DETAILED ACTION
Cross-Reference to Related Applications
2. This application is a 371 of PCT/JP2022/040059 10/27/2022.
Preliminary amendment
3. Preliminary amendment filed on 06/12/2024 has been acknowledged and considered.
In the Preliminary amendment, the applicants have been amended the specification and remained claims 1-21.
Claims 1-21 are currently pending in the application.
Oath/Declaration
4. The oath/declaration filed on 09/12/2024 is acceptable.
Priority
5. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
6. The office acknowledges receipt of the following items from the applicant:
Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 06/12/2024.
Specification
7. The specification is objected to for the following reason: The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed (see MPEP 606.01).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
8. Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by ITO M (WO-2019/124562).
Regarding claim 1, ITO M discloses a solid-state imaging device comprising:
a plurality of light-receiving pixels (50G/50B/50R) arranged in a first direction and a second direction intersecting with the first direction (in array);
a first color filter (107G) that is disposed over a plurality of the light-receiving pixels (50G/50B/50R) arranged in the first direction (in an array), and has a first color (green);
a second color filter (107B) that is disposed over a plurality of the light-receiving pixels (50G/50B/50R) arranged in the first direction (X-direction in an array), and has a second color (blue) different from the first color (green);
a first inter-waveguide light-shielding wall (1st 106) that is disposed between the first color filters (G) adjacent in the first direction (X-direction in an array), and has a light-shielding property (tungsten (W) can be used for the light shielding film 106); and
a second inter-waveguide light-shielding wall (2nd 106) that is disposed between the first color filter (107G) and the second color filter (107B) adjacent in the first direction (X-direction in an array), has a light-shielding property (tungsten (W) can be used for the light shielding film 106), and has a length in the first direction (X-direction) that is longer than a length in same direction of the first inter-waveguide light-shielding wall (1st 106) (Fig. 23 and English Text).
Regarding claim 4, ITO M discloses further comprising: a third color filter (107R) that is disposed over a plurality of the light-receiving pixels (50G/50B/50R) arranged in the first direction (X-direction in an array), and has a third color (red) different from the first color (green) and the second color (blue); and a third inter-waveguide light-shielding wall (3rd 106) that is disposed between the second color filter (107B) and the third color filter (107R) adjacent in the first direction (X-direction in an array), has a light-shielding property (tungsten (W) can be used for the light shielding film 106), and has a length in the first direction that is longer than a length in same direction of the first inter-waveguide light-shielding wall (1st 106) (Fig. 23)..
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over YAMASHITA K (WO-2021/215290).
Regarding claim 17, YAMASHITA K discloses a solid-state imaging device comprising:
a plurality of light-receiving pixels (PD) arranged in a first direction and a second direction intersecting with the first direction (in 2-dimensionally arranged in a matrix);
a color filter (43) that is disposed on each of the light-receiving pixels (PD);
a first inter-pixel light-shielding wall (1st 24) that is disposed between the light-receiving pixels (PD) corresponding to between the color filters (43) having a same color (red) adjacent in the first direction (X-direction) or the second direction, and has a light-shielding property; and
a second inter-pixel light-shielding wall (2nd 24) that is disposed between the light-receiving pixels (PD) corresponding to between the color filters (43) having different colors (red/green) adjacent in the first direction (X-direction) or the second direction, and has a light-shielding property (Fig, 4 and English Text)
YAMASHITA K discloses the features of the claimed invention as discussed above, but does not disclose the second inter-pixel light-shielding wall has a light-shielding property higher than the light-shielding property of the first inter-pixel light-shielding wall.
YAMASHITA K, however, discloses the light-shielding wall 24 is made of a material having a light-shielding property such as various metals (tungsten, aluminum, silver, copper and alloys (Fig. 4 and English Text).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date was made to provide the second inter-pixel light-shielding wall has a light-shielding property higher than the light-shielding property of the first inter-pixel light-shielding wall, since it has been held within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 18, YAMASHITA K discloses wherein a length in the first direction (X-direction) or the second direction of the second inter-pixel light-shielding wall (2nd 24) is longer than a length in the first direction (X-direction) or the second direction of the first inter-pixel light- shielding wall (1st 24) (Fig. 24 and English Text).
Allowable Subject Matter
10. The following is a statement of reason for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 10, (WO-2019/124562) discloses a solid-state imaging device comprising:
a plurality of light-receiving pixels (50G/50B/50R) arranged in a first direction and a second direction intersecting with the first direction (in array);
a first color filter (107G) that is disposed over a plurality of the light-receiving pixels (50G/50B/50R) arranged in the first direction (in an array), and has a first color (green);
a second color filter (107B) that is disposed over a plurality of the light-receiving pixels (50G/50B/50R) arranged in the first direction (X-direction in an array), and has a second color (blue) different from the first color (green) (Fig. 23 and English Text).
ITO M, however, does not disclose, teach, or otherwise suggest a feature of “a fourth inter-waveguide light-shielding wall that is disposed between the first color filters adjacent in the second direction, and has a light-shielding property; a fifth inter-waveguide light-shielding wall that is disposed between the first color filter and the second color filter adjacent in the second direction, and has a light-shielding property; and a first inter-waveguide light-shielding wall that is disposed between the first color filters adjacent in the first direction or between the second color filters adjacent in the first direction, has a light-shielding property, and has a length in the first direction that is longer than a length in the second direction of the fourth inter-waveguide light-shielding wall or the fifth inter-waveguide light-shielding wall” as cited in the independent claim 10.
Regarding claim 11, ITO M (WO-2019/124562) discloses a solid-state imaging device comprising:
a plurality of light-receiving pixels (50G/50B/50R) arranged in a first direction and a second direction intersecting with the first direction (in array);
a first color filter (107G) that is disposed over a plurality of the light-receiving pixels (50G/50B/50R) arranged in the first direction (in an array), and has a first color (green);
a second color filter (107B) that is disposed over a plurality of the light-receiving pixels (50G/50B/50R) arranged in the first direction (X-direction in an array), and has a second color (blue) different from the first color (green);
a lens that is disposed on each of the first color filter and the second color filter and protrudes and curves on side opposite to the light-receiving pixel (Fig. 23 and English Text).
FELDMAN M (WO-2005072370-A2) discloses the number of micro-lenses (42) may be different in the X-direction than Y-direction (Figs. 4-5 and English Text).
It would have been an obvious matter of the design choice to provide the lens has a small aspect ratio in the second direction to the first direction as suggested by FELDMAN M, since it has been held within the general skill of a worker in the art to select any number of lens on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
ITO M and FELDMAN M, however, either alone or together in any combination, do not disclose, teach, or otherwise suggest a feature of “a sixth inter-waveguide light-shielding wall that is disposed each between the first color filters adjacent in the first direction and between the first color filter and the second color filter adjacent in the first direction, and has a light-shielding property; and a seventh inter-waveguide light-shielding wall that is disposed at least one of between the first color filters adjacent in the second direction or between the first color filter and the second color filter adjacent in the second direction, and has a light-shielding property higher than the light-shielding property of the sixth inter-waveguide light-shielding wall” as cited in the independent claim 11.
Claims 12-16 are directly or indirectly depend on the independent claim 11, then, they are also being allowed.
Claims 2-3, 5-9 and 19-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Cited Prior Arts
11. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
NISHIKIDO K (WO-202009432-A1) discloses a color filter 151 is an optical filter that transmits light having a predetermined wavelength of incident light. The color filter 151 is arranged for each pixel 100. As the color filter 151, for example, a color filter 151 that transmits any of red light, green light, and blue light can be used. The light shielding film 152 is a film that shields incident light. The light shielding film 152 is arranged at the boundary between the pixels 100 and blocks light transmitted through the color filters 151 of the adjacent pixels 100 (Fig. 4 and English Text).
Conclusion
/PHUC T DANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897