DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.84(h) and 37 CFR 1.84(u) because each of Figures 1 and 3-7 includes multiple views under a single label, and therefore the views are not “clearly separated from one another”. Further, “[t]he different views must be numbered in consecutive Arabic numerals”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
The term “thin”, in line 2 of each of claims 7 and 12, is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “thin” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. What one person may interpret as thin, another may not.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2019-199912 (Kobayashi; the citations of which are taken from the attached translation).
Regarding claim 8, Kobayashi discloses a torque limiter (see Figures 7a-7c) that includes an inner ring (N) having a circular cross section (see Figure 7b), a spring member (S) that is annular (see Figure 7c), and an outer ring (G), which have a common center axis (see Figure 7c), in which the spring member surrounds an outer peripheral surface of the inner ring (see Figure 7a), and the spring member and the outer ring are assembled so as to be relatively non-rotational by retaining means (C; see paragraph [0003]),
the spring member includes a base portion (B) that is an annular thin plate (see Figure 7c), and a plurality of elastic pieces (D) that extend toward an inner side in a radial direction, inclined in an axial direction, and that also are disposed at intervals in a peripheral direction, with tip end portions of the elastic pieces having abutting inner surfaces (CS) that abut the outer peripheral surface of the inner ring (see Figure 7c and paragraph [0003]), and
when rotational torque of a predetermined value or greater is applied between the inner ring and the outer ring, the inner ring and the outer ring rotate relative to each other against frictional force between the outer peripheral surface of the inner ring and the abutting inner surface of the spring members (see paragraph [0003]), wherein
the retaining means (C) is made up of a retaining protrusion that protrudes toward an outer side in the radial direction from an outer peripheral surface of the base portion of the spring member (see Figure 7c) and a retained protrusion (R) that protrudes toward the inner side in the radial direction from an inner peripheral surface of the outer ring (see Figure 7b), and
a base end of the elastic piece is connected to an inner peripheral surface of the base portion (see Figure 7c).
Regarding claim 9, Kobayashi discloses a support wall (W) that is cylindrical is provided on an outer peripheral edge of the base portion (B), erected in the axial direction and thereafter extending outward in the radial direction (see Figure 7c).
Regarding claim 10, Kobayashi discloses a torque limiter (see Figures 7a-c) that includes an inner ring (N) having a circular cross section (see Figure 7b), a spring member (S) that is annular (see Figure 7c), and an outer ring (G), which have a common center axis (see Figure 7c), in which the spring member surrounds an outer peripheral surface of the inner ring (see Figure 7a), and the spring member and the outer ring are assembled so as to be relatively non-rotational by retaining means (C; see paragraph [0003]),
a plurality of the spring members (S) are disposed in series in an axial direction (see Figure 7a), each of the plurality of spring members including a base portion (B) that is an annular thin plate (see Figure 7c), and a plurality of elastic pieces (D) that extend toward an inner side in a radial direction, inclined in the axial direction, and that also are disposed at intervals in a peripheral direction, with tip end portions of the elastic pieces having abutting inner surfaces (CS) that abut the outer peripheral surface of the inner ring (see Figure 7c and paragraph [0003]), and
when rotational torque of a predetermined value or greater is applied between the inner ring and the outer ring, the inner ring and the outer ring rotate relative to each other against frictional force between the outer peripheral surface of the inner ring and the abutting inner surface of the spring members (see paragraph [0003]),
wherein the plurality of spring members are each disposed separated from each other (see Figure 7a where the base portions B of the spring members are separated by a gap).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-7, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi.
Regarding claim 1, Kobayashi discloses a manufacturing method of a torque limiter (see Figures 7a-c) that includes an inner ring (N) having a circular cross section (see Figure 7b), a spring member (S) that is annular (see Figure 7c), and an outer ring (G), which have a common center axis (see Figure 7c), in which the spring member surrounds an outer peripheral surface of the inner ring (see Figure 7a), and the spring member and the outer ring are assembled so as to be relatively non-rotational by retaining means (C; see paragraph [0003]),
the spring member includes a base portion (B) that is an annular thin plate (see Figure 7c), and a plurality of elastic pieces (D) that extend toward an inner side in a radial direction, inclined in an axial direction, and that also are disposed at intervals in a peripheral direction, with tip end portions of the elastic pieces having abutting inner surfaces (CS) that abut the outer peripheral surface of the inner ring (see Figure 7c and paragraph [0003]), and
when rotational torque of a predetermined value or greater is applied between the inner ring and the outer ring, the inner ring and the outer ring rotate relative to each other against frictional force between the outer peripheral surface of the inner ring and the abutting inner surface of the spring members (see paragraph [0003]), wherein
the retaining means (C) is made up of a retaining protrusion that protrudes toward an outer side in the radial direction from an outer peripheral surface of the base portion of the spring member (see Figure 7c) and a retained protrusion (R) that protrudes toward the inner side in the radial direction from an inner peripheral surface of the outer ring (see Figure 7b), and
a base end of the elastic piece is connected to an inner peripheral surface of the base portion (see Figure 7c),
the manufacturing method comprising:
a press-fitting step of press-fitting the spring member to the inner ring by pressing the base portion of the spring member in the axial direction with respect to the inner ring (see Figure 7a and paragraph [0003], wherein a frictional force is present between the spring member and inner ring); and
an assembling step of assembling the inner ring to which the spring member is press-fit, with the outer ring (see Figure 7a and paragraph [0003]).
Kobayashi does not expressly disclose the assembling step follows the press-fitting step. Applicant is reminded that it has been held the selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results. In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Kobayashi such that the assembling step follows the press-fitting step, as such a modification is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results. The Examiner contends that given the spring member is designed to be press fitted on to the inner ring and positioned in retained protrusions of the outer ring, there are no new or unexpected results that arise in carrying out the press-fitting step before the assembling step, or vice-versa.
Regarding claim 2, Kobayashi discloses, in the press-fitting step, a plurality of the spring members (S) are sequentially press-fit to the inner ring (N; see Figure 7a and paragraph [0003]), and an amount of press-fitting of each of the plurality of spring members as to the inner ring is gradually reduced (an inherent feature in that once one spring member is assembled, the distance which a second spring member can be fit, is reduced).
Regarding claim 3, Kobayashi discloses in the press-fitting step, the base portion (B) of the spring member (S) is pressed overall by an annular pressing tool (either of the inner ring R and outer ring G functioning as an annular pressing tool for the spring member; further the human hand can form an annular pressing tool for pressing the spring member).
Regarding claim 4, Kobayashi discloses the press-fitting step, the base portion (B) is pressed with respect to the inner ring (N), in a state in which guides are disposed on both sides in the peripheral direction of the retaining protrusion (C; see Figure 7a).
Regarding claim 5, Kobayashi discloses a manufacturing method of a torque limiter (see Figures 7a-c) that includes an inner ring (N) having a circular cross section (see Figure 7b), a spring member (S) that is annular (see Figure 7c), and an outer ring (G), which have a common center axis (see Figure 7c), in which the spring member surrounds an outer peripheral surface of the inner ring (see Figure 7a), and the spring member and the outer ring are assembled so as to be relatively non-rotational by retaining means (C; see paragraph [0003]),
a plurality of the spring members (S) are disposed in series in an axial direction (see Figure 7c), each of the plurality of spring members including a base portion (B) that is an annular thin plate (see Figure 7c), and a plurality of elastic pieces (D) that extend toward an inner side in a radial direction, inclined in the axial direction, and that also are disposed at intervals in a peripheral direction, with tip end portions of the elastic pieces having abutting inner surfaces (CS) that abut the outer peripheral surface of the inner ring (see Figure 7c and paragraph [0003]), and
when rotational torque of a predetermined value or greater is applied between the inner ring and the outer ring, the inner ring and the outer ring rotate relative to each other against frictional force between the outer peripheral surface of the inner ring and the abutting inner surface of the spring members (see paragraph [0003]),
the manufacturing method comprising:
a press-fitting step of sequentially press-fitting the spring members to the inner ring one at a time (see Figure 7a and paragraph [0003], wherein a frictional force is present between the spring member and inner ring); and
an assembling step of assembling the inner ring to which the spring member is press-fit, with the outer ring (see Figure 7a and paragraph [0003]), wherein
in the press-fitting step, an amount of press-fitting of each of the plurality of spring members as to the inner ring is gradually reduced (an inherent feature in that once one spring member is assembled, the distance which a second spring member can be fit, is reduced).
Kobayashi does not expressly disclose the assembling step follows the press-fitting step. Applicant is reminded that it has been held the selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results. In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Kobayashi such that the assembling step follows the press-fitting step, as such a modification is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results. The Examiner contends that given the spring member is designed to be press fitted on to the inner ring and positioned in retained protrusions of the outer ring, there are no new or unexpected results that arise in carrying out the press-fitting step before the assembling step, or vice-versa.
Regarding claim 6, Kobayashi discloses a support wall (W) that is cylindrical is provided on an outer peripheral edge of the base portion (B), erected in the axial direction and thereafter extending outward in the radial direction (see Figure 7c).
Regarding claim 7, Kobayashi discloses the spring members (S) are formed by pressing a thin plate made of metal (see Figure 7c and paragraph [0003]).
Regarding claim 11, Kobayashi discloses a support wall (W) that is cylindrical is provided on an outer peripheral edge of the base portion (B), erected in the axial direction and thereafter extending outward in the radial direction (see Figure 7c).
Regarding claim 12, Kobayashi discloses the spring members (S) are formed by pressing a thin plate made of metal (see Figure 7c and paragraph [0003]).
Conclusion
The prior art set forth in the attached Notice of References Cited (PTO-892) made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure in the field of torque limiters.
/Josh Skroupa/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678
June 8, 2026