DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This office action is in response to Applicant Amendments and Remarks filed on 01/15/2026 for application number 18/719,467 filed on 06/13/2024, in which claims 1-20 were previously presented for examination.
Claims 1, 5, 19, and 20 are amended.
Claims 3-4 are canceled.
Claims 1-2 and 5-20 are currently pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant Amendments and Remarks filed on 01/15/2026 in response to the Non-Final office action mailed on 10/16/2025 have been fully considered and are addressed as follows:
Regarding the Claim Objections: The objections are withdrawn, as the claim amendments have properly addressed the informalities recited in the Non-Final office action.
Regarding the Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 103: With respect to the previous claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103, Applicant has amended the independent claims to incorporate the subject matter of dependent claims.
Initially, Applicant is arguing against the references individually, rather than addressing the combined teachings. The two current levels do not have to be taught in a single reference. Examiner notes that Ebuchi is relied on as disclosing the second level of current, not as disclosing different current levels.
Tamoto teaches “applying an initial level of pre-energization current to an electromagnetic actuator of the disconnect mechanism” as claimed as stated in the Non-Final office action mailed on 10/16/2025 at pg. 7. Moreover, the pre-energization current of Tamoto must be lower than the current value for engaging the coupling because the pre-energization current is applied prior to engagement, and the engagement force is directly proportional to the current supplied (Tamoto at para. [0040] and [0099]).
Ebuchi teaches “applying a second level of current that is higher than the initial current to the electromagnetic actuator and, in response thereto, providing movement of a plunger operatively coupled to the second clutch member in a direction toward the first clutch member” as claimed as stated in the Non-Final office action mailed on 10/16/2025 at pg. 7-8. Ebuchi’s second current is higher than the pre-energization current since the current is for engagement.
It is obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the method of Yaguchi by adding the pre-energization of Tamoto to provide quick engagement of clutch and by adding the second level of current of Ebuchi to provide rapid response time.
Applicant further explains the intended use of the springs and the inventive concept of Ebuchi.
However, the intended use of the springs and the inventive concept of Ebuchi are not relevant to the issue regarding whether the reference teaches or suggests the claimed subject matter. Moreover, nothing in Ebuchi criticizes, discredits, or otherwise discourages to modify the method of Yaguchi in view of Tamoto by adding the biasing mechanism of Ebuchi.
Further, Ebuchi disclosing another spring or discussing collision noise reduction does not change the fact that Ebuchi’s biasing mechanism exerts the biasing force as claimed. Further, the claim language does not exclude two spring configuration that biases in two opposite directions.
Examiner’s understanding is that it is undisputed that Ebuchi discloses “a biasing mechanism is disposed operatively between the plunger and the first clutch member, wherein the biasing mechanism exerts a biasing force and biases the second clutch member away from the first clutch member toward the disconnected state” as claimed as stated in the Non-Final office action mailed on 10/16/2025 at pg. 8-9.
Lastly, Applicant alleges that “none of the other three references relate to pre-energizing at a second level” (Applicant Amendments and Remarks filed on 01/15/2026 at pg. 15, ln. 14). However, it is unclear which limitation in the claim requires “pre-energizing at a second level.” Examiner notes that claim 1 as amended recites “an initial level of pre-energization current” and “a second level of current” that engages the first and second clutch members to reach “a connected state.”
For at least the foregoing reasons, and the rejections outlined below in the FINAL office action, the prior art rejections are maintained.
FINAL OFFICE ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-7, 16-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yaguchi et al. (US 2020/0070655 A1, hereinafter “Yaguchi”) in view of Tamoto et al. (US 2015/0142280 A1, hereinafter “Tamoto”) further in view of Ebuchi et al. (US 2015/0354643 A1, hereinafter “Ebuchi”) and Xu (US 2003/0140898 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yaguchi discloses a method of controlling a secondary drivetrain, the method comprising the steps of:
receiving a connect request from a control system to connect a disconnect mechanism of the secondary drivetrain, the disconnect mechanism operatively disposed between an electric motor and a ground engaging wheels of the secondary drivetrain (Yaguchi at para. [0030]: “When shifting from the 2WD mode to the AWD mode, the all-wheel drive control device 29 operates, for example, according to an algorithm shown in FIG. 4”; para. [0031]: “the torque Tc transmitted through the coupling 13 at this time is substantially zero, and no torque is applied to the sub-shaft 11 from anywhere, so that the rotational speed Np is also substantially zero to very low”);
in response to receiving the connect request, increasing electric motor speed to reduce a speed difference between a first clutch member and a second clutch member of the disconnect mechanism when the first and second clutch member are in a disconnected state (Yaguchi at para. [0032]: “When the connection request is received, the control device 29 controls the first drive device 17 to appropriately connect the first clutch 15, extracts a part of a torque T transmitted by the propeller shaft 9 as the synchronous torque Ts for synchronizing the second clutch 23, and applies the torque to the sub-shaft 11. The sub-shaft 11 spins up due to action of the synchronous torque Ts and eventually reaches a rotational speed Nf that synchronizes the second clutch 23, and connection thereof is possible”);
during the increasing of the electric motor speed, detecting a decreasing speed difference between the first clutch member and the second clutch member of the disconnect mechanism (Yaguchi at para. [0033]: “The control device 29 controls the first clutch 15 to continue applying the synchronous torque Ts until the connection is possible”);
confirming the speed difference between the first clutch member and second clutch member is below a threshold level (Yaguchi at para. [0034]: “whether the second clutch 23 is connectable is determined. With reference to FIG. 5 in combination with FIG. 4, the determination can be made based on a rotational speed difference ΔN between clutch teeth” “When the rotational speed difference ΔN is smaller than an appropriately determined reference value, it can be determined that the connection is possible”);
in response thereto, (Yaguchi at para. [0035]: “when it is determined that second clutch 23 is connectable (that is, synchronized), the control device 29 controls the second drive device 25 to connect the second clutch 23”);
in response to engaging the first and second clutch members, transferring torque between the electric motor and the ground-engaging wheels via the disconnect mechanism (Yaguchi at para. [0039]: “the control device 29 passes control to an algorithm for AWD control in response to the determination that the second clutch 23 is connected. Under the AWD control algorithm, the transmission torque Tc is controlled, and as shown in FIG. 8, the transmission torque Tc increases to the drive torque Td that is larger than the synchronous torque Ts”).
However, Yaguchi does not explicitly state:
during the increasing of the electric motor speed, applying an initial level of pre-energization current to an electromagnetic actuator of the disconnect mechanism,
applying a second level of current that is higher than the initial current to the electromagnetic actuator and, in response thereto, providing movement of a plunger operatively coupled to the second clutch member in a direction toward the first clutch member,
wherein a biasing mechanism is disposed operatively between the plunger and the first clutch member, wherein the biasing mechanism exerts a biasing force and biases the second clutch member away from the first clutch member toward the disconnected state,
wherein the initial current causes the plunger to exert a force against the biasing member, wherein the biasing force is greater than the force exerted by the plunger against the biasing member, wherein the plunger remains stationary during provision of the initial current.
In the same field of endeavor, Tamoto teaches:
during the increasing of the electric motor speed, applying an initial level of pre-energization current to an electromagnetic actuator of the disconnect mechanism (Tamoto at para. [0040]: “The coupling 22 is provided between the propeller shaft 20 and the rear differential 24” “when current is supplied to an electromagnetic solenoid (not shown) that controls the torque transmitted by the coupling 22, the coupling 22 is engaged with an engagement force directly proportional to the value of the current supplied”; para. [0069]: “When the change start timing determination unit 140 is activated, the start of engagement of the clutches 36, 54 is delayed” “when it is determined to engage the clutches 36, 54, a command (precharge command) is output to control the coupling 22 in advance to a state just before the torque capacity arises. Thus, it is possible to quickly engage the clutches 36, 54”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Yaguchi by adding the pre-energization current of Tamoto with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the method of Yaguchi in view of Tamoto is to provide quick engagement of clutches.
However, Yaguchi in view of Tamoto does not explicitly state:
applying a second level of current that is higher than the initial current to the electromagnetic actuator and, in response thereto, providing movement of a plunger operatively coupled to the second clutch member in a direction toward the first clutch member,
wherein a biasing mechanism is disposed operatively between the plunger and the first clutch member, wherein the biasing mechanism exerts a biasing force and biases the second clutch member away from the first clutch member toward the disconnected state,
wherein the initial current causes the plunger to exert a force against the biasing member, wherein the biasing force is greater than the force exerted by the plunger against the biasing member, wherein the plunger remains stationary during provision of the initial current.
In the same field of endeavor, Ebuchi teaches applying a second level of current that is higher than the initial current to the electromagnetic actuator and, in response thereto, providing movement of a plunger operatively coupled to the second clutch member in a direction toward the first clutch member (Ebuchi at para. [0005]: “At the time when a pair of clutch elements are changed from a non-engaged state to an engaged state, the first setting means sets a first drive current as an initial drive current for an electromagnetic actuator such that a plunger is accelerated in a direction as a result of application of an urging force to the plunger and then the plunger is decelerated in the direction as a result of the fact that an elastic force exceeds the urging force in response to a stroke amount”; para. [0049]: “The transmission spring 71 is interposed between the moving member 66 (the armature 64 and the plunger 65) and the sleeve 61, and transmits the thrust of the actuator 70 from the moving member 66 to the sleeve 61”; para. [0055]: “The thrust of the actuator 70 changes with the current value at which the coil 67 is energized. The thrust of the actuator 70 increases as the current value increases”),
wherein a biasing mechanism is disposed operatively between the plunger and the first clutch member, wherein the biasing mechanism exerts a biasing force and biases the second clutch member away from the first clutch member toward the disconnected state (Ebuchi at para. [0052]: “The return spring 72 applies an urging force to the moving member 66 in a direction opposite to the direction of the thrust of the actuator 70. The return spring 72 is arranged between the flange portion 65b of the plunger 65 and the second yoke 69”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Yaguchi in view of Tamoto by adding the second level of the current and the biasing mechanism of Ebuchi with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the method of Yaguchi in view of Tamoto further in view of Ebuchi is to provide rapid response time.
However, Yaguchi in view of Tamoto further in view of Ebuchi does not explicitly state:
wherein the initial current causes the plunger to exert a force against the biasing member, wherein the biasing force is greater than the force exerted by the plunger against the biasing member, wherein the plunger remains stationary during provision of the initial current.
In the same field of endeavor, Xu teaches:
wherein the initial current causes the plunger to exert a force against the biasing member, wherein the biasing force is greater than the force exerted by the plunger against the biasing member, wherein the plunger remains stationary during provision of the initial current (Xu at para. [0016]: “The armature is biased in a closed position by a spring 230. The spring 230 retains a needle valve 250 in contact with an injector valve seat 240 to place the valve in a closed position when there is no magnetic force or an insufficient magnetic force is applied to open it”; para. [0017]: “The pre-charging current is slightly below the current level which will cause the armature 220 (FIG. 2) to move”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Yaguchi in view of Tamoto further in view of Ebuchi by adding the plunger of Xu with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the method of Yaguchi in view of Tamoto further in view of Ebuchi and Xu is to provide rapid response time.
Regarding claim 2, Yaguchi in view of Tamoto further in view of Ebuchi and Xu teaches the method of claim 1.
Xu further teaches wherein the initial current is greater than zero and maintains a stationary position of the plunger (Xu at para. [0005]: “The method applies a pre-charging current at a level that does not move the armature for a period until the pre-charging current level is achieved and stabilized”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Yaguchi in view of Tamoto further in view of Ebuchi and Xu by adding the initial current of Xu with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the method of Yaguchi in view of Tamoto further in view of Ebuchi and Xu is to provide rapid response time.
Regarding claim 5, Yaguchi in view of Tamoto further in view of Ebuchi and Xu teaches the method of claim 1.
Ebuchi further teaches wherein the second current causes the force exerted by the plunger to exceed the biasing force, wherein the plunger causes the movement of the second clutch member into the connected state (Ebuchi at para. [0052]: “The return spring 72 applies an urging force to the moving member 66 in a direction opposite to the direction of the thrust of the actuator 70. The return spring 72 is arranged between the flange portion 65b of the plunger 65 and the second yoke 69”; para. [0055]: “The thrust of the actuator 70 changes with the current value at which the coil 67 is energized. The thrust of the actuator 70 increases as the current value increases” “The thrust of the actuator 70 increases as the stroke amount of the moving member 66 increases”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Yaguchi in view of Tamoto further in view of Ebuchi and Xu by adding the second current of Ebuchi with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the method of Yaguchi in view of Tamoto further in view of Ebuchi and Xu is to provide rapid response time.
Regarding claim 6, Yaguchi in view of Tamoto further in view of Ebuchi and Xu teaches the method of claim 1.
Ebuchi further teaches wherein, after applying the second level of current for a period of time to transfer torque to the wheels, the method includes reducing the current below the second level and maintaining the current at a reduced level and holding the first and second clutch member in the connected state (Ebuchi at para. [0086]: “the control unit 74 executes holding current control. The holding current control is control for keeping the completely engaged state of the engagement mechanism 63. The command current value to the actuator 70 in the holding current control is set to a third command current value i3. As shown in FIG. 11, the third command current value i3 is a current value smaller than the first command current value i1”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Yaguchi in view of Tamoto further in view of Ebuchi and Xu by adding reducing the current of Ebuchi with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the method of Yaguchi in view of Tamoto further in view of Ebuchi and Xu is to provide rapid response time.
Regarding claim 7, Yaguchi in view of Tamoto further in view of Ebuchi and Xu teaches the method of claim 6.
Tamoto further teaches wherein, after reducing the current and holding the first and second clutch member in the connected state, receiving a disconnect signal and reducing the current to zero and moving the second clutch member away from the first clutch member and into the disconnected state (Tamoto at para. [0040]: “when no current is supplied to the electromagnetic solenoid, the engagement force of the coupling 22 becomes zero, that is, the transmitted torque becomes zero, so the distribution of torque between the front and rear wheels is set to 100:0”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Yaguchi in view of Tamoto further in view of Ebuchi and Xu by adding the disconnect signal of Tamoto with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the method of Yaguchi in view of Tamoto further in view of Ebuchi and Xu is to provide rapid response time.
Regarding claim 16, Yaguchi in view of Tamoto further in view of Ebuchi and Xu teaches the method of claim 1.
Tamoto further teaches wherein current is applied to the electromagnetic actuator prior to the speed difference reaching the threshold level, such that the time period to engage the first clutch member and the second clutch member following the time of detection of the speed difference reaching the threshold level is reduced relative to the time period to engage the first clutch member and the second clutch member when current is first applied at the time of detection (Tamoto at para. [0040]: “The coupling 22 is provided between the propeller shaft 20 and the rear differential 24” “when current is supplied to an electromagnetic solenoid (not shown) that controls the torque transmitted by the coupling 22, the coupling 22 is engaged with an engagement force directly proportional to the value of the current supplied”; para. [0069]: “When the change start timing determination unit 140 is activated, the start of engagement of the clutches 36, 54 is delayed” “when it is determined to engage the clutches 36, 54, a command (precharge command) is output to control the coupling 22 in advance to a state just before the torque capacity arises. Thus, it is possible to quickly engage the clutches 36, 54”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Yaguchi in view of Tamoto further in view of Ebuchi and Xu by adding the pre-energization current of Tamoto with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the method of in view of Tamoto further in view of Ebuchi and Xu is to provide quick engagement of clutches.
Regarding claim 17, Yaguchi in view of Tamoto further in view of Ebuchi and Xu teaches the method of claim 1.
Yaguchi further discloses wherein the disconnected state corresponds to a 2-wheel drive mode of a vehicle and the connected state corresponds to a 4-wheel drive mode of the vehicle (Yaguchi at para. [0023]: “When the second clutch 23 is disconnected, no torque is transmitted to the front axles 5R and 5L, so that the vehicle travels in a 2WD mode”; para. [0039]: “the control device 29 passes control to an algorithm for AWD control in response to the determination that the second clutch 23 is connected. Under the AWD control algorithm, the transmission torque Tc is controlled, and as shown in FIG. 8, the transmission torque Tc increases to the drive torque Td that is larger than the synchronous torque Ts”).
Regarding claim 18, Yaguchi in view of Tamoto further in view of Ebuchi and Xu teaches the method of claim 1.
Yaguchi further discloses wherein a common connect request signal causes the motor speed to increase (Yaguchi at para. [0032]: “When the connection request is received, the control device 29 controls the first drive device 17 to appropriately connect the first clutch 15, extracts a part of a torque T transmitted by the propeller shaft 9 as the synchronous torque Ts for synchronizing the second clutch 23, and applies the torque to the sub-shaft 11. The sub-shaft 11 spins up due to action of the synchronous torque Ts and eventually reaches a rotational speed Nf that synchronizes the second clutch 23, and connection thereof is possible”)and
Tamoto further teaches the initial current to be applied during the same period (Tamoto at para. [0069]: “When the change start timing determination unit 140 is activated, the start of engagement of the clutches 36, 54 is delayed” “when it is determined to engage the clutches 36, 54, a command (precharge command) is output to control the coupling 22 in advance to a state just before the torque capacity arises. Thus, it is possible to quickly engage the clutches 36, 54”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Yaguchi in view of Tamoto further in view of Ebuchi by adding the initial current of Tamoto with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the method of Yaguchi in view of Tamoto further in view of Ebuchi is to provide quick engagement of clutches. Further, it is obvious to one skilled in the art would combine the signals to increase the motor speed of Yaguchi and to apply the initial current of Tamoto because both signals are to be sent out at the same time when clutch connection is requested (i.e., a request to switch from 2WD to 4WD).
Regarding claim 20, Yaguchi discloses an electrically powered drivetrain of a vehicle, wherein the electrically powered drivetrain comprises:
an electric motor drivingly coupled to a differential mechanism having a disconnect mechanism including a first clutch member and a second clutch member moveable from a disconnected state into a connected state with the first clutch member (Yaguchi at para. [0020]: “With reference to FIG. 1, a vehicle for example includes a control system 1, a motor 3, front axles (first axles) 5R and 5L temporary driven by the motor 3”; para. [0023]: “The differential 19 further includes a drive device (a second drive device) 25 to control connection and disconnection of the clutch 23. The differential 19, while allowing differential between the right front axle 5R and the left front axle 5L, distributes the torque input to the two front axles 5R and 5L when the second clutch 23 is connected. That is, the vehicle travels in an AWD mode. When the second clutch 23 is disconnected, no torque is transmitted to the front axles 5R and 5L, so that the vehicle travels in a 2WD mode”);
wherein, in the connected state, torque is transferred from the electric motor to ground engaging wheels of the drivetrain, and, in the disconnected state, torque output from the electric motor is operationally decoupled from the ground engaging wheels (para. [0023]: “The differential 19 further includes a drive device (a second drive device) 25 to control connection and disconnection of the clutch 23. The differential 19, while allowing differential between the right front axle 5R and the left front axle 5L, distributes the torque input to the two front axles 5R and 5L when the second clutch 23 is connected. That is, the vehicle travels in an AWD mode. When the second clutch 23 is disconnected, no torque is transmitted to the front axles 5R and 5L, so that the vehicle travels in a 2WD mode”);
wherein the first clutch member rotates independent of the second clutch member in the disconnected state (Yaguchi at para. [0024]: “no torque is transmitted (2WD mode) since the right front axle 5R and the left front axle 5L can freely rotate independently when the second clutch 23 is disconnected”);
wherein actuation of the electric motor in response to the connect request reduces a speed difference between the first clutch member and the second clutch member (Yaguchi at para. [0033]: “The control device 29 controls the first clutch 15 to continue applying the synchronous torque Ts until the connection is possible. The synchronous torque Ts is smaller than a drive torque Td applied under AWD control described later, but is an appropriate torque sufficient to spin up the sub-shaft 11, and can be determined in advance in accordance with mass and moment of inertia of a drive system, and the like”; para. [0034]: “whether the second clutch 23 is connectable is determined. With reference to FIG. 5 in combination with FIG. 4, the determination can be made based on a rotational speed difference ΔN between clutch teeth”);
wherein the control system detects and confirms that the speed difference is below a threshold level (Yaguchi at para. [0034]: “When the rotational speed difference ΔN is smaller than an appropriately determined reference value, it can be determined that the connection is possible”), and transfers from the electric motor to the ground engaging wheels via the differential mechanism (Yaguchi at para. [0023]: “The differential 19 further includes a drive device (a second drive device) 25 to control connection and disconnection of the clutch 23. The differential 19, while allowing differential between the right front axle 5R and the left front axle 5L, distributes the torque input to the two front axles 5R and 5L when the second clutch 23 is connected”; para. [0035]: “when it is determined that second clutch 23 is connectable (that is, synchronized), the control device 29 controls the second drive device 25 to connect the second clutch 23”).
However, Yaguchi does not explicitly state:
wherein, in response to receiving a connect request from a control system of the vehicle, an actuator of the disconnect device applies an initial current to a plunger that applies a force on the second clutch member toward the first clutch member, wherein the initial current is below a level that overcomes a bias on the second clutch member, and the second clutch member remains in the disconnected state during application of the initial current;
the control system increases the current applied to the actuator to a second level that is higher than the initial current, wherein the second level of the current applies a force that overcomes the bias on the second clutch member,
wherein a biasing mechanism is disposed operatively between the plunger and the first clutch member, wherein the biasing mechanism exerts a biasing force and biases the second clutch member away from the first clutch member toward the disconnected state,
wherein the initial current causes the plunger to exert a force against the biasing member, wherein the biasing force is greater than the force exerted by the plunger against the biasing member, wherein the plunger remains stationary during provision of the initial current.
In the same field of endeavor, Tamoto teaches:
wherein, in response to receiving a connect request from a control system of the vehicle, an actuator of the disconnect device applies an initial current to a plunger that applies a force on the second clutch member toward the first clutch member, (Tamoto at para. [0040]: “The coupling 22 is provided between the propeller shaft 20 and the rear differential 24” “when current is supplied to an electromagnetic solenoid (not shown) that controls the torque transmitted by the coupling 22, the coupling 22 is engaged with an engagement force directly proportional to the value of the current supplied”; para. [0069]: “When the change start timing determination unit 140 is activated, the start of engagement of the clutches 36, 54 is delayed” “when it is determined to engage the clutches 36, 54, a command (precharge command) is output to control the coupling 22 in advance to a state just before the torque capacity arises. Thus, it is possible to quickly engage the clutches 36, 54”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Yaguchi by adding the initial current of Tamoto with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the method of Yaguchi in view of Tamoto is to provide quick engagement of clutches.
However, Yaguchi in view of Tamoto does not explicitly state:
wherein the initial current is below a level that overcomes a bias on the second clutch member, and the second clutch member remains in the disconnected state during application of the initial current;
the control system increases the current applied to the actuator to a second level that is higher than the initial current, wherein the second level of the current applies a force that overcomes the bias on the second clutch member,
wherein a biasing mechanism is disposed operatively between the plunger and the first clutch member, wherein the biasing mechanism exerts a biasing force and biases the second clutch member away from the first clutch member toward the disconnected state,
wherein the initial current causes the plunger to exert a force against the biasing member, wherein the biasing force is greater than the force exerted by the plunger against the biasing member, wherein the plunger remains stationary during provision of the initial current.
In the same field of endeavor, Xu teaches wherein the initial current is below a level that overcomes a bias on the second clutch member, and the second clutch member remains in the disconnected state during application of the initial current (Xu at para. [0016]: “The armature is biased in a closed position by a spring 230. The spring 230 retains a needle valve 250 in contact with an injector valve seat 240 to place the valve in a closed position when there is no magnetic force or an insufficient magnetic force is applied to open it”; para. [0017]: “The pre-charging current is slightly below the current level which will cause the armature 220 (FIG. 2) to move”),
wherein the initial current causes the plunger to exert a force against the biasing member, wherein the biasing force is greater than the force exerted by the plunger against the biasing member, wherein the plunger remains stationary during provision of the initial current (Xu at para. [0016]: “The armature is biased in a closed position by a spring 230. The spring 230 retains a needle valve 250 in contact with an injector valve seat 240 to place the valve in a closed position when there is no magnetic force or an insufficient magnetic force is applied to open it”; para. [0017]: “The pre-charging current is slightly below the current level which will cause the armature 220 (FIG. 2) to move”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Yaguchi in view of Tamoto further in view of Xu by adding the initial current of Xu with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the method of Yaguchi in view of Tamoto further in view of Xu is to provide rapid response time.
However, Yaguchi in view of Tamoto in view of Xu does not explicitly state:
the control system increases the current applied to the actuator to a second level that is higher than the initial current, wherein the second level of the current applies a force that overcomes the bias on the second clutch member,
wherein a biasing mechanism is disposed operatively between the plunger and the first clutch member, wherein the biasing mechanism exerts a biasing force and biases the second clutch member away from the first clutch member toward the disconnected state,
In the same field of endeavor, Ebuchi teaches:
the control system increases the current applied to the actuator to a second level that is higher than the initial current, wherein the second level of the current applies a force that overcomes the bias on the second clutch member (Ebuchi at para. [0052]: “The return spring 72 applies an urging force to the moving member 66 in a direction opposite to the direction of the thrust of the actuator 70. The return spring 72 is arranged between the flange portion 65b of the plunger 65 and the second yoke 69”; para. [0055]: “The thrust of the actuator 70 changes with the current value at which the coil 67 is energized. The thrust of the actuator 70 increases as the current value increases” “The thrust of the actuator 70 increases as the stroke amount of the moving member 66 increases”),
wherein a biasing mechanism is disposed operatively between the plunger and the first clutch member, wherein the biasing mechanism exerts a biasing force and biases the second clutch member away from the first clutch member toward the disconnected state (Ebuchi at para. [0052]: “The return spring 72 applies an urging force to the moving member 66 in a direction opposite to the direction of the thrust of the actuator 70. The return spring 72 is arranged between the flange portion 65b of the plunger 65 and the second yoke 69”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Yaguchi in view of Tamoto further in view of Xu by adding the second level of the current and the biasing mechanism of Ebuchi with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the method of Yaguchi in view of Tamoto further in view of Xu and Ebuchi is to provide rapid response time.
Claims 8-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yaguchi in view of Tamoto further in view of Ebuchi, Xu, and Mita (US 2016/0152238 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Yaguchi in view of Tamoto further in view of Ebuchi and Xu teaches the method of claim 1.
Yaguchi further discloses wherein the first clutch member is a differential carrier of a differential of a power transfer mechanism, (Yaguchi at FIG. 1 and para. [0022]: “The vehicle also includes a disconnectable differential 19 coupled to the front axles 5R and 5L. An outer case 19a is gear-coupled to the sub-shaft 11, and can receive the transmitted torque. An inner case 19b can freely rotate relative to the outer case 19a, and a second clutch 23 is interposed between the outer case 19a and the inner case 19b. Since the present embodiment improves a problem of synchronization of a non-slip clutch, the non-slip clutch, such as a dog clutch, can be suitably applied to the second clutch 23”).
However, Yaguchi in view of Tamoto further in view of Ebuchi and Xu does not explicitly state the differential carrier having axially extending teeth and a clutch ring.
In the same field of endeavor, Mita teaches the differential carrier having axially extending teeth (Mita at para. [0031]: “a pair of pinion gears 132 that meshes with the side gears 131 such that a gear axis of the pinion gears 132 is orthogonal to a gear axis of the side gears 131, a pinion gear shaft 133 that supports the pinion gears 132, and a front differential case 134 that houses the side gears 131, the pinion gears 132, and the pinion gear shaft 133”) and a clutch ring (Mita at para. [0037]: “The first rotation member 31 is shaped like a ring through which the right front wheel drive shaft 182 is inserted and has on an outer peripheral surface of the first rotation member 31 a plurality of spline teeth 311 formed to extend parallel to the axis of rotation O of the front differential case 134”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Yaguchi in view of Tamoto further in view of Ebuchi and Xu by adding the differential carrier and the clutch ring of Mita with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the method of Yaguchi in view of Tamoto further in view of Ebuchi, Xu, and Mita is to provide a structure to transmit power. Further, it is obvious to one skilled in the art that a differential includes axially extending teeth to connect drive shafts.
Regarding claim 9, Yaguchi in view of Tamoto further in view of Ebuchi, Xu, and Mita teaches the method of claim 8.
Yaguchi further discloses wherein movement of the second clutch member into the connected state drivingly couples the ground engaging wheels to the outer housing and the electric motor for transferring torque therebetween (Yaguchi at para. [0023]: “The differential 19 further includes a drive device (a second drive device) 25 to control connection and disconnection of the clutch 23. The differential 19, while allowing differential between the right front axle 5R and the left front axle 5L, distributes the torque input to the two front axles 5R and 5L when the second clutch 23 is connected”).
Regarding claim 10, Yaguchi in view of Tamoto further in view of Ebuchi and Xu teaches the method of claim 1.
However, Yaguchi in view of Tamoto further in view of Ebuchi and Xu does not explicitly state wherein a first ground engaging wheel is coupled to a first side gear of a differential of a power transfer mechanism and a second ground engaging wheel is coupled a second side gear of the differential, where the first clutch member is the second side gear, the second side gear having axially extending teeth, and the second clutch member is a clutch hub rotationally coupled to an output shaft connected to the second ground engaging wheel.
In the same field of endeavor, Mita teaches wherein a first ground engaging wheel is coupled to a first side gear of a differential of a power transfer mechanism (Mita at FIG. 1 and para. [0031]: the gear 131 couped to the left front wheel drive shaft 181) and a second ground engaging wheel is coupled a second side gear of the differential (the gear 131 couped to the right front wheel drive shaft 182), where the first clutch member is the second side gear, the second side gear having axially extending teeth, and the second clutch member is a clutch hub rotationally coupled to an output shaft connected to the second ground engaging wheel (Mita at FIG. 1 and para. [0031]: “he front differential 13 has a pair of side gears 131 coupled to the right and left front wheel drive shafts 182 and 181” “a pair of pinion gears 132 that meshes with the side gears 131 such that a gear axis of the pinion gears 132 is orthogonal to a gear axis of the side gears 131, a pinion gear shaft 133 that supports the pinion gears 132, and a front differential case 134 that houses the side gears 131, the pinion gears 132, and the pinion gear shaft 133”; para. [0036]: “The dog clutch 3 has a first rotation member 31 fixed to an axial end of the front differential case 134”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Yaguchi in view of Tamoto further in view of Ebuchi and Xu by adding the first and second side gears of Mita with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the method of Yaguchi in view of Tamoto further in view of Ebuchi, Xu, and Mita is to provide a structure to transmit power.
Regarding claim 11, Yaguchi in view of Tamoto further in view of Ebuchi, Xu, and Mita teaches the method of claim 10.
Mita further teaches wherein movement of the second clutch member into the connected state drivingly couples the second ground engaging wheel to the second side gear and the differential via the output shaft, and the first ground engaging wheel is drivingly coupled to the first side gear and the differential, wherein torque from the power transfer mechanism is transferred to both ground engaging wheels via the differential (Mita at para. [0074]: “the control circuit 51 supplies a current to the actuator 34 to move the second rotation member 32 toward the first rotation member 31 in the axial direction to mesh the first rotation member 31 with the second rotation member 32” “the dog clutch 3 is set to enable the driving force to be transmitted, completing the shift to the four-wheel driving state”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Yaguchi in view of Tamoto further in view of Ebuchi, Xu, and Mita by adding the second clutch member of Mita with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the method of Yaguchi in view of Tamoto further in view of Ebuchi, Xu, and Mita is to provide a structure to transmit power.
Regarding claim 12, Yaguchi in view of Tamoto further in view of Ebuchi, Xu, and Mita teaches the method of claim 10.
Ebuchi further teaches wherein the wheel speed of the first ground engaging wheel is transmitted from the first side gear to the second side gear via the differential when in the disconnected state, wherein the second side gear rotates in an opposite direction relative to the second ground engaging wheel prior to actuation of the electric motor, wherein actuation of the electric motor actuates a differential housing coupled to the side gears to reduce the speed difference between the second side gear and the first ground engaging wheel (Ebuchi at para. [0036]: “A counter drive gear 25 is arranged on the outer periphery of the second ring gear 23. The counter drive gear 25 is in mesh with a counter driven gear 26. The counter driven gear 26 is connected to a drive pinion gear 27. The drive pinion gear 27 is in mesh with a differential ring gear 29 of a differential unit 28. The differential ring gear 29 is connected to drive wheels 31 via right and left drive shafts 30”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Yaguchi in view of Tamoto further in view of Ebuchi, Xu, and Mita by adding the differential housing of Ebuchi with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the method of Yaguchi in view of Tamoto further in view of Ebuchi, Xu, and Mita is to provide rapid response time.
Regarding claim 13, Yaguchi in view of Tamoto further in view of Ebuchi, Xu, and Mita teaches the method of claim 10.
Ebuchi further teaches wherein the clutch hub rotates with the output shaft and the second ground engaging wheel, wherein the clutch hub is rotationally moveable relative to the plunger and axially moveable by the plunger (Ebuchi at para. [0056]: “the moving member 66 and the sleeve 61 are connected to each other via the transmission spring 71, and the moving member 66 and the sleeve 61 are relatively movable in the axial direction”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Yaguchi in view of Tamoto further in view of Ebuchi, Xu, and Mita by adding the clutch hub of Ebuchi with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the method of Yaguchi in view of Tamoto further in view of Ebuchi, Xu, and Mita is to provide rapid response time.
Regarding claim 14, Yaguchi in view of Tamoto further in view of Ebuchi, Xu, and Mita teaches the method of claim 8.
Mita further teaches wherein the carrier rotates in the same direction as the ground engaging wheels and relative to the clutch ring and the outer housing when in the disconnected state, wherein actuation of the electric motor adjusts the speed of the outer housing and the clutch ring toward the speed of the carrier (Mita at para. [0032]: “The driving force of the engine 11 is transmitted to the propeller shaft 15 via the transmission 12, the front differential case 134 of the front differential 13, the dog clutch 3, and the front wheel gear mechanism 14”; para. [0037]: “The first rotation member 31 is shaped like a ring through which the right front wheel drive shaft 182 is inserted and has on an outer peripheral surface of the first rotation member 31 a plurality of spline teeth 311 formed to extend parallel to the axis of rotation O of the front differential case 134”; para. [0073]: “a difference between the rotation speed of the first rotation member 31 obtained from an average rotation speed of the right and left front wheels 21R and 21L and the rotation speed of the second rotation member 32 resulting from multiplication of the rotation speed of the propeller shaft 15 detected by the fifth rotation speed sensor 505 by a gear ratio of the front wheel gear mechanism 14”; para. [0074]: “the control circuit 51 supplies a current to the actuator 34 to move the second rotation member 32 toward the first rotation member 31 in the axial direction to mesh the first rotation member 31 with the second rotation member 32. Then, the dog clutch 3 is set to enable the driving force to be transmitted, completing the shift to the four-wheel driving state”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Yaguchi in view of Tamoto further in view of Ebuchi, Xu, and Mita by adding the carrier of Mita with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the method of Yaguchi in view of Tamoto further in view of Ebuchi, Xu, and Mita is to provide rapid switch between different drive modes.
Regarding claim 15, Yaguchi in view of Tamoto further in view of Ebuchi, Xu, and Mita teaches the method of claim 8.
Mita further teaches wherein the clutch ring and outer housing rotate together, wherein the clutch ring is rotationally moveable relative to the plunger and axially moveable by the plunger (Mita at para. [0043]: “The actuator 34 includes an electromagnetic actuator that moves a movable iron core by a magnetic force generated by passing a current through an exciting coil. In the actuator 34, a shaft 341 moves in the axial direction with respect to a main body portion 340 to move the second rotation member 32 forward and backward via the shift fork 35 coupled to the shaft 341”; para. [0074]: “the control circuit 51 supplies a current to the actuator 34 to move the second rotation member 32 toward the first rotation member 31 in the axial direction to mesh the first rotation member 31 with the second rotation member 32”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Yaguchi in view of Tamoto further in view of Ebuchi, Xu, and Mita by adding the carrier of Mita with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the method of Yaguchi in view of Tamoto further in view of Ebuchi, Xu, and Mita is to provide rapid switch between different drive modes.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yaguchi in view of Tamoto further in view of Ebuchi.
Regarding claim 19, Yaguchi discloses a method of controlling a secondary drivetrain, the method comprising the steps of:
receiving a connect request from a control system to connect a disconnect mechanism of the secondary drivetrain, the disconnect mechanism operatively disposed between an electric motor and a ground engaging wheels of the secondary drivetrain (Yaguchi at para. [0030]: “When shifting from the 2WD mode to the AWD mode, the all-wheel drive control device 29 operates, for example, according to an algorithm shown in FIG. 4”; para. [0031]: “the torque Tc transmitted through the coupling 13 at this time is substantially zero, and no torque is applied to the sub-shaft 11 from anywhere, so that the rotational speed Np is also substantially zero to very low”);
in response to receiving the connect request, increasing electric motor speed to reduce a speed difference between a first clutch member and a second clutch member of the disconnect mechanism when the first and second clutch member are in a disconnected state (Yaguchi at para. [0032]: “When the connection request is received, the control device 29 controls the first drive device 17 to appropriately connect the first clutch 15, extracts a part of a torque T transmitted by the propeller shaft 9 as the synchronous torque Ts for synchronizing the second clutch 23, and applies the torque to the sub-shaft 11. The sub-shaft 11 spins up due to action of the synchronous torque Ts and eventually reaches a rotational speed Nf that synchronizes the second clutch 23, and connection thereof is possible”);
during the increasing of the electric motor speed, detecting a decreasing speed difference between the first clutch member and the second clutch member of the disconnect mechanism (Yaguchi at para. [0033]: “The control device 29 controls the first clutch 15 to continue applying the synchronous torque Ts until the connection is possible”);
confirming the speed difference between the first clutch member and second clutch member is below a threshold level (Yaguchi at para. [0034]: “whether the second clutch 23 is connectable is determined. With reference to FIG. 5 in combination with FIG. 4, the determination can be made based on a rotational speed difference ΔN between clutch teeth” “When the rotational speed difference ΔN is smaller than an appropriately determined reference value, it can be determined that the connection is possible”);
in response thereto, (Yaguchi at para. [0035]: “when it is determined that second clutch 23 is connectable (that is, synchronized), the control device 29 controls the second drive device 25 to connect the second clutch 23”);
in response to engaging the first and second clutch members, transferring torque between the electric motor and the ground-engaging wheels via the disconnect mechanism (Yaguchi at para. [0039]: “the control device 29 passes control to an algorithm for AWD control in response to the determination that the second clutch 23 is connected. Under the AWD control algorithm, the transmission torque Tc is controlled, and as shown in FIG. 8, the transmission torque Tc increases to the drive torque Td that is larger than the synchronous torque Ts”);
wherein a common connect request signal causes the motor speed to increase and (Yaguchi at para. [0032]: “When the connection request is received, the control device 29 controls the first drive device 17 to appropriately connect the first clutch 15, extracts a part of a torque T transmitted by the propeller shaft 9 as the synchronous torque Ts for synchronizing the second clutch 23, and applies the torque to the sub-shaft 11. The sub-shaft 11 spins up due to action of the synchronous torque Ts and eventually reaches a rotational speed Nf that synchronizes the second clutch 23, and connection thereof is possible”);
wherein the time to increase the current to the second level following the connect request signal is unknown at the time of the connect request signal and is dependent on detection of the speed difference reaching the threshold level, wherein the time to reach the threshold level is unknown (Yaguchi at para. [0034]: “whether the second clutch 23 is connectable is determined. With reference to FIG. 5 in combination with FIG. 4, the determination can be made based on a rotational speed difference ΔN between clutch teeth”; para. [0035]: “when it is determined that second clutch 23 is connectable (that is, synchronized), the control device 29 controls the second drive device 25 to connect the second clutch 23”; Since the determination as to the speed difference has to be made to increase the current to connect the second clutch 23, the time to reach the threshold level is unknown).
However, Yaguchi does not explicitly state:
during the increasing of the electric motor speed, applying an initial level of pre-energization current to an electromagnetic actuator of the disconnect mechanism,
applying a second level of current that is higher than the initial current to the electromagnetic actuator and, in response thereto, providing movement of a plunger operatively coupled to the second clutch member in a direction toward the first clutch member,
the initial current to be applied during the same period.
In the same field of endeavor, Tamoto teaches during the increasing of the electric motor speed, applying an initial level of pre-energization current to an electromagnetic actuator of the disconnect mechanism (Tamoto at para. [0040]: “The coupling 22 is provided between the propeller shaft 20 and the rear differential 24” “when current is supplied to an electromagnetic solenoid (not shown) that controls the torque transmitted by the coupling 22, the coupling 22 is engaged with an engagement force directly proportional to the value of the current supplied”; para. [0069]: “When the change start timing determination unit 140 is activated, the start of engagement of the clutches 36, 54 is delayed” “when it is determined to engage the clutches 36, 54, a command (precharge command) is output to control the coupling 22 in advance to a state just before the torque capacity arises. Thus, it is possible to quickly engage the clutches 36, 54”),
the initial current to be applied during the same period (Tamoto at para. [0069]: “When the change start timing determination unit 140 is activated, the start of engagement of the clutches 36, 54 is delayed” “when it is determined to engage the clutches 36, 54, a command (precharge command) is output to control the coupling 22 in advance to a state just before the torque capacity arises. Thus, it is possible to quickly engage the clutches 36, 54”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Yaguchi by adding the initial current of Tamoto with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the method of Yaguchi in view of Tamoto is to provide quick engagement of clutches. Further, it is obvious to one skilled in the art would combine the signals to increase the motor speed of Yaguchi and to apply the initial current of Tamoto because both signals are to be sent out at the same time when clutch connection is requested (i.e., a request to switch from 2WD to 4WD).
However, Yaguchi in view of Tamoto does not explicitly state:
applying a second level of current that is higher than the initial current to the electromagnetic actuator and, in response thereto, providing movement of a plunger operatively coupled to the second clutch member in a direction toward the first clutch member.
In the same field of endeavor, Ebuchi teaches applying a second level of current that is higher than the initial current to the electromagnetic actuator and, in response thereto, providing movement of a plunger operatively coupled to the second clutch member in a direction toward the first clutch member (Ebuchi at para. [0005]: “At the time when a pair of clutch elements are changed from a non-engaged state to an engaged state, the first setting means sets a first drive current as an initial drive current for an electromagnetic actuator such that a plunger is accelerated in a direction as a result of application of an urging force to the plunger and then the plunger is decelerated in the direction as a result of the fact that an elastic force exceeds the urging force in response to a stroke amount”; para. [0049]: “The transmission spring 71 is interposed between the moving member 66 (the armature 64 and the plunger 65) and the sleeve 61, and transmits the thrust of the actuator 70 from the moving member 66 to the sleeve 61”; para. [0055]: “The thrust of the actuator 70 changes with the current value at which the coil 67 is energized. The thrust of the actuator 70 increases as the current value increases”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Yaguchi in view of Tamoto by adding the second level of the current of Ebuchi with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to modify the method of Yaguchi in view of Tamoto further in view of Ebuchi is to provide rapid response time.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and can be found in the attached PTO-892 form.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JISUN CHOI/Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/SCOTT A BROWNE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666