DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 13 July 2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 6-11, 15-17, 22-24, and 58 are currently amended. Claims 2 and 59 are canceled, and claims 61-69 are new. Claims 1, 3, 6-11, 15-17, 22-27, 58, and 61-69 are pending in the application.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 58 and 69 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected group of claims, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 13 July 2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of the claims in Group I in the reply filed on 13 July 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the amended claims share a special technical feature, that is, a size-constrained structure having an internal region, defined at least in part by a plurality of rigid panels, with a volume sufficient to contain at least a portion of an extremity of a subject, but not the entire subject. This is not found persuasive because as laid out in the following sections, these features recited by the amended claims do not make a contribution over the prior art and thus cannot be regarded as special technical features.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Objections
Claims 7-11, 15-17, and 22-27 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim cannot depend from any other multiple dependent claim. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, the claims have not been further treated on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3, 6, and 61-68 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the shaped frame” in line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as amended, which no longer recites a shaped frame in line 3. For examination purposes, the claim will be read without this limitation. Dependent claims 3, 6, and 61-68 are necessarily rejected as depending on a rejected base claim.
Claims 3 and 6 each recite the limitation “the shaped frame.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. For examination purposes, this limitation will be read as --the device--.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “the attachment” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim when the claim depends on claim 1, which does not recite an attachment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 61-66, and 68 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boegelein (US PGPub No. 2017/0224527) in view of Song (US PGPub No. 2005/0121530).
Regarding claim 1, Boegelein teaches a device for regulating temperature around a portion of an entire subject (par. 0004: “an improved therapy device which in particular allows the therapeutic treatment of individual limbs of a person”),
the device comprising: a structure defining an interior region having a volume sufficient to contain at least a portion of an extremity of the subject but less than the entire subject (Fig. 1: therapy device 1 regulating temperature around hand 6 of a person 5),
wherein the structure further comprises a shaped frame comprising a plurality of rigid panels that together define a portion of the interior region sufficient to contain the at least a portion of an extremity of the subject (Fig. 1: cold box 1 and cold chamber 3; par. 0095: “The housing 2 consists, for example of foamed polystyrene and/or of at least one plastics shell etc”);
and a source of air able to produce cooled and/or heated air (par. 0073: “the ventilator means 17 can be used to distribute the cool air generated by the cooling means 12”).
Boegelein does not explicitly teach a distributor integrated into at least one of the rigid panels and positioned to distribute the cooled and/or heated air from the source of air into the interior region. However, in an analogous art, Song teaches a thermal regulation device comprising a distributor integrated into a three-dimensional structure and positioned to distribute cooled air from a source of air into an interior region (Fig. 1: venting pipes 200 and 203 integrated into three-dimensional structure 100 and connected to air conditioning unit 300). Song teaches that this configuration is a more efficient way of achieving a desired condition in the interior region than simply using a cooling device (par. 0026: “If the air outside of the three-dimensional structure can be used to condition the air in the three-dimensional structure, outside air can be drawn in or the air in the three-dimensional structure can be drawn out to achieve the desired condition in the three-dimensional structure. This is a more efficient way than using the heating, cooling, humidifier, dehumidifier and/or oxygen supply device”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of Boegelein with the distributor and external air source taught by Song, in order to achieve the desired condition in the interior region more efficiently, as taught by Song.
Regarding claims 61-64, the combination teaches the device of claim 1 as described previously. Boegelein further teaches wherein the plurality of rigid panels of the shaped frame covers a top side and three other sides of the interior region, including a foot side of the interior region (Fig. 1: top side 16 and four side walls in cold box 1; examiner interprets any of the four side walls as a “foot side of the interior region” as broadly as claimed).
Regarding claim 65, the combination teaches the device of claim 61 as described previously. Boegelein further teaches wherein an opening is formed in one of the plurality of rigid panels on a right side and/or a left side of the interior region (Fig. 1: opening 7 in side 9 of housing 2).
Regarding claim 66, the combination teaches the device of claim 61 as described previously. Boegelein does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of rigid panels cover fewer than all sides of the interior region, and further comprising a pliable material extending from one or more of the rigid panels to cover one or more sides of the interior region not covered by the rigid panels. However, Song teaches that making a wall of a thermally-regulated chamber with soft material allows for easy access (par. 0041: “To allow easy access to the bed for the sleeper, the walls can be made with soft material”). It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to replace one of the sidewalls of Boegelein with a pliable material, as taught by Song, in order to allow for easy access, as taught by Song.
Regarding claim 68, the combination teaches the device of claim 1 as described previously. Boegelein in view of Song teaches the claimed invention except for wherein the volume of the interior region of the structure is no more than 10 ft3. However, it would have been obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to select a size of the device such that the interior volume is no more than 10 ft3, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Claims 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boegelein in view of Song and further in view of Ter Maat (US Patent No. 2,695,413), hereinafter Ter Maat.
Boegelein in view of Song teaches the device of claim 1 as described previously but does not teach further comprising an attachment constructed and arranged to immobilize the device on a bedframe of a bed. However, in an analogous art, Ter Maat teaches a thermal regulating device (col 1, lines 23-24: “maintaining a circulation of air of controlled temperature”) comprising an attachment constructed and arranged to immobilize the device on a bedframe of a bed (Fig. 1: clamp brackets 26 immobilizing device on side rails 16 of bed 10).
To provide the device of the combined reference with an attachment for immobilizing the device on a bedframe of a bed, as taught by Ter Maat, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (mechanical attachment methods such as screws, clamps, welding, etc.) with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art, i.e., one skilled in the art would have recognized that the attachment of Ter Maat would have allowed the device of Boegelein to be used by users while reclining or sleeping without the device shifting or falling from the bed.
Claim 67 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boegelein in view of Song and further in view of Baw et al. (KR 101943474 B1, see machine translation), hereinafter Baw.
Boegelein in view of Song teaches the device of claim 1 as described previously but does not explicitly teach wherein the distributor comprises ducts integrated with one or more of the plurality of rigid panels to distribute air from the source of air to the interior region via a plurality of openings formed in one or more of the plurality of rigid panels. However, in an analogous art, Baw teaches a thermal regulation device having ducts integrated with the sidewalls of a cooling chamber to distribute cooled air to the interior region via a plurality of openings formed in the sidewalls (Figs. 4-5: cold passages 121 and 141), which prevents localized coldness (par. 0029: “a space is provided through which cold air can primarily spread by the double fixed case (120) and the double cover case (140), and cold air is supplied to the user's leg by passing through the cold penetration holes (121, 141) spread at various locations, thereby preventing the problem of localized coldness”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of the combined reference by integrating ducts with the sidewalls to distribute cooled air to the interior region via a plurality of openings formed in the sidewalls, as taught by Baw, in order to prevent localized coldness, as taught by Baw.
Conclusion
/D.E.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/JOANNE M RODDEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3794