DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 22-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cochrane (US 5,016,364). The claims are reasonably and broadly construed, in light of the accompanying specification, to be disclosed by Cochrane as teaching:
a shoe care device (see title and abstract) comprising:
an inner cabinet 12 having an accommodation space configured to accommodate shoes (figure 1);
a shelf holder 24c, 24d, 24f located on a side wall 24 of the inner cabinet (column 3 lines 18-61 wherein the disclosed walls meet the structure and function of the claimed shelf holder because both hold shelves in which shoes can be placed);
an opening 36 in a bottom surface of the inner cabinet to suck air from inside the accommodation space (figure 3 column 4 lines 16-30);
a connection path 50a, 50b defining a flow path through which the air in the accommodation space is introduced into the connection path through the opening and then discharged from the connection path and into the accommodation space (figures 3 column 4 lines 31-40);
a blower 40 located in the connection path, the blower being configured to move the air along the connection path;
a dehumidifier 14 located in the connection path, the dehumidifier being configured to dehumidify the air in the connection path (column 4 lines 41-52 wherein the drying space circulation functions as a dehumidifier because dehumidification results from drying space circulation); and
an auxiliary shelf 22 configured to be mounted on the shelf holder, the auxiliary shelf having an upper surface configured to receive the shoes thereon. Cochrane also discloses the claim 23 feature wherein the auxiliary shelf is removably mounted to the shelf holder (column 3 lines 47-61 wherein the disclosed “additional bars” teaches the claimed removable feature because both can be removed), the claim 24 feature wherein the auxiliary shelf includes at least one auxiliary isolation rib protruding upward from the upper surface of the auxiliary shelf (figures 1, 3), the claim 25 feature wherein the at least one auxiliary isolation rib extends diagonally between a front surface of the inner cabinet and a rear surface of the inner cabinet (figures 1, 2), the claim 26 wherein the auxiliary shelf further includes an auxiliary outer rib that continuously protrudes upward along a perimeter of the auxiliary shelf (figures 1, 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 27-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cochrane in view of Anderson et al. (US 6,742,276). Cochrane discloses the claimed invention, as rejected above, except for the claimed shaped, magnetic force, accommodation groove, or width/thickness parameter (claims 27, 29, 33, 35, 37, 39, 40, 41). It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to recited those features, since the teachings of Cochrane will perform the invention as claimed, regardless of those features and applicants have not claimed or specified the criticality of those features as being necessary for patentability. Furthermore, Cochrane discloses the claimed invention, except for the claimed nozzle feature (claims 28, 30, 31, 32, 34, 36, 38). Anderson, another shoe care device, discloses that feature at column 4 line 27 through column 5 line 4. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to combine the teachings of Cochrane with the teachings of Anderson for the purpose of discharging dehumidifying air into a shoe care device.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,256,881. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending application claims 1 and 3 anticipate claim 1 of the current application, except for the current application claimed shelves. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to include shelves in the current application, since both claimed invention would perform as claimed regardless of shelves and applicants have not claimed or specified the criticality of those differences as being necessary for patentability.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Other prior art references cited with this application may teach one or more claim features, but do not rise to a level of anticipation, obviousness, and/or double patenting such that a rejection would be proper or reasonable under current Office practice and procedure. References A, B, C, D, N, O, cited with this application, are patent publications from the same inventive entity as the current application. References E, F, G, H, I, J, K, cited with this application, teach shoe care devices.
Tuesday, August 18, 2026
/STEPHEN M GRAVINI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753