DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the mechanical connection to a pre-stressed material (see claim 21) and at least one spacer intermediate between the upper spherical plate and the lower spherical plate (see claim 22) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 21, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Moreover, the phrase mechanical connection “to a pre-stressed material…” renders the scope of the claim as indefinite because it is unclear if the claim requires a mechanical connection connected to a pre-stressed material or if the mechanical connection is for use with a pre-stressed material. Interpreting the claim in the former would make it unclear if the claim is directed to smart friction pendulum system per se or to the smart friction pendulum in combination with a pre-stressed structure. For purposes of examination, the claim is interpreted as directed to a smart pendulum system per se where the mechanical connection is capable of connecting with a pre-stressed structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-12, 15, 17, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 113374107 to Cao et al. (“Cao”).
Regarding claim 1, Cao discloses a smart friction pendulum system comprising: an upper spherical plate 1 and a lower spherical plate 3 each having a sliding surface (spherical sliding portion at 131 and 331); a slider 21-23 positioned between the upper spherical plate and the lower spherical plate 3; and a plurality of shape memory alloy (SMA) wires 4 each having a first end and a second end; wherein the first end of each of the plurality of SMA wires is attached to the upper spherical plate and the second end of each of the plurality of SMA wires is attached to the lower spherical plate.
Regarding claim 2, Cao discloses that the sliding surface (inner surface of 131) on the upper spherical plate is curved (131 is curved to accommodate spherical surface 21).
Regarding claim 3, Cao discloses that the sliding surface 331 on the lower spherical plate is curved.
Regarding claim 6, Cao discloses that an upper surface 21 of the slider is curved.
Regarding claim 7, Cao discloses that a lower surface 23 of the slider is curved.
Regarding claim 8, Cao discloses that the smart friction pendulum system is configured to be installed between a foundation and a base mass of a civil infrastructure.
Regarding claim 9, Cao discloses that the smart friction pendulum system is configured to preserve a civil infrastructure under lateral loads.
Regarding claim 10, Cao discloses that the smart friction pendulum system is configured to dissipate energy by providing friction between the sliding surfaces and the slider.
Regarding claim 11, Cao discloses that the plurality of SMA wires 4 is at least eight SMA wires.
Regarding claim 12, Cao discloses that two SMA wires of the plurality of SMA wires 4 are positioned on each of a first side, a second side, a third side, and a fourth side of the upper spherical plate and lower spherical plate.
Regarding claim 15, Cao discloses that each of the plurality of SMA wires are configured to deform and subsequently recover their initial shape (SMA wire 4 allows self-resetting ability; see abstract and pg 2, ln 27-29 of English translation).
Regarding claim 17, Cao discloses that each of the plurality of SMA wire is pre-stressed (pg 2, ln 14-19 of English translation).
Regarding claim 20, Cao discloses that at least one of the plurality of SMA wires is pre-stressed (pg 2, ln 14-19 of English translation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 5, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao in view of U.S. Publication No. 2019/0368138 to Weber et al. (“Weber”). All references are made with respect to Cao unless otherwise noted.
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Cao does not disclose sliding material positioned on an upper surface of the slider nor a sliding material positioned on a lower surface of the slider.
Weber discloses a pendulum system comprising a sliding material (Weber 4) positioned on an upper surface of a slider (Weber 3a, 3b) and a sliding material (Weber 4) positioned on a lower surface of the slider (Weber 3a, 3b).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine system of Cao to have a sliding material positioned on an upper surface of the slider and a sliding material positioned on a lower surface of the slider as taught in Weber with a reasonable expectation of success because it would facilitate relative movement between two surfaces.
Regarding claim 22, Cao does not disclose at least one spacer intermediate between the upper spherical plate and the lower spherical plate.
Weber discloses a pendulum system comprising at least one spacer (Weber 4) intermediate between an upper spherical plate (Weber 1) and a lower spherical plate (Weber 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine system of Cao to have at least one spacer intermediate between the upper spherical plate and the lower spherical plate as taught in Weber with a reasonable expectation of success because it would facilitate relative movement between two surfaces.
Claim(s) 14 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao in view of U.S. Publication No. 2022/0081925 to Noori et al. (“Noori”). All references are made with respect to Cao unless otherwise noted.
Regarding claim 14, Cao does not disclose that each of the plurality of SMA wires is positioned diagonally between the upper spherical plate and the lower spherical plate.
Noori discloses a vibration damping system wherein each of a plurality of SMA wires (Noori 310, 311) is positioned diagonally between an upper plate (Noori 202) and a lower plate (Noori 201).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine system of Cao to have each of the plurality of SMA wires is positioned diagonally between the upper spherical plate and the lower spherical plate as taught in Noori with a reasonable expectation of success because it would provide improved lateral stability.
Regarding claim 21, Cao does not expressly disclose a mechanical connection to a pre-stressed material that contains SMA bars.
Noori discloses that vibration damping system comprising a mechanical connection (Noori par 0045) for a pre-stressed material (Noori par 0045).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine system of Cao to have a mechanical connection to a pre-stressed material as taught in Noori with a reasonable expectation of success because it would predictably secure the system while in use.
Claim(s) 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao in view of CN111395568 to Liu et al. (“Liu”). All references are made with respect to Cao unless otherwise noted.
Regarding claims 18 and 19, Cao does not disclose that the first end of each of the plurality of SMA wires is attached to the upper spherical plate by a pre-stressing nut or the second end of each of the plurality of SMA wires is attached to the lower spherical plate by a pre-stressing nut.
Liu in Fig. 3 discloses a vibration damping system wherein a first end of each of a plurality of SMA wires (Liu 7) is attached to an upper plate (Liu 1) by a pre-stressing nut (Liu 8) and a second end of each of a plurality of SMA wires (Liu 7) is attached to a lower plate (Liu 2) by a pre-stressing nut (Liu 8).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine system of Cao to have the first end of each of the plurality of SMA wires is attached to the upper spherical plate by a pre-stressing nut or the second end of each of the plurality of SMA wires is attached to the lower spherical plate by a pre-stressing nut as taught in Liu with a reasonable expectation of success because it would facilitate adjusting pre-stressing on site.
Conclusion
/CHRISTINE T CAJILIG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3633