DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed 04/13/2026 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 36-41, 51-53, and 55-58 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Riemers (6,488,446).
With regard to claim 36, Riemers discloses a method of reducing resistance to movement of a pile relative to soil during installation or removal of the pile underwater (abstract), the method comprising: pumping (via 7) water out of or into an internal chamber of the pile (1), defined in the space between a top plate (4) of the pile, a skirt of the pile and a surface of the soil (fig. 1), to reduce or to increase a level of pressure of water in the chamber relative to ambient pressure of water outside the chamber (col. 4, lines 47-54); and while that pumping is ongoing, imparting additional oscillations in the pressure of the water in the chamber via a pressure variator pump, wherein the pressure variator pump is in fluid communication with the chamber (col. 1, lines 31-39, “pulsating”).
With regard to claim 37, Riemers further discloses employing the oscillations to vibrate a wall of the pile in contact with the soil (fig. 1; col. 1, lines 31-39).
With regard to claim 38, Riemers further discloses employing the oscillations to drive oscillatory vertical movement of the pile relative to the soil (fig. 1).
With regard to claim 39, Riemers further discloses driving the oscillatory vertical movement by cyclically expanding and contracting the chamber in response to the oscillations (fig. 1; col. 1, lines 31-39).
With regard to claim 40, Riemers further discloses employing the oscillations to drive pressure waves through the water in the chamber to impact against soil in the chamber (fig. 1).
With regard to claim 41, Riemers further discloses directing the pressure waves downwardly within the chamber (fig. 1; pump at top).
With regard to claim 51, Riemers further discloses the pressure variator pump pumps the water to reduce or to increase the level of pressure of water in the chamber and the method comprises imparting the oscillations by oscillating flow passing through the pressure variator pump (fig. 1; col. 1, lines 31-39).
With regard to claim 52, Riemers further discloses maintaining pressure within the chamber continuously below the ambient pressure of the water outside the chamber (col. 1, lines 31-39).
With regard to claim 53, Riemers further discloses employing the oscillations to generate a series of pressure pulses within the chamber, each pulse being above the ambient pressure of the water outside the chamber and the pulses being separated by a period in which pressure within the chamber is below that ambient pressure (col. 1, lines 31-39).
With regard to claim 55, Riemers further discloses the oscillations follow a waveform in which pressure varies continuously (col. 1, lines 31-39).
With regard to claim 56, Riemers further discloses the oscillations follow a waveform with step-change transitions (col. 1, lines 31-39, constant pressure that can be increased or decreased).
With regard to claim 57, Riemers further discloses average level of water pressure in the chamber about which the water pressure oscillates (fig. 1; col. 1, lines 31-39).
With regard to claim 58, Riemers further discloses increasing pressure with depth of penetration of the pile into the soil (fig. 1; col. 1, lines 31-39).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 54 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Riemers (6,488,446).
With regard to claim 54, Riemers discloses the invention substantially as claimed however is silent regarding imparting the oscillations with a frequency of from 5Hz to 50Hz. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the oscillations at any frequency to include 5Hz to 50Hz based on the design conditions at hand and an artisan of ordinary skill would have had a reasonable expectation of success since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 42-50 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 59-70 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the cited prior art, either alone or in any reasonable combination, fails to teach or suggest all the limitations of the independent claim(s). Suction piles are known such as those taught by Schakenda et al. (2011/0200399) and Riemers (6,488,446). However, the cited prior art lacks two discrete pumps for pumping within a chamber; one for reducing or increasing a level of pressure and one for imparting oscillations as required by claim(s) and it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the prior art to achieve applicant’s invention without the benefit of hindsight and applicant’s own disclosure.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 04/13/2026 have been considered. Applicant’s arguments are based on new limitations which have been addressed above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BENJAMIN F FIORELLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678
BF
06/22/2026