DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 3, the metes and bounds of detect a short circuit failure of the upstream switch when the obtained voltage value exceeds a second voltage threshold, and the second voltage threshold is 0 V or more and is less than a value of a voltage between the one end and the other end of the DC power source is unclear. There is no previous voltage threshold claimed so it is unclear how a second voltage threshold is exceeded.
Regarding claims 4, the metes and bounds of detect an open circuit failure of the downstream switch when the obtained voltage value exceeds a third voltage threshold, and the third voltage threshold is 0 V or more, and is less than a voltage value obtained by the processing unit when the upstream switch, the downstream switch, and the connection switch are respectively off, off, and on is unclear. There is no previous first, second voltage thresholds claimed so it is unclear how a third voltage threshold is exceeded.
Regarding claims 5, the metes and bounds of detect a short circuit failure of the downstream switch when the obtained voltage value is less than a fourth voltage threshold, and the fourth voltage threshold exceeds 0 V, and is less than or equal to a voltage value obtained by the processing unit when the upstream switch, the downstream switch, and the connection switch are respectively off, off, and on is unclear. There is no first, second or third voltage threshold previously claimed so it is unclear how an obtained voltage is less than a fourth voltage threshold .
Regarding claims 6, the metes and bounds of detect an open circuit failure of the load when the obtained voltage value exceeds a fifth voltage threshold, and the fifth voltage threshold exceeds a voltage value obtained by the processing unit when the upstream switch, the downstream switch, and the connection switch are respectively off, off, and on, and is less than a voltage value of the constant voltage. There is no first, second or third or fourth voltage threshold previously claimed so it is unclear how an obtained voltage value exceeds a fifth voltage threshold .
Regarding claim 7, the metes and bounds of detect an open circuit failure of the upstream switch when the obtained voltage value is less than a sixth voltage threshold, and the sixth voltage threshold exceeds 0 V and is less than or equal to a value of a voltage between the one end and the other end of the DC power source. There is no first, second, third, fourth and fifth voltage threshold previously claimed so it is unclear how an obtained voltage is less than a sixth voltage threshold .
Regarding claim 8, the metes and bounds of detect a failure regarding a resistance value of the upstream switch when the obtained voltage value is less than a seventh voltage threshold, and the seventh voltage threshold is less than or equal to a value of a voltage between the one end and the other end of the DC power source. There is no first, second, third, fourth, fifth, sixth voltage threshold previously claimed so it is unclear how an obtained voltage is less than a seventh voltage threshold .
Regarding claim 9, the metes and bounds of detect an open circuit failure of the downstream switch when the obtained voltage value exceeds an eighth voltage threshold, and the eighth voltage threshold is 0 V or more, and is less than a value of a voltage between the one end and the other end of the DC power source. There is no first, second, third, fourth, fifth, sixth and seventh voltage threshold previously claimed so it is unclear how an obtained voltage exceeds an eighth voltage threshold .
Regarding claim 12, detect a short circuit failure of the load when the obtained current value exceeds a second current threshold, and the second current threshold is a current value of a current flowing through the upstream switch when the upstream switch and the downstream switch are on while the load is in a normal state. There is no first voltage threshold previously claimed so it is unclear how an obtained current value exceeds a second current threshold .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,3,9, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oda et al. (JP 2021040365 A).
Regarding claims 1 and 14, Oda et al. teach A power supply control device for controlling power supply to a load, comprising:
an upstream switch disposed upstream of the load in a current path for a current flowing through the load; (Note 20u, Fig. 1)
a downstream switch disposed downstream of the load in the current path; (Note 20d, Fig. 1)
a first resistor whose one end is connected to a connection node between the upstream switch and the load; (Note 23, Fig. 1)
a series circuit whose one end is connected to a connection node between the load and the downstream switch, the series circuit including a second resistor (29, Fig. 1) and a connection switch (Note 28, Fig. 1) that are connected in series to each other; and
a processing unit (microcomputer 27, Fig. 1) configured to execute processing, wherein a constant voltage (Vcc Fig. 1) with respect to a potential of another end of the first resistor (23, Fig. 1) serving as a reference potential is applied to another end of the series circuit, and
the processing unit is configured to: obtain a voltage value of a voltage at the connection node between the upstream switch and the load, or a voltage value of a voltage at the connection node between the load and the downstream switch, ([0043] The connection node between the diagnostic resistors 29 and 30 is connected to the other end of the motor 12 and the other end of the load resistor 23 , and to a voltage detection circuit 31 . Therefore, the connection node between the diagnostic resistors 29 and 30 is connected to the connection node between the motor 12, the load resistor 23, the first downstream switch 20d, and the second upstream switch 21u. The voltage detection circuit 31 is further connected to the microcomputer 27 .)
and
detect a failure of the upstream switch, the downstream switch, or the load based on the obtained voltage value. [0107] It is assumed that both ends of the first upstream switch 20u are short-circuited with the flag value at zero. In this case, the detected voltage rises to a voltage that substantially matches the battery voltage and is equal to or greater than the voltage threshold Vth. When a forward rotation signal or a reverse rotation signal is input to the input unit 46, the control unit 50 executes a motor drive process. In the motor drive process, diagnosis is performed when the flag value is zero and the diagnostic switch 28 is off. Here, since the detected voltage is greater than or equal to the voltage threshold Vth, the control unit 50 detects a fault such as a short circuit between both ends of the first upstream switch 20u or the second upstream switch 21u, half-on of the first downstream switch 20d or the second downstream switch 21d, or a fault to the power supply. In this case, the control unit 50 ends the motor drive process in a state where the instructions output by the output units 40u, 40d, 41u, and 41d are maintained as OFF instructions.
Regarding claim 3, Oda et al. teach wherein a current flows from one end of a DC power source to another end of the DC power source through the current path, the processing unit is configured to: give instructions to turn off the upstream switch and the downstream switch, obtain a voltage value of a voltage at the connection node between the upstream switch and the load, or a voltage value of a voltage at the connection node between the load and the downstream switch, while the connection switch is off, and detect a short circuit failure of the upstream switch when the obtained voltage value exceeds a second voltage threshold, and the second voltage threshold is 0 V or more and is less than a value of a voltage between the one end and the other end of the DC power source. (Note (paragraphs [0085], [0106]-[0108], fig. 7) indicates that, in a case where the first upstream switch 20u, the first downstream switch 20d, and the diagnostic switch 28 are OFF, short-circuit failure of the first upstream switch 20u is detected based on the fact that the detection voltage is equal to or greater than a voltage threshold value Vth which is greater than 0V and less than the battery voltage.) also note par. 0168.
Regarding claim 9, Oda et al. teach wherein a current flows from one end of a DC power source to another end of the DC power source through the current path, the processing unit is configured to: give instructions to turn on the upstream switch and the downstream switch; obtain a voltage value of a voltage at the connection node between the load and the downstream switch while the connection switch is off; and detect an open circuit failure of the downstream switch when the obtained voltage value exceeds an eighth voltage threshold, and the eighth voltage threshold is 0 V or more, and is less than a value of a voltage between the one end and the other end of the DC power source. (Note paragraphs [0085], [0133]-[0137], fig. 11) indicates that, in a case where the first upstream switch 20u and the first downstream switch 20d are ON and the diagnostic switch 28 is OFF, open-circuit failure of the first downstream switch 20d is detected based on the fact that the detected voltage is equal to or greater than a voltage threshold value Vth which is greater than 0V and less than the battery voltage, and that, in a case where failure of the circuit driving the motor 12 is detected, the first upstream switch 20u and the first downstream switch 20d are switched off.)
Regarding claim 13, Oda et al. teach wherein upon detection of a failure in the upstream switch, the downstream switch, or the load when instructions to turn on the upstream switch and the downstream switch have been given, the processing unit gives instructions to turn off the upstream switch and the downstream switch. (Note pars. 0136-0137)
Examiner’s Note:
Claims 2, 4-8 and 10-12 stand rejected under 35 USC 112(b) as outlined above. No prior art rejection has been applied to these claims because the prior art of record taken alone or in combination fails to teach the following features recited in these claims:
Regarding claim 2, wherein a current flows from one end of a DC power source to another end of the DC power source through the current path, the processing unit is configured to: give an instruction to turn on the upstream switch, give an instruction to turn off the downstream switch, and obtain a voltage value of a voltage at the connection node between the upstream switch and the load, or a voltage value of a voltage at the connection node between the load and the downstream switch, while the connection switch is off, and detect an open circuit failure of the upstream switch when the obtained voltage value is less than a voltage threshold, and the voltage threshold exceeds 0 V and is less than or equal to a value of a voltage between the one end and the other end of the DC power source as claimed in combination with all other claim limitations.
Regarding claim 4, wherein the processing unit is configured to: give an instruction to turn off the upstream switch; give an instruction to turn on the downstream switch; obtain a voltage value of a voltage at the connection node between the upstream switch and the load, or a voltage value of a voltage at the connection node between the load and the downstream switch, while the connection switch is on; and detect an open circuit failure of the downstream switch when the obtained voltage value exceeds a third voltage threshold, and the third voltage threshold is 0 V or more, and is less than a voltage value obtained by the processing unit when the upstream switch, the downstream switch, and the connection switch are respectively off, off, and on as claimed in combination with all other claim limitations.
Regarding claim 5, wherein the processing unit is configured to: give instructions to turn off the upstream switch and the downstream switch, obtain a voltage value of a voltage at the connection node between the upstream switch and the load, or a voltage value of a voltage at the connection node between the load and the downstream switch, while the connection switch is on; and detect a short circuit failure of the downstream switch when the obtained voltage value is less than a fourth voltage threshold, and the fourth voltage threshold exceeds 0 V, and is less than or equal to a voltage value obtained by the processing unit when the upstream switch, the downstream switch, and the connection switch are respectively off, off, and on as claimed in combination with all other claim limitations.
Regarding claim 6, wherein the processing unit is configured to: give instructions to turn off the upstream switch and the downstream switch; obtain a voltage value of a voltage at the connection node between the load and the downstream switch while the connection switch is on; and detect an open circuit failure of the load when the obtained voltage value exceeds a fifth voltage threshold, and the fifth voltage threshold exceeds a voltage value obtained by the processing unit when the upstream switch, the downstream switch, and the connection switch are respectively off, off, and on, and is less than a voltage value of the constant voltage as claimed in combination with all other claim limitations.
Regarding claim 7, wherein a current flows from one end of a DC power source to another end of the DC power source through the current path, the processing unit is configured to: give instructions to turn on the upstream switch and the downstream switch; obtain a voltage value of a voltage at the connection node between the upstream switch and the load while the connection switch is off; and detect an open circuit failure of the upstream switch when the obtained voltage value is less than a sixth voltage threshold, and the sixth voltage threshold exceeds 0 V and is less than or equal to a value of a voltage between the one end and the other end of the DC power source as claimed in combination with all other claim limitations.
Regarding claim 8, wherein a current flows from one end of a DC power source to another end of the DC power source through the current path, the upstream switch is a semiconductor switch, the processing unit is configured to: give instructions to turn on the upstream switch and the downstream switch; obtain a voltage value of a voltage at the connection node between the upstream switch and the load while the connection switch is off; and detect a failure regarding a resistance value of the upstream switch when the obtained voltage value is less than a seventh voltage threshold, and the seventh voltage threshold is less than or equal to a value of a voltage between the one end and the other end of the DC power source as claimed in combination with all other claim limitations.
Regarding claim 10 , wherein the processing unit is configured to: give instructions to turn on the upstream switch and the downstream switch; obtain a voltage value of a voltage at the connection node between the load and the downstream switch while the connection switch is off; and detect a failure regarding a resistance value of the downstream switch when the obtained voltage value exceeds a ninth voltage threshold, and the ninth voltage threshold is 0 V or more as claimed in combination with all other claim limitations.
Regarding claim 11, wherein the processing unit is configured to: give instructions to turn on the upstream switch and the downstream switch; obtain a current value of a current flowing through the upstream switch; and detect an open circuit failure of the load when the obtained current value is less than a current threshold, the current threshold exceeds a current value of a current flowing through the upstream switch when the upstream switch, the downstream switch, and the connection switch are respectively on, off, and off, the current threshold is less than or equal to a current value of a current flowing through the upstream switch when the upstream switch and the downstream switch are on while the load is in a normal state, and a resistance value of the load is less than a resistance value of the first resistor as claimed in combination with all other claim limitations.
Regarding claim 12, wherein the processing unit is configured to: give instructions to turn on the upstream switch and the downstream switch; obtain a current value of a current flowing through the upstream switch; and detect a short circuit failure of the load when the obtained current value exceeds a second current threshold, and the second current threshold is a current value of a current flowing through the upstream switch when the upstream switch and the downstream switch are on while the load is in a normal state as claimed in combination with all other claim limitations.
Conclusion
/DEMETRIUS R PRETLOW/ Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/LEE E RODAK/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858