DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1–20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over US Kline et al. (2014/0360891 A1) in view of Brunetti et al. (EP 3 907 267 A1).
Kline teaches a system for loading, storing, delivering, and retrieving gases, fluids, and liquids (¶¶ [0001], [0003]). Kline discloses a vessel used for containing, loading, storage, delivery, and retrieval of fluids (¶ [0007]) and further teaches one or more lattices containing adsorbent material housed within a cartridge, wherein the cartridge is placed within the vessel (¶¶ [0007]–[0008]). Thus, Kline teaches a transport vessel containing removable adsorbent units positioned inside the vessel and configured for fluid communication with the contents thereof.
Kline, however, does not expressly specify the particular hydrocarbon contaminants recited.
Brunetti teaches purification of hydrocarbon streams, including crude plastic pyrolysis oil (¶¶ [0001]–[0004]), and discloses that such streams contain contaminants including nitrogen-, sulfur-, and halogen-containing compounds (¶¶ [0003]–[0006]). Brunetti further teaches contacting the hydrocarbon stream with solid sorbents to remove such contaminants (¶ [0095]) and discloses suitable adsorbents including activated carbon, alumina, silica, zeolites, and ion exchange resins (¶¶ [0095], [0102]–[0110]). Brunetti therefore teaches deposition/removal of contaminants from hydrocarbon feedstocks onto solid adsorbents.
It would have been obvious to one of skill in the art at before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Brunetti’s known hydrocarbon contaminant-removal sorbents into Kline’s transport vessel system in order to reduce contaminant levels in hydrocarbon feedstocks prior to downstream processing, to prevent fouling and catalyst poisoning, and to utilize storage and transport time for pretreatment. The combination merely applies known adsorptive purification chemistry within Kline’s known transport-vessel adsorbent architecture to achieve predictable contaminant reduction.
Claim 2 recites a removable unit comprising a plurality of channels providing fluid communication between the hydrocarbon feedstock fluid and the adsorbent. Kline’s lattice structures inherently provide multiple flow passages permitting fluid communication between vessel contents and adsorbent (¶ [0007]).
Claim 3 recites contacting while transporting. Kline expressly teaches use of the vessel for storage and delivery (¶¶ [0001], [0007]), which necessarily includes transport phases during which adsorption occurs.
Claims 4–7 recite specific classes of adsorbents. Brunetti expressly discloses aluminosilicate and silica-based materials (¶¶ [0102]–[0105]), solid bases and ion exchange resins (¶¶ [0106]–[0110]), and zeolitic/inorganic oxide adsorbents (¶ [0095]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process of Kline by selecting the specific sorbent materials taught by Brunetti for use within Kline’s internal cartridge/lattice system in order to remove oxygen-, nitrogen-, or halogen-containing contaminants from hydrocarbon streams because Brunetti teaches that such sorbent are effective for removing those contaminants from hydrocarbon stream and Kline already teaches positioning adsorbent material inside a transport vessel for contacting stored/delivered fluids. The substitution of one known sorbent material for another known sorbent in an adsorption system to achieve a predictable contaminant-removal result is a routine design choice within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 8 recites first and second removable units containing different adsorbents for removing different contaminants. Kline teaches multiple lattices and cartridges positioned within a vessel (¶ [0007]). Brunetti teaches different sorbent classes for removing different contaminant species (¶¶ [0095], [0102]–[0110]).
It would have been obvious to one of skill in the art at before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide separate removable cartridges in Kline’s vessel containing different sorbents as taught by Brunetti to selectively remove multiple contaminant classes from hydrocarbon feedstocks.
Claims 9–14 recite specific hydrocarbon feedstocks, including raw mixed plastic waste pyrolysis oil and naphtha. Brunetti expressly teaches crude plastic pyrolysis oil and hydrocarbon streams generally (¶¶ [0001]–[0004]).
Claim 15 recites an adsorbent present as a fixed bed within a circulation system positioned inside the transport container, equipped with a pump to circulate the hydrocarbon feedstock fluid through the fixed bed.
Kline teaches fluid flow and adsorption within a vessel containing internal adsorbent lattices during loading, storage, and delivery (¶¶ [0007]–[0008]). Brunetti teaches fixed-bed adsorption systems for hydrocarbon purification (¶ [0095]).
It would have been obvious to one of skill in the art at before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure Kline’s vessel with Brunetti’s fixed-bed adsorption arrangement and to include a circulation pump to enhance contact efficiency and mass transfer, as circulation through adsorption beds is a well-known design choice in purification systems to improve contaminant removal efficiency.
Claims 16–20 recite specific hydrocarbon feedstocks and sorbent types, which are disclosed by Brunetti (¶¶ [0001]–[0004], [0095], [0102]–[0110]).
Conclusion
/TAM M NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771