DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 05/29/2026. Claims 1-12 are pending for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12 June 2024, 12 June 2024, and 19 November 2025 filed in accordance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, it is being considered by the examiner.
Response Amendments/ Arguments
Applicant’s Amendment filed May 29, 2026 has been entered and made of record. Claims 1, 4, 6, 8, 10, 11, and 12 have been amended.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 5-6, filed 05/29/2026 with respect to claim(s) 1, 10, 11, and 12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument Sanchez et al (WO-2021123159-A1) hereinafter “Sanchez”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction
of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status
obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed
invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious
before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art
to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which
the invention was made.
U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
Claims 1-7 and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OH et al. (US-20210005006-A1) hereinafter “OH” in view of Gudumasu et al (US-20230281923-A1) hereinafter “Gudumasu “923” further in view of Sanchez et al (WO-2021123159-A1) hereinafter “Sanchez”.
Regarding Claim 1 OH-Gudumasu-Sanchez
OH discloses 1. A method performed by a reception device of point cloud data (OH, [0015] “….a method of receiving point cloud data in accordance with embodiments may include receiving a bitstream containing point cloud data and metadata, and/or decoding the point cloud data.” ), the method comprising:
obtaining a geometry-based point cloud compression (G-PCC) file (OH, [0368] “The encapsulation or encapsulator in accordance with some embodiments may divide the G-PCC/V-PCC bitstream into one or multiple tracks and store the same in a file, and may also encapsulate signaling information for this operation. In addition, the atlas stream included on the G-PCC/V-PCC bitstream may be stored as a track in the file, and related signaling information may be stored. Furthermore, an SEI message present in the G-PCC/V-PCC bitstream may be stored in a track in the file and related signaling information may be stored.”)
OH does not explicitly disclose
obtaining temporal level number information indicating [[the]] a number of temporal levels in a track and
obtaining sample group information of samples in the track from the G-PCC file based on the temporal level number information,
wherein the sample group information is used for specifying a tele sample group, and wherein the telesample group specifying that there is a plurality of temporal levels in the track.
However, in the same field of endeavor Gudumasu’923 discloses more explicitly the following:
obtaining temporal level number information indicating [[the]] a number of temporal levels in a track (Gudumasu [0298]-[0299]“num_temporal_layers indicates the number of temporal layers present in the samples of the respective track.” Further, “temporal_layer_id indicates a temporal layer identifier of the samples signaled in the respective track.”) and
obtaining sample group information of samples in the track from the G-PCC file based on the temporal level number information, (Gudumasu [0311]-[0312] discloses “the samples of a G-PCC component are grouped based on the temporal level of the sample.” Further “the temporal level sample grouping (‘tele’) provides a codec-independent sample grouping that may be used to group G-PCC samples in a track according to temporal level…” Further “When the ‘tele’ sample group is present in a G-PCC tracks that carry geometry and/or attribute data, the sample with temporal level TemporalId is mapped to the sample group description index TemporalId+1…”)
wherein the sample group information is used for specifying a tele sample group, and wherein the telesample group (Gudumasu, [0311] “the samples of a G-PCC component are grouped based on the temporal level of the sample…. the temporal level sample grouping (‘tele’) provides a codec-independent sample grouping that may be used to group G-PCC samples in a track according to temporal level…” Further, “When the ‘tele’ sample group is present in a G-PCC tracks that carry geometry and/or attribute data, the sample with temporal level TemporalId is mapped to the sample group description index TemporalId+1. The sample group description box signals the sample group descriptions for all the layers signalled….”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of OH in view of Gudumasu to configure the system of OH to obtain sample group information of samples in the track from the G-PCC file based on the temporal level number information, wherein the sample group information, wherein the telesample group is based on the temporal level number information, as taught by Gudumasu to provide codec-independent temporal-level-based sample grouping for “efficient and interoperable storage and transmission of 3D point cloud. (Gudumasu, [0003])
OH- Gudumasu does not explicitly disclose
the temporal level number information specifying that there is a plurality of temporal levels in the track.
However, in the same field of endeavor Sanchez discloses more explicitly the following:
the temporal level number information specifying that there is a plurality of temporal levels in the track. (Sanchez specifically teaches generating an output sub-bitstream based on a target highest Temporalld value (tidTarget), wherein NAL units having a Temporalld less than tidTarget are retained and NAL units having Temporalld values greater tidTarget are removed “Inputs to this process are a bitstream inBitstream, a target OLS index targetOlsIdx, and a target highest Temporalld value tldTarget…. The output sub-bitstream contains at least one VCL NAL unit with nuh layer id equal to each of the nuh layer id values in Layerldln01s [ targetOlsIdx ]…. Remove from outBitstream all NAL units with Temporalld greater than tldTarget….”(see page. 29, line 33 to page 30 line 24) )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of OH in view of Gudumasu and Sanchez to configure the system such that the temporal level number information specifies a plurality of temporal levels in the track. as taught by Sanchez, to provide codec-independent temporal-level-based sample grouping for efficient and interoperable storage and transmission of 3D point cloud. (Gudumasu ,[0003])
Regarding Claim 2 OH-Gudumasu’923-Sanchez
OH-Gudumasu’923-Sanchez discloses 2. The method of claim 1,
wherein the sample group information includes identifier information of the temporal levels. (Gudumasu’923, [0298] “num_temporal_layers indicates the number of temporal layers present in the samples of the respective track.”[0299] “temporal_layer_id indicates a temporal layer identifier of the samples signaled in the respective track.”)
Regarding Claim 3 OH-Gudumasu’923-Sanchez
OH-Gudumasu’923-Sanchez discloses 3. The method of claim 1, wherein the track includes geometry information of the point cloud data. (OH, [0016] “Further, in accordance with embodiments, the point cloud data may include one or more samples carrying geometry data and attribute data.”)
Regarding Claim 4 OH-Gudumasu’923-Sanchez
OH-Gudumasu’923-Sanchez discloses (Currently Amended) 4. The method of claim 1,
wherein, based on the track having a first sample entry type, the temporal level number information Gudumasu’923 [0306],[0366] “The GPCCDecoderConfigurationRecord … may be extended to indicate the number of temporal layers present in the data file. The syntax and semantics of the extended decoder configuration record are shown below… for all the temporal level tracks may advantageously be the same.” Further, “A maximum number of temporal layers present in a data file including the timed-metadata track may be identified in the data file. A geometry tile track may signal at least one temporal layer identifier of G-PCC samples present in the geometry tile track. A samples of a G-PCC component of a geometry tile track may be grouped based on temporal level of each sample.”)
Regarding Claim 5 OH-Gudumasu’923-Sanchez
OH-Gudumasu’923-Sanchez discloses 5. The method of claim 4,
wherein the first sample entry type is at least one of a gpel sample entry type, a gpeg sample entry type, a gpcl sample entry type or a gpcg sample entry type. (Gudumasu’923, [0301] “The sample entry of G-PCC geometry track is as … (‘gpcl’ or ‘gpcg’)…” [0302] “…, a G-PCC track of type ‘gpel’ or ‘gpeg’ may signal…”)
Regarding Claim 6 OH-Gudumasu’923-Sanchez
OH-Gudumasu’923-Sanchez discloses (Currently Amended) 6. The method of claim 1,
wherein, based on the track having a second sample entry type, the temporal number level information Gudumasu’923, [0276],[0277] “…, a GPCCScalabilityl nfoBox box indicates the scalability information present in the data file. When this box is present in a sample entry of tracks representing the main G-PCC data, the box indicates whether the scalability is supported. If scalability is supported, this box provides the maximum number of temporal layers present in the G-PCC data file.” Further, [0277] “a G-PCC tile base track or the main track signals the maximum number of temporal layers present in the G-PCC data file.)
Regarding Claim 7 OH-Gudumasu’923-Sanchez
OH-Gudumasu’923-Sanchez discloses 6.The method of claim 6,
wherein the second sample entry type is at least one of a gpcb sample entry type or a gpeb sample entry type. (Gudumasu’923 [0300] “A sample entry of G-PCC tile base track or G-PCC geometry track may contain the…. (‘gpcb’ or ‘gpeb’)”)
Regarding Claim 9 OH-Gudumasu’923-Sanchez
OH-Gudumasu’923-Sanchez discloses 9. The method of claim 4,
wherein a sample description for temporal levels signaled in the G-PCC decoder configuration record (Gudumasu’923 [0306] “The GPCCDecoderConfigurationRecord … may be extended to indicate the number of temporal layers present in the data file.”) is included in a sample description box (SampleDescriptionBox). (Gudumasu, [0119] “Container: Sample Description Box (‘stsd’)” [0284] “A sample entry describes media samples of a G-PCC component tile track.” [0286] “Container: Sample Description Box (‘stsd’)” [0302] “A GPCCScalabilityInfoBox box may be present in the sample entry to signal the temporal layer identifiers information present in that track. A G-PCC track of type ‘gpe1’ or ‘gpeg’ may signal all the temporal layers present in the data file.”)
Regarding Claim 10 OH-Gudumasu’923-Sanchez
OH discloses (Currently Amended) 10. A method performed by a transmission device of point cloud data, (OH, [0004] “… to provide a point cloud data transmission device, a point cloud data transmission method,…”) the method comprising:
The remaining limitations of independent claim 10 recite features that are substantially similar to those set forth in independent claim 1. Accordingly, the reasoning and analysis provided with respect to claim 1 apply equally to claim 10.
Regarding Claim 11 OH-Gudumasu’923-Sanchez
OH discloses (Currently Amended) 11. A reception device of point cloud data, (OH, [0086] “A point cloud data reception device 10005..”) the reception device comprising:
a memory (OH, [1010] “..a memory..”); and
at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor [1010] “Each of the above-described parts, modules, or units may be a software part, a processor or a hardware part that executes successive procedures stored in a memory (or storage unit).” is configured to:
The remaining limitations of independent claim 11 recite features that are substantially similar to those set forth in independent claim 1. Accordingly, the reasoning and analysis provided with respect to claim 1 apply equally to claim 11.
Regarding Claim 12 OH-Gudumasu’923-Sanchez
OH discloses (Currently Amended) 12. A transmission device of point cloud data, (OH, figure 1, “10000” [0079] “A point cloud data transmission device 10000 in accordance with embodiment may include a point cloud video..” the transmission device comprising:
a memory (OH, Fig, 15 “Memory”); and
at least one processor, wherein the at least one processor (OH, “…FIG. 15, or perform some/all of the operations thereof. Each component of the transmission device may correspond to software, hardware, a processor and/or a combination thereof.”) is configured to:
The remaining limitations of independent claim 12 recite features that are substantially similar to those set forth in independent claim 1. Accordingly, the reasoning and analysis provided with respect to claim 1 apply equally to claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OH-Gudumasu’923-Sanchez in view of GUDUMASU SRINIVAS (WO-2022032161-A1) hereinafter “Gudumasu’161”.
Regarding Claim 8 OH-Gudumasu’923-Sanchez-Gudumasu’161
OH-Gudumasu’923-Sanchez discloses (Currently Amended) 8. The method of claim 1,
OH-Gudumasu’923-Sanchez does not disclose
wherein, based on the tele sample group
However, in the same field of endeavor Gudumasu’161 discloses more explicitly the following:
wherein, based on the tele sample group (Gudumasu’161, [0207] “…, the temporal level sample group 'tele' specified in ISO/IEC 14496- 12 is used to indicate a Temporalld value. When the 'tele' sample group is present in a G-PCC tracks that carry geometry and/or attribute data, the sample with temporal level Temporalld is mapped to the sample group description index Temporalld + 1. The sample group description box signals the sample group descriptions for all the layers signaled …”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the application to modify the teachings of OH-Gudumasu’923-Sanchez with Gudumasu’161 to create the system of OH-Gudumasu’923-Sanchez as outlined above “wherein, based on the sample group information being present in the track, a sample belonging to a temporal level identifier is mapped to a sample group description index, and wherein the sample group description index is equal to the temporal level identifier plus 1.” as suggested by Gudumasu’161
The reasoning is that in order to have “ efficient coding algorithms” (Gudumasu’923 [0004])
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ASTEWAYE GETTU ZEWEDE/Examiner, Art Unit 2481 /WILLIAM C VAUGHN JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2481