DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on June 13, 2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
Receipt is acknowledged of the Preliminary Amendment filed on June 13, 2024. Accordingly, claims 1-16 and newly added claims 17-20 are currently pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7, 9-12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (CN 113376412 A).
Li et al. teaches a vertical probe head and its branch probe comprising:
With regard to claims 1 and 12, a contact probe (FIG. 2 in view of FIG. 1, branch type probe 3) having a first end portion (FIG. 2 in view of FIG. 1, needle measuring section 311) which ends with a contact tip (FIG. 2 in view of FIG. 1, the tip of needle measuring section 311) configured to abut onto a contact pad of a device under test (test object under test or device under test DUT) and a second end portion (FIG. 2 in view of FIG. 1, fixed section 312) which ends with a contact head (FIG. 2 in view of FIG. 1, the tip or head of fixed section 312) configured to abut onto a contact pad of a board (FIG. 1, adapter plate 200) of a testing apparatus (testing device for testing a DUT as semiconductor wafer ), as well as a probe body (FIG. 2 in view of FIG. 1, transmission needle body 31) extended between the first end portion (FIG. 2 in view of FIG. 1, needle measuring section 311) and the second end portion (FIG. 2 in view of FIG. 1, fixed section 312) along a longitudinal development axis (FIG. 2 in view of FIG. 1, the axis of transmission needle body 31), the second end portion (FIG. 2 in view of FIG. 1, fixed section 312) comprising a first support part (FIG. 2 in view of FIG. 1, supporting arm 32), interposed between the probe body (FIG. 2 in view of FIG. 1, transmission needle body 31) and the contact head (FIG. 2 in view of FIG. 1, the tip or head of fixed section 312), wherein the first support part (FIG. 2 in view of FIG. 1, supporting arm 32) comprises a contact pin (FIG. 2 in view of FIG. 1, buckling structure 322) and one probe length (FIG. 1, transmission needle body 31) which extend parallel to each other along the longitudinal development axis (FIG. 2 in view of FIG. 1, the axis of transmission needle body 31) and are separated by an air gap (FIG. 2 in view of FIG. 1, distance D) (For more details, please read: Abstract; and paragraphs: [0004]-[0014] and [0035]-[0054]).
With regard to claim 12, a probe head (FIG. 1, probe head 100) for testing the functionality of a device under test (OUT or DUT) comprising: a plurality of contact probes (FIG. 1, branch-type probes 3), a single upper guide (FIG. 1, first guide plate 1) provided with upper guide holes (FIG. 1, first through holes 11); and a single lower guide (FIG. 1, second guide plate 2) provided with lower guide holes (FIG. 1, second through holes 21); the upper guide holes (FIG. 1, first through holes 11) and lower guide holes (FIG. 1, second through holes 21) being adapted to house the plurality of contact probes (FIG. 1, branch-type probes 3); and wherein the lower guide holes (FIG. 1, second through holes 21) comprise first lower guide holes (FIG. 8 in view of FIG. 1, one of the second through hole 21 of the hole wall 22) adapted to house the probe lengths (FIG. 1, transmission needle bodies 31) of the contact probes (FIG. 1, branch-type probes 3) and second lower guide holes (FIG. 8 in view of FIG. 1, one of the second through hole 21 of the hole wall 22) adapted to house the contact pins (FIG. 8 in view of FIG. 1, buckling structure 322) of the contact probes (FIG. 1, branch-type probes 3) (For more details, please read: Abstract; and paragraphs: [0004]-[0014], [0035]-[0054] and [0057]).
Li et al. teaches all that is claimed as discussed above including the first end portion (FIG. 2 in view of FIG. 1, needle measuring section 311) and the second end portion (FIG. 2 in view of FIG. 1, fixed section 312) comprising the first support part (FIG. 2 in view of FIG. 1, supporting arm 32), but it does not specifically teach the following feature:
The first end portion comprising a first support part.
It is clear that Li et al. discloses the first support part (FIG. 2 in view of FIG. 1, supporting arm 32) attached to the probe body (FIG. 2 in view of FIG. 1, transmission needle body 31) at the second end portion (FIG. 2 in view of FIG. 1, fixed section 312), not at the first end portion (FIG. 2 in view of FIG. 1, needle measuring section 311). However, it is noted that whether the first end portion is configured to abut onto a contact pad of a DUT (as claimed) or to abut onto a contact pad of a board of a testing apparatus does not limit the contact probe as claimed in a different manner, as long as a contact portion is present on the probe and is suitable for such use. The same applies of course to the claimed second end portion.
In addition, it is noted that the feature as recited in claim 1 upon which applicant relies (i.e., “the first end portion comprising a first support part”) is just a mere rearrangement of parts and not sufficient by itself to patentably distinguish over Li et al. In fact, “The mere fact that a worker in the art could rearrange the parts of the reference device to meet the terms of the claims on appeal is not by itself sufficient to support a finding of obviousness. The prior art must provide a motivation or reason for the worker in the art, without the benefit of appellant’s specification, to make the necessary changes in the reference device.” Ex parte Chicago Rawhide Mfg. Co., 223 USPQ 351, 353 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter.1984). Therefore, the court held that mere rearrangement of parts has no patentable significance since it would both not have modified the operation of the device and an obvious matter of design choice (In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) and In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ7 (CCPA 1975): please see MPEP 2144.04 VI. C. Rearrangement of Parts for more details).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vertical probe head (FIG. 1, probe head 100) and its branch probe of Li et al to arrange a first support part at the first end portion, which is at the needle measuring section since such an arrangement is beneficial to provide desirable and exemplary choices of a means to support the vertical probe head (FIG. 1, probe head 100) and its branch probe for testing a device under test (DUT) on a semiconductor wafer. Such an implementation can significantly increase the effectiveness of the vertical probe head (FIG. 1, probe head 100) and its branch probe.
With regard to claim 2, the first support part (FIG. 2 in view of FIG. 1, supporting arm 32) further comprises a material bridge (FIG. 2 in view of FIG. 1, connecting section 321) configured to connect the contact pin (FIG. 2 in view of FIG. 1, buckling structure 322) and the probe length (FIG. 1, transmission needle body 31) along a transversal direction that is orthogonal to the longitudinal development axis (FIG. 2 in view of FIG. 1, the axis of transmission needle body 31), the probe length (FIG. 1, transmission needle body 31), the contact pin (FIG. 2 in view of FIG. 1, buckling structure 322) and the material bridge (FIG. 2 in view of FIG. 1, connecting section 321) wholly configuring the first support part (FIG. 2 in view of FIG. 1, supporting arm 32) as U-shaped (FIG. 2).
With regard to claim 3, the contact tip (FIG. 2 in view of FIG. 1, the tip of needle measuring section 311) is aligned with the contact pin (FIG. 2 in view of FIG. 1, buckling structure 322) along a further longitudinal axis (FIG. 2 in view of FIG. 1, the axis of buckling structure 322) that is distinct and parallel to the longitudinal development axis (FIG. 2 in view of FIG. 1, the axis of transmission needle body 31) of the contact probe (FIG. 2 in view of FIG. 1, branch type probe 3).
With regard to claim 4, the contact pin (FIG. 2 in view of FIG. 1, buckling structure 322) comprises a retaining portion (FIG. 2 in view of FIG. 1, limiting part 3222) in correspondence of a free end thereof, opposite an end that is joined to the material bridge (FIG. 2 in view of FIG. 1, connecting section 321), the retaining portion (FIG. 2 in view of FIG. 1, limiting part 3222) having a transversal diameter that is greater than a transversal diameter of the contact pin (FIG. 2 in view of FIG. 1, buckling structure 322) outside the retaining portion (FIG. 2 in view of FIG. 1, limiting part 3222), transversal diameter meaning a maximum dimension of a transversal section that is orthogonal with respect to the longitudinal development axis (FIG. 2 in view of FIG. 1, the axis of transmission needle body 31) (FIGS. 1-6).
With regard to claim 5, the retaining portion (FIG. 2 in view of FIG. 1, limiting part 3222) further comprises an enlarged portion having said transversal diameter greater than the transversal diameter of the contact pin (FIG. 2 in view of FIG. 1, buckling structure 322), the enlarged portion being adapted to define an undercut wall of the retaining portion (FIG. 2 in view of FIG. 1, limiting part 3222) (FIGS. 1-6).
With regard to claim 7, the second end portion (FIG. 2 in view of FIGS. 4-6, fixed section 312) comprises a retaining mechanism (FIG. 2 in view of FIGS. 4-6, abutting part 3221) configured to generate friction with walls (FIGS. 4-6, hole wall 22) of a guide hole (FIGS. 4-6, second through hole 21) when it houses the second end portion (FIG. 2 in view of FIGS. 4-6, fixed section 312).
With regard to claim 9, a longitudinal slot (FIG. 2 in view of FIG. 1, slot formed by fixing section 312, connecting section 321 and supporting arm 32) extending along the probe body (FIG. 2 in view of FIG. 1, transmission needle body 31) and is configured to define therein a pair of arms (FIG. 2 in view of FIG. 1, fixing section 312 and supporting arm 32), parallel to each other and separated by the longitudinal slot (FIG. 2 in view of FIG. 1, slot or gap formed by fixing section 312, connecting section 321 and supporting arm 32).
With regard to claim 10, the probe body (FIG. 2 in view of FIG. 1, transmission needle body 31) has a pre-deformed shape with a curvilinear configuration in rest conditions (FIG. 2, arc-shaped elastic section 3131), comprising a bend (arc-shaped configuration).
With regard to claim 11, a reduced-section portion (FIG. 2, arc-shaped elastic section 3131) which forms a bending neck positioned in the probe body (FIG. 2 in view of FIG. 1, transmission needle body 31) in correspondence of one of the first end portion (FIG. 2 in view of FIG. 1, needle measuring section 311) and second end portion (FIG. 2 in view of FIG. 1, fixed section 312).
With regard to claim 20, the probe body (FIG. 2 in view of FIG. 1, transmission needle body 31) has a pre-deformed shape with a curvilinear configuration in rest conditions (FIG. 2, arc-shaped elastic section 3131 and convex portion 3224), comprising two bends (arc-shaped configuration including arc-shaped elastic section 3131 and convex portion 3224).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 8 and 13-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant’s attention is invited to the followings whose inventions disclose similar devices.
Felici (CN 113272661 B) teaches a vertical probe head with improved contact with a device under test.
Vettori (US 11,402,428 B2) teaches a high-performance probe card in high-frequency.
CONTACT INFORMATION
HOAI-AN D. NGUYEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2858
/HOAI-AN D. NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858