1. Claims 1-10 have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/13/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
4. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “reception unit”, “verification unit”, “conversion unit” and “transmission unit” in claims 1 and 4-8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
5. Claims 2-7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites, “the trace concealed” and “the concealment”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 recites, “the trace hashed” and “the hashing”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 4-6 recite the limitation “the proof”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the converted secret value" and “the secret value” in liens 6-7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
6. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim does not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because:
Claim 10 is directed towards “A computer program product …” One of ordinary skill would recognize the broadest, reasonable interpretation of “a computer program product” would include products that do not have a physical form, i.e. “data per se”, a computer program, i.e. “software per se”, or transitory forms of signal transmission, i.e. “signals per se”. Therefore, the claim has embodiments which are directed towards non-statutory subject matter. Note MPEP 2106.03.
Examiner recommends amending the claims to either recite “A non-transitory computer readable medium including a non-transitory computer readable medium storing an information processing program..." to eliminate all non-statutory embodiments of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
8. Claims 1, 4 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Banerjee et al. (“Blockchain Enabled Data Trading with User Consent”; hereafter “Banerjee”).
For claims 1 and 9-10, Banerjee teaches an information processing device, method and computer program product (note page 269, 5. Implementation and Performance Analysis – computer executing code) comprising:
a reception unit that receives a request regarding provision of user information that is information collected from a user (note page 267, Algorithm 3 – Phase 2, 1. and page 268, Phase 2: Collector-Buyer Phase, collector receives a request for owner data from a buyer), the request being for a plurality of pieces of user information collected from a plurality of users (note page 268, Phase 2: Collector-Buyer Phase, data set D1, D2,…Dn comes from owners O1, O2,…On); and
a verification unit that verifies consents of the plurality of users by executing a procedure for collectively proving that a consent has been obtained from each user who is a collection source of the plurality of pieces of user information (note page 267, Algorithm 3 – Phase 2, 2. and page 268, Phase 2: Collector-Buyer Phase, collector generates a Merkle tree over Di verifying only data from consenting owners will be included in the data being sold) on a blockchain in which a trace indicating that the user has consented in advance to provision of the user information to a third party is registered in a case where the request is received by the reception unit (note page 267 Algorithm 2: Owner Phase 1: 3, 5 and page 267 Phase 1: Owner-Collector Phase and page 268 4.4 Security, Consent, owner consent CD made from key commit, i.e. trace, is stored on the blockchain as part of a Transact smart contract execution).
For claim 4, Banerjee teaches claim 1, wherein the verification unit verifies the consents of the plurality of users by verifying that the trace is registered on the blockchain using a smart contract that verifies the proof on the blockchain (note page 268 4.4 Security, Consent, owner consent registered on the blockchain aux is verified by a smart contract executing correctly).
For claim 8, Banerjee teaches claim 1, further comprising:
a transmission unit that in a case where the verification unit verifies the consents of the plurality of users, transmits the user information related to the users whose consents have been verified to request sources of the plurality of pieces of user information (note page 267, Algorithm 1 – Reveal; Algorithm 3, Algorithm 4, Phase 2 – Transact and page 268, Phase 2: Collector-Buyer Phase, both collector and buyer use Transact to trade the data in the case that Merkle tree with data from consenting owners is verified).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Banerjee as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lavine et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0390196; hereafter “Lavine”).
For claim 7. Banerjee differs from the claimed invention in that they fail to teach:
a conversion unit that converts a trace to be concealed when writing the trace in the blockchain, the trace indicating that the user has consented in advance to provide the user information to a third party, acquires the converted secret value, and writes a public value to be paired with the secret value to the blockchain, wherein the verification unit verifies the consents of the plurality of users by using the secret value acquired by the conversion unit and the public value to be paired with the secret value.
Lavine teaches:
a conversion unit that converts a trace to be concealed when writing the trace in the blockchain, the trace indicating that the user has consented in advance to provide the user information to a third party (note paragraph [0051], consent token is encrypted with company’s public key), acquires the converted secret value, and writes a public value to be paired with the secret value to the blockchain (note paragraph [0129], consent token is linked to a consent smart contract), wherein the verification unit verifies the consents of the plurality of users by using the secret value acquired by the conversion unit and the public value to be paired with the secret value (note paragraph [0084] and [0142]-[0143], smart contract is invalidated if properties have changed, i.e. consent has expired or been revoked).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the data trading with user consent of Banerjee and the user consent tokens with public key encryption and digital signatures of Lavine. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine Banerjee and Lavine because digital signatures would add an extra layer of security to the integrity of the consent tokens (note paragraph [0051] of Lavine).
Allowable Subject Matter
10. Claims 2-3 and 5-6 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Lavine discloses the concealment of a trace (note public/private keys encrypting consent token above), but the prior art of record fails to disclose the proving a secret value used in the conversion processing for the concealment has been acquired. Banerjee discloses proof of consent (note owner consent CD made from key commit, i.e. trace, is stored on the blockchain as part of a Transact smart contract execution above), but fails to disclose creating the proof by collating or totaling the secret values of users.
The prior art of record, alone or in combination, fails to teach the following limitations in conjunction with the rest of the claimed limitations:
Claim 2 – “the verification unit verifies the consents of the plurality of users by executing a procedure for proving that a secret value used in conversion processing for the concealment has been acquired.”
Claim 3 – “the verification unit verifies the consents of the plurality of users by executing a procedure for proving that a secret value used in conversion processing for the hashing has been acquired.”
Claim 5 – “creating the proof by collating a value obtained by collecting the acquired secret values of the plurality of users with a value obtained by collecting public values written by the plurality of users in the blockchain, and verifying the proof on the blockchain.”
Claim 6 – “verifies the consents of the plurality of users by creating the proof by collating a total value of the secret values acquired from the plurality of users with a total value of the public values written by the plurality of users in the blockchain, and verifying the proof on the blockchain.”
Conclusion
11. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pestana et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0342894) discloses proofs committed to a blockchain in a batch (note paragraphs [0042]-[0043]) and [0083]).
Karia et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/0364358) discloses managing user consent to access of user data using chaincode on a blockchain (note paragraphs [0082]-[0083] and [0090]).
Kenyon et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/0034553) discloses registering multi-party consent for data access using a consent tree on a blockchain (note paragraphs [0067], [0079] and [0092]-[0093]).
Piao et al. (“A Data Sharing Scheme for GDPR-Compliance Based on Consortium Blockchain”) discloses a blockchain based data sharing scheme for GDPR using a zero-knowledge proof (note Abstract).
DAVID J. PEARSON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2407
/David J Pearson/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2407