DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/12/2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it is in excess of 150 words. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “the first part has a circular cross section, and the first part has a quadrangular cross section”, as claimed in claim 2, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). The drawings only show the first part having a quadrangular cross section and the second part having a circular cross section. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "a portion of the second hole is disposed in the second hole" in lines 17-18. It is unclear how the second hole can be disposed in itself.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “the first part has a circular cross section, and the first part has a quadrangular cross section”. It is unclear whether the recited circular cross section is in the second part, as shown in the drawings and described in the specification, or the first part as claimed in claim 2.
Claims 3-6 depend from indefinite claim 1.
Claim 9 recites “a planar cross section” which inherently describes any cross section. It is unclear what structural limitation is intended by this claim language. The specification recites a quadrangular cross section.
Claim 10 depends from indefinite claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KUNII (US 20200274424) in view of KIM (US 20200014286).
Regarding claim 1, KUNII discloses a motor (3) comprising:
a bus bar (21, 22, 23) electrically connected to the coil; and
a bus bar holder (24, 30) configured to support the bus bar (21, 22, 23),
wherein the bus bar (21, 22, 23) includes a bus bar body (22a) connected to the coil (see para [0048]), and an extension part (21,23) bent at the bus bar body (22a),
the extension part (21,23) includes a first part (23) connected to the bus bar body (22a), and a second part (21) extending from the first part (23) (see Fig. 7),
the bus bar holder (24, 30) includes a first hole, and a second hole (31) communicating with the first hole and having a different shape from the first hole (see Fig. 7),
a cross-sectional shape of the first part (23) differs from a cross-sectional shape of the second part (21) (see Fig. 6), and
the first part (23) is disposed in the first hole, a portion of the [first] hole is disposed in the second hole (31), and the remainder of the second part (21) is exposed to the outside of the bus bar holder (24, 30) (see Fig. 7).
However, KUNII does not disclose a shaft; a rotor coupled to the shaft; a stator disposed to correspond to the rotor, wherein the stator includes a stator core, an insulator coupled to the stator core, and a coil disposed on the insulator.
KIM discloses a shaft 10; a rotor 20 coupled to the shaft; a stator 30 disposed to correspond to the rotor, wherein the stator includes a stator core (see para [0050]), an insulator 320 coupled to the stator core, and a coil 50 disposed on the insulator.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the motor of KUNII with the structural elements of a shaft; a rotor coupled to the shaft; a stator disposed to correspond to the rotor, wherein the stator includes a stator core, an insulator coupled to the stator core, and a coil disposed on the insulator, similar to KIM.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to convert electrical energy into mechanical torque, as taught by KIM (see para [0002]).
KUNII
KUNII
Regarding claim 2, KUNII in view of KIM teaches the motor of claim 1, wherein KUNII teaches the [second] part (21) has a circular cross section, and the first part (23) has a quadrangular cross section (see Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 3, KUNII in view of KIM teaches the motor of claim 1, wherein KUNII teaches the first part (23) includes a first area (35) whose size of a cross section decreases toward an end thereof (see Fig. 8), and
the first area (35) is connected to the second part (21).
Regarding claim 4, KUNII in view of KIM teaches the motor of claim 1, wherein KUNII teaches at least a portion of an outer surface of the second part (21) protrudes more than an outer surface of the first part (23) (see Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 5, KUNII in view of KIM teaches the motor of claim 1, wherein KUNII teaches a diameter of the cross section of the second part (21) is greater than a thickness of the first part (23) and smaller than a width of the first part (23) (see annotated Fig. 6, below).
Regarding claim 6, KUNII in view of KIM teaches the motor of claim 1, wherein KUNII teaches the bus bar holder (24, 30) includes a boss (30) protruding from one surface of the bus bar holder (24, 30), and
the first hole and the second hole (31) are each disposed in the boss (30).
Regarding claim 7, KUNII discloses a motor (3) comprising:
a bus bar (21, 22, 23) electrically connected to the coil; and
a bus bar holder (24, 30) configured to support the bus bar (21, 22, 23),
wherein the bus bar (21, 22, 23) includes a first terminal (23) and a second terminal (21) connected to each other,
the first terminal (23) protrudes more than one surface of the bus bar holder (24, 30) and is exposed to the outside (see Fig. 7),
the second terminal (21) protrudes more than a side surface of the bus bar holder (24, 30) and is exposed to the outside (see Fig. 7), and
a cross-sectional shape of the first terminal (23) differs from a cross-sectional shape of the second terminal (21).
However, KUNII does not disclose a shaft; a rotor coupled to the shaft; a stator disposed to correspond to the rotor, wherein the stator includes a stator core, an insulator coupled to the stator core, and a coil disposed on the insulator.
KIM discloses a shaft 10; a rotor 20 coupled to the shaft; a stator 30 disposed to correspond to the rotor, wherein the stator includes a stator core (see para [0050]), an insulator 320 coupled to the stator core, and a coil 50 disposed on the insulator.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the motor of KUNII with the structural elements of a shaft; a rotor coupled to the shaft; a stator disposed to correspond to the rotor, wherein the stator includes a stator core, an insulator coupled to the stator core, and a coil disposed on the insulator, similar to KIM.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to convert electrical energy into mechanical torque, as taught by KIM (see para [0002]).
Regarding claim 8, KUNII in view of KIM teaches the motor of claim 7, wherein KUNII teaches the bus bar holder (24, 30) includes a boss (30) protruding from one surface of the bus bar holder (24, 30), and
the second terminal (21) is exposed upward from an upper surface of the boss (30) (see Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 9, KUNII in view of KIM teaches the motor of claim 7, wherein KUNII teaches the first terminal (23) has a planar [quadrangular] cross section, and the second terminal (21) has a curved cross section (see Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 10, KUNII in view of KIM teaches the motor of claim 9, wherein KUNII teaches a planar surface of the first terminal (23) is a quadrangle, and the second terminal (21) has a circular cross section (see Fig. 6).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US-20100060090-A1 Sakata discloses a bus bar with differing cross sections and a bus bar holder with different shaped holes; US-20150188377-A1 KIM discloses a bus bar with differing cross sections; US-20180262080-A1 KIM discloses a bus bar with differing cross sections and a bus bar holder with different shaped holes; US-20210226501-A1 KAWAMOTO discloses a bus bar with differing cross sections and a bus bar holder with different shaped holes; US-20220320942-A1 KATAOKA discloses a bus bar with differing cross sections and a bus bar holder with different shaped holes; US-20230024874-A1 BRAND discloses a bus bar with differing cross sections to improve sealing.
/JUSTIN STEFANON/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/OLUSEYE IWARERE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834