DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
When Examiner rejected the application, Examiner did not apply the claimed to specification of application. Examiner rejected based on claim language.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, Kim and Elshafie are in the same field of technology (H04B7).
Kim teaches receiving, from a base station (BS), a configuration for a channel state information (CSI) report setting (pg.3, lines 15-20: receiving, from a base station, CSI reporting-related setting information), wherein a report quantity configured by the CSI report setting (Pg.15, lines 11-12: when the reportQuantity of the CSI-RS reportConfig IE is set to 'ssb-Index-RSRP', the terminal reports the best SSBRI and the corresponding L1-RSRP to the base station) comprises at least: measured channel characteristics of channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resources (Fig.7, Pg.3, lines 27-28; pg.14, lines 9-37: measuring a characteristic of a beamforming signal received by a base station, Pg.17, lines 26-28) or synchronization signal block (SSB) resources for channel measurement associated with the CSI report setting ; and
parameters (csi-SSB-ResourceSetList parameter) of channel characteristics associated with the CSI-RS resources or the SSB resources for channel measurement associated with the CSI report setting (table 4, pg.14, lines 9-37: measuring a characteristic, Pg.15, lines 6-17: csi-SSB-ResourceSetList parameter indicates a list of SSB resources used for beam management and reporting in one resource set. Here, the SSB resource set may be set as {SSBx1, SSBx2, SSBx3, SSBx4, ...}; and transmitting, to the BS, a CSI report based on the CSI report setting (Pg.15, lines 6-17: when the reportQuantity of the CSI-RS reportConfig IE is set to 'ssb-Index-RSRP', the terminal reports the best SSBRI and the corresponding L1-RSRP to the base station.).
Elshafie teaches predicted channel characteristics (signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) associated with the CSI-RS resources ([0049] UE may also predict a channel response (e.g., a channel matrix) or an signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) at the one or more future time instants and generate one or more predicted CSI values for the one or more future time instants based on corresponding predicted channel response or SNR and corresponding predicted interference).
Therefore, It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide above teaching of Elshafie to Kim, in order to improvements in system performance and communication reliability may also yield benefits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 10-17, 19-24, and 26-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM, HYUNGTAE (WO 2020060345 A1) in view of Elshafie et al. (US 20220131588 A1).
Considering claim 1, Kim teaches a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
receiving, from a base station (BS), a configuration for a channel state information (CSI) report setting (pg.3, lines 15-20: receiving, from a base station, CSI reporting-related setting information), wherein a report quantity configured by the CSI report setting (Pg.15, lines 11-12: when the reportQuantity of the CSI-RS reportConfig IE is set to 'ssb-Index-RSRP', the terminal reports the best SSBRI and the corresponding L1-RSRP to the base station) comprises at least:
measured channel characteristics of channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resources (Fig.7, Pg.3, lines 27-28; pg.14, lines 9-37: measuring a characteristic of a beamforming signal received by a base station, Pg.17, lines 26-28) or synchronization signal block (SSB) resources for channel measurement associated with the CSI report setting ; and
parameters (csi-SSB-ResourceSetList parameter) of channel characteristics associated with the CSI-RS resources or the SSB resources for channel measurement associated with the CSI report setting (table 4, pg.14, lines 9-37: measuring a characteristic, Pg.15, lines 6-17: csi-SSB-ResourceSetList parameter indicates a list of SSB resources used for beam management and reporting in one resource set. Here, the SSB resource set may be set as {SSBx1, SSBx2, SSBx3, SSBx4, ...}; and
transmitting, to the BS, a CSI report based on the CSI report setting (Pg.15, lines 6-17: when the reportQuantity of the CSI-RS reportConfig IE is set to 'ssb-Index-RSRP', the terminal reports the best SSBRI and the corresponding L1-RSRP to the base station.).
Kim do not clearly teach predicted channel characteristics associated with the CSI-RS resources.
Elshafie teaches predicted channel characteristics (signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) associated with the CSI-RS resources ([0049] UE may also predict a channel response (e.g., a channel matrix) or an signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) at the one or more future time instants and generate one or more predicted CSI values for the one or more future time instants based on corresponding predicted channel response or SNR and corresponding predicted interference).
Considering claim 16, Kim teaches a method of wireless communication, comprising:
transmitting a configuration for a channel state information (CSI) report setting (S810, Fig.8), wherein a report quantity configured by the CSI report setting (pg.3, lines 15-20; Pg.15, lines 11-12: when the reportQuantity of the CSI-RS reportConfig IE is set to 'ssb-Index-RSRP', the terminal reports the best SSBRI and the corresponding L1-RSRP to the base station) comprises at least:
measured channel characteristics of channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resources (Fig.7, Pg.3, lines 27-28; pg.14, lines 9-37: measuring a characteristic of a beamforming signal received by a base station, Pg.17, lines 26-28) or synchronization signal block (SSB) resources for channel measurement associated with the CSI report setting ; and
parameters (csi-SSB-ResourceSetList parameter) of channel characteristics associated with the CSI-RS resources or the SSB resources for channel measurement associated with the CSI report setting (table 4, pg.14, lines 9-37: measuring a characteristic, Pg.15, lines 6-17: csi-SSB-ResourceSetList parameter indicates a list of SSB resources used for beam management and reporting in one resource set. Here, the SSB resource set may be set as {SSBx1, SSBx2, SSBx3, SSBx4, ...}; and
receiving a CSI report based on the CSI report setting (Pg.15, lines 6-17: when the reportQuantity of the CSI-RS reportConfig IE is set to 'ssb-Index-RSRP', the terminal reports the best SSBRI and the corresponding L1-RSRP to the base station.).
Kim do not clearly teach predicted channel characteristics associated with the CSI-RS resources.
Elshafie teaches predicted channel characteristics (signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) associated with the CSI-RS resources ([0049] UE may also predict a channel response (e.g., a channel matrix) or an signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) at the one or more future time instants and generate one or more predicted CSI values for the one or more future time instants based on corresponding predicted channel response or SNR and corresponding predicted interference).
Therefore, It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide above teaching of Elshafie to Kim, in order to improvements in system performance and communication reliability may also yield benefits.
Considering claim 20, Kim teaches a user equipment (UE) comprising:
a memory (104); a transceiver (106); and at least one processor (102) coupled to the memory and the transceiver (Fig.20-24), wherein the UE is configured to:
receive, from a base station (BS), a configuration for a channel state information (CSI) report setting (pg.3, lines 15-20: receiving, from a base station, CSI reporting-related setting information), wherein a report quantity configured by the CSI report setting (Pg.15, lines 11-12: when the reportQuantity of the CSI-RS reportConfig IE is set to 'ssb-Index-RSRP', the terminal reports the best SSBRI and the corresponding L1-RSRP to the base station) comprises at least:
measured channel characteristics of channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resources (Fig.7, Pg.3, lines 27-28; pg.14, lines 9-37: measuring a characteristic of a beamforming signal received by a base station, Pg.17, lines 26-28) or synchronization signal block (SSB) resources for channel measurement associated with the CSI report setting ; and
parameters (csi-SSB-ResourceSetList parameter) of channel characteristics associated with the CSI-RS resources or the SSB resources for channel measurement associated with the CSI report setting (table 4, pg.14, lines 9-37: measuring a characteristic, Pg.15, lines 6-17: csi-SSB-ResourceSetList parameter indicates a list of SSB resources used for beam management and reporting in one resource set. Here, the SSB resource set may be set as {SSBx1, SSBx2, SSBx3, SSBx4, ...}; and
transmit, to the BS, a CSI report based on the CSI report setting (Pg.15, lines 6-17: when the reportQuantity of the CSI-RS reportConfig IE is set to 'ssb-Index-RSRP', the terminal reports the best SSBRI and the corresponding L1-RSRP to the base station.).
Kim do not clearly teach predicted channel characteristics associated with the CSI-RS resources.
Elshafie teaches predicted channel characteristics (signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) associated with the CSI-RS resources ([0049] UE may also predict a channel response (e.g., a channel matrix) or an signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) at the one or more future time instants and generate one or more predicted CSI values for the one or more future time instants based on corresponding predicted channel response or SNR and corresponding predicted interference).
Therefore, It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide above teaching of Elshafie to Kim, in order to improvements in system performance and communication reliability may also yield benefits.
Considering claim 30, Kim teaches an apparatus for wireless communications (Fig.8-11, 21) comprising:
a processor (102); memory (104) coupled with the processor (102); and
instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
transmit a configuration for a channel state information (CSI) report setting (S810, Fig.8), wherein a report quantity configured by the CSI report setting (pg.3, lines 15-20; Pg.15, lines 11-12: when the reportQuantity of the CSI-RS reportConfig IE is set to 'ssb-Index-RSRP', the terminal reports the best SSBRI and the corresponding L1-RSRP to the base station) comprises at least:
measured channel characteristics of channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resources (Fig.7, Pg.3, lines 27-28; pg.14, lines 9-37: measuring a characteristic of a beamforming signal received by a base station, Pg.17, lines 26-28) or synchronization signal block (SSB) resources for channel measurement associated with the CSI report setting ; and
parameters (csi-SSB-ResourceSetList parameter) of channel characteristics associated with the CSI-RS resources or the SSB resources for channel measurement associated with the CSI report setting (table 4, pg.14, lines 9-37: measuring a characteristic, Pg.15, lines 6-17: csi-SSB-ResourceSetList parameter indicates a list of SSB resources used for beam management and reporting in one resource set. Here, the SSB resource set may be set as {SSBx1, SSBx2, SSBx3, SSBx4, ...}; and
receive a CSI report based on the CSI report setting (Pg.15, lines 6-17: when the reportQuantity of the CSI-RS reportConfig IE is set to 'ssb-Index-RSRP', the terminal reports the best SSBRI and the corresponding L1-RSRP to the base station.).
Kim do not clearly teach predicted channel characteristics associated with the CSI-RS resources.
Elshafie teaches predicted channel characteristics (signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) associated with the CSI-RS resources ([0049] UE may also predict a channel response (e.g., a channel matrix) or an signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) at the one or more future time instants and generate one or more predicted CSI values for the one or more future time instants based on corresponding predicted channel response or SNR and corresponding predicted interference).
Therefore, It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide above teaching of Elshafie to Kim, in order to improvements in system performance and communication reliability may also yield benefits.
Considering claims 2, 21, Kim teaches wherein the receiving the configuration for the CSI report setting (Fig.8-12, pg.3, lines 15-20: receiving, from a base station, CSI reporting-related setting information) comprises receiving the configuration for the CSI report setting via a radio resource control (RRC) message (pg.24, lines 12-20).
Considering claims 3, 22, Kim teaches wherein: the parameters of the predicated channel characteristics associated with the CSI-RS resources or the SSB resources for the channel measurement associated with the CSI report setting comprise at least one of: a reference signal received power (RSRP) associated with the CSI-RS resources (Pg.24, lines 3-10); a signal-to-noise and interference ratio (SINR) associated with the CSI-RS resources; a RSRP associated with the SSB resources; or a SINR associated with the SSB resources.
Considering claims 4, 23, wherein the CSI report comprises at least one of: an indicator indicating whether a reference signal received power (RSRP) of the predicted channel characteristics is stronger than a RSRP of the measured channel characteristics; an indicator indicating whether a signal-to-noise and interference ratio (SINR) of the predicted channel characteristics is stronger than a SINR of the measured channel characteristics; an index associated with the predicted channel characteristics; an ordering of indexes associated with the predicted channel characteristics; a RSRP associated with one or more of the predicted channel characteristics; prediction probabilities associated with one or more of the predicted channel characteristics; a mean associated with one or more of the predicted channel characteristics; a variance associated with one or more of the predicted channel characteristics; a precoding matrix indicator (PMI) associated with one or more of the predicted channel characteristics; a rank indicator (RI) associated with one or more of the predicted channel characteristics; a layer indicator (LI) associated with one or more of the predicted channel characteristics; or channel quality information (CQI) associated with one or more of the predicted channel characteristics (Pg.4, lines 1-8).
Considering claims 5, 17, 24, Kim and Elshafie further teach wherein the transmitting the CSI report comprises: transmitting, to the BS, the CSI report comprising a single-part payload, the single-part payload including the measured channel characteristics and the parameters of the predicted channel characteristics (pg.4, lines 6-15).
Considering claims 10, 19, 26, Kim and Elshafie further teach wherein the transmitting the CSI report comprises: transmitting, to the BS, the CSI report comprising a first part, wherein the first part of the CSI report includes an indicator indicating the CSI report comprises only the first part (Kim: pg.27, lines 12-48).
Considering claims 11, 27, Kim and Elshafie further teach transmitting, to the BS, a capability message indicating the UE supports prediction based beam management (Elshafie: [0049]).
Considering claims 12, 28, Kim and Elshafie further teach wherein the transmitting the CSI report based on the CSI report setting comprises transmitting the CSI report on at least one of a periodic basis or a semi-persistent basis (Kim: pg.27, lines 12-48).
Considering claims 13, 29, Kim and Elshafie further teach wherein the predicted channel characteristics are associated with a time instance later than a time instance associated with the measured channel characteristics (Kim: pg.27, lines 12-48, Elshafie: [0049]).
Considering claim 14, Kim and Elshafie further teach wherein the transmitting the CSI report comprises: transmitting, to the BS, the CSI report comprising an indicator indicating the CSI report comprises the parameters of the predicted channel characteristics, wherein the indicator comprises at least one of: an invalid code point for reporting a reference signal received power (RSRP) associated with the CSI-RS resources; an invalid code point for reporting a signal-to-noise and interference ratio (SINR) associated with the CSI-RS resources; an invalid code point for reporting a RSRP associated with the SSB resources; or an invalid code point (outside a specific value) for reporting a SINR associated with the SSB resources (Kim: Pg.26, lines 8-30).
Considering claim 15 Kim and Elshafie further teach wherein the transmitting the CSI report comprises: transmitting, to the BS, the CSI report comprising a code point indicating the CSI report comprises the parameters of the predicted channel characteristics (Kim: Pg.18. lines 4-9).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-9, 18, and 25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KHAI M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641