CTNF 18/719,188 CTNF 80691 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. DETAILED ACTION The IDS has been considered by the examiner. The specification and drawings have been accepted by the examiner. 07-30-03-h AIA CLAIM INTERPRETATION 07-30-03 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(f): (f) Element in Claim for a Combination. – An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. The following is a quotation of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. 07-30-05 The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked. As explained in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the following three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: (A) the claim limitation uses the term “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function; (B) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that”; and (C) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. Use of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim with functional language creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites sufficient structure, material, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Absence of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is not to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites function without reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Claim limitations in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-7, 9, 15-16, 24-30 and 32-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ganesan ( WO 2021/240478, IDS document submitted 06/12/2024, hereinafter Ganesan) in view of LIU ( US 2022/0053289) . Referring to claim 1 , Ganesan discloses a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE) (FIG. 2, FIG. 4, FIG. 13-14, Par. 40, “the remote units 102 may be referred to as subscriber units, mobiles, mobile stations, users, terminals, mobile terminals, fixed terminals, subscriber stations, UE, user terminals”, note that figure 2 shows remote terminal and paragraph 40 defines the remote terminal as a UE. Further, figures 4 and 13-14 describe the method performed by the UE), comprising: receiving indications of positioning resources of a positioning resource pool ( FIG. 8, FIG. 13, step 1302 and Par. 67, “ Receive Configuration Information … For a Resource Pool for a Positioning reference signal ”, “a LMF may signal a SL PRS configuration to a TX UE via unicast or broadcast SL assistance data. In such embodiments, the SL assistance data may include a mapping of positioning accuracy and latency to priority and remaining packet delay budget (“PDB”), SL PRS transmission occasions per resource pool, a number of subchannels of SL PRS transmission per resource pool”, note that the Configuration Information received by the UE is for positioning reference signal (PRS) from a Resource Pool ), wherein the positioning resource pool includes a first positioning resource window having a first set of one or more contiguous positioning resources ( FIG. 8, Par. 108, “ a first PRS occasion 804”, “ first PRS occasion 804 may use a first beam 820”, note that the first PRS (Positioning Reference Signal) occasion is the timing window 804 and is equivalent to a first positioning resource window, and it has a first set of one or more contiguous positioning resources. In this case, each positioning reference window has five contiguous positioning resources ), a second positioning resource window having a second set of one or more contiguous positioning resources ( FIG. 8, Par. 108, “ a second PRS occasion 806”, “ the second PRS occasion 806 may use a second beam 822”, note that the second PRS (Positioning Reference Signal) occasion is the timing window 806 and is equivalent to the second positioning resource window, and it has a first set of five contiguous positioning resources ), and a third positioning resource window having a third set of one or more contiguous positioning resources ( FIG. 8, Par. 108, “ third PRS occasion 808 ”, “the third PRS occasion 808 may use a third beam 824”, note that the third PRS (Positioning Reference Signal) occasion is the timing window 806 and is equivalent to the third positioning resource window, and it has a first set of five contiguous positioning resources, which reads on or more contiguous position resources ) extending between an end of the first positioning resource window and a start of the second positioning resource window ( FIG. 8, Par. 108, “Figure 8 is a timing diagram 800 illustrating … of PRS transmission occasions. The timing diagram 800 is illustrated overtime 802, and includes a first PRS occasion 804, a second PRS occasion 806, a third PRS occasion 808, a fourth PRS occasion 810, a fifth PRS occasion 812, a sixth PRS occasion 814, a seventh PRS occasion 816, and an eighth PRS occasion 818”, note that the positioning resource windows are extended contiguously between an end of a first positioning resource window and a start of the second positioning resource window. There are eight contiguous positioning resource windows ( PRS occasion) each having a set of one or more (e.g., five) contiguous positioning resources ); transmitting positioning reference signals (PRS) (FIG. 14, step 1404, Par. 7, “Transmit a sidelink positioning”, “apparatus includes a transmitter that transmits a sidelink positioning report from the user equipment”. Par. 75, 103, “UE A 404 transmits a SL PRS transmission”, “UE A 704 transmits a SL PRS transmission to the SL UE B”) on a positioning resource reserved from the first positioning resource window ( FIG. 8, Par. 108, “The timing diagram 800 is illustrated overtime 802, and includes a first PRS occasion 804, a second PRS occasion 806, a third PRS occasion 808, a fourth PRS occasion 810, a fifth PRS occasion 812, a sixth PRS occasion 814, a seventh PRS occasion 816, and an eighth PRS occasion 818”, note that the positioning resource windows are intervals of time to be used for PRS transmission for the UE, thus, when the UE transmits PRS, it does so during the PRS occasions reserved for positioning reference windows. Further, note that the UE can also send other PRS signals from the second and third through eight reserved windows ). Ganesan is not relied on for disclosing the limitation: transmitting a first positioning reference on a positioning resource reserved from the first positioning resource and transmitting a second PRS from the second positioning resource window. In an analogous art, LIU discloses transmitting a first positioning reference on a positioning resource reserved from the first positioning resource and transmitting a second PRS from the second positioning resource window (Par. 10 and Par. 152, “transmitting a first positioning reference signal on a first time-frequency resource block”, “transmitting a second positioning reference signal on a second time-frequency resource block, and transmitting a first information set”, note that transmitting the first positioning reference signal is on the first time-frequency resource block and the second positioning reference signal is on the second time-frequency resource block. Further note that a time-frequency block is resource block or a resource time window that gets assigned for task of transmitting PRS, thus, the each of the first PRS and second PRS is transmitted in the first positioning resource window and the second positioning resource window). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention , to modify the invention of Ganesan by incorporating the teachings of LIU so that both PRS signals are communicated by the UE, as needed, from each specific allocated pool they each group of beams can be assigned their own PRS occasions, for the purpose of structuring the PRS resources efficiently. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143. Referring to claim 2, the combination of Ganesan/LIU discloses the method of claim 1, wherein: the indications of positioning resources are received from a location server, a base station, or combination thereof ( Ganesan, FIG. 8, FIG. 13, step 1302 and Par. 67, “a LMF may signal a SL PRS configuration to a TX UE via unicast or broadcast SL assistance data. In such embodiments, the SL assistance data may include a mapping of positioning accuracy and latency to priority and remaining packet delay budget (“PDB”), SL PRS transmission occasions per resource pool, a number of subchannels of SL PRS transmission per resource pool”. Note that positioning resources are received from LMF which is equivalent to a location server). Referring to claim 3, the combination of Ganesan/LIU discloses the method of claim 1, wherein: the indications of positioning resources are received in configuration information ( Ganesan, “receiver 312 may receive configuration information”, note the UE receives configuration information that includes positioning resources). Referring to claim 4, the combination of Ganesan/LIU discloses the method of claim 1, wherein: the UE is an anchor UE; and the first set of one or more contiguous positioning resources and the second set of one or more contiguous positioning resources are anchor positioning resources (Ganesan, Par. 147, 167, 108, “an anchor user equipment’s positioning information,”, “ a report configuration, source- destination identifier information for sidelink positioning reference signal transmission, a source-destination group identifier, a minimum communication range, and/or an anchor user equipment’s positioning information”). Referring to claim 5, the combination of Ganesan/LIU discloses the method of claim 2, wherein: the third set of one or more contiguous positioning resources are target positioning resources (Ganesan, Par. 60, 65, 108, “ non-Anchor UEs (e.g., UEs with unknown position and/or location information)”, “In such embodiments, anchor and non-anchor members for SL PRS transmission”, “diagram 800 illustrating … of PRS transmission occasions ”, note that non-anchor UE is equivalent to target UE and one skilled in the art would recognize that contiguous positioning resources are anchor UEs and non-anchor UEs, and the non-anchor UEs can interpreted as the target UEs, thus, the third set of one or more contiguous positioning resources are for target positioning resources). Referring to claim 6, the combination of Ganesan/LIU discloses the method of claim 1, wherein: the UE is a target UE; and the first set of one or more contiguous positioning resources and the second set of one or more contiguous positioning resources are target positioning resources (Ganesan, Par. 60, 65, 108, “In some embodiments, there may be non-Anchor UEs (e.g., UEs with unknown position and/or location information)”, “In such embodiments, anchor and non-anchor members for SL PRS transmission”, “diagram 800 illustrating … of PRS transmission occasions. The timing diagram 800 is illustrated overtime 802, and includes a first PRS occasion 804, a second PRS occasion 806, a third PRS occasion 808, a fourth PRS occasion 810, a fifth PRS occasion 812, a sixth PRS occasion 814, a seventh PRS occasion 816, and an eighth PRS occasion 818 ”, note that non-anchor UE is equivalent to target UE and one skilled in the art would recognize that the the one or more first contiguous positioning resources and the second set of one or more contiguous positioning resources of figure 8 can be applied to a target positioning resources of a target UE using the same technique for an anchor UE ). Referring to claim 7, the combination of Ganesan/LIU discloses the method of claim 6, wherein: the third set of one or more contiguous positioning resources are anchor positioning resources (Ganesan, Par. 60, 65, 108, “ non-Anchor UEs (e.g., UEs with unknown position and/or location information)”, “In such embodiments, anchor and non-anchor members for SL PRS transmission”, “diagram 800 illustrating … of PRS transmission occasions ”, note that non-anchor UE is equivalent to target UE and one skilled in the art would recognize that contiguous positioning resources are anchor UEs and non-anchor UEs, and the non-anchor UEs can interpreted as the target UEs, thus, the third set of one or more contiguous positioning resurces are anchor positioning resources). Referring to claim 9, the combination of Ganesan/LIU discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: reserving a third positioning resource from the third positioning resource window for transmission of a third PRS by a further UE (Ganesan, FIG. 8, Par. 108, “ third PRS occasion 808 ”, “the third PRS occasion 808 may use a third beam 824”, note that the third PRS (Positioning Reference Signal) occasion is the timing window 806 and is equivalent to the third positioning resource window, and it has a first set of five contiguous positioning resources, which reads on or more contiguous position resources ). Referring to claim 15, the combination of Ganesan/LIU discloses the method of claim 1, wherein: the first set of one or more contiguous positioning resources are at a start of the positioning resource pool; and the second set of one or more contiguous positioning resources are at an end of the positioning resource pool (Ganesan, FIG. 8, Par. 108, “PRS transmission occasions”, “a first PRS occasion 804, a second PRS occasion 806, a third PRS occasion 808, a fourth PRS occasion 810, a fifth PRS occasion 812, a sixth PRS occasion 814, a seventh PRS occasion 816, and an eighth PRS occasion 818”, note that the positioning resource windows are extended contiguously between an end of a first positioning resource window and a start of the second positioning resource window. There are eight contiguous positioning resource windows ( PRS occasion) each having a set of one or more (e.g., five) contiguous positioning resources ). Referring to claim 16, the combination of Ganesan/LIU discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first set of one or more contiguous positioning resources, the second set of one or more contiguous positioning resources, and the third set of one or more contiguous positioning resources have bandwidths spanning multiple sub-channels of the positioning resource pool (Ganesan, FIG. 8, Par. 108, “Figure 8 is a timing diagram 800 illustrating … of PRS transmission occasions. The timing diagram 800 is illustrated overtime 802, and includes a first PRS occasion 804, a second PRS occasion 806, a third PRS occasion 808”, note that each block of PRS transmission occasion is time-frequecy block, thus, each is assigned bandwidths spanning multiple sub-channels of the positioning resource pool). Referring to claim 24 , Ganesan discloses a user equipment (UE) (FIG. 2, FIG. 4, FIG. 13-14, Par. 40, “ UE ”, “the remote units 102 may be referred to as subscriber units, mobiles, mobile stations, users, terminals, mobile terminals, fixed terminals, subscriber stations, UE, user terminals”, note that figure 2 shows remote terminal and paragraph 40 defines the remote terminal as a UE . Further, figures 4 and 13-14 describe the method performed by the UE), comprising: a memory; at least one transceiver; and at least one processor communicatively coupled to the memory and the at least one transceiver (FIG. 2, FIG. 4, “Processor 202”, “Memory 204”, “Transmitter 210”, “Receiver 212”), the at least one processor configured to: receiving indications of positioning resources of a positioning resource pool ( FIG. 8, FIG. 13, step 1302 and Par. 67, “ Receive Configuration Information … For a Resource Pool for a Positioning reference signal ”, “a LMF may signal a SL PRS configuration to a TX UE via unicast or broadcast SL assistance data. In such embodiments, the SL assistance data may include a mapping of positioning accuracy and latency to priority and remaining packet delay budget (“PDB”), SL PRS transmission occasions per resource pool, a number of subchannels of SL PRS transmission per resource pool”, note that the Configuration Information received by the UE is for positioning reference signal (PRS) from a Resource Pool ), wherein the positioning resource pool includes a first positioning resource window having a first set of one or more contiguous positioning resources ( FIG. 8, Par. 108, “ a first PRS occasion 804”, “ first PRS occasion 804 may use a first beam 820”, note that the first PRS (Positioning Reference Signal) occasion is the timing window 804 and is equivalent to a first positioning resource window, and it has a first set of one or more contiguous positioning resources. In this case, each positioning reference window has five contiguous positioning resources ), a second positioning resource window having a second set of one or more contiguous positioning resources ( FIG. 8, Par. 108, “ a second PRS occasion 806”, “ the second PRS occasion 806 may use a second beam 822”, note that the second PRS (Positioning Reference Signal) occasion is the timing window 806 and is equivalent to the second positioning resource window, and it has a first set of five contiguous positioning resources ), and a third positioning resource window having a third set of one or more contiguous positioning resources ( FIG. 8, Par. 108, “ third PRS occasion 808 ”, “the third PRS occasion 808 may use a third beam 824”, note that the third PRS (Positioning Reference Signal) occasion is the timing window 806 and is equivalent to the third positioning resource window, and it has a first set of five contiguous positioning resources, which reads on or more contiguous position resources ) extending between an end of the first positioning resource window and a start of the second positioning resource window ( FIG. 8, Par. 108, “Figure 8 is a timing diagram 800 illustrating … of PRS transmission occasions. The timing diagram 800 is illustrated overtime 802, and includes a first PRS occasion 804, a second PRS occasion 806, a third PRS occasion 808, a fourth PRS occasion 810, a fifth PRS occasion 812, a sixth PRS occasion 814, a seventh PRS occasion 816, and an eighth PRS occasion 818”, note that the positioning resource windows are extended contiguously between an end of a first positioning resource window and a start of the second positioning resource window. There are eight contiguous positioning resource windows ( PRS occasion) each having a set of one or more (e.g., five) contiguous positioning resources ); transmitting positioning reference signals (PRS) (FIG. 14, step 1404, Par. 7, “Transmit a sidelink positioning”, “apparatus includes a transmitter that transmits a sidelink positioning report from the user equipment”. Par. 75, 103, “UE A 404 transmits a SL PRS transmission”, “UE A 704 transmits a SL PRS transmission to the SL UE B”) on a positioning resource reserved from the first positioning resource window ( FIG. 8, Par. 108, “The timing diagram 800 is illustrated overtime 802, and includes a first PRS occasion 804, a second PRS occasion 806, a third PRS occasion 808, a fourth PRS occasion 810, a fifth PRS occasion 812, a sixth PRS occasion 814, a seventh PRS occasion 816, and an eighth PRS occasion 818”, note that the positioning resource windows are intervals of time to be used for PRS transmission for the UE, thus, when the UE transmits PRS, it does so during the PRS occasions reserved for positioning reference windows. Further, note that the UE can also send other PRS signals from the second and third through eight reserved windows ). Ganesan is not relied on for disclosing the limitation: transmitting a first positioning reference on a positioning resource reserved from the first positioning resource and transmitting a second PRS from the second positioning resource window. In an analogous art, LIU discloses transmitting a first positioning reference on a positioning resource reserved from the first positioning resource and transmitting a second PRS from the second positioning resource window (Par. 10 and Par. 152, “transmitting a first positioning reference signal on a first time-frequency resource block”, “transmitting a second positioning reference signal on a second time-frequency resource block, and transmitting a first information set”, note that transmitting the first positioning reference signal is on the first time-frequency resource block and the second positioning reference signal is on the second time-frequency resource block. Further note that a time-frequency block is resource block or a resource time window that gets assigned for task of transmitting PRS, thus, the each of the first PRS and second PRS is transmitted in the first positioning resource window and the second positioning resource window). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention , to modify the invention of Ganesan by incorporating the teachings of LIU so that both PRS signals are communicated by the UE, as needed, from each specific allocated pool they each group of beams can be assigned their own PRS occasions, for the purpose of structuring the PRS resources efficiently. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143. Referring to claim 25, the combination of Ganesan/LIU discloses the method of claim 24, wherein: the indications of positioning resources are received from a location server, a base station, or combination thereof ( Ganesan, FIG. 8, FIG. 13, step 1302 and Par. 67, “a LMF may signal a SL PRS configuration to a TX UE via unicast or broadcast SL assistance data. In such embodiments, the SL assistance data may include a mapping of positioning accuracy and latency to priority and remaining packet delay budget (“PDB”), SL PRS transmission occasions per resource pool, a number of subchannels of SL PRS transmission per resource pool”. Note that positioning resources are received from LMF which is equivalent to a location server). Referring to claim 26, the combination of Ganesan/LIU discloses the method of claim 24, wherein the indications of positioning resources are received in configuration information ( Ganesan, “receiver 312 may receive configuration information”, note the UE receives configuration information that includes positioning resources). Referring to claim 27, the combination of Ganesan/LIU discloses the method of claim 24, wherein the UE is an anchor UE; and the first set of one or more contiguous positioning resources and the second set of one or more contiguous positioning resources are anchor positioning resources (Ganesan, Par. 147, 167, 108, “an anchor user equipment’s positioning information,”, “ a report configuration, source-destination identifier information for sidelink positioning reference signal transmission, a source-destination group identifier, a minimum communication range, and/or an anchor user equipment’s positioning information”). Referring to claim 28, the combination of Ganesan/LIU discloses the method of claim UE of claim 24, wherein the third set of one or more contiguous positioning resources are target positioning resources (Ganesan, Par. 60, 65, 108, “ non-Anchor UEs (e.g., UEs with unknown position and/or location information)”, “In such embodiments, anchor and non-anchor members for SL PRS transmission”, “diagram 800 illustrating … of PRS transmission occasions ”, note that non-anchor UE is equivalent to target UE and one skilled in the art would recognize that contiguous positioning resources are anchor UEs and non-anchor UEs, and the non-anchor UEs can interpreted as the target UEs, thus, the third set of one or more contiguous positioning resources are for target positioning resources). Claims 29-30 and 32 recite features analogous to the features of claims 6-7 and 9 respectively, thus, they are rejected for the same reasons as set forth above. Referring to claim 33 , Ganesan discloses user equipment (UE) FIG. 2, FIG. 4, FIG. 13-14, Par. 40, “the remote units 102 may be referred to as subscriber units, mobiles, mobile stations, users, terminals, mobile terminals, fixed terminals, subscriber stations, UE, user terminals”, note that figure 2 shows remote terminal and paragraph 40 defines the remote terminal as a UE. Further, figures 4 and 13-14 describe the method performed by the UE), comprising: means for receiving indications of positioning resources of a positioning resource pool ( FIG. 8, FIG. 13, step 1302 and Par. 67, “ Receive Configuration Information … For a Resource Pool for a Positioning reference signal ”, “a LMF may signal a SL PRS configuration to a TX UE via unicast or broadcast SL assistance data. In such embodiments, the SL assistance data may include a mapping of positioning accuracy and latency to priority and remaining packet delay budget (“PDB”), SL PRS transmission occasions per resource pool, a number of subchannels of SL PRS transmission per resource pool”, note that the Configuration Information received by the UE is for positioning reference signal (PRS) from a Resource Pool ), wherein the positioning resource pool includes a first positioning resource window having a first set of one or more contiguous positioning resources ( FIG. 8, Par. 108, “ a first PRS occasion 804”, “ first PRS occasion 804 may use a first beam 820”, note that the first PRS (Positioning Reference Signal) occasion is the timing window 804 and is equivalent to a first positioning resource window, and it has a first set of one or more contiguous positioning resources. In this case, each positioning reference window has five contiguous positioning resources ), a second positioning resource window having a second set of one or more contiguous positioning resources ( FIG. 8, Par. 108, “ a second PRS occasion 806”, “ the second PRS occasion 806 may use a second beam 822”, note that the second PRS (Positioning Reference Signal) occasion is the timing window 806 and is equivalent to the second positioning resource window, and it has a first set of five contiguous positioning resources ), and a third positioning resource window having a third set of one or more contiguous positioning resources ( FIG. 8, Par. 108, “ third PRS occasion 808 ”, “the third PRS occasion 808 may use a third beam 824”, note that the third PRS (Positioning Reference Signal) occasion is the timing window 806 and is equivalent to the third positioning resource window, and it has a first set of five contiguous positioning resources, which reads on or more contiguous position resources ) extending between an end of the first positioning resource window and a start of the second positioning resource window ( FIG. 8, Par. 108, “Figure 8 is a timing diagram 800 illustrating … of PRS transmission occasions. The timing diagram 800 is illustrated overtime 802, and includes a first PRS occasion 804, a second PRS occasion 806, a third PRS occasion 808, a fourth PRS occasion 810, a fifth PRS occasion 812, a sixth PRS occasion 814, a seventh PRS occasion 816, and an eighth PRS occasion 818”, note that the positioning resource windows are extended contiguously between an end of a first positioning resource window and a start of the second positioning resource window. There are eight contiguous positioning resource windows ( PRS occasion) each having a set of one or more (e.g., five) contiguous positioning resources ); means for transmitting positioning reference signals (PRS) (FIG. 14, step 1404, Par. 7, “Transmit a sidelink positioning”, “apparatus includes a transmitter that transmits a sidelink positioning report from the user equipment”. Par. 75, 103, “UE A 404 transmits a SL PRS transmission”, “UE A 704 transmits a SL PRS transmission to the SL UE B”) on a positioning resource reserved from the first positioning resource window ( FIG. 8, Par. 108, “The timing diagram 800 is illustrated overtime 802, and includes a first PRS occasion 804, a second PRS occasion 806, a third PRS occasion 808, a fourth PRS occasion 810, a fifth PRS occasion 812, a sixth PRS occasion 814, a seventh PRS occasion 816, and an eighth PRS occasion 818”, note that the positioning resource windows are intervals of time to be used for PRS transmission for the UE, thus, when the UE transmits PRS, it does so during the PRS occasions reserved for positioning reference windows. Further, note that the UE can also send other PRS signals from the second and third through eight reserved windows ). Ganesan is not relied on for disclosing the limitation: means for transmitting a first positioning reference on a positioning resource reserved from the first positioning resource and means for transmitting a second PRS from the second positioning resource window. In an analogous art, LIU discloses means for transmitting a first positioning reference on a positioning resource reserved from the first positioning resource and means for transmitting a second PRS from the second positioning resource window (Par. 10 and Par. 152, “transmitting a first positioning reference signal on a first time-frequency resource block”, “transmitting a second positioning reference signal on a second time-frequency resource block, and transmitting a first information set”, note that transmitting the first positioning reference signal is on the first time-frequency resource block and the second positioning reference signal is on the second time-frequency resource block. Further note that a time-frequency block is resource block or a resource time window that gets assigned for task of transmitting PRS, thus, the each of the first PRS and second PRS is transmitted in the first positioning resource window and the second positioning resource window). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention , to modify the invention of Ganesan by incorporating the teachings of LIU so that both PRS signals are communicated by the UE, as needed, from each specific allocated pool they each group of beams can be assigned their own PRS occasions, for the purpose of structuring the PRS resources efficiently. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143. Referring to claim 34 , Ganesan discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer-executable instructions (FIG. 2, FIG. 4, FIG. 13-14, Par. 40, “ UE ”, “the remote units 102 may be referred to as subscriber units, mobiles, mobile stations”, note that figure 2 shows remote terminal and paragraph 40 defines the remote terminal as a UE , and FIG. 2, describes “Processor 202”, “Memory 204”, “Transmitter 210”, “Receiver 212”, which read on the non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer-executable instructions -) that, when executed by a user equipment (UE), cause the UE to: receive indications of positioning resources of a positioning resource pool ( FIG. 8, FIG. 13, step 1302 and Par. 67, “ Receive Configuration Information … For a Resource Pool for a Positioning reference signal ”, “a LMF may signal a SL PRS configuration to a TX UE via unicast or broadcast SL assistance data. In such embodiments, the SL assistance data may include a mapping of positioning accuracy and latency to priority and remaining packet delay budget (“PDB”), SL PRS transmission occasions per resource pool, a number of subchannels of SL PRS transmission per resource pool”, note that the Configuration Information received by the UE is for positioning reference signal (PRS) from a Resource Pool ), wherein the positioning resource pool includes a first positioning resource window having a first set of one or more contiguous positioning resources ( FIG. 8, Par. 108, “ a first PRS occasion 804”, “ first PRS occasion 804 may use a first beam 820”, note that the first PRS (Positioning Reference Signal) occasion is the timing window 804 and is equivalent to a first positioning resource window, and it has a first set of one or more contiguous positioning resources. In this case, each positioning reference window has five contiguous positioning resources ), a second positioning resource window having a second set of one or more contiguous positioning resources ( FIG. 8, Par. 108, “ a second PRS occasion 806”, “ the second PRS occasion 806 may use a second beam 822”, note that the second PRS (Positioning Reference Signal) occasion is the timing window 806 and is equivalent to the second positioning resource window, and it has a first set of five contiguous positioning resources ), and a third positioning resource window having a third set of one or more contiguous positioning resources ( FIG. 8, Par. 108, “ third PRS occasion 808 ”, “the third PRS occasion 808 may use a third beam 824”, note that the third PRS (Positioning Reference Signal) occasion is the timing window 806 and is equivalent to the third positioning resource window, and it has a first set of five contiguous positioning resources, which reads on or more contiguous position resources ) extending between an end of the first positioning resource window and a start of the second positioning resource window ( FIG. 8, Par. 108, “Figure 8 is a timing diagram 800 illustrating … of PRS transmission occasions. The timing diagram 800 is illustrated overtime 802, and includes a first PRS occasion 804, a second PRS occasion 806, a third PRS occasion 808, a fourth PRS occasion 810, a fifth PRS occasion 812, a sixth PRS occasion 814, a seventh PRS occasion 816, and an eighth PRS occasion 818”, note that the positioning resource windows are extended contiguously between an end of a first positioning resource window and a start of the second positioning resource window. There are eight contiguous positioning resource windows ( PRS occasion) each having a set of one or more (e.g., five) contiguous positioning resources ); transmit positioning reference signals (PRS) (FIG. 14, step 1404, Par. 7, “Transmit a sidelink positioning”, “apparatus includes a transmitter that transmits a sidelink positioning report from the user equipment”. Par. 75, 103, “UE A 404 transmits a SL PRS transmission”, “UE A 704 transmits a SL PRS transmission to the SL UE B”) on a positioning resource reserved from the first positioning resource window ( FIG. 8, Par. 108, “The timing diagram 800 is illustrated overtime 802, and includes a first PRS occasion 804, a second PRS occasion 806, a third PRS occasion 808, a fourth PRS occasion 810, a fifth PRS occasion 812, a sixth PRS occasion 814, a seventh PRS occasion 816, and an eighth PRS occasion 818”, note that the positioning resource windows are intervals of time to be used for PRS transmission for the UE, thus, when the UE transmits PRS, it does so during the PRS occasions reserved for positioning reference windows. Further, note that the UE can also send other PRS signals from the second and third through eight reserved windows ). Ganesan is not relied on for disclosing the limitation: transmitting a first positioning reference on a positioning resource reserved from the first positioning resource and transmitting a second PRS from the second positioning resource window. In an analogous art, LIU discloses (Par. 10 and Par. 152, “transmitting a first positioning reference signal on a first time-frequency resource block”, “transmitting a second positioning reference signal on a second time-frequency resource block, and transmitting a first information set”, note that transmitting the first positioning reference signal is on the first time-frequency resource block and the second positioning reference signal is on the second time-frequency resource block. Further note that a time-frequency block is resource block or a resource time window that gets assigned for task of transmitting PRS, thus, the each of the first PRS and second PRS is transmitted in the first positioning resource window and the second positioning resource window). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention , to modify the invention of Ganesan by incorporating the teachings of LIU so that both PRS signals are communicated by the UE, as needed, from each specific allocated pool they each group of beams can be assigned their own PRS occasions, for the purpose of structuring the PRS resources efficiently. Further, this an example of use of known technique to improve similar devices, methods or products in the same way. MPEP 2143 . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim (s) 8, 10-14, 17-23 and 31 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is the examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Regarding claims 8 and 31: The prior art fails to disclose or suggest the limitations “reserving the first positioning resource and the second positioning resource based on a duration of time between the first positioning resource and the second positioning resource being greater than a minimum time threshold”, along with the other limitations of the intermediate and/or base claims. Regarding claims 10: The prior art fails to disclose or suggest the limitations “reserving the third positioning resource based on the third positioning resource being spaced from the first positioning resource by a first time interval and from the second positioning resource by a second time interval, wherein a difference between a duration of the first time interval and a duration of the second time interval is less than a differential threshold time value”, along with the other limitations of the intermediate and/or base claims. Regarding claim 11: The prior art fails to disclose or suggest the limitations “the UE is an anchor UE; the first positioning resource and the second positioning resource are anchor positioning resources; and the further UE is a further anchor UE”, along with the other limitations of the intermediate and/or base claims. Regarding claim 12: The prior art fails to disclose or suggest the limitations “the UE is a target UE; the first positioning resource and the second positioning resource are target positioning resources; and 67 the further UE is an anchor UE”, along with the other limitations of the intermediate and/or base claims. Regarding claim 13: The prior art fails to disclose or suggest the limitations “ positioning resource pool occurs on a periodic basis within a sidelink resource pool, along with the other limitations of the intermediate and/or base claims Regarding claim 14: The prior art fails to disclose or suggest the limitations “ first positioning resource window has a first window time duration; the third positioning resource window has a second window time duration; and the first window time duration and the second window time duration are configured separately from a periodicity of the positioning resource pool within the sidelink resource pool, along with the other limitations of the intermediate and/or base claims Regarding claim 17: The prior art fails to disclose or suggest the limitations “wherein the UE is an anchor UE; and at least one slot of one or both of the first set of one or more contiguous positioning resources and the second set of one or more contiguous positioning resources have a slot format including an instance of a PRS symbol immediately followed by a gap having a length of one or more symbol intervals in which no symbols are transmitted”, along with the other limitations of the intermediate and/or base claims. Regarding claim 18: Claim 18 depends on allowable subject matter of claims 17, thus, allowable for being dependent upon an allowable claim. Regarding claim 19: The prior art fails to disclose or suggest the limitations “ the first positioning resource corresponds to a first slot occurring after a first time offset from a start of the first positioning resource window”, along with the other limitations of the intermediate and/or base claims Regarding claims 20-21: Claims 20-21 depends on allowable subject matter of claims 19, thus, allowable for being dependent upon an allowable claim. Regarding claim 22: The prior art fails to disclose or suggest the limitations “ the positioning resource pool further includes a fourth positioning resource window spaced in time from an end of the second positioning resource window and occurring after the second positioning resource window, and wherein the fourth positioning resource window includes a fourth set of one or more contiguous positioning resources”, along with the other limitations of the intermediate and/or base claims Regarding claim 23: Claim 23 depends on allowable subject matter of claims 22, thus, allowable for being dependent upon an allowable claim. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FRED A CASCA whose telephone number is (571)272-7918. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday through Friday from 9 to 5. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, Applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Kathy Wang-Hurst, can be reached at (571) 270-5371 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). /FRED A CASCA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/719,188 Page 2 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/719,188 Page 3 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/719,188 Page 4 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/719,188 Page 5 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/719,188 Page 6 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/719,188 Page 7 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/719,188 Page 8 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/719,188 Page 9 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/719,188 Page 10 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/719,188 Page 11 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/719,188 Page 12 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/719,188 Page 13 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/719,188 Page 14 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/719,188 Page 15 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/719,188 Page 16 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/719,188 Page 17 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/719,188 Page 18 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/719,188 Page 19 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/719,188 Page 20 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/719,188 Page 21 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/719,188 Page 22 Art Unit: 2644 Application/Control Number: 18/719,188 Page 23 Art Unit: 2644