Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-9 in the reply filed on 01/06/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 10-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 01/06/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 7, lines 1-2 recite "further comprising a transfer part configured to transfer the battery case”. It is unclear whether this is the same transfer part recited in base claim 1 or an additional transfer part. For the purpose of examination, claim 7 reads on no additional transfer part (and it is suggested that applicant delete this recitation from the claim for clarity).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
Primary sealing unit
Secondary sealing unit
Primary heating unit
Secondary heating unit
Transfer part
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR 20200026064, previously made of record with text citations to translation made of record on 06/13/2024) in view of Jung (US PG Pub 2017/0025702).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a battery case sealing device (Fig. 5a) comprising:
a primary sealing unit (heating jig H3 is a press per para. 0040 and is therefore a type of sealing unit) configured to press and seal a battery case in which an electrode assembly is accommodated (as shown in Fig. 5a);
a pair of primary heating units disposed in a front (H1) and a rear (H2), respectively, of the primary sealing unit (as shown in Fig. 5a) wherein the pair of heating units are configured to heat the battery case (para. 0040).
Kim does not explicitly teach a transfer part configured to transfer the battery case in a transfer direction along a transfer path.
However, it is conventional in the battery manufacturing arts, as taught for example by Jung, to utilize a transfer part (transfer part 110 with a conveyor belt [not shown] per para. 0029) configured to transfer a battery part in a transfer direction along a transfer path (e.g. as shown in Fig. 3) for in-line battery processing (para. 0029).
In view of Jung’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Kim’s apparatus to include a transfer belt with a conveyor belt as suggested by Jung to predictably enable in-line, high-volume battery case sealing.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Kim and Jung described above renders obvious that the pair of primary heating units are disposed along the transfer path in the transfer direction (compare Kim Fig. 5a and Jung Fig. 3), wherein one of the pair of primary heating units is disposed before the primary sealing unit in the transfer direction along the transfer path, and the other of the pair of primary heating units is disposed after the primary sealing unit in the transfer direction along the transfer path (compare Kim Fig. 5a and Jung Fig. 3) for the reasons given above.
Regarding claim 3, Kim teaches the pair of primary heating units are configured to heat the battery case in a non-contact manner (para. 0040).
Regarding claim 4, Kim teaches the battery case has an electrode lead electrically connected to the electrode assembly (para. 0036 and Fig. 4),
wherein the electrode lead protrudes from at least one end of the battery case (as shown in Fig. 4), and
wherein the primary sealing unit is configured to press and seal an area of the battery case that conforms to the electrode lead (as shown in Fig. 5a).
Regarding claims 5-8, Kim does not explicitly teach these features.
However, the features in each of these claims merely involves duplication of the sealing unit, heating units, and features thereof. The courts have ruled that mere duplication of parts does not have patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is achieved. See MPEP § 2144.04.VI.B (In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to duplicate each of these parts to predictably improve seal quality and strength and/or increase production speed.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and all intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JIMMY R SMITH JR./Examiner, Art Unit 1745