious. Attorney arguments cannot take the place of evidence. Applicant has not provided substantiated evidence that the resulting composition of JP’804 with Ubepol BR 150L of JP’747 as the high cis butadiene component A of JP’804 fails to satisfy the claimed properties.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KENDRA LY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1749