DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-6 of U.S. Application 18/719232 filed on June 12, 2024 are presented for examination.
Priority
3. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on June 12, 2024 and May 16, 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
5. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims.
The features of claim 6, lines 2-3 “a cooling medium channel is provided in a vicinity of the exposed portion of the extending portion that is exposed through the insulating resin” are not shown in the drawings.
Therefore, the features must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Taguchi (WO 2015151214, see English Machine Translation attached).
Regarding claim 1, Taguchi teaches (see figs. 1, 2, 5 and 6 below) a stator (10) (Abstract), comprising:
a stator core (11) including a yoke (11a) and a plurality of teeth (11b) (Abstract; page 2);
a plurality of coils (11) that are wound one-to-one onto the plurality of teeth (11b) (pages 2-3);
a busbar (14-17) disposed adjacent to the stator core (11), the busbar (14-17) including joining portions (14e, 15e, 16e, 17e) to which end portions (13a) of the coils (13) are joined and an extending portion (see annotated fig. 6 below) that extends in a circumferential direction of the stator core (11) (Abstract; pages 3 and 5);
an insulating resin (12) that is molded (molded is a product by process limitation not given patentable weight, see below) integrally with the busbar (14-17) in a state in which the extending portion (see annotated fig. 6 below) is partially exposed (Abstract; pages 2-3); and
a sealing resin (19) formed of a resin with higher thermal conductivity than the insulating resin (12) (since it is the sealing resin 19 that is used to remove heat from the device, Abstract; pages 4 and 6),
the sealing resin (19) sealing in at least an exposed portion of the extending portion (see annotated fig. 6 below) that is exposed through the insulating resin (12) (Abstract; pages 4 and 6).
The Examiner points out the limitation of “an insulating resin that is molded” is considered as a product-by-process limitation. “Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777F, 2d 659, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985); see also MPEP 2113.
Regarding claim 2/1, Taguchi teaches (see figs. 1, 2, 5 and 6 above) a portion of the extending portion (see annotated fig. 6 above) is exposed through the insulating resin (12) in an axial direction of the stator core (11) (figs. 2 and 5; Abstract; pages 2, 3 and 5).
Regarding claim 3/2/1, Taguchi teaches (see figs. 1, 2, 5 and 6 above) the exposed portion of the extending portion (see annotated fig. 6 above) that is exposed through the insulating resin (12) is a surface at one plate thickness direction side of the extending portion (see annotated fig. 6 above) (figs. 2 and 5; Abstract; pages 2, 3 and 5).
Regarding claim 4/1, Taguchi teaches (see figs. 1, 2, 5 and 6 above) a portion of the extending portion (see annotated fig. 6 above) is exposed through the insulating resin (12) in a radial direction of the stator core (11) (fig. 5; Abstract; pages 2, 3 and 5).
Regarding claim 5/1, Taguchi teaches (see figs. 1, 2, 5 and 6 above) the stator core (11), the plurality of coils (13) and the insulating resin (12) are sealed in by the sealing resin (19) (Abstract; pages 4 and 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taguchi in view of Naito (JP 2016032316, see English Machine Translation attached).
Regarding claim 6/1, Taguchi teaches the device of claim 1 but does not explicitly teach a cooling medium channel is provided in a vicinity of the exposed portion of the extending portion that is exposed through the insulating resin.
However, Naito teaches (see figs. 3 and 4 below) a cooling medium channel (53) is provided in a vicinity of the exposed portion of the extending portion (61a, 61b, 61c) that is exposed through the insulating resin (50) Abstract) in order to provide improved cooling efficiency (Naito, Abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device Taguchi and provide a cooling medium channel is provided in a vicinity of the exposed portion of the extending portion that is exposed through the insulating resin as taught by Naito in order to provide improved cooling efficiency (Naito, Abstract).
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER A SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834