DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the solid radioactive waste supply pipe (claim 8) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Matsui (JP 11002695). Matsui discloses a liquid radioactive waste injection system for injecting liquid radioactive waste into a vitrification melter that vitrifies radioactive waste, comprising: a waste storage tank (1) storing the liquid radioactive waste; and a waste injection device (3) receiving the liquid radioactive waste from the waste storage tank and is capable of dispensing the received liquid radioactive waste into the vitrification melter (SEE [0011] & Figure 1). In re claim 2, Matsui further discloses that the waste storage tank (1) includes an agitator (6), which mixes the liquid radioactive waste.
Claim(s) 1 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Du et al (CN 115077264). Du et al discloses a liquid radioactive waste injection system (100) for injecting liquid radioactive waste (SEE Abstract) into a vitrification melter (10) that vitrifies radioactive waste, comprising: a waste storage tank (21) storing the liquid radioactive waste (SEE [0055]); and a waste injection device (20) receiving the liquid radioactive waste from the waste storage tank and injecting the received liquid radioactive waste into the vitrification melter (SEE Figure 1). In re claim 8, Du et al further discloses that if the vitrification melter includes a solid radioactive waste supply pipe, the waste injection device is mounted in the supply pipe (22) and injects the liquid radioactive waste into the vitrification melter (10) through the supply pipe (22).
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4 and 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jeong et al (KR 20220111841). Jeong et al discloses a liquid radioactive waste injection system (SEE Figure 1) for injecting liquid radioactive waste into a vitrification melter (100) that vitrifies radioactive waste, comprising: a waste storage tank (200) storing the liquid radioactive waste; and a waste injection device (300) receiving the liquid radioactive waste from the waste storage tank and injecting the received liquid radioactive waste into the vitrification melter (SEE Abstract). In re claim 3, Jeong et al further discloses that the waste injection device (300) includes an injection pipe (320), which injects the liquid radioactive waste into the vitrification melter (100), a cooling pipe (331), which contacts the injection pipe and through which cooling water flows to cool the injection pipe, and a housing (310), which encloses and accommodates the injection pipe and the cooling pipe. In re claim 4, Jeong et al discloses that the cooling pipe (331) includes an inlet for the inflow of the cooling water on one side and an outlet (332) for the outflow of the cooling water on the other side (SEE Figure 1). In re claim 6, Jeong et al discloses that the cooling water is drained to the outside through the outlet (cooling water discharge part 332). In re claim 7, Jeong et al discloses in Figure 1 that the injection pipe is positioned at a center of the housing (310). In re claim 8, Jeong et al discloses wherein if the vitrification melter includes a solid radioactive waste supply pipe (SEE [0002]-[0003]), the waste injection device is mounted in the supply pipe and injects the liquid radioactive waste into the vitrification melter through the supply pipe (SEE Figures 1 & 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong et al (KR 20220111841) in view of Richaazu (JP 2862673). Jeong et al discloses the applicants primary inventive concept as stated above including a waste injection system in a vitrification process facility including a storage tank (200) for the waste liquid, but does not go into detail about the tank. Richaazu teaches an apparatus for waste vitrification which includes a tank (14) which contains the waste liquid and further includes an agitator (16) that mixes and froths vitrizable and waste materials such that it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the subject matter pertains to have incorporated the teaching of an agitator as was commonly known in the art and taught by Richaazu into the storage tank for waste liquid for vitrification of Jeong et al and arrived at the applicants claimed invention for the purpose of maintaining the liquid state of the waste material as its being fed the injection device (300).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
/GREGORY A WILSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762 July 16, 2026