DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP-5332546 (“JP’546”)
Claims 1-4: JP’546 teaches a flame-retardant insulating sheet comprising a polycarbonate resin and a flame retardant, wherein the flame retardant comprises a nitrogen-containing compound (JP’546, translation copy, pages 3-4, items (1) and (8) . With regards to the properties of the sheet, i.e. the peak curvature (“Spc”), the peak density (“Spd”) and the glossiness, JP’546 does not report these properties. However, they are deemed inherent because as shown in the instant specification at Table 1 (page 33), when the polycarbonate resin is flame retardant is about 6 parts by mass, the results of Spc, Spd and glossiness fall within the claimed range. Here, JP’546 teaches that the flame retardant is present from 2 to 10 parts by weight with respect to 100 pbw of the resin (translation copy, page 3, item (1)). In addition, the flame-retardant insulating sheet of JP’546 comprises the same kind of resin material (i.e. polycarbonate resin having a weight-average molecular weight from 15,000-35,000), the same specific retardant material (i.e. melamine cyanurate) having the same particle size and present in the same concentration (see claims 7-11 below). Therefore, it is expected that the Spc, Spd and glossiness of the insulating sheet as claimed are met by JP’546.
Claim 5: JP546 teaches coloring agent (i.e. pigment) be present in the insulating sheet (translation copy, page 6, 1st paragraph).
Claim 7: JP’546 teaches the weight-average molecular weight of the polycarbonate resin is 15,000 to 30,000 (translation copy, page 6, 5th paragraph, which is well within the claimed range of 15,000 to 35,000.
Claim 8: JP’546 teaches the flame retardant is melamine cyanurate (translation copy, page 3, item (5).
Claim 9: JP’546 teaches the average of the flame retardant is 0.01 to 30 mm, in particular, 1 to 10 mm (translation copy, page 5, last paragraph), which meets the claimed range of 1 to 30 µm.
Claim 10: JP’546 teaches a flame-retardant insulating sheet, in which a proportion of a content of the flame retardant to a content of the polycarbonate resin is 2% to 10% by mass (translation copy, page 3, item (1)).
Claim 11: JP’546 teaches an electric/electronic device using the flame-retardant insulating sheet of claim 1 (translation copy, page 4, item (9)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP’546 as applied to claims 1-5 and 7-11 above, and further in view of Maas (US-2015/0361260).
JP’546 teaches the claimed insulating sheet as discussed above. JP’546 teaches coloring agent in the insulating sheet (translation copy, page 6, 1st paragraph). However, JP’546 does not specify carbon black as the coloring agent. Maas teaches carbon black is a known pigment in composition comprising polycarbonate resin (Maas, para. 0080). Therefore, it would have been obvious as matter of choice to select carbon black as the coloring agent for the polycarbonate insulating sheet of JP’546.
HOA (Holly) LE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1788
/HOA (Holly) LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1788