DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Drawings
Replacement drawings were received on September 14, 2026. These drawings are approved.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
The term "thin", in line 6 of each of claims 13 and 14, is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term "thin" is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. What one person may interpret as thin, another may not.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by (Takayama; the citations of which are taken from the attached translation).
Regarding claim 13, Takayama discloses a manufacturing method of a torque limiter (see especially Figures 7A, 7B, and 8) that includes an inner ring (2) having a circular cross section (see Figure 7B), a spring member (1) that is annular (see Figure 8), and an outer ring (3), which have a common center axis (see Figures 7A and 7B), in which the spring member surrounds an outer peripheral surface of the inner ring, and the spring member and the outer ring are assembled so as to be relatively non-rotational by retaining means (see annotated Figure 1 below and paragraph [0021]),
the spring member includes a base portion (1a) that is an annular thin plate (see Figure 8 and paragraph [0016]), and a plurality of elastic pieces (1b) that extend toward an inner side in a radial direction, inclined in an axial direction, and that also are disposed at intervals in a peripheral direction (see Figure 8), with tip end portions of the elastic pieces having abutting inner surfaces (1B) that abut the outer peripheral surface of the inner ring (see Figure 8 and paragraphs [0016]-[0018]), and
when rotational torque of a predetermined value or greater is applied between the inner ring and the outer ring, the inner ring and the outer ring rotate relative to each other against frictional force between the outer peripheral surface of the inner ring and the abutting inner surfaces of the spring member (see paragraphs [0002] and [0016]-[0019]), wherein
the retaining means is made up of a retaining protrusion (a1, a2, a3) that protrudes toward an outer side in the radial direction from an outer peripheral surface of the base portion of the spring member and a retained protrusion (see annotated Figure 1 below) that protrudes toward the inner side in the radial direction from an inner peripheral surface of the outer ring, and
base ends of the elastic pieces are connected to an inner peripheral surface of the base portion (see Figures 7A and 7B),
the manufacturing method comprising:
a press-fitting step of press-fitting the spring member to the inner ring by pressing the base portion of the spring member overall by an annular pressing tool in the axial direction with respect to the inner ring (either of the inner ring and outer ring may function as an annular pressing tool for the spring member; further the human hand can form an annular pressing tool for pressing the spring member; see also paragraph [0014] where member 4 functions as an annular pressing tool); and
an assembling step of, following the press-fitting step, assembling the inner ring to which the spring member is press-fit, with the outer ring (see paragraph [0015]).
Figure 1. Annotated Figure 7B of Takayama
Regarding claim 14, Takayama discloses a manufacturing method of a torque limiter (see especially Figures 7A, 7B, and 8) that includes an inner ring (2) having a circular cross section (see Figure 7B), a spring member (1) that is annular (see Figure 8), and an outer ring (3), which have a common center axis (see Figures 7A and 7B), in which the spring member surrounds an outer peripheral surface of the inner ring, and the spring member and the outer ring are assembled so as to be relatively non-rotational by retaining means (see annotated Figure 1 below and paragraph [0021]),
the spring member includes a base portion (1a) that is an annular thin plate (see Figure 8 and paragraph [0016]), and a plurality of elastic pieces (1b) that extend toward an inner side in a radial direction, inclined in an axial direction, and that also are disposed at intervals in a peripheral direction (see Figure 8), with tip end portions of the elastic pieces having abutting inner surfaces (1B) that abut the outer peripheral surface of the inner ring (see Figure 8 and paragraphs [0016]-[0018]), and
when rotational torque of a predetermined value or greater is applied between the inner ring and the outer ring, the inner ring and the outer ring rotate relative to each other against frictional force between the outer peripheral surface of the inner ring and the abutting inner surfaces of the spring member (see paragraphs [0002] and [0016]-[0019]), wherein
the retaining means is made up of a retaining protrusion (a1, a2, a3) that protrudes toward an outer side in the radial direction from an outer peripheral surface of the base portion of the spring member and a retained protrusion (see annotated Figure 1 below) that protrudes toward the inner side in the radial direction from an inner peripheral surface of the outer ring, and
base ends of the elastic pieces are connected to an inner peripheral surface of the base portion (see Figures 7A and 7B),
the manufacturing method comprising:
a press-fitting step of press-fitting the spring member to the inner ring by pressing the base portion of the spring member in the axial direction with respect to the inner ring (see paragraphs [0014]-[0019]) in a state in which guides are disposed on both sides in the peripheral direction of the retaining protrusion (see annotated Figure1 above); and
an assembling step of, following the press-fitting step, assembling the inner ring to which the spring member is press-fit, with the outer ring (see paragraph [0015]).
Regarding claim 15, Takayama discloses, in the press-fitting step, a plurality of the spring members (1) are sequentially press-fit to the inner ring, and an amount of press-fitting of each of the plurality of spring members as to the inner ring (2) is gradually reduced (an inherent feature in that once one spring member is assembled, the distance which a second spring member can be fit, is reduced).
Regarding claim 16, Takayama discloses a support wall (a’1, a’2, a’3) that is cylindrical is provided on an outer peripheral edge of the base portion (1a), erected in the axial direction and thereafter extending outward in the radial direction (see Figure 8).
Regarding claim 17, Takayama discloses the spring member (1) is formed by pressing a plate made of metal (see Figure 8 and paragraph [0016]).
Regarding claim 18, Takayama discloses, in the press-fitting step, a plurality of the spring members (1) are sequentially press-fit to the inner ring, and an amount of press-fitting of each of the plurality of spring members as to the inner ring (2) is gradually reduced (an inherent feature in that once one spring member is assembled, the distance which a second spring member can be fit, is reduced).
Regarding claim 19, Takayama discloses a support wall (a’1, a’2, a’3) that is cylindrical is provided on an outer peripheral edge of the base portion (1a), erected in the axial direction and thereafter extending outward in the radial direction (see Figure 8).
Regarding claim 20, Takayama discloses the spring member (1) is formed by pressing a plate made of metal (see Figure 8 and paragraph [0016]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed September 14, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On the outset, the Examiner notes the Takayama reference corresponds to the prior art embodiment in the previously applied JP 2019-199912 (Kobayashi) reference. To that end, the arguments provided by Applicant in the remarks filed September 14, 2026 would also apply to the Takayama reference.
On pages 11-12, Applicant asserts the prior art fails to disclose an annular pressing tool. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As set forth above regarding claim 13, and as set forth in the previous rejection of claim 3, either of the inner ring and outer ring may function as an annular pressing tool for the spring member. Further the human hand can form an annular pressing tool for pressing the spring member. See also paragraph [0014] of Takayama, where member 4 functions as an annular pressing tool.
On page 12, Applicant asserts the prior art fails to disclose guides being disposed on both sides of the peripheral direction of the retaining protrusion. The Examiner respectfully disagrees and directs Applicant’s attention to annotated Figure 1 above which shows the torque limiter of Takayama possesses guides on both sides of the peripheral direction of the retaining protrusion.
Conclusion
The prior art set forth in the attached Notice of References Cited (PTO-892) made of record and not relied upon (US 5,480,016 to Kurz) is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure in the field of annular press-fitting tools.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Josh Skroupa/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678
September 28, 2026