DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is rejected as being vague and indefinite when the claim recites “wherein a rate of particles (p2) having a particle diameter of 80 μm or more and less than 170 μm is 9 to 99.9% by volume", because the recitation causes confusion, it is not clear that the particle size as recited is directed to the flame retarding composition or polyphosphate (A). In this office action, it is taken that the flame retarding composition has particle diameter as claimed. Claims 2-20 are also rejected for depending from claim 1, thus inclusion of its indefinite features.
Claims 4-8 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. The base claim 1 requires a polyphosphate, however, when n1 and n2 each are 1, the formula((1) and (2) are not a polyphosphate or polyphosphate-based compound. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Elsner et al (US 4,639,331, ‘331 hereafter).
Regarding claims 1-4 and 12-14, ‘331 discloses a flame retarding composition which is powdery and comprises a polyphosphate being an ammonium polyphosphate, which is a compound having chemical formula reading upon presently claimed Formula (1) as in claims 4 and 13-14, wherein X1 is ammonia (C2/L25-C3/L13), wherein the mean particle size (equal to D50) can be 10 to 50 microns satisfying present claims 3 and 12. ‘331 also discloses that the composition can have 96% with particle size less than 150 microns (Table II, Ex. 7), which inherently satisfies the particle size distribution as recited in the present claims 1 and 2 (4% particles having size larger than 150 microns is expected to have small amount of particle size larger than 170 microns, satisfying 0.1 to 50% by volume).
Regarding claims 10-11, ‘331 also discloses a flame-retardant resin composition further comprising a thermoplastic resin such as polyurethane which can be molded into an article (C3/L35-C3/L48).
Claims 4-8, 9 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elsner et al (US 4,639,331, ‘331 hereafter) in view of Banno et al (US 2021/0189244, ‘244 hereafter).
Regarding claims 4-8 and 13-20, ‘331 teaches all the limitations of claims 1-3, but ‘331 does not specifically set forth the polyphosphate being a compound satisfying present claimed chemical formula (1) and (2) as recited in the present claims 4-8 and 13-14, wherein the X1 is a melamine group and Y 1 is a piperazine group. However, in the same field of endeavor, ‘244 discloses a flame retarding composition comprising a polyphosphate, wherein the polyphosphate is a compound having chemical formula reading upon instantly claimed Formula (1) and (2) as recited in the present claims 4-8 and 13-14 ([0011]-[0016]), which can impart a drip preventing effect, an excellent heat release suppressing effect and excellent flame retardancy to a thermoplastic resin such as polyurethane to make a molded article having a wide variety of applications in industrial fields ([0023], [0084]-[0090]). In light of these teachings, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the polyphosphate compounds as taught by ‘244, to modify the flame retarding composition of ‘331, in order to render a flame retarding composition having excellent heat release suppressing effect and excellent flame retardancy to a thermoplastic resin.
Regarding claims 9 and 15-20, ‘331 also teaches that the flame retarding composition may further contain a silicone oil or a silane coupling agent ([0053]-[0058]) to prevent aggregation of flame retardant powder and improving storage stability.
Relevant Prior Art
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Monsheimer et al (US 2006/0223928, ‘928 hereafter). ‘928 discloses a flame retarding composition being powder comprising ammonium polyphosphate which has particle size less or equal to 150 microns ([0018]).
Conclusion
/RUIYUN ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782