DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Pukari et al US 8,866,439 (hereinafter Pukari).
Re Claim 16. (New)
Pukari discloses a lock device (Figs. 2, 9-10) comprising: an input member (Fig.2 - shaft of knob 200) rotatable about an input axis; a manually rotatable knob (200) fixed to the input member; an output member (106) rotatable about an output axis (col.2, lines 60-67); an electromechanical coupling device (116 clutch, not shown, col.4, lines 12-34) configured to adopt an uncoupled state (default state), where the input member (200) can rotate freely about the input axis and rotation of the input member about the input axis is not transmitted to rotation of the output member about the output axis, and a coupled state (col.4, lines 12-34), where rotation of the input member about the input axis can be transmitted to rotation of the output member about the output axis; an electric control system (108/114) configured to control the coupling device (116) to switch between the uncoupled state and the coupled state; and a sensor (110/proximity target 120; col.6, lines 23-44) in signal communication with the control system, the sensor (110) being configured to generate a position signal indicative of a position of the output member (106/120) about the output axis (Fig.2).
Re Claim 17. (New)
Pukari discloses the lock device according to claim 16, wherein the output member (106) is a tailpiece (Fig.2- tailpiece end portion of 106 connected via clutch actuator 116 to lock bolt follower 118).
Re Claim 18. (New)
Pukari discloses the lock device according to claim 16, wherein the output member (106) is configured to engage a lock follower (118) of a lock case.
Re Claim 19. (New)
Pukari discloses the lock device according to claim 16, wherein the control system (108/114) is configured to command issuance of a feedback to a user based on the position signal or an absence of the position signal (col.5, lines 7-29).
Re Claim 20. (New)
Pukari discloses the lock device according to claim 19, wherein the control system (108/114) is configured to command issuance of the feedback when the output member is in one of at least one target position (col.5, lines 7-29).
Re Claim 21. (New)
Pukari discloses the lock device according to claim 19, wherein the control system (108/114) is configured to command issuance of a first type of feedback (signal; col. 5, lines 8-15, 16-29, red lamp 140, or lights, sounds, device 204) when the output member (106) is not in a target position, and to command issuance of a second type of feedback (key is turnable, to allow unlocking and opening via output member 106, clutch 1616 and lock bolt follower 118), different from the first type of feedback, when the output member (106) is in one of at least one target position.
Re Claim 22. (New)
Pukari discloses the lock device according to claim 20, wherein the output member (106) is configured to engage a lock follower (118) of a lock case, and wherein the at least one target position (120) comprises a locked target position corresponding to a locked follower position of the lock follower (Fig. 9B-900), and an unlocked target position corresponding to an unlocked follower position of the lock follower (Fig. 9B- 904)
Re Claim 23. (New)
Pukari discloses the lock device according to claim 16, wherein the sensor (110) is configured to sense the position of the output member (106/120).
Re Claim 24. (New)
Pukari discloses the lock device according to claim 16, wherein the sensor is a proximity sensor (position sensor 110).
Re Claim 25. (New)
Pukari discloses the lock device according to claim 24, further comprising at least one proximity target (120), wherein proximity of each proximity target, as sensed by the sensor (110), corresponds to a unique position of the output member (106) about the output axis (Fig.2).
Re Claim 26. (New)
Pukari discloses the lock device according to claim 16, further comprising an electromagnetic generator (104) arranged to electrically power the coupling device (116) and the control system (108/114), wherein the generator is arranged to be driven (130/132/134) to harvest electric energy by rotation of the input member (200) about the input axis (col.3, lines 3-66).
Re Claim 27. (New)
Pukari discloses the lock device according to claim 26, wherein the control system (108/114) is configured to determine the position of the output member (106) based on a voltage of the generator (Fig. 9B – col.4, lines 26—col.5, line 15; col.6, lines 23-44; col.8, lines 43-67, col. 9, lines 1-3).
Re Clam 28. (New)
Pukari discloses a lock system comprising a lock case having a lock follower (118) and the lock device according to claim 16, wherein the output member (106) engages the lock follower (118 via clutch actuator 116).
Re Claim 29. (New)
Pukari discloses the lock system according to claim 28, wherein the control system (108/114) is configured to determine (col.6, lines 23-44) whether the lock case is in a locked position (Fig.9B – position 900) or an unlocked position (Fig. 9B – position 904) based on the position signal (110).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Note the various electrically generated locks and clutch locks of the cited prior art.
SUZANNE DINO BARRETT
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3675B
Sdb
/SUZANNE L BARRETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675