DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Abedini et al. (US 2021/0185723, Abedini hereafter).
RE claims 1 and 6, Abedini discloses a wireless relay device and method comprising a reception unit configured to receive a signal that is associated with an index and that includes a synchronization signal and broadcast information from a base station or a first wireless relay device (Paragraphs 95-100, Figures 5A and 5B); and a transmission unit (Figures 5A and 5B) configured to transmit the signal that is associated with the index to a second wireless relay device or a terminal, wherein the reception unit receives first information for transmitting the signal that is associated with the index from the base station or the first wireless relay device, and the transmission unit transmits the signal that is associated with the index and the first information to the second wireless relay device or the terminal based on the first information (Paragraphs 95-102 and 105-108).
RE claim 4, Abedini discloses wireless relay device as claimed in claim 1 as set forth above. Note that Abedini further discloses wherein the reception unit receives a physical random access channel from the terminal or the second wireless relay device based on information included in the signal that is associated with the index, and the transmission unit transmits the physical random access channel to the first wireless relay device or the base station (Paragraphs 95-102 and 105-108).
RE claim 5, Abedini discloses wireless relay device as claimed in claim 4 as set forth above. Note that Abedini further discloses wherein the transmission unit transmits the physical random access channel to the first wireless relay device or the base station at a transmission timing that is determined based on a timing of reception of the physical random access channel by the reception unit (Paragraphs 95-102 and 105-108).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abedini in view of Frenger et al. (WO 2010/059083, Frenger hereafter).
RE claim 2, Abedini discloses wireless relay device as claimed in claim 1 as set forth above. Abedini does not explicitly disclose wherein the reception unit receives second information for measuring the signal that is associated with the index from the base station or the first wireless relay device, and the wireless relay device further comprises: a control unit configured to measure the signal that is associated with the index based on the second information.
However, Frenger teaches wherein the reception unit receives second information for measuring the signal that is associated with the index from the base station or the first wireless relay device, and the wireless relay device further comprises: a control unit configured to measure the signal that is associated with the index based on the second information ( Page 15 line 30 through page 16, relays are configured to periodically perform inter-repeater measurements whereby a repeater is selected to broadcast a signal for others to receive and measure.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the relay device of Abedini with the teachings of Frenger in order to provide for determining changes to the radio link without disrupting data forwarding.
RE claim 3, Abedini in view of Frenger discloses wireless relay device as claimed in claim 1 as set forth above. Note that Abedini further discloses wherein the transmission unit transmits the second information to the second wireless relay device or the terminal (Paragraphs 95-102 and 105-108).
Conclusion
/James P Duffy/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461